DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on 09/08/2023 and Amendments filed on 11/14/2025 have been examined.
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 05/22/2026. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 8 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 15-18 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”), filed 05/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17, and their corresponding dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 stating “… The cited references fail to teach, disclose or suggest .... Storing the input data, the real-time video data, and a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator; and maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model… Applicant, therefore, submits that Jones alone or in combination fails to teach, disclose or suggest storing the input data, the real-time video data, and a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator; and maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model, as recited in independent claims 1, 9, and 17…” have been considered but are moot due to the amendments and added limitations provided above. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bielby US 20210403052 A1 (“Bielby”) and Wang et al. US 11186258 B2 (“Wang”).
Examiner note to help applicant overcome the prior art of record: in order to overcome the prior art of record, applicant can amend claims 1, 9, and 17 as follows:
1. “and wherein the permissibility of operating the asset based on the plurality of responses corresponding to the examination questionnaire is determined using the ML model;”
9. “and wherein the permissibility of operating the asset based on the plurality of responses corresponding to the examination questionnaire is determined using the ML model;”
17. “and wherein the permissibility of operating the asset based on the plurality of responses corresponding to the examination questionnaire is determined using the ML model;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. US 20190210607 A1 (“Kobayashi”) in view of Jones US 20210139037 A1 (“Jones”), Gester et al. US 20200219350 A1 (“Gester”), Bertrand et al. US 20240059301 A1 (“Bertrand”), Arechiga-Gonzalez et al. US 20220153302 A1 (“Arechiga-Gonzalez”), Bielby US 20210403052 A1 (“Bielby”), and Wang et al. US 11186258 B2 (“Wang”).
For claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a method of intoxication examination of an operator for operating an asset, the method (See at least [0006] of Kobayashi – “… a vehicle control device including: a speech acquiring section that acquires speech data related to a speech of a speaker; a state acquiring section that acquires information indicating whether or not a driver attempting to start driving a vehicle is in an intoxicated state based on the speech data; and a control section configured to limit a start operation of the vehicle in a case in which the information indicates that the driver is in the intoxicated state…”) comprising:
receiving, by a server, input data corresponding to the operator prior to operating the asset from at least one of an asset or a client device, wherein the asset is in a locked state, and wherein in the locked state the asset is inaccessible by the operator (See at least [0072]-[0076] of Kobayashi – “… In the server 14 that has received the speech data and the image data from the vehicle control device 12, the control section 70 determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 using the alcohol level determining model 47... In a case in which the driver 11 is in the intoxicated state, an affirmative determination is made in step S104, and the process proceeds to step S106… In step S106… the control section 50 prevents the opening of the driver's door, and the present vehicle control process ends…”);
determining, by the server, an intoxication score of the operator based on the input data using a Machine Learning (ML) model (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47. The alcohol level determining model 47 is a learned model including a speech data of a speaker (the driver 11) and an image data of the speaker as an input, and including information …The alcohol level determining model 47 is constructed by machine learning using plural data pairs as learning data. The plural data pairs are configured by pairing the teaching data and output data with each other. The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”);
determining, by the server and using the ML model, permissibility of operating an asset for the operator through a plurality of predefined rules (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”) based on:
the intoxication score of the operator (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47… The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”); and
a plurality of responses corresponding to an examination questionnaire received from the operator (See at least [0055] of Kobayashi – “… the output section 51 outputs a voice for asking the driver 11 an effective predetermined question, or the like, in order to determine the alcohol level, as a voice for urging an answer, through the sound output section 30…”);
assigning, by the server, the asset to the operator when the asset operation is determined to be permissible for the operator (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S104, and the vehicle control process proceeds to step S108. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13…”);
transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises operator details (See at least [0074] of Kobayashi – “… the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14…”);
authorizing, by the asset, the operator to operate the asset based on the authorization information, wherein upon successfully authorizing, the asset is in an unlocked state, and wherein in the unlocked state the asset is accessible by the operator (See at least [0074]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “in step S102, the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14… in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state… the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13… On the other hand, in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset,
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire.
However, Jones, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset (See at least [0088] of Jones – “The sobriety threshold is pre-programmed and is stored on the sobriety processor 20 or on a memory device connected to the sobriety processor 20… the sobriety threshold sets the upper limit on how inebriated the vehicle driver may be and still be allowed to operate the vehicle...”),
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire (See at least [0083]-[0084] of Jones – “… the haptic input device 26 is utilized to measure motor functions or the agility of the vehicle driver… motor function tests measure the reaction time of the vehicle driver, which is then utilized to determine whether or not the vehicle driver should be allowed to operate the vehicle… The responses recorded throughout the motor function tests are recorded and compared by the sobriety processor 20 to the baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Jones teaches a system that determines whether a sobriety level of driver meets a threshold requirement to allow a vehicle to be operated based on measurements from an blood alcohol sensor and a plurality of cognitive tests or motor functions tests.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire as taught by Jones, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to compare the responses to baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle as specified in at least [0084] of Jones.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer.
However, Gester, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer (See at least [0031]-[0038] – “… sobriety testing station 2, which sends the authorization data (i.e. the employment number or the personal identification number) to the central control unit 3… If the central control unit 3 finds a match between the authorization data and the general authorization information… examples of restrictions can be … the individual is, for example, only permitted to drive company cars... The authorization control and sobriety testing station 2 is further configured and arranged to send the result of the analysis of the bodily signature sample to the central control unit 3, which, if there is a positive match between the authorization data and the general authorization information and no detection of alcohol, issues temporary authorization information, which is sent to, or which is otherwise accessible or obtainable by, the at least one access control unit 4… at least one access control unit 4 is configured and arranged to obtain the temporary authorization information issued by the central control unit 3 and to verify the validity of the temporary authorization information, and to, if the temporary authorization information is valid, grant access to the individual who is seeking such access… access control unit 4 is implemented in a vehicle…” and [0054] of Gester – “… the time interval within which the temporary authorization information is valid, is determined and set by the operator of the system for access control and sobriety testing… If the system instead is incorporated in a vehicle, a considerably longer time interval can be necessary… a suitable time interval can correspond to the length of the work shift, e.g. 4 hours or 8 hours, or somewhat longer to take into account unforeseen events…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Gester teaches a system that provides access control for drivers to operate vehicles that comprises providing class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, and an issuer to temporarily authorize use of a vehicle to a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer as taught by Gester, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to grant access to an individual seeking access to a vehicle when verification of temporary authorization information has been completed as specified in at least [0056] of Gester.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum.
