DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/16/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or moot in view of new ground of rejection provided below which was necessitated based on applicant’s amendment to the claims. The new ground of rejection for the independent claims is based on Duhamel in view of Yoshida.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhamel et al. (US 2012/0189406 A1) (Hereinafter Duhamel) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20170170050 A1) (Hereinafter Yoshida).
Regarding Claim 1, Duhamel teaches a substrate gripping system (See at least Para [0008] “A chuck for holding a substrate is mounted on the end effector and having a movable edge gripper with a contact surface and an edge of the substrate may be gripped by actuating the movable edge gripper to engage the substrate with the contact surface.”), comprising:
a plunger body actuatable by an actuator (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”);
a coupling body configured to mechanically couple the plunger body to the actuator (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, discloses associated mechanical linkages which is construed as coupling body);
a gripper at a distal end of the plunger body, wherein the gripper is configured to apply a gripping force to a substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body by the actuator (See at least Para [0006] “…Higher speeds are obtained by transport apparatus having active grip end effectors that apply a clamping force to the edge of a substrate as it is moved…”, Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300 A actuates the movable edge grippers 37 , 38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”),…
a sensor … configured to measure a value of a parameter (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”) …
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out …
wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line;
a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body and configured to measure a value of a parameter associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate; and
a controller configured to determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the measured value of the parameter, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least partially on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper on the substrate.
Yoshida teaches …
wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line (See at least Fig 10 shows that the plunger body (16) and the gripper (7) are arranged substantially in a straight line);
a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body (See at least Fig 9 shows sensor (19) is coupled with plunger body (16), Para [0083] “As illustrated in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10, a position sensor 19 for detecting a position of the plunger 16 is provided adjacently to the plunger 16. The position sensor 19 can determine whether the substrate S is held on the end effector 7 or not.”) and configured to measure a value of a parameter associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate (See at least Para [0018] “… a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit ...”, Para [0085] “Also in this embodiment, similarly to the above-stated embodiment in FIG. 1, the robot controller 12 determines the respective upper limit values of acceleration and speed of the end effector 7 based on the substrate holding force (pressure of plunger 16) detected by the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20).”); and
a controller configured to determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the measured value of the parameter (See at least Para [0085] “Also in this embodiment, similarly to the above-stated embodiment in FIG. 1, the robot controller 12 determines the respective upper limit values of acceleration and speed of the end effector 7 based on the substrate holding force (pressure of plunger 16) detected by the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20).”), wherein the controller is further configured to cause the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least partially on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper on the substrate (See at least Para [0018] “In order to achieve the above-mentioned objects, a substrate conveyance robot according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a robot arm, an end effector provided to the robot arm, the end effector having a substrate holding unit configured to hold a substrate, an arm drive unit configured to drive the robot arm, a robot control unit configured to control the arm drive unit, and a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit, wherein the robot control unit is configured to control the arm drive unit based on an upper limit value of at least one of an acceleration and a speed of the end effector which are determined in accordance with the substrate holding force detected by the holding force detection unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Yoshida and include the feature of actuator, wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line, a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body, a controller configured to determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the measured value of the parameter thereby make the process faster which will enhance the throughput (See at least Para [0005] “… it is necessary to speed-up the robot operation so as to shorten the conveyance time in order to enhance throughput…”). Although, Yoshida discloses position sensor adjacent to the plunger body not the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20); however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) mechanically coupled with the plunger body since the applicant has not disclosed that the particular placement solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) being in that designated place.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the value of the parameter associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate comprises a force value or a strain value (See at least Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300A actuates the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”, discloses actuating the movable edge grippers (which includes the plunger) with a predetermined amount of clamping force when sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level which is construed as the value of the parameter associated with actuation of the plunger body is indicative of force applied by the gripper on a gripped substrate, Para [0029] “As noted before, an adjustment device 46 may be located on the movable arm assembly 29 for setting a predetermined sensed acceleration threshold for actuating the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39. An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly…”)…
