DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 09/07/2023 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 19, 20, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0209154 A1, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Kang et al. (KR 20220081707 A, hereinafter “Kang”).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an organic light emitting diode, comprising:
a first electrode (110);
a second electrode (200) facing the first electrode (110); and
an emissive layer (130/140) disposed between the first (110) and second (200) electrode, and comprising at least one emitting part (141, 142, 143),
wherein the at least one emitting part (140) comprises:
a red emitting material layer (141) comprising a first red host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]);
a yellow-green emitting material layer (142) disposed between the red emitting material layer (141) and the second electrode (200), and comprising a first yellow-green host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]); and
a green emitting material layer (143) disposed between the yellow-green emitting material layer (142) and the second electrode (200), and comprising a first green host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]).
Kim fails to explicitly teach
wherein the green emitting material layer has a thickness larger than a thickness of the yellow-green emitting material layer, and
optionally, wherein the thickness of the green emitting material layer is larger than a thickness of the red emitting material layer.
Kang while disclosing an organic light emitting device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 1) wherein the green emitting material layer (43, 250Å Example 1, page 6) has a thickness larger than a thickness of the yellow-green emitting material layer (42, 100 Å, Example 1, page 6), and
optionally, wherein the thickness of the green emitting material layer (43, 250Å Example 1, page 6) is larger than a thickness of the red emitting material layer (41, 150 Å, Example 1, page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Kang because providing the green light emitting layer with a greater thickness than the yellow-green light emitting layer results in a more uniform distribution of holes and electrons in the light emitting layer, thereby achieving a constant light emission across both low current and high current regions.
In regard to claim 11, Kim discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an organic light emitting diode, comprising:
a first electrode (110);
a second electrode (200) facing the first electrode (110); and
an emissive layer (130/140) disposed between the first electrode (110) and the second electrode (200),
wherein the emissive layer (130/140) comprises:
a first emitting part (130);
a second emitting part (140) disposed between the first emitting part (130) and the second electrode (200); and
a first charge generation layer (150) disposed between the first emitting part (130) and the second emitting part (140),
wherein one of the first emitting part (130) and the second emitting part (140) comprises a first blue emitting material layer (BEML, See, Par [0030]), and
wherein another of the first emitting part (130) and the second emitting part (140) comprises:
a red emitting material layer (141) comprising a first red host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]);
a yellow-green emitting material layer (142) disposed between the red emitting material layer (141) and the second electrode (200), and comprising a first yellow-green host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]);
a green emitting material layer (143) disposed between the yellow-green emitting material layer (142) and the second electrode (200), and comprising a first green host (See, for example, Pars [0038] and [0039]).
Kim fails to explicitly teach
wherein each of the red emitting material layer and the green emitting material layer has a thickness larger than a thickness of the yellow-green emitting material layer; and
optionally, wherein the thickness of the green emitting material layer is larger than the thickness of the red emitting material layer.
Kang while disclosing an organic light emitting device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 1) wherein the green emitting material layer (43, 250Å Example 1, page 6) has a thickness larger than a thickness of the yellow-green emitting material layer (42, 100 Å, Example 1, page 6), and
optionally, wherein the thickness of the green emitting material layer (43, 250Å Example 1, page 6) is larger than a thickness of the red emitting material layer (41, 150 Å, Example 1, page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Kang because providing the green light emitting layer with a greater thickness than the yellow-green light emitting layer results in a more uniform distribution of holes and electrons in the light emitting layer, thereby achieving a constant light emission across both low current and high current regions.
In regards to claims 2 and 12, Kim as modified above discloses (See, Fig. 1, Kang) the red emitting material layer has a thickness from about 100 Å and about 300 Å (41, 150 Å, Example 1, page 6), the yellow-green emitting material layer has a thickness from about 50 Å and about 200 Å (42, 100 Å, Example 1, page 6), the green emitting material layer has a thickness from about 100 Å and about 400 Å (43, 250Å Example 1, page 6), wherein the green emitting material layer (43) has a thickness larger than a thickness of the yellow-green emitting material layer (42), and wherein the thickness of the green emitting material layer (43) is larger than a thickness of the red emitting material layer (41).
