DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed May 19, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 13-14 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites drying the collagen to a reduce the moisture to about 20%. This limitation does not further limit claim 1 as amended claim 1 already includes a step of drying the collagen to a moisture content of 20%. Therefore, it is not clear what is required by the limitations of claim 8.
Claim 11 is recited as “cancelled”, but still contains the limitations of the claim. Further, applicant’s remarks do not state that claim 11 is canceled and states that claims 1-14 are pending. Therefore, it is not clear whether claim 11 is actually canceled or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod (US 2020/0146313 A1; May 14, 2020) in view of Buckley (WO 2021/189115 A1; Sept. 30, 2021) and Koller (US Patent No. 6,060,100; May 9, 2000).
Regarding claim 1, Axelrod discloses a method of preparing an edible pet chew product comprising a first component and a second component, wherein the first component can be strips of bovine fibrous connective tissue comprising collagen fibers and the second component can be strips of bovine internal organ tissue that can be stomach tissue ([0010]-[0015], [0021]-[0023]).
Axelrod further teaches that the second component is wrapped around the first component to form an assembled product (See Figures, [0023]).
Axelrod additionally teaches that the assembled product undergoes a drying operation to reduce the moisture and allow the two components to shrink fit together, which corresponds to applicant’s “curing” step ([0018]-[0020], [0046]-[0049]).
While Axelrod teaches providing collagen strips, Axelrod fails to teach that the collagen strips are formed by providing bovine leather, removing a plurality of hairs from the bovine leather, fleshing the bovine leather, separating collagen from the bovine leather, cleaning the separated collagen, drying the cleaned separated collagen to a moisture content of about 20%, and forming collagen strips from the clean separated collagen.
Buckley teaches a method of forming a collagen composition that can be used in animal food ([0051]), wherein the method comprises providing bovine tissue, removing a plurality of hairs from the bovine tissue ([0019]-[0020]), fleshing the bovine tissue (e.g. removing residual flesh and fat [0021]), separating collagen from the bovine skin ([0040]) by size reducing to form smaller pieces ([0019]-[0023], [0040]). With respect to cleaning the separated collagen, Buckley teaches the steps of dehairing and fleshing to produce a collagen composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further clean the separated collagen if needed so as to remove any undesired material from the collagen pieces. With respect to forming strips, Buckley teaches size reducing by cutting or tearing to produce any suitable size ([0040]). It would have been obvious to forms strips out of the collagen if such shape and size was desired (See MPEP 2144.04).
Buckley teaches that the collagen can be dried ([0019]), but fails to teach the claimed moisture content of about 20%. However, it would have been obvious to dry to any desired moisture content. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in dried collagen having a moisture content of about 20%. The exact moisture content would have been obvious depending on the desired texture of the collagen. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in collagen having a moisture content of about 20%. Further, Axelrod teaches a drying step, wherein the formed collagen strips are dried to a moisture content of 0.1-20% by weight ([0019], which overlaps the claimed moisture content. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I) It would have been obvious to dry the collagen of Buckley to moisture content as taught by Axelrod as Axelrod teaches that such moisture content is suitable for a final product.
Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As Axelrod teaches providing bovine collagen strips, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the bovine collagen strips of Axelrod be made by the process of Buckley as Buckley teaches that a process comprising providing bovine skin, removing a plurality of hairs from the bovine skin, fleshing the bovine skin, separating collagen from the bovine skin, cleaning the separated collagen, and forming collagen strips from the clean separated collagen is an obvious and well known process in the art for producing a collagen composition. Axelrod teaches using collagen strips, but fails to specifically teach how the collagen strips were made and therefore it would have been obvious to make them according to the process of Buckley in order to predictably provide a bovine collagen composition that is ready for use.