Regarding Claim 3, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1 further comprising a linear motion guide, wherein the coupling body is guided by the linear motion guide during motion caused by the actuator (See at least Para [0027] “As previously stated, the interfacing circuit 45 may connect the motion sensor 44 to a microprocessor 300A mounted on arm assembly 29 as shown in FIG. 2. The microprocessor may include programming to register and interpret data embodied in the motion sensor signal and may have a program to operate the actuator in response to a desired signal from the motion sensor 44. A mobile power supply 48 is located on the movable arm assembly for powering electrical devices including the accelerometer 44, interfacing circuit 45, substrate presence detector 49 and linear actuator 40. The power supply 48 stores energy and releases it in the form of AC or DC current. The power supply for example may be a battery, high-capacity capacitor or any other suitable device, and may be removably mounted to allow replacement when spent. The power supply may also have a suitable coupling or interface for linking to charging devices to recharge the power supply as desired.”, discloses linear actuator which is considered to create linear motion).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 3, wherein the coupling body is configured to move relative to the plunger body upon contact of the gripper with the substrate (See at least Para [0027], Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, discloses motion of actuator and associated mechanical linkages which is construed as coupling body which move relative to plunger body since it is mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises one or more of a strain gauge or a force sensor (See at least Para [0030] “… Programming of the controller 300 or microprocessor 300A will block actuation of the movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 in the absence of a signal indicating a present and properly seated substrate. In alternate embodiments, the substrate presence detector may be an inductive, optical, strain gauge, acoustical, or ultrasonic detector or any other suitable detector.”).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the actuator such that the gripper exerts less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate (See at least Para [0029] “… An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly. These adjustment devices 46, 47 may be suitable input devices, connected by the interfacing circuit 45 to the microprocessor 300A (see FIG. 3). By way of example, the adjustment devices 46, may be suitable EPROM devices, resident on the microprocessor or separate therefrom, programmed with the desired threshold values. The microprocessor programming accesses the threshold values in devices 46, 47 for operation of the grippers. The devices 46, 47 may be programmable in place or may be removable to allow offsite programming. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable adjustment devices may be used.”, discloses a predetermined force applied to the substrate during actuation of the movable edge grippers which is construed as the actuator being controlled such that the gripper exerts less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the actuator is selected from a group consisting of a servo actuator, a stepper actuator, a stacked-solenoid actuator, a rack-and-pinion- based actuator, and a piezoelectric-based actuator (See at least Para [0024] “… In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device”).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel teaches a motion sensor/ accelerometer data to control the gripping mechanism (See at least Para [0028] Referring now also to FIG. 3A, there is shown another schematic block diagram illustrating the operating mode of the grippers on end effector 35 in this exemplary embodiment. As shown in FIG. 3a, the on board microprocessor 300A controls actuation of the gripping mechanism in response to signals from motion sensor 44 communicated to the microprocessor directly via the interfacing circuit 45, without any signaling between the movable arm assembly 29 and any controller or other device outside the isolated transfer chamber. The motion sensor 44 outputs a suitable signal, representative of sensed motion of a desired portion of the arm assembly 29 to allow detection of motion of the end effector. For example, if the motion sensor 44 includes an accelerometer on the end effector, the sensor output signal may be a voltage difference to ground that is proportional to the measured acceleration in some direction. The motion sensor 44 may sense acceleration in at least two independent directions likely to cause dislocation of the substrate on the chuck 36, for example directions coplanar with the end effector, such as along orthogonal axes (X,T) shown in FIG. 2. This allows the total magnitude of acceleration within the plane of motion of the end effector to be calculated and used to actuate the edge gripping mechanism. Output signals from the accelerometer 44 serve as inputs via the interfacing circuit 45 to the microprocessor 300A (and to controller 300 if desired as will be described below)…”) and he teaches substrate present detector to identify the presence of substrate (See at least Para [0027] “…A mobile power supply 48 is located on the movable arm assembly for powering electrical devices including the accelerometer 44, interfacing circuit 45, substrate presence detector 49 and linear actuator 40…”, Para [0030] “As illustrated in FIGS. 2-3, a substrate presence detector 49 is located on the end effector. In this exemplary embodiment the substrate presence detector 49 may be for example a capacitive proximity sensor, and is mounted on the end effector such that when a substrate is properly seated on the chuck, the substrate presence detector will detect the presence of the properly seated substrate…”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Duhamel and include the
substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to detect presence of the substrate based on data from the sensor, thereby using the same sensor data to both control the gripping mechanism and identify the presence of substrate.