However, Bertrand, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum (See at least [0064] of Bertrand – “… The first computing unit 100 may comprise a first processing module 101 configured to verify the integrity of a computation request received by the device 10 for computing driving parameters from an external sending device 20… The external sending device 20 may further send, simultaneously or sequentially over time, the computation request and the associated checksum…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bertrand teaches a system that verifies the integrity of information received by different computing components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum as taught by Bertrand, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify the integrity of a request as specified in at least [0064] of Bertrand.
Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation.
However, Arechiga-Gonzalez, in the same field of endeavor teaches upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation (See at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez – “… predicting impairment of a driver of a vehicle by a driver monitor system including at least one video camera….detecting, by the processing circuitry, eye gaze movement, eye lid position… to predict, by the processing circuitry, whether the user is transitioning into an impaired physical state… outputting to the vehicle an instruction … to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Arechiga-Gonzalez teaches a driver impairment monitoring system that predicts impairment of a user of a vehicle and provides instruction for the vehicle to perform a contingency based on a determination of whether a user is fit to continue driving the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation as taught by Arechiga-Gonzalez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle in the case that it is determined that driver is impaired as specified in at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez.
Additionally, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator; and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model.
However, Bielby, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … video… and non-visual data (e.g., voice recordings, blood alcohol content (from a breathalyzer), body temperature, etc.) and other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period.. for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period…”); and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … non-visual data … other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period. The AI system learns and reinforces patterns (e.g., behavioral patterns—posture, gait, speech, etc.) and other characteristics (e.g., body temperature, blood alcohol content, etc.) for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period. After the initial training period the AI system learns and reinforces the training with characteristics (e.g., behavior and biometric characteristics) of other drivers...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bielby teaches a system that determines a state of a user based on an AI system that stores, trains, and maintains data for drivers and is configured to enable or disable a function of the vehicle based at least partially on the state of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Bielby, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to learn and reinforce patterns for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period as specified in at least [0027] of Bielby.
Lastly, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator.
However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang – “… the number of times the authentication fails may be recorded; if the number of times the authentication fails exceeds the preset number of times, the fingerprint image is no longer re-collected and the process ends. Wherein, the identity information of the user may be the user's name…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Wang teaches a system that authenticates a user for a vehicle and records a number of failed authentication attempts for the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to stop re-collecting user data when the number of times the authentication fails exceeds a preset number of times as specified in at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang.
For claim 9, Kobayashi discloses a system for intoxication examination of an operator for operating an asset (See at least [0006] of Kobayashi – “… a vehicle control device including: a speech acquiring section that acquires speech data related to a speech of a speaker; a state acquiring section that acquires information indicating whether or not a driver attempting to start driving a vehicle is in an intoxicated state based on the speech data; and a control section configured to limit a start operation of the vehicle in a case in which the information indicates that the driver is in the intoxicated state…”), the system comprising:
a processor (See at least Fig. 3 of Kobayashi – CPU 40); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions (See at least [0052] of Kobayashi – “Further, the storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining program 48 for executing an alcohol level determining process (to be described in detail below) of determining the alcohol level using the alcohol level determining model 47…”), which, on execution, cause the processor to:
receive input data corresponding to the operator prior to operating the asset from at least one of an asset or a client device, wherein the asset is in a locked state, and wherein in the locked state the asset is inaccessible by the operator (See at least [0072]-[0076] of Kobayashi – “… In the server 14 that has received the speech data and the image data from the vehicle control device 12, the control section 70 determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 using the alcohol level determining model 47... In a case in which the driver 11 is in the intoxicated state, an affirmative determination is made in step S104, and the process proceeds to step S106… In step S106… the control section 50 prevents the opening of the driver's door, and the present vehicle control process ends…”);
determine an intoxication score of the operator based on the input data using a Machine Learning (ML) model (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47. The alcohol level determining model 47 is a learned model including a speech data of a speaker (the driver 11) and an image data of the speaker as an input, and including information …The alcohol level determining model 47 is constructed by machine learning using plural data pairs as learning data. The plural data pairs are configured by pairing the teaching data and output data with each other. The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”);
determine, by the server and using the ML model, permissibility of operating an asset for the operator through a plurality of predefined rules (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”) based on:
the intoxication score of the operator (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47… The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”); and
a plurality of responses corresponding to an examination questionnaire received from the operator (See at least [0055] of Kobayashi – “… the output section 51 outputs a voice for asking the driver 11 an effective predetermined question, or the like, in order to determine the alcohol level, as a voice for urging an answer, through the sound output section 30…”);
assign, by the server, the asset to the operator when the asset operation is determined to be permissible for the operator (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S104, and the vehicle control process proceeds to step S108. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13…”);
transmit, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises operator details (See at least [0074] of Kobayashi – “… the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14…”);
authorize, by the asset, the operator to operate the asset based on the authorization information, wherein upon successfully authorizing, the asset is in an unlocked state, and wherein in the unlocked state the asset is accessible by the operator (See at least [0074]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “in step S102, the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14… in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state… the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13… On the other hand, in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset,
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire.
However, Jones, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset (See at least [0088] of Jones – “The sobriety threshold is pre-programmed and is stored on the sobriety processor 20 or on a memory device connected to the sobriety processor 20… the sobriety threshold sets the upper limit on how inebriated the vehicle driver may be and still be allowed to operate the vehicle...”),
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire (See at least [0083]-[0084] of Jones – “… the haptic input device 26 is utilized to measure motor functions or the agility of the vehicle driver… motor function tests measure the reaction time of the vehicle driver, which is then utilized to determine whether or not the vehicle driver should be allowed to operate the vehicle… The responses recorded throughout the motor function tests are recorded and compared by the sobriety processor 20 to the baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Jones teaches a system that determines whether a sobriety level of driver meets a threshold requirement to allow a vehicle to be operated based on measurements from an blood alcohol sensor and a plurality of cognitive tests or motor functions tests.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire as taught by Jones, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to compare the responses to baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle as specified in at least [0084] of Jones.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmit, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer.
However, Gester, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmit, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer (See at least [0031]-[0038] – “… sobriety testing station 2, which sends the authorization data (i.e. the employment number or the personal identification number) to the central control unit 3… If the central control unit 3 finds a match between the authorization data and the general authorization information… examples of restrictions can be … the individual is, for example, only permitted to drive company cars... The authorization control and sobriety testing station 2 is further configured and arranged to send the result of the analysis of the bodily signature sample to the central control unit 3, which, if there is a positive match between the authorization data and the general authorization information and no detection of alcohol, issues temporary authorization information, which is sent to, or which is otherwise accessible or obtainable by, the at least one access control unit 4… at least one access control unit 4 is configured and arranged to obtain the temporary authorization information issued by the central control unit 3 and to verify the validity of the temporary authorization information, and to, if the temporary authorization information is valid, grant access to the individual who is seeking such access… access control unit 4 is implemented in a vehicle…” and [0054] of Gester – “… the time interval within which the temporary authorization information is valid, is determined and set by the operator of the system for access control and sobriety testing… If the system instead is incorporated in a vehicle, a considerably longer time interval can be necessary… a suitable time interval can correspond to the length of the work shift, e.g. 4 hours or 8 hours, or somewhat longer to take into account unforeseen events…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Gester teaches a system that provides access control for drivers to operate vehicles that comprises providing class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, and an issuer to temporarily authorize use of a vehicle to a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer as taught by Gester, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to grant access to an individual seeking access to a vehicle when verification of temporary authorization information has been completed as specified in at least [0056] of Gester.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmit, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum.