While Buckley teaches providing bovine skin and not specifically the claimed “leather”, Buckley teaches that a tanned hide, e.g. leather, can be used depending on preference ([0012]). Buckley teaches that collagen can still be extracted form a tanned hide, or leather, but comprises higher levels of salt due to the curing process ([0012]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use bovine leather if desired, e.g. if a higher amount of salt and/or cured skin was desired, as it is still well known in the art to extract collagen from a tanned hide as taught by Buckley.
Axelrod teaches that the second component can be bovine stomach tissue ([0014]), but fails to specifically teach that the bovine stomach tissue is tripe.
Koller discloses a method of preparing a pet chew comprising providing bovine tripe, cleaning the tripe, forming the tripe into a plurality of pieces, and drying the formed tripe to a moisture content of 2-20%, which overlaps the claimed moisture content of less than 10% (See Figures, col 2 lines 5-45).
Koller teaches forming into pieces before drying, however, it would have been obvious to change the order of forming and drying, such that the tripe is dried before forming into a plurality of pieces. Doing so would allow the dried tripe to be formed into any desired size/shape without further shrinking due to the drying process. As stated in MPEP 2144.04, selection of any order of processing steps is obvious absent a showing that the order produces a new or unexpected product over the prior art. In the instant case, changing the order of drying and forming is not expected to result in a different product. Further, Koller teaches forming into strips and not sheets, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the dried tripe into any desired size. Changing the size of the plurality of pieces is merely an obvious variant over the teachings of Koller as it would not result in a different product.
As Koller teaches that it is known in the art to use bovine tripe in a pet chew and Axelrod teaches that the second component comprises stomach tissue, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the second component of Axelrod be bovine tripe made by the process of Koller. This would predictably provide the method of Axelrod with stomach tissue that is well known in the art and suitable for use as a pet chew.
Therefore, as Axelrod teaches an assembled pet chew product comprising two components, a first component that is collagen and a second component wrapped around the first component, wherein the second component stomach tissue, it would have bee obvious to have the collagen of Axelrod made by the process of Buckley and the stomach tissue of Axelrod be tripe and made by the process of Koller for the reasons stated above, wherein such processes are well known in the art and suitable for making pet chew products.
Regarding claim 2, Axelrod teaches that the finished product is produced utilizing no artificial ingredients as Axelrod teaches that the pet chew contains natural components ([0003]).
Regarding claims 3-6, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Buckley teaches a method of fleshing the bovine skin, wherein the fleshing includes removing residual flesh and fat ([0021]). As both subcutaneous connective tissue and meat fall within the scope of “residual flesh”, it would have bene obvious to remove any fat, any meat and any subcutaneous connective tissue during the fleshing step of Buckley.
Regarding claim 7, Axelrod teaches that the collagen strips having an initial moisture content of 50-80%, which is higher than the claimed moisture content of about 35%. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to process the collagen in such a way to provide cleaned collagen having a desired moisture content. Buckley teaches that the collagen can be dried ([0019]) and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dry the cleaned separated collagen to result in a desired moisture content. Further, the exact moisture content would have been obvious depending on the texture of the collagen. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in separated collagen having a moisture content of about 35%.
Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 8-9, Buckley teaches that the collagen can be dried ([0019]), but fails to teach the claimed moisture content. It would have been obvious to dry to any desired moisture content. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in dried collagen having a moisture content of about 20%.
With respect to the order of drying the cleaned separated collagen, wherein the drying is performed immediately after the cleaning step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dry the clean separated collagen of Buckley immediately after the cleaning step in order to result in a final collagen product having a desired moisture content. Buckley already teaches drying, and therefore changing the order of processing steps such that the drying occurs immediately after the cleaning step is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it ensures the final product has the desired moisture content (See MPEP 2144.04: Change in order of processing steps).