Regarding Claim 13, Duhamel teaches a system, comprising:
a substrate gripping assembly (See at least Para [0008] “A chuck for holding a substrate is mounted on the end effector and having a movable edge gripper with a contact surface and an edge of the substrate may be gripped by actuating the movable edge gripper to engage the substrate with the contact surface.”) comprising:
a plunger body (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”);
an actuator configured to actuate the plunger body (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”);
a gripper coupled to the plunger body and configured to apply a gripping force to a
substrate (See at least Para [0006] “…Higher speeds are obtained by transport apparatus
having active grip end effectors that apply a clamping force to the edge of a substrate as it is moved…”, Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300 A actuates the movable edge grippers 37 , 38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”), …
a controller to control the substrate gripping assembly, wherein the controller is
configured to:
cause the actuator to actuate the plunger body, wherein the gripper is caused to apply
the gripping force to the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body (See at least Para [0006] “…Higher speeds are obtained by transport apparatus having active grip end effectors that apply a clamping force to the edge of a substrate as it is moved…”, Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300 A actuates the movable edge grippers 37 , 38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”);
receive sensor data from the sensor indicative of a value of a parameter (See at least
Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”) …;
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out … wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line;
a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body; …
… associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate;
determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the value of the parameter; and
update a control signal to the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least in part on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate.
Yoshida teaches … wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line (See at least Fig 10 shows that the plunger body (16) and the gripper (7) are arranged substantially in a straight line);
a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body (See at least Fig 9 shows sensor (19) is coupled with plunger body (16), Para [0083] “As illustrated in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10, a position sensor 19 for detecting a position of the plunger 16 is provided adjacently to the plunger 16. The position sensor 19 can determine whether the substrate S is held on the end effector 7 or not.”); …
… associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate (See at least Para [0018] “… a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit ...”, Para [0085] “Also in this embodiment, similarly to the above-stated embodiment in FIG. 1, the robot controller 12 determines the respective upper limit values of acceleration and speed of the end effector 7 based on the substrate holding force (pressure of plunger 16) detected by the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20).”);
determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the value of the parameter (See at least Para [0018] “… a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit ...”, Para [0085] “Also in this embodiment, similarly to the above-stated embodiment in FIG. 1, the robot controller 12 determines the respective upper limit values of acceleration and speed of the end effector 7 based on the substrate holding force (pressure of plunger 16) detected by the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20).”; and
update a control signal to the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least in part on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate (See at least Para [0018] “In order to achieve the above-mentioned objects, a substrate conveyance robot according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a robot arm, an end effector provided to the robot arm, the end effector having a substrate holding unit configured to hold a substrate, an arm drive unit configured to drive the robot arm, a robot control unit configured to control the arm drive unit, and a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit, wherein the robot control unit is configured to control the arm drive unit based on an upper limit value of at least one of an acceleration and a speed of the end effector which are determined in accordance with the substrate holding force detected by the holding force detection unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Yoshida and include the feature of actuator, wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line, a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body, a controller configured to determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the measured value of the parameter thereby make the process faster which will enhance the throughput (See at least Para [0005] “… it is necessary to speed-up the robot operation so as to shorten the conveyance time in order to enhance throughput…”). Although, Yoshida discloses position sensor adjacent to the plunger body not the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20); however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) mechanically coupled with the plunger body since the applicant has not disclosed that the particular placement solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) being in that designated place.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 13. Duhamel further teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the value of the parameter associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate comprises a force value or a strain value (See at least Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300A actuates the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”, discloses actuating the movable edge grippers (which includes the plunger) with a predetermined amount of clamping force when sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level which is construed as the value of the parameter associated with actuation of the plunger body is indicative of force applied by the gripper on a gripped substrate, Para [0029] “As noted before, an adjustment device 46 may be located on the movable arm assembly 29 for setting a predetermined sensed acceleration threshold for actuating the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39. An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly…”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 13. Duhamel further teaches the system of claim 13, wherein updating actuation of the plunger body comprises causing the gripper to exert less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate (See at least Para [0029] “… An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly. These adjustment devices 46, 47 may be suitable input devices, connected by the interfacing circuit 45 to the microprocessor 300A (see FIG. 3). By way of example, the adjustment devices 46, may be suitable EPROM devices, resident on the microprocessor or separate therefrom, programmed with the desired threshold values. The microprocessor programming accesses the threshold values in devices 46, 47 for operation of the grippers. The devices 46, 47 may be programmable in place or may be removable to allow offsite programming. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable adjustment devices may be used.”, discloses a predetermined force applied to the substrate during actuation of the movable edge grippers which is construed as the actuator being controlled such that the gripper exerts less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 13. Duhamel teaches a motion sensor/ accelerometer data to control the gripping mechanism (See at least Para [0028] Referring now also to FIG. 3A, there is shown another schematic block diagram illustrating the operating mode of the grippers on end effector 35 in this exemplary embodiment. As shown in FIG. 3a, the on board microprocessor 300A controls actuation of the gripping mechanism in response to signals from motion sensor 44 communicated to the microprocessor directly via the interfacing circuit 45, without any signaling between the movable arm assembly 29 and any controller or other device outside the isolated transfer chamber. The motion sensor 44 outputs a suitable signal, representative of sensed motion of a desired portion of the arm assembly 29 to allow detection of motion of the end effector. For example, if the motion sensor 44 includes an accelerometer on the end effector, the sensor output signal may be a voltage difference to ground that is proportional to the measured acceleration in some direction. The motion sensor 44 may sense acceleration in at least two independent directions likely to cause dislocation of the substrate on the chuck 36, for example directions coplanar with the end effector, such as along orthogonal axes (X,T) shown in FIG. 2. This allows the total magnitude of acceleration within the plane of motion of the end effector to be calculated and used to actuate the edge gripping mechanism. Output signals from the accelerometer 44 serve as inputs via the interfacing circuit 45 to the microprocessor 300A (and to controller 300 if desired as will be described below)…”) and he teaches substrate present detector to identify the presence of substrate (See at least Para [0027] “…A mobile power supply 48 is located on the movable arm assembly for powering electrical devices including the accelerometer 44, interfacing circuit 45, substrate presence detector 49 and linear actuator 40…”, Para [0030] “As illustrated in FIGS. 2-3, a substrate presence detector 49 is located on the end effector. In this exemplary embodiment the substrate presence detector 49 may be for example a capacitive proximity sensor, and is mounted on the end effector such that when a substrate is properly seated on the chuck, the substrate presence detector will detect the presence of the properly seated substrate…”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Duhamel and include the
system of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to detect presence of the substrate based on the sensor data, thereby using the same sensor data to both identify the presence of substrate and control the gripping mechanism.
Regarding Claim 18, Duhamel teaches a method comprising:
causing an actuator to actuate, via a coupling body, a plunger body of a substrate gripping assembly (See at least Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”), wherein a gripper is caused to apply a gripping force to a substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body via the coupling body (See at least Para [0006] “…Higher speeds are obtained by transport apparatus having active grip end effectors that apply a clamping force to the edge of a substrate as it is moved…”, Para [0024] “Referring again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, discloses associated mechanical linkages which is construed as coupling body, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300 A actuates the movable edge grippers 37 , 38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”);
receiving sensor data … indicative of a value of a parameter (See at least Para [0024] “Referring
again to FIG. 2, there is shown a top plan view of the end effector 35 and a substrate S supported by the chuck 36 of end effector 35. To engage and grip the substrate, movable edge grippers 37, 38 and 39 are moved toward the substrate by the motion of an actuator 40 and associated mechanical linkages, causing the respective contact pads 41, 42 and 43 to engage the edge of the substrate. Backside contact pads (not shown) may be located on the end effector 35 to support the substrate when the active grip mechanism is totally released. The edge contact pads 41, 42 and 43 may each comprise an upper and lower lip forming an included angle therebetween, the substrate edge being held within the included angle…In alternate embodiments, the end effector may have any other suitable active edge grip mechanism and may use an actuator of any suitable type such as a solenoid or a piezoelectric device, or may use no actuator at all. For example, the active grip mechanism may have a single plunger mounted near the wrist that urges the substrate against a passive contact pad when actuated.”, Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”) …
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out … wherein the plunger body and the gripper are
arranged substantially in a straight line … from a sensor coupled with the plunger body … associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate …
determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the value of the parameter; and
updating a control signal to the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least in part on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate.
Yoshida teaches … wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a
straight line (See at least Fig 10 shows that the plunger body (16) and the gripper (7) are arranged substantially in a straight line) … from a sensor coupled with the plunger body (See at least Fig 9 shows sensor (19) is coupled with plunger body (16), Para [0083] “As illustrated in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10, a position sensor 19 for detecting a position of the plunger 16 is provided adjacently to the plunger 16. The position sensor 19 can determine whether the substrate S is held on the end effector 7 or not.”) … associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate …
determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the value of the parameter (See at least Para [0018] “… a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit ...”, Para [0085] “Also in this embodiment, similarly to the above-stated embodiment in FIG. 1, the robot controller 12 determines the respective upper limit values of acceleration and speed of the end effector 7 based on the substrate holding force (pressure of plunger 16) detected by the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20).”); and
updating a control signal to the actuator to update actuation of the plunger body to update the gripping force applied to the substrate based at least in part on the determined gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate.