However, Bertrand, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmit, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum (See at least [0064] of Bertrand – “… The first computing unit 100 may comprise a first processing module 101 configured to verify the integrity of a computation request received by the device 10 for computing driving parameters from an external sending device 20… The external sending device 20 may further send, simultaneously or sequentially over time, the computation request and the associated checksum…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bertrand teaches a system that verifies the integrity of information received by different computing components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum as taught by Bertrand, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify the integrity of a request as specified in at least [0064] of Bertrand.
Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose upon authorization, monitor in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation.
However, Arechiga-Gonzalez, in the same field of endeavor teaches upon authorization, monitor in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation (See at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez – “… predicting impairment of a driver of a vehicle by a driver monitor system including at least one video camera….detecting, by the processing circuitry, eye gaze movement, eye lid position… to predict, by the processing circuitry, whether the user is transitioning into an impaired physical state… outputting to the vehicle an instruction … to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Arechiga-Gonzalez teaches a driver impairment monitoring system that predicts impairment of a user of a vehicle and provides instruction for the vehicle to perform a contingency based on a determination of whether a user is fit to continue driving the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation as taught by Arechiga-Gonzalez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle in the case that it is determined that driver is impaired as specified in at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez.
Additionally, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator; and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model.
However, Bielby, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … video… and non-visual data (e.g., voice recordings, blood alcohol content (from a breathalyzer), body temperature, etc.) and other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period.. for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period…”); and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … non-visual data … other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period. The AI system learns and reinforces patterns (e.g., behavioral patterns—posture, gait, speech, etc.) and other characteristics (e.g., body temperature, blood alcohol content, etc.) for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period. After the initial training period the AI system learns and reinforces the training with characteristics (e.g., behavior and biometric characteristics) of other drivers...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bielby teaches a system that determines a state of a user based on an AI system that stores, trains, and maintains data for drivers and is configured to enable or disable a function of the vehicle based at least partially on the state of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Bielby, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to learn and reinforce patterns for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period as specified in at least [0027] of Bielby.
Lastly, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator.
However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang – “… the number of times the authentication fails may be recorded; if the number of times the authentication fails exceeds the preset number of times, the fingerprint image is no longer re-collected and the process ends. Wherein, the identity information of the user may be the user's name…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Wang teaches a system that authenticates a user for a vehicle and records a number of failed authentication attempts for the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to stop re-collecting user data when the number of times the authentication fails exceeds a preset number of times as specified in at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang.
For claim 17, Kobayashi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for intoxication examination of an operator for operating an asset (See at least [0006] – “… a vehicle control device including: a speech acquiring section that acquires speech data related to a speech of a speaker; a state acquiring section that acquires information indicating whether or not a driver attempting to start driving a vehicle is in an intoxicated state based on the speech data; and a control section configured to limit a start operation of the vehicle in a case in which the information indicates that the driver is in the intoxicated state…” and [0052] of Kobayashi – “Further, the storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining program 48 for executing an alcohol level determining process (to be described in detail below) of determining the alcohol level using the alcohol level determining model 47…”), the computer-executable instructions configured for:
receiving input data corresponding to the operator prior to operating the asset from at least one of an asset or a client device, wherein the asset is in a locked state, and wherein in the locked state the asset is inaccessible by the operator (See at least [0072]-[0076] of Kobayashi – “… In the server 14 that has received the speech data and the image data from the vehicle control device 12, the control section 70 determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 using the alcohol level determining model 47... In a case in which the driver 11 is in the intoxicated state, an affirmative determination is made in step S104, and the process proceeds to step S106… In step S106… the control section 50 prevents the opening of the driver's door, and the present vehicle control process ends…”);
determining an intoxication score of the operator based on the input data using a Machine Learning (ML) model (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47. The alcohol level determining model 47 is a learned model including a speech data of a speaker (the driver 11) and an image data of the speaker as an input, and including information …The alcohol level determining model 47 is constructed by machine learning using plural data pairs as learning data. The plural data pairs are configured by pairing the teaching data and output data with each other. The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”);
determining, using the ML model, permissibility of operating an asset for the operator through a plurality of predefined rules (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”) based on:
the intoxication score of the operator (See at least [0051] of Kobayashi – “… The storage section 46 stores an alcohol level determining model 47… The output data indicates the alcohol level of the speaker at the time of performing a speech indicated by the speech data…”); and
a plurality of responses corresponding to an examination questionnaire received from the operator (See at least [0055] of Kobayashi – “… the output section 51 outputs a voice for asking the driver 11 an effective predetermined question, or the like, in order to determine the alcohol level, as a voice for urging an answer, through the sound output section 30…”);
assigning the asset to the operator when the asset operation is determined to be permissible for the operator (See at least [0078]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “… the alcohol level determining information output process (see FIG. 6) described above is again performed... in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S104, and the vehicle control process proceeds to step S108. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13…”);
transmitting authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises operator details (See at least [0074] of Kobayashi – “… the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14…”);
authorizing the operator to operate the asset based on the authorization information, wherein upon successfully authorizing, the asset is in an unlocked state, and wherein in the unlocked state the asset is accessible by the operator (See at least [0074]-[0082] of Kobayashi – “in step S102, the state acquiring section 62 determines whether or not the information indicating the alcohol level has been received from the server 14… in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state… the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent opening the driver's door, and the driver 11 can thus open the driver's door and get in the vehicle 13… On the other hand, in a case in which the driver 11 is not in the intoxicated state, a negative determination is made in step S114, and the present vehicle control process ends. In this case, the control section 50 does not instruct the vehicle operation control ECU 19 to prevent the starting of the engine, and the driver 11 can thus start the engine of the vehicle 13…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset,
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire.