In regards to claim 9, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1, Kim) the emissive layer (130/140) comprises:
a first emitting part (130);
a second emitting part (140) disposed between the first emitting part (130) and the second electrode (200); and
a first charge generation layer (150) disposed between the first emitting part (130) and the second emitting part (140), and
wherein one of the first emitting part (130) and the second emitting part (140) comprises the red emitting material layer (141), the yellow-green emitting material layer (142) and the green emitting material layer (143).
In regards to claims 10 and 20, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2, Kim) the emissive layer further comprises:
a third emitting part (160) disposed between the second emitting part (140) and the second electrode (200); and
a second charge generation layer (170) disposed between the second emitting part (140) and the third emitting part (170).
In regards to claim 19, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1, Kim) the first emitting part (130) comprises the first blue emitting material layer (BEML) and the second emitting part (140) comprises the red emitting material layer (141), the yellow-green emitting material layer (142) and the green emitting material layer (143).
In regards to claim 21, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1, Kim) an organic light emitting device, comprising:
a substrate (100); and
the organic light emitting diode of claim 1 (See also, OLED of Fig. 6) over the substrate (100).
In regards to claim 22, Kim as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1, Kim) an organic light emitting device, comprising:
a substrate (100); and
the organic light emitting diode of claim 11 (See also, OLED of Fig. 6) over the substrate (100).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kang, Jeon et al. (US 2023/0209858 A1, hereinafter “Jeon”), YU et al. (US 2022/0209115 A1, hereinafter “YU”)
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1and 11, respectively, except that the first red host is a compound according to Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2, wherein the first yellow-green host and the first green host are each independently a compound according to Chemical Formula 9, or Chemical Formula 10.
Jeon while disclosing an OLED teaches the first red host is a compound according to Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2 (See, for example, Pars [0017], [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Jeon because this lowers the operation voltage of the OLED while improving both the light-emitting efficiency and the lifetime of the device.
YU while disclosing an organic light emitting diode teaches wherein the first yellow-green host and the first green host are each independently a compound according to Chemical Formula 9, or Chemical Formula 10 (See for green host, Par [0211] and [0212]; for the yellow -green host, See Par [0309]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to to modify Kim by Yu because this would help achieve improved emitting efficiency and lifespan in the OLED device while optimizing charge balance and energy transfer.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kang, and Jeon.
In regards to claims 4 and 14, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, except that the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host selected from a compound according to Chemical Formula 3, Chemical Formula 4, Chemical Formula 5 or Chemical Formula 6.
Jeon discloses that the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host (B host) selected from a compound according to Chemical Formula 3, Chemical Formula 4, Chemical Formula 5 or Chemical Formula 6. (
See, Claim 19 in page 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Jeon because this lowers the operation voltage of the OLED while improving both the light-emitting efficiency and the lifetime of the device.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, except that the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host, wherein the second red host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first red host, wherein the second red host has a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level in a range between about −2.6 eV and about −3.2 eV, and optionally, wherein a content of the second red host is greater than a content of the first red host in the red emitting material layer.
Jeon discloses the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host, wherein the second red host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first red host (See, for example, Par [0065]), wherein the second red host has a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level in a range between about −2.6 eV and about −3.2 eV (|(LUMOHOSTA)| may be in a range of 1.6 to 2.6 eV, and |(LUMOHOSTB)| may be in a range of 2.0 to 3.0 eV, See Par [0064]) , and optionally, wherein a content of the second red host is greater than a content of the first red host in the red emitting material layer (“the mixing ratio (by weight) of the host A and host B may be in the range of, for example, 1:9-9:1, for example, 2:8, for example, 3:7, for example, 4:6…”, See for example, Par [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Jeon because this lowers the operation voltage of the OLED while improving both the light-emitting efficiency and the lifetime of the device.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kang, and YU.
In regards to claims 6 and 16, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, except that the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host, wherein the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host, and wherein a content of the first green host is greater than a content of the second green host in the green emitting material layer.