(See at least Para [0018] “In order to achieve the above-mentioned objects, a substrate conveyance robot according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a robot arm, an end effector provided to the robot arm, the end effector having a substrate holding unit configured to hold a substrate, an arm drive unit configured to drive the robot arm, a robot control unit configured to control the arm drive unit, and a holding force detection unit configured to detect a substrate holding force exerted by the substrate holding unit, wherein the robot control unit is configured to control the arm drive unit based on an upper limit value of at least one of an acceleration and a speed of the end effector which are determined in accordance with the substrate holding force detected by the holding force detection unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Yoshida and include the feature of actuator, wherein the plunger body and the gripper are arranged substantially in a straight line, a sensor mechanically coupled with the plunger body, a controller configured to determine the gripping force applied by the gripper to the substrate based on the measured value of the parameter thereby make the process faster which will enhance the throughput (See at least Para [0005] “… it is necessary to speed-up the robot operation so as to shorten the conveyance time in order to enhance throughput…”). Although, Yoshida discloses position sensor adjacent to the plunger body not the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20); however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the holding force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) mechanically coupled with the plunger body since the applicant has not disclosed that the particular placement solves any state problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the force detection unit (pressure sensor 20) being in that designated place.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 18. Duhamel further teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the value of the parameter associated with the gripping force applied to the substrate comprises a force value or a strain value (See at least Para [0025] “Still referring to FIG. 2, a motion sensor 44, for example an accelerometer, is mounted on the movable arm assembly 29. The motion sensor 44 is capable of sensing motion of the end effector 35 along desired axes. In this exemplary embodiment the motion sensor is more specifically located on the end effector 35, but in alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located elsewhere on the movable arm assembly 29. In other alternate embodiments the motion sensor may be located apart from the movable arm assembly, for example on the transport chamber housing. As noted before, the motion sensor 44 may be an accelerometer. It may be of any suitable type, such as capacitive, piezoresistive, or servo-electric. The accelerometer may be a micro electro-mechanical system, may be incorporated in an integrated circuit and may be produced by surface micro-lithography or micro-machining. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable type of motion sensor may be used, such as a proximity influence sensor, a sensor using a reflected beam or through beam to detect motion of the end effector, or a system wherein optical, acoustic, or radio interferometry is used to sense motion of the end effector.”, Para [0028] “…Upon registering that the magnitude of the sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level, the microprocessor 300A actuates the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 with a predetermined amount of clamping force…”, discloses actuating the movable edge grippers (which includes the plunger) with a predetermined amount of clamping force when sensed acceleration exceeds a predetermined level which is construed as the value of the parameter associated with actuation of the plunger body is indicative of force applied by the gripper on a gripped substrate, Para [0029] “As noted before, an adjustment device 46 may be located on the movable arm assembly 29 for setting a predetermined sensed acceleration threshold for actuating the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39. An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly…”).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 18. Duhamel further teaches the method of claim 18, wherein updating actuation of the plunger body comprises causing the gripper to exert less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate (See at least Para [0029] “… An adjustment device 47 for setting a predetermined force to be applied to the substrate S during actuation of the movable edge grippers 37,38 and 39 may also be located on the arm assembly. These adjustment devices 46, 47 may be suitable input devices, connected by the interfacing circuit 45 to the microprocessor 300A (see FIG. 3). By way of example, the adjustment devices 46, may be suitable EPROM devices, resident on the microprocessor or separate therefrom, programmed with the desired threshold values. The microprocessor programming accesses the threshold values in devices 46, 47 for operation of the grippers. The devices 46, 47 may be programmable in place or may be removable to allow offsite programming. In alternate embodiments, any other suitable adjustment devices may be used.”, discloses a predetermined force applied to the substrate during actuation of the movable edge grippers which is construed as the actuator being controlled such that the gripper exerts less than a threshold amount of force on the substrate).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhamel et al. (US 2012/0189406 A1) (Hereinafter Duhamel) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20170170050 A1) (Hereinafter Yoshida), and further in view of Sheikholeslami et al. (US 20220118630 A1) (Hereinafter Sheikholeslami).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out the substrate gripping system of claim 1, further comprising:
a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body.