However, Jones, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the asset operation is permissible when the intoxication score of the operator is above a predefined threshold score required for operating the asset (See at least [0088] of Jones – “The sobriety threshold is pre-programmed and is stored on the sobriety processor 20 or on a memory device connected to the sobriety processor 20… the sobriety threshold sets the upper limit on how inebriated the vehicle driver may be and still be allowed to operate the vehicle...”),
wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire (See at least [0083]-[0084] of Jones – “… the haptic input device 26 is utilized to measure motor functions or the agility of the vehicle driver… motor function tests measure the reaction time of the vehicle driver, which is then utilized to determine whether or not the vehicle driver should be allowed to operate the vehicle… The responses recorded throughout the motor function tests are recorded and compared by the sobriety processor 20 to the baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Jones teaches a system that determines whether a sobriety level of driver meets a threshold requirement to allow a vehicle to be operated based on measurements from an blood alcohol sensor and a plurality of cognitive tests or motor functions tests.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of wherein the examination questionnaire comprises a plurality of questions, and wherein the asset operation is permissible when the operator correctly answers more than a predefined threshold number of questions in the questionnaire as taught by Jones, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to compare the responses to baselines to establish whether or not the vehicle driver is allowed to operate the vehicle as specified in at least [0084] of Jones.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmitting authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer.
However, Gester, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmitting authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer (See at least [0031]-[0038] – “… sobriety testing station 2, which sends the authorization data (i.e. the employment number or the personal identification number) to the central control unit 3… If the central control unit 3 finds a match between the authorization data and the general authorization information… examples of restrictions can be … the individual is, for example, only permitted to drive company cars... The authorization control and sobriety testing station 2 is further configured and arranged to send the result of the analysis of the bodily signature sample to the central control unit 3, which, if there is a positive match between the authorization data and the general authorization information and no detection of alcohol, issues temporary authorization information, which is sent to, or which is otherwise accessible or obtainable by, the at least one access control unit 4… at least one access control unit 4 is configured and arranged to obtain the temporary authorization information issued by the central control unit 3 and to verify the validity of the temporary authorization information, and to, if the temporary authorization information is valid, grant access to the individual who is seeking such access… access control unit 4 is implemented in a vehicle…” and [0054] of Gester – “… the time interval within which the temporary authorization information is valid, is determined and set by the operator of the system for access control and sobriety testing… If the system instead is incorporated in a vehicle, a considerably longer time interval can be necessary… a suitable time interval can correspond to the length of the work shift, e.g. 4 hours or 8 hours, or somewhat longer to take into account unforeseen events…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Gester teaches a system that provides access control for drivers to operate vehicles that comprises providing class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, and an issuer to temporarily authorize use of a vehicle to a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises a class of the asset, conditions of operation, a validity period, an issuer as taught by Gester, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to grant access to an individual seeking access to a vehicle when verification of temporary authorization information has been completed as specified in at least [0056] of Gester.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose transmitting authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum.
However, Bertrand, in the same field of endeavor teaches transmitting authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum (See at least [0064] of Bertrand – “… The first computing unit 100 may comprise a first processing module 101 configured to verify the integrity of a computation request received by the device 10 for computing driving parameters from an external sending device 20… The external sending device 20 may further send, simultaneously or sequentially over time, the computation request and the associated checksum…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bertrand teaches a system that verifies the integrity of information received by different computing components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of transmitting, by the server, authorization information to the assigned asset, wherein the authorization information comprises checksum as taught by Bertrand, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify the integrity of a request as specified in at least [0064] of Bertrand.
Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation.
However, Arechiga-Gonzalez, in the same field of endeavor teaches upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation (See at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez – “… predicting impairment of a driver of a vehicle by a driver monitor system including at least one video camera….detecting, by the processing circuitry, eye gaze movement, eye lid position… to predict, by the processing circuitry, whether the user is transitioning into an impaired physical state… outputting to the vehicle an instruction … to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Arechiga-Gonzalez teaches a driver impairment monitoring system that predicts impairment of a user of a vehicle and provides instruction for the vehicle to perform a contingency based on a determination of whether a user is fit to continue driving the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of upon authorization, monitoring in real-time, by the server, the operator during the asset operation from real-time video data of the operator to check for compliance of the asset operation with the conditions of operation as taught by Arechiga-Gonzalez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform a safe pull over operation of the vehicle in the case that it is determined that driver is impaired as specified in at least [0017] of Arechiga-Gonzalez.
Additionally, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator; and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model.
However, Bielby, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … video… and non-visual data (e.g., voice recordings, blood alcohol content (from a breathalyzer), body temperature, etc.) and other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period.. for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period…”); and
maintaining a past behaviour record of the operator in the operator profile based on the historical dataset associated with the operator using the ML model (See at least [0027] of Bielby – “… the AI system may gather visual data … non-visual data … other sensor data for sample drivers approaching the vehicle or in the vehicle and store the data in a database during a training period. The AI system learns and reinforces patterns (e.g., behavioral patterns—posture, gait, speech, etc.) and other characteristics (e.g., body temperature, blood alcohol content, etc.) for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period. After the initial training period the AI system learns and reinforces the training with characteristics (e.g., behavior and biometric characteristics) of other drivers...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Bielby teaches a system that determines a state of a user based on an AI system that stores, trains, and maintains data for drivers and is configured to enable or disable a function of the vehicle based at least partially on the state of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing the input data and the real-time video data in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Bielby, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to learn and reinforce patterns for impaired and non-impaired drivers during the training period as specified in at least [0027] of Bielby.
Lastly, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator.
However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor teaches storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator (See at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang – “… the number of times the authentication fails may be recorded; if the number of times the authentication fails exceeds the preset number of times, the fingerprint image is no longer re-collected and the process ends. Wherein, the identity information of the user may be the user's name…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Wang teaches a system that authenticates a user for a vehicle and records a number of failed authentication attempts for the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of storing a number of failed authorization attempts by the operator in a historical dataset associated with the operator as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to stop re-collecting user data when the number of times the authentication fails exceeds a preset number of times as specified in at least Col. 4 lines 22-39 of Wang.
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Albakri US 20190248237 A1 (“Albakri”), Hök et al. US 20230286466 A1 (“Hök”), and Vardharajan US 20210046888 A1 (“Vardharajan”).
For claim 2, Kobayashi discloses wherein:
the input data comprises operator profile (See at least [0056]-[0057] of Kobayashi – “…The determining section 54 determines whether or not the speech data acquired by the speech acquiring section 52 is a speech data of the speech of the driver 11 with reference to the driver identification DB 34…”), audio data corresponding to voice of the operator (See at least [0073] of Kobayashi – “… a process of transmitting the output information indicating the alcohol level to the vehicle control device 12 is performed using the speech data and the image data received from the vehicle control device 12 as an input of the alcohol level determining model 47…”), and intoxication level of the operator estimated using an intoxication examination device (See at least [0041] of Kobayashi – “… The server 14 … determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 (whether or not the driver is in an intoxicated state) based on alcohol level determining information acquired from the vehicle control device 12…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices.