YU discloses the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host (N-type green host, See Par [0211]), wherein the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host (See, for example, Par [0211), and wherein a content of the first green host is greater than a content of the second green host in the green emitting material layer (“… a weight ratio of the P-type green host to the N-type green host can be 1:9 to 9:1, preferably 2:8 to 8:2, more preferably 3:7 to 7:3.”, See Par [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to to modify Kim by Yu because this would help achieve improved emitting efficiency and lifespan in the OLED device while optimizing charge balance and energy transfer.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kang, and KIM et al. (KR 20130057204 A, hereinafter “KIM’204).
In regards to claims 7 and 17, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, except that the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host, wherein the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host, and wherein the second green host has a HOMO energy level in a range between about −5.4 eV and about −5.9 eV.
KIM’204 while disclosing an OLED teaches the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host, wherein the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host, and wherein the second green host has a HOMO energy level in a range between about −5.4 eV and about −5.9 eV (having a HOMO level of about 5.8 eV for the first green host; and a HOMO level of about 6.0 eV for the second green host, See for example, pp. 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify KIM by KIM’204 because this would help ensure efficient hole transport and confinement within the green emitting layer, thereby enabling omission of the auxiliary hole transport layer while maintaining excellent color purity and improving luminous efficiency.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kang, Jeon, KIM’204 and YU et al. (US 2022/0209131 A1, hereinafter “YU’131”)
In regards to claims 8 and 18, Kim as modified above discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, except that the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host, the yellow-green emitting material layer further comprises a second yellow-green host and the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host,
wherein the second red host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first red host, the second yellow-green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first yellow-green host and the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host, and
wherein the second red host has a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level lower than a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level of at least one of the second yellow-green host and the second green host.
Jeon discloses the red emitting material layer further comprises a second red host,
(See, for example, Par [0065]), wherein the second red host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first red host.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim by Jeon because this lowers the operation voltage of the OLED while improving both the light-emitting efficiency and the lifetime of the device.
YU’131 while disclosing an OLED teaches the yellow-green emitting material layer further comprises a second yellow-green host, the second yellow-green host (N-type second-yellow-green host, See, Par [00306]) has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first yellow-green host (P-type yellow-green host, See Par [0303]) and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify KIM by YU’131 because this would help provide balanced hole and electron transport within the emitting layer to improve the charge recombination efficiency and overall device performance of the OLED.
KIM’204 teaches the green emitting material layer further comprises a second green host, wherein the second green host has an electron mobility larger than an electron mobility of the first green host (having a HOMO level of about 5.8 eV for the first green host; and a HOMO level of about 6.0 eV for the second green host, See for example, pp. 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify KIM by KIM’204 because this would help ensure efficient hole transport and confinement within the green emitting layer, thereby enabling omission of the auxiliary hole transport layer while maintaining excellent color purity and improving luminous efficiency.
In regards to the second red host having a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level lower than a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level of at least one of the second yellow-green host and the second green host, it is well known in the art of manufacturing an OLED to ensure efficient electron delivery to emitting layers positioned farther from the cathode, the LUMO energy levels of the respective n-type host materials should progressively deepen, i.e. becoming lower or more negative, in the direction of electron flow from the cathode toward the anode. A shallower LUMO at the red EML host relative to the green or yellow-green host would create a barrier that impedes electron injection into the red EML, resulting in charge imbalance, reduced efficiency, and degraded device performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure to have the second red host to have a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level lower than a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level of at least one of the second yellow-green host and the second green host because it is well known in the art of manufacturing an OLED to ensure efficient electron delivery to emitting layers positioned farther from the cathode, the LUMO energy levels of the respective n-type host materials should progressively deepen, i.e. becoming lower or more negative, in the direction of electron flow from the cathode toward the anode. A shallower LUMO at the red EML host relative to the green or yellow-green host would create a barrier that impedes electron injection into the red EML, resulting in charge imbalance, reduced efficiency, and degraded device performance.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893