Sheikholeslami teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, further comprising:
a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body (See at least Para [0045] “…For this purpose, electrodes can be embedded into the membrane 31 and charged accordingly to increase the preload and to reduce the pressure applied on the object by the membrane.”, discloses reducing the pressure applied on the object which is construed as having a damper, Para [0064] “…When an object is being grasped by the gripping device 107, the latch can also attract to hold the plunger 41 further up in the solenoid 23, hence reduce the magnetic force needed by the solenoid 23.”, Para [0040] “The present invention comprises a chamber 20, a solenoid 21 coiled about the chamber 20, a deformable membrane 31, and a plunger 41 attached to the deformable membrane 31. These components are described in various configurations and work in conjunction to provide grip onto an object 91, or more specifically, by deforming the membrane 30 through electromagnetic forces such that the membrane 31 creates the negative pressure (suction) and/or other forces necessary to lift and displace an object 91. The electromagnetic interaction between the solenoid 21 and the plunger 41 induces movement of the membrane 31, and as such, deformation of the membrane 31 around the object 91. Further movement of the object 91, depending on the roughness and porosity of the object 91, can create a suction pocket between the object 91 and the membrane 31, further increasing the gripping potential of the present invention.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Sheikholeslami and include the feature of a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body, thereby provide the ability to flexibly and properly grip the substrate (See at least Para [0005] “Flexible grippers are designed to handle objects in areas where rigid grippers are not best suited. In order to achieve the goal for more flexible grippers, numerous soft grippers have been designed which can pick and place objects with different shapes and weights. Some of these grippers need a vacuum pump or air compressor to actuate. For example, some variants incorporate suction cups and vacuums to lift objects through suction force…”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 5.
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out the substrate gripping system of claim 5, wherein the damper comprises an electromagnet configured to interact with the plunger body via an electromagnetic force generated by the electromagnet responsive to the gripper contacting the substrate.
Sheikholeslami teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 5, wherein the damper comprises an electromagnet configured to interact with the plunger body via an electromagnetic force generated by the electromagnet responsive to the gripper contacting the substrate (See at least Para [0040] “The present invention comprises a chamber 20, a solenoid 21 coiled about the chamber 20, a deformable membrane 31, and a plunger 41 attached to the deformable membrane 31. These components are described in various configurations and work in conjunction to provide grip onto an object 91, or more specifically, by deforming the membrane 30 through electromagnetic forces such that the membrane 31 creates the negative pressure (suction) and/or other forces necessary to lift and displace an object 91. The electromagnetic interaction between the solenoid 21 and the plunger 41 induces movement of the membrane 31, and as such, deformation of the membrane 31 around the object 91. Further movement of the object 91, depending on the roughness and porosity of the object 91, can create a suction pocket between the object 91 and the membrane 31, further increasing the gripping potential of the present invention.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Sheikholeslami and include the feature of the damper comprising an electromagnet configured to interact with the plunger body via an electromagnetic force generated by the electromagnet responsive to the gripper contacting the substrate, thereby provide the ability to flexibly and properly grip the substrate (See at least Para [0005] “Flexible grippers are designed to handle objects in areas where rigid grippers are not best suited. In order to achieve the goal for more flexible grippers, numerous soft grippers have been designed which can pick and place objects with different shapes and weights. Some of these grippers need a vacuum pump or air compressor to actuate. For example, some variants incorporate suction cups and vacuums to lift objects through suction force…”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 13.
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out the system of claim 13, wherein the substrate gripping assembly further comprises:
a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body.