However, Albakri, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices (See at least [0014] of Albakri – “… A plurality of electric wires are attached to the plurality of blood chemistry sensors, to the blood chemistry processor, and to the digital display screen so that the blood alcohol level of the user driver is able to be determined via the plurality of blood chemistry sensors…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Albakri teaches a blood alcohol level sensing system that uses a plurality of sensors to determine the blood alcohol level of a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices as taught by Albakri, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the time required for analysis as specified in at least [0015] of Albakri.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises video data of the operator,
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI).
However, Hök, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises video data of the operator (See at least [0124] of Hök – “… the secondary input data may comprise video … for detecting the presence of the user … The user behavior is analyzed and classified from video …”),
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI) (See at least [0079] – “The breath analysis system 100 is further be provided with at least one interaction unit 15 that is used by the system to convey instructions to the user …” and [0127] of Hök – “… The user compliance input provided by the secondary sensing unit 14 …The action compliance value is preferably parameterized to a set of integer values…The values may be determined from image or video analysis, wherein, for example upon the instruction “lean forward to the inlet”, value 1 is the user deliberately directing his/hers breath away from the sensor, value 2 is directing the breath towards the inlet, and value three is the user actually leaning close to the inlet…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Hök teaches a breath analyzing system that captures and analyzes video of user performing an intoxication examination to determine a user’s compliance to following instructions provided by the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises video data of the operator as taught by Hök, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine if a user has followed instructions as specified in at least [0127] of Hök.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator.
However, Vardharajan, in the same field of endeavor teaches the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator (See at least [0065] – “… the user profile may include an activity profile and/or a user setting(s) provided by the user that the user intends to apply to vehicles…” and [0077] of Vardharajan – “…the activity profile may be provided before successful authentication of the user device 110… If authentication of the user device 110 fails, the vehicle 105 and/or user profile management system 125 may indicate to the user device 110 that the authentication failed, request alternative authentication data from the user device 110, and/or ignore the user device 110 (e.g., drop subsequent communications received from the user device 110…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Vardharajan teaches a vehicle system that authenticates user devices and profiles to vehicles and includes failed authorization attempts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator as taught by Vardharajan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to drop subsequent communications received from a user device as specified in at least [0077] of Vardharajan.
For claim 10, Kobayashi discloses wherein:
the input data comprises operator profile (See at least [0056]-[0057] of Kobayashi – “…The determining section 54 determines whether or not the speech data acquired by the speech acquiring section 52 is a speech data of the speech of the driver 11 with reference to the driver identification DB 34…”), audio data corresponding to voice of the operator (See at least [0073] of Kobayashi – “… a process of transmitting the output information indicating the alcohol level to the vehicle control device 12 is performed using the speech data and the image data received from the vehicle control device 12 as an input of the alcohol level determining model 47…”), and intoxication level of the operator estimated using an intoxication examination device (See at least [0041] of Kobayashi – “… The server 14 … determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 (whether or not the driver is in an intoxicated state) based on alcohol level determining information acquired from the vehicle control device 12…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices.
However, Albakri, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices (See at least [0014] of Albakri – “… A plurality of electric wires are attached to the plurality of blood chemistry sensors, to the blood chemistry processor, and to the digital display screen so that the blood alcohol level of the user driver is able to be determined via the plurality of blood chemistry sensors…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Albakri teaches a blood alcohol level sensing system that uses a plurality of sensors to determine the blood alcohol level of a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices as taught by Albakri, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the time required for analysis as specified in at least [0015] of Albakri.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises video data of the operator,
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI).
However, Hök, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises video data of the operator (See at least [0124] of Hök – “… the secondary input data may comprise video … for detecting the presence of the user … The user behavior is analyzed and classified from video …”),
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI) (See at least [0079] – “The breath analysis system 100 is further be provided with at least one interaction unit 15 that is used by the system to convey instructions to the user …” and [0127] of Hök – “… The user compliance input provided by the secondary sensing unit 14 …The action compliance value is preferably parameterized to a set of integer values…The values may be determined from image or video analysis, wherein, for example upon the instruction “lean forward to the inlet”, value 1 is the user deliberately directing his/hers breath away from the sensor, value 2 is directing the breath towards the inlet, and value three is the user actually leaning close to the inlet…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Hök teaches a breath analyzing system that captures and analyzes video of user performing an intoxication examination to determine a user’s compliance to following instructions provided by the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises video data of the operator as taught by Hök, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine if a user has followed instructions as specified in at least [0127] of Hök.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator.
However, Vardharajan, in the same field of endeavor teaches the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator (See at least [0065] – “… the user profile may include an activity profile and/or a user setting(s) provided by the user that the user intends to apply to vehicles…” and [0077] of Vardharajan – “…the activity profile may be provided before successful authentication of the user device 110… If authentication of the user device 110 fails, the vehicle 105 and/or user profile management system 125 may indicate to the user device 110 that the authentication failed, request alternative authentication data from the user device 110, and/or ignore the user device 110 (e.g., drop subsequent communications received from the user device 110…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Vardharajan teaches a vehicle system that authenticates user devices and profiles to vehicles and includes failed authorization attempts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator as taught by Vardharajan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to drop subsequent communications received from a user device as specified in at least [0077] of Vardharajan.
For claim 18, Kobayashi discloses wherein:
the input data comprises operator profile (See at least [0056]-[0057] of Kobayashi – “…The determining section 54 determines whether or not the speech data acquired by the speech acquiring section 52 is a speech data of the speech of the driver 11 with reference to the driver identification DB 34…”), audio data corresponding to voice of the operator (See at least [0073] of Kobayashi – “… a process of transmitting the output information indicating the alcohol level to the vehicle control device 12 is performed using the speech data and the image data received from the vehicle control device 12 as an input of the alcohol level determining model 47…”), and intoxication level of the operator estimated using an intoxication examination device (See at least [0041] of Kobayashi – “… The server 14 … determines the alcohol level of the driver 11 (whether or not the driver is in an intoxicated state) based on alcohol level determining information acquired from the vehicle control device 12…”).
Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices.
However, Albakri, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices (See at least [0014] of Albakri – “… A plurality of electric wires are attached to the plurality of blood chemistry sensors, to the blood chemistry processor, and to the digital display screen so that the blood alcohol level of the user driver is able to be determined via the plurality of blood chemistry sensors…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Albakri teaches a blood alcohol level sensing system that uses a plurality of sensors to determine the blood alcohol level of a driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises intoxication level of the operator estimated using a plurality of intoxication examination devices as taught by Albakri, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the time required for analysis as specified in at least [0015] of Albakri.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the input data comprises video data of the operator,
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI).