Regarding claims 10-11, Axelrod teaches a drying step, wherein the formed collagen strips are dried to a moisture content of 0.1-20% by weight ([0019]). This step in Axelrod is considered to meet the claimed baking step, wherein the formed collagen strips are baked to having a moisture content of about 10%. The moisture content of Axelrod overlaps the claimed moisture content. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Regarding claim 12, the prior art as described above renders obvious an edible pet chew produced by the method of claim 1. The prior art renders obvious a product consisting of an elongated collagen stick, or strip, of bovine collagen (e.g. the first component in Axelrod), and a bovine tripe sheet that is wrapped around the elongated collagen stick (e.g. the second component in Axelrod: stomach tissue that can be bovine tripe as taught by Koller, see claim 1 above) (See Axelrod: [0010]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], Figures: See Koller: col 2 lines 5-45).
Axelrod further teaches that the second component, or tripe sheet, can have a moisture content ranging from 0.01-20% ([0020]), thus overlapping the claimed range of less than 10%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod (US 2020/0146313 A1; May 14, 2020) in view of Buckley (WO 2021/189115 A1; Sept. 30, 2021) and Koller (US Patent No. 6,060,100; May 9, 2000) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klopf et al. (WO 2023137192 A1; July 20, 2023).
Regarding claim 13, Koller teaches cleaning the bovine trip as described above, but fails to specifically teach that the cleaning comprises the steps of rinsing the tripe with water and immersing the tripe in hemoglobin.
Klopf discloses a food product that can be an animal feed, wherein the product is a meat replica that immerses meat substitute in a dispersion of hemoglobin as the hemoglobin provides suitable protein and mimics a sensory perception of a meat-based food product (Abstract; page 6).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rinse the tripe of Koller with water to ensure any unwanted matter is removed. It further would have been obvious to immerse the tripe in hemoglobin as it would provide the product of Axelrod with suitable protein while mimicing a sensory perception of a meat-based food product.
Regarding claim 14, with respect to the time for immersing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine an optimum time depending on the desired size of the tripe to be immersed and desired sensory attributes. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on pages 5-6 that the prior art does not teach the claimed processing sequence as the prior art fails to teach drying the tripe before forming the tripe. Applicant further states that the examiner has not provided any teaching or evidence that reversing this order is technologically equivalent.
This is not found persuasive as the examiner has provided an obviousness rationale. Reversing the order does not have to be technologically equivalent and the examiner is not required to provide evidence, only an explanation as it why reversing the order would have been obvious. As stated above in the rejection, it would have been obvious to change the order of forming and drying, such that the tripe is dried before forming into a plurality of pieces. Doing so would allow the dried tripe to be formed into any desired size/shape without further shrinking due to the drying process. As stated in MPEP 2144.04, selection of any order of processing steps is obvious absent a showing that the order produces a new or unexpected product over the prior art. In the instant case, changing the order of drying and forming is not expected to result in a different product absent a showing otherwise.
Applicant has not rebutted the obviousness statement above and further has not shown or argued how drying before forming would product an unexpected product over the prior art. It would be expected that drying before forming would allow the dried tripe to be formed into any desired size/shape without further shrinking due to the drying process. Therefore, this arguments is not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues on pages 6-7 that Buckley teaches away from the claims as it teaches away from using bovine leather. This is not found persuasive as Buckley never teaches away from leather, just merely states that it is a less preferred embodiment. As stated in MPEP 2123: The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005)
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant further argues on page 7 that the cited art does not teach drying the cleaned separated collagen to a moisture content of about 20%.
This is not found persuasive. Buckley teaches that the collagen can be dried ([0019]), but fails to teach the claimed moisture content of about 20%. However, it would have been obvious to dry to any desired moisture content. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in dried collagen having a moisture content of about 20%. The exact moisture content would have been obvious depending on the desired texture of the collagen. One of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions through routine experimentation to result in collagen having a moisture content of about 20%. Further, Axelrod teaches a drying step, wherein the formed collagen strips are dried to a moisture content of 0.1-20% by weight ([0019], which overlaps the claimed moisture content. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I) It would have been obvious to dry the collagen of Buckley to moisture content as taught by Axelrod as Axelrod teaches that such moisture content is suitable for a final product.
For the reasons stated above, a 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791