Sheikholeslami teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the substrate gripping assembly further comprises:
a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body (See at least Para [0045] “…For this purpose, electrodes can be embedded into the membrane 31 and charged accordingly to increase the preload and to reduce the pressure applied on the object by the membrane.”, discloses reducing the pressure applied on the object which is construed as having a damper, Para [0064] “…When an object is being grasped by the gripping device 107, the latch can also attract to hold the plunger 41 further up in the solenoid 23, hence reduce the magnetic force needed by the solenoid 23.”, Para [0040] “The present invention comprises a chamber 20, a solenoid 21 coiled about the chamber 20, a deformable membrane 31, and a plunger 41 attached to the deformable membrane 31. These components are described in various configurations and work in conjunction to provide grip onto an object 91, or more specifically, by deforming the membrane 30 through electromagnetic forces such that the membrane 31 creates the negative pressure (suction) and/or other forces necessary to lift and displace an object 91. The electromagnetic interaction between the solenoid 21 and the plunger 41 induces movement of the membrane 31, and as such, deformation of the membrane 31 around the object 91. Further movement of the object 91, depending on the roughness and porosity of the object 91, can create a suction pocket between the object 91 and the membrane 31, further increasing the gripping potential of the present invention.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Duhamel with the teachings of Sheikholeslami and include the feature of a damper configured to reduce an impulse between the gripper and the substrate upon contact of the gripper and the substrate responsive to actuation of the plunger body, thereby provide the ability to flexibly and properly grip the substrate (See at least Para [0005] “Flexible grippers are designed to handle objects in areas where rigid grippers are not best suited. In order to achieve the goal for more flexible grippers, numerous soft grippers have been designed which can pick and place objects with different shapes and weights. Some of these grippers need a vacuum pump or air compressor to actuate. For example, some variants incorporate suction cups and vacuums to lift objects through suction force…”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhamel et al. (US 2012/0189406 A1) (Hereinafter Duhamel) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20170170050 A1) (Hereinafter Yoshida), and further in view of Hosek (US 20130294877 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out the substrate gripping system of claim 1,
wherein the plunger body comprises a flexure joint between the actuator and the gripper, and wherein the flexure joint is configured to compress in a direction of motion of the gripper responsive to the plunger body actuating to cause the gripper to grip the substrate.
Hosek teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, wherein the plunger body
comprises a flexure joint between the actuator and the gripper, and wherein the flexure joint is configured to compress in a direction of motion of the gripper responsive to the plunger body actuating to cause the gripper to grip the substrate (See at least Para [0055] “Referring now to FIG. 22 a diagram showing the asymmetric force-displacement profile of a biasing element, for example as discussed with respect to the gripper flexure arrangement as shown in FIGS. 18-21. Here, graph 360 in FIG. 22 shows force 362 exerted by the flexure in the direction of extension of the gripper as a function of the displacement 364 of the flexure, which also measures in the direction of extension of the gripper…” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Duhamel with the teachings of Hosek and include the feature of the plunger body comprising a flexure joint between the actuator and the gripper, and wherein the flexure joint is configured to compress in a direction of motion of the gripper responsive to the plunger body actuating to cause the gripper to grip the substrate, thereby provide the ability to flexibly and properly grip the substrate (See at least Para [0008] “Therefore, it is advantageous to provide a vacuum-compatible robot gripper system, such as an active edge-clamping mechanism, that would eliminate the acceleration constraint due to substrate slippage and allowed for an increased throughput performance of the vacuum environment robots.”)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhamel et al. (US 2012/0189406 A1) (Hereinafter Duhamel) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20170170050 A1) (Hereinafter Yoshida), and further in view of La Rovere et al. (US 2012/0207574 A1) (Hereinafter La Rovere).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Duhamel teaches all the elements of claim 1. Duhamel further teaches … within a threshold range of rotation (See at least Para [0035] “…he controller 300 may then compare the measured acceleration to a preset threshold level. If the measured acceleration exceeds the threshold level, the controller 300 may send a signal to the microprocessor 300A via the wireless communication devices 200, 201 instructing actuation of the active grip mechanism.”).
However, Duhamel does not explicitly spell out the substrate gripping system of claim 1, further
comprising:
a bearing to couple the gripper to the plunger body, wherein the bearing is configured to allow the gripper to rotate with respect to the plunger body …
La Rovere teaches the substrate gripping system of claim 1, further
comprising:
a bearing to couple the gripper to the plunger body, wherein the bearing is configured to allow the gripper to rotate with respect to the plunger body (See at least Para [0032] “… In the embodiment shown, the distal end 116 f has a cylindrical bearing bore 128 therethrough. Bearing bores 128 are positioned coaxially relative to one another to accommodate insertion of a bearing shaft 130 therethrough such that bearing shaft 130 traverses distance D. Bearing shaft 130 supports a gripping mechanism such as a suction cup assembly 132 in rotatable motion relative to elongate arm 106 .”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Duhamel with the teachings of La Rovere and include the feature of a bearing to couple the gripper to the plunger body, wherein the bearing is configured to allow the gripper to rotate with respect to the plunger body within a threshold range of rotation, thereby provide the ability to flexibly and properly grip the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Curhan et al (US2021370527A1) teaches a soft robotic gripper having component parts capable
of being assembled in the field
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658