However, Hök, in the same field of endeavor teaches the input data comprises video data of the operator (See at least [0124] of Hök – “… the secondary input data may comprise video … for detecting the presence of the user … The user behavior is analyzed and classified from video …”),
the video data of the operator comprises at least one of:
a video recording of the operator undertaking an intoxication examination with each of the plurality of intoxication examination devices, and
a video recording of the operator responding to one or more prompts via a User Interface (UI) (See at least [0079] – “The breath analysis system 100 is further be provided with at least one interaction unit 15 that is used by the system to convey instructions to the user …” and [0127] of Hök – “… The user compliance input provided by the secondary sensing unit 14 …The action compliance value is preferably parameterized to a set of integer values…The values may be determined from image or video analysis, wherein, for example upon the instruction “lean forward to the inlet”, value 1 is the user deliberately directing his/hers breath away from the sensor, value 2 is directing the breath towards the inlet, and value three is the user actually leaning close to the inlet…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Hök teaches a breath analyzing system that captures and analyzes video of user performing an intoxication examination to determine a user’s compliance to following instructions provided by the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the input data comprises video data of the operator as taught by Hök, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine if a user has followed instructions as specified in at least [0127] of Hök.
Moreover, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator.
However, Vardharajan, in the same field of endeavor teaches the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator (See at least [0065] – “… the user profile may include an activity profile and/or a user setting(s) provided by the user that the user intends to apply to vehicles…” and [0077] of Vardharajan – “…the activity profile may be provided before successful authentication of the user device 110… If authentication of the user device 110 fails, the vehicle 105 and/or user profile management system 125 may indicate to the user device 110 that the authentication failed, request alternative authentication data from the user device 110, and/or ignore the user device 110 (e.g., drop subsequent communications received from the user device 110…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Vardharajan teaches a vehicle system that authenticates user devices and profiles to vehicles and includes failed authorization attempts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of the operator profile comprises number of past failed authorization attempts of the operator as taught by Vardharajan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to drop subsequent communications received from a user device as specified in at least [0077] of Vardharajan.
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, Wang, Albakri, Hök, and Vardharajan, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nothacker et al. US 20160318521 A1 (“Nothacker”) and Zhang et al. US 20230186685 A1 (“Zhang”).
For claim 3, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose further comprising:
identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model.
However, Nothacker, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising:
identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model (See at least [0038] – “… the user characteristic can be determined … analyzing a photo taken with a camera of the mobile computing device or vehicle that includes visual indications that the user is drinking … producing an analysis of the likelihood that the user has been drinking based on …artificial intelligence techniques, such as neural networks…”, [0079] – “In a specific application of a portion of the method 100, as shown in FIGS. 4A-4J, a monitoring entity can be prompted… determine a location of the individual (e.g., as in FIGS. 4I and 4J…” and Fig. 4F of Nothacker – monitoring of positions and orientations of a user and breathalyzer to initiation testing). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Nothacker teaches a system that monitors intoxication of a user using an application that captures the positions and orientations of a user and a breathalyzer to initiate testing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model as taught by Nothacker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to report data associated with testing of an individual as specified in at least [0079] of Nothacker.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame; and
providing real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame.
However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor teaches notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame (See at least [0035] of Zhang – “The client interface component 204 then renders the instruction for the user to position his or her body in front of the client device 302 such that the image of the user's face is inside the box 406…”); and
providing real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame (See at least [0037] of Zhang – “During this capture stage, the client interface component 204 can render an instruction on the client device 302 (e.g., instruction 502 shown in FIG. 5) for the user to maintain his or her current position while the sequence of frames 602 are being captured…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Zhang teaches a liveness detection system for a user that instructs a user to position themselves within a frame of a video and maintain their position within the frame for a sequence of video capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify physical presence of a live person at a client device as specified in at least the Abstract of Zhang.
For claim 11, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to
identify a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model.
However, Nothacker, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to
identify a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model (See at least [0038] – “… the user characteristic can be determined … analyzing a photo taken with a camera of the mobile computing device or vehicle that includes visual indications that the user is drinking … producing an analysis of the likelihood that the user has been drinking based on …artificial intelligence techniques, such as neural networks…”, [0079] – “In a specific application of a portion of the method 100, as shown in FIGS. 4A-4J, a monitoring entity can be prompted… determine a location of the individual (e.g., as in FIGS. 4I and 4J…” and Fig. 4F of Nothacker – monitoring of positions and orientations of a user and breathalyzer to initiation testing). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Nothacker teaches a system that monitors intoxication of a user using an application that captures the positions and orientations of a user and a breathalyzer to initiate testing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model as taught by Nothacker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to report data associated with testing of an individual as specified in at least [0079] of Nothacker.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose notify the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame; and
provide real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame.
However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor teaches notify the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame (See at least [0035] of Zhang – “The client interface component 204 then renders the instruction for the user to position his or her body in front of the client device 302 such that the image of the user's face is inside the box 406…”); and
provide real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame (See at least [0037] of Zhang – “During this capture stage, the client interface component 204 can render an instruction on the client device 302 (e.g., instruction 502 shown in FIG. 5) for the user to maintain his or her current position while the sequence of frames 602 are being captured…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Zhang teaches a liveness detection system for a user that instructs a user to position themselves within a frame of a video and maintain their position within the frame for a sequence of video capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify physical presence of a live person at a client device as specified in at least the Abstract of Zhang.
For claim 19, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the computer-executable instructions configured for:
identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model.
However, Nothacker, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the computer-executable instructions configured for:
identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model (See at least [0038] – “… the user characteristic can be determined … analyzing a photo taken with a camera of the mobile computing device or vehicle that includes visual indications that the user is drinking … producing an analysis of the likelihood that the user has been drinking based on …artificial intelligence techniques, such as neural networks…”, [0079] – “In a specific application of a portion of the method 100, as shown in FIGS. 4A-4J, a monitoring entity can be prompted… determine a location of the individual (e.g., as in FIGS. 4I and 4J…” and Fig. 4F of Nothacker – monitoring of positions and orientations of a user and breathalyzer to initiation testing). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Nothacker teaches a system that monitors intoxication of a user using an application that captures the positions and orientations of a user and a breathalyzer to initiate testing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying a position and an orientation of each of the operator and an intoxication examination device with respect to video frame from the video data of the operator through the ML model as taught by Nothacker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to report data associated with testing of an individual as specified in at least [0079] of Nothacker.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame; and
providing real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame.
However, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor teaches notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame (See at least [0035] of Zhang – “The client interface component 204 then renders the instruction for the user to position his or her body in front of the client device 302 such that the image of the user's face is inside the box 406…”); and
providing real-time recommendations to the operator to continue remaining within the video frame (See at least [0037] of Zhang – “During this capture stage, the client interface component 204 can render an instruction on the client device 302 (e.g., instruction 502 shown in FIG. 5) for the user to maintain his or her current position while the sequence of frames 602 are being captured…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Zhang teaches a liveness detection system for a user that instructs a user to position themselves within a frame of a video and maintain their position within the frame for a sequence of video capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of notifying the operator to remain within the video frame when at least one of the operator and the intoxication examination device is out of the video frame as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify physical presence of a live person at a client device as specified in at least the Abstract of Zhang.
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitazawa et al. US 20190221052 A1 (“Kitazawa”) and Phillips et al US 11161519 B2 (“Phillips”).
For claim 4, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein monitoring in real-time, the operator comprises:
identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation; and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmitting a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server.
However, Kitazawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein monitoring in real-time, the operator comprises:
identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation (See at least [0037] of Kitazawa – “the driver management ECU 10 in the vehicle management device 2-1 determines whether the driver's condition is abnormal in accordance with the information on the driver's condition acquired… that the driver is in an abnormal condition of being unable to drive a vehicle…”); and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmitting a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server (See at least [0038] of Kitazawa – “If the driver's condition is abnormal … the driver management ECU 10 transmits, to the center management device 3, as information to be transmitted at abnormal time, information indicating that the driver's condition is abnormal… transmitted at communication speed of the communication line (i.e. the mobile phone network 4… The travel management ECU 17 is configured to cause the display device 16 to display a message notifying the driver of abnormality occurrence, cause the speaker 15 to output the message by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like, or cause the vehicle external speaker 18 to output, to outer periphery of the vehicle, a message notifying that the driver's condition is abnormal by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Kitazawa teaches a driver condition monitoring system that determines when a driver is having difficulty operation a vehicle and transmits this information to a server, an operator at a management center, and the driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation as taught by Kitazawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify the driver of the abnormality occurrence as specified in at least [0038] of Kitazawa.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset.
However, Phillips, in the same field of endeavor teaches revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset (See at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips – “… when the law enforcement external network device 63 receives the first message it may send a lock-out and/or disable vehicle signal to the vehicle 24 via the wireless network 35 to prevent the driver 42 from driving while impaired...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Phillips teaches an impaired driving detection system that disables a vehicle from being operated when a driver has been determined to be impaired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset as taught by Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent the driver from driving while impaired as specified in at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips.
For claim 12, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to monitor the operator in real-time by:
identify one or more anomalies in the asset operation; and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmit a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server.
However, Kitazawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to monitor the operator in real-time by:
identify one or more anomalies in the asset operation (See at least [0037] of Kitazawa – “the driver management ECU 10 in the vehicle management device 2-1 determines whether the driver's condition is abnormal in accordance with the information on the driver's condition acquired… that the driver is in an abnormal condition of being unable to drive a vehicle…”); and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmit a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server (See at least [0038] of Kitazawa – “If the driver's condition is abnormal … the driver management ECU 10 transmits, to the center management device 3, as information to be transmitted at abnormal time, information indicating that the driver's condition is abnormal… transmitted at communication speed of the communication line (i.e. the mobile phone network 4… The travel management ECU 17 is configured to cause the display device 16 to display a message notifying the driver of abnormality occurrence, cause the speaker 15 to output the message by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like, or cause the vehicle external speaker 18 to output, to outer periphery of the vehicle, a message notifying that the driver's condition is abnormal by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Kitazawa teaches a driver condition monitoring system that determines when a driver is having difficulty operation a vehicle and transmits this information to a server, an operator at a management center, and the driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation as taught by Kitazawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify the driver of the abnormality occurrence as specified in at least [0038] of Kitazawa.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose revoke the authorization of the operator to operate the asset.
However, Phillips, in the same field of endeavor teaches revoke the authorization of the operator to operate the asset (See at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips – “… when the law enforcement external network device 63 receives the first message it may send a lock-out and/or disable vehicle signal to the vehicle 24 via the wireless network 35 to prevent the driver 42 from driving while impaired...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Phillips teaches an impaired driving detection system that disables a vehicle from being operated when a driver has been determined to be impaired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset as taught by Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent the driver from driving while impaired as specified in at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips.
For claim 20, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the computer-executable instructions configured for:
identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation; and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmitting a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server.
However, Kitazawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the computer-executable instructions configured for:
identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation (See at least [0037] of Kitazawa – “the driver management ECU 10 in the vehicle management device 2-1 determines whether the driver's condition is abnormal in accordance with the information on the driver's condition acquired… that the driver is in an abnormal condition of being unable to drive a vehicle…”); and
upon identification of the one or more anomalies, transmitting a notification about the one or more anomalies to the operator, the administrator, and the server (See at least [0038] of Kitazawa – “If the driver's condition is abnormal … the driver management ECU 10 transmits, to the center management device 3, as information to be transmitted at abnormal time, information indicating that the driver's condition is abnormal… transmitted at communication speed of the communication line (i.e. the mobile phone network 4… The travel management ECU 17 is configured to cause the display device 16 to display a message notifying the driver of abnormality occurrence, cause the speaker 15 to output the message by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like, or cause the vehicle external speaker 18 to output, to outer periphery of the vehicle, a message notifying that the driver's condition is abnormal by means of voice, alarm sound, or the like...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Kitazawa teaches a driver condition monitoring system that determines when a driver is having difficulty operation a vehicle and transmits this information to a server, an operator at a management center, and the driver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of identifying one or more anomalies in the asset operation as taught by Kitazawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify the driver of the abnormality occurrence as specified in at least [0038] of Kitazawa.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset.
However, Phillips, in the same field of endeavor teaches revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset (See at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips – “… when the law enforcement external network device 63 receives the first message it may send a lock-out and/or disable vehicle signal to the vehicle 24 via the wireless network 35 to prevent the driver 42 from driving while impaired...”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Phillips teaches an impaired driving detection system that disables a vehicle from being operated when a driver has been determined to be impaired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of revoking the authorization of the operator to operate the asset as taught by Phillips, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent the driver from driving while impaired as specified in at least Col. 44 lines 35-45 of Phillips.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Penilla et al. US 20190263424 A1 (“Penilla”).
For claim 5, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose further comprising
receiving, by the server, a login request from the operator prior to receiving the input data from the operator, wherein the login request comprises login credential details of the operator; and
validating, by the server, the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator.
However, Penilla, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising
receiving, by the server, a login request from the operator prior to receiving the input data from the operator, wherein the login request comprises login credential details of the operator (See at least [0100] of Penilla – “… The user supplies login credentials to a vehicle login interface which are sent to the remote distributed or centralized user login authentication system…”); and
validating, by the server, the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator (See at least [0100] of Penilla – “The processing logic receiving the login credentials processes the data and returns an authentication response to the user attempting to log in. If the authentication is a success, the vehicle the user attempted to log into has vehicle settings applied to it and the user is allowed to operate the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Penilla teaches a system that allows users to operate a vehicle using an authentication process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of validating, by the server, the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator as taught by Penilla, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow a user to operate a vehicle as specified in at least [0100] of Penilla.
For claim 13, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to:
receive a login request from the operator prior to receiving the input data from the operator, wherein the login request comprises login credential details of the operator; and
validate the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator.
However, Penilla, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to:
receive a login request from the operator prior to receiving the input data from the operator, wherein the login request comprises login credential details of the operator (See at least [0100] of Penilla – “… The user supplies login credentials to a vehicle login interface which are sent to the remote distributed or centralized user login authentication system…”); and
validate the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator (See at least [0100] of Penilla – “The processing logic receiving the login credentials processes the data and returns an authentication response to the user attempting to log in. If the authentication is a success, the vehicle the user attempted to log into has vehicle settings applied to it and the user is allowed to operate the vehicle…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Penilla teaches a system that allows users to operate a vehicle using an authentication process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of validating, by the server, the login request based on the login credential details entered by the operator as taught by Penilla, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow a user to operate a vehicle as specified in at least [0100] of Penilla.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, Wang, and Penilla, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lokshin et al. US 20170118539 A1 (“Lokshin”).
For claim 6, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose further comprising recording a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request.
However, Lokshin, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising recording a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request (See at least [0078] – “… user storage component 610 may store user information relating to the user capturing the video transmitted to database system 600… Each of these devices may be associated with a user (e.g., via an application requiring a login…” and [0089] of Lokshin – “As illustrated in FIG. 7, two cameras 706a, 706b may be installed to record performers 702a, 702b…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Lokshin teaches a video recording system for users that requires a login.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of recording a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request as taught by Lokshin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store user information relating to the user capturing videos as specified in at least [0078] of Lokshin.
For claim 14, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to record a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request.
However, Lokshin, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to record a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request (See at least [0078] – “… user storage component 610 may store user information relating to the user capturing the video transmitted to database system 600… Each of these devices may be associated with a user (e.g., via an application requiring a login…” and [0089] of Lokshin – “As illustrated in FIG. 7, two cameras 706a, 706b may be installed to record performers 702a, 702b…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Lokshin teaches a video recording system for users that requires a login.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of recording a video of the operator using a camera in real-time upon a successful validation of the login request as taught by Lokshin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store user information relating to the user capturing videos as specified in at least [0078] of Lokshin.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Jones, Gester, Bertrand, Arechiga-Gonzalez, Bielby, Wang, and Penilla, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Weeresinghe US 20210089635 A1 (“Weeresinghe”) and Dods et al. US 11769577 B1 (“Dods”).
For claim 7, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose further comprising performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request.
However, Weeresinghe, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request (See at least [0021]-[0025] of Weeresinghe – “… The user app 120 may be the primary user interface (UI) for a user, including subprocesses that support a number of functions. These functions may include user onboarding and login, capturing biometric information… The biometric service 150 is responsible for comparing and determining matches between baseline biometric indicia and reference biometric indicia as part of onboarding a user, and comparing current biometric indicia to baseline biometric indicia as part of verifying an … using probabilistic and machine learning algorithms…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Weeresinghe teaches a user verification system that uses machine learning to verify a user with biometric information once a user is logged in to the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request as taught by Weeresinghe, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an indication to an institution that a user is who they claim to be as specified in at least the Abstract of Weeresinghe.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID).
However, Dods, in the same field of endeavor teaches performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID) (See at least Col. 33 lines 53-67 through Col. 34 lines 1-5 of Dods – “… the user will authenticate themselves with the system by capturing a picture of themselves holding a traditional government issued id (e.g., drivers license, passport, etc.). In case 801A, the user will authenticate themselves with the system by capturing a picture of themselves and providing contemporaneously, a link to a government issued id from the user's digital wallet (e.g., Apple Wallet™, Google Wallet™, or the like…This accreditor performs checking of credentials and documents, to support/verify the individual's claim that they are indeed the person they claim to be. In some implementations a neural network is trained to perform the accreditation functionality…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Dods teaches an identity authentication system that uses a government issued id and a neural network to verify user credentials and documents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID) as taught by Dods, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify the individual's claim that they are indeed the person they claim to be as specified in at least Col. 33 lines 53-67 through Col. 34 lines 1-5 of Dods.
For claim 15, Kobayashi fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to perform an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request.
However, Weeresinghe, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to perform an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request (See at least [0021]-[0025] of Weeresinghe – “… The user app 120 may be the primary user interface (UI) for a user, including subprocesses that support a number of functions. These functions may include user onboarding and login, capturing biometric information… The biometric service 150 is responsible for comparing and determining matches between baseline biometric indicia and reference biometric indicia as part of onboarding a user, and comparing current biometric indicia to baseline biometric indicia as part of verifying an … using probabilistic and machine learning algorithms…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Weeresinghe teaches a user verification system that uses machine learning to verify a user with biometric information once a user is logged in to the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on a biometric identification test upon the successful validation of the login request as taught by Weeresinghe, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an indication to an institution that a user is who they claim to be as specified in at least the Abstract of Weeresinghe.
Furthermore, Kobayashi also fails to specifically disclose perform an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID).
However, Dods, in the same field of endeavor teaches perform an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID) (See at least Col. 33 lines 53-67 through Col. 34 lines 1-5 of Dods – “… the user will authenticate themselves with the system by capturing a picture of themselves holding a traditional government issued id (e.g., drivers license, passport, etc.). In case 801A, the user will authenticate themselves with the system by capturing a picture of themselves and providing contemporaneously, a link to a government issued id from the user's digital wallet (e.g., Apple Wallet™, Google Wallet™, or the like…This accreditor performs checking of credentials and documents, to support/verify the individual's claim that they are indeed the person they claim to be. In some implementations a neural network is trained to perform the accreditation functionality…”). Thus, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control system that authorizes access to a driver to operate a vehicle when it is determined that a driver is not in an intoxicated state, while Dods teaches an identity authentication system that uses a government issued id and a neural network to verify user credentials and documents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium as disclosed in Kobayashi to include the feature of performing an operator verification using the ML model, based on an operator Identification Document (ID) as taught by Dods, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to verify the individual's claim that they are indeed the person they claim to be as specified in at least Col. 33 lines 53-67 through Col. 34 lines 1-5 of Dods.
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668