Claim Objections
Claim 24 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24, reading “… further comprising a protecting layer 80 covering the second semiconductor structure” should read “… further comprising a protecting layer covering the second semiconductor structure.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US Patent Pub 20210135052 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Patent Pub 20200152830 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tseng teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a base (Fig. 1B, base 100);
and a semiconductor stack including a first semiconductor structure located on the base, a second semiconductor structure located on the first semiconductor structure, and an active structure located between the first semiconductor structure and the second semiconductor structure, the active structure including two confinement layers and a single well layer located between the two confinement layers, and the well layer directly contacting each of the two confinement layers (Fig. 1B, semiconductor stack 102 including a first semiconductor structure 104 located on the base 100, a second semiconductor structure 106 located on the first semiconductor structure 104, and an active structure 108(a and b)/114/116 located between 104 and 106. The active structure includes two confinement layers 114 and 116 and a single well layer 108 (Paragraph 0030 teaches an embodiment of the device is composed of a single well layer 108) located between the two confinement layers 114 and 116. Well layer 108 is directly contacting each of the two confinement layers 114 and 116);
wherein one of the two confinement layers includes Alx1Ga1-x1As, and x1 is equal to or larger than 0.25 and equal to or smaller than 0.4 (Paragraph 0034 teaches confinement layer 114 may be formed of AlGaAs. Paragraph 0022 teaches the ratio of AlGaAs utilized in 114 is Alx1Ga1-x1As, wherein 0<x1<1, which includes the claimed x1 range);
Wherein the well layer includes InGaAs (paragraph 0028 teaches well layer 108 includes InGaAs);
and the well layer has a second thickness in a range of 3 nm to 6 nm (Paragraph 0033 teaches an embodiment wherein the thickness of well layer 108 is 40 angstrom (4 nm), which is within the claimed thickness range).
Tseng fails to specifically teach the device wherein one of the two confinement layers have a first thickness in a range of 200 nm to 400 nm.
However, Chen teaches a light emitting device wherein one of the two confinement layers have a first thickness in a range of 200 nm to 400 nm (Chen, Fig. 1C and paragraph 0036 teaches the first or second confinement layers (114 or 116) can have a thickness, between 50 nm and 800 nm, which includes the claimed thickness range. Cited references Henrichs (US patent pub 20030185265, paragraph 0055) and Raring 20210194206 A1, paragraph 0189) teach that the terms confinement and cladding are simply labels in the art and may be used interchangeably).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Tseng into the method of Chen by forming the light emitting device wherein one of the two confinement layers have a first thickness in a range of 200 nm to 400 nm. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tseng in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the optical-electrical characteristics of the device (such as light-emitting power or forward voltage value) and exhibiting relatively high internal quantum efficiency (IQE) (Chen, paragraph 0056).
Regarding Claim 2, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the active structure outputs a first power and emits a first light having a first peak wavelength at a first current, and outputs a second power and emits a second light having a second peak wavelength at a second current, and outputs a third power and emits a third light having a third peak wavelength at a third current; wherein the first current, the second current and the third current are different from each other, and the first peak wavelength, the second peak wavelength and the third peak wavelength are different from each other (Chen, fig. 2 teaches the device can be operated at a variety of current levels, which result in a variety of outputted power values. Paragraph 0031 teaches the device can be operated at a variety of peak wavelengths. It would be well known to someone in the art to operate the device in the manner as demonstrated by Chen to relate the current level to the output power, which directly relates to the intensity and wavelength of the light emitted).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by the combination above can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating current, power, and peak wavelength appear to be simply operating a device at a desired current level to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 3, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first current, the second current and the third current are smaller than 50 mA (Chen, Fig. 4 demonstrates operating currents below 50 mA).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by the combination above can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating to the operating current appear to be simply operating a device at a desired current to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 4, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the second current is smaller than the first current, and the third current is larger than the first current (Chen, fig. 2, first current 200 mA second current 100 mA, and third current greater than 300 mA).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by the combination above can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating to the operating current appear to be simply operating a device at a desired bias voltage to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 5, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the semiconductor device has a first deviation coefficient at the second current and a second deviation coefficient at the third current, wherein the first deviation coefficient is a first power ratio of the second power to the first power divided by a first current ratio of the second current to the first current and the second deviation coefficient is a second power ratio of the third power to the first power divided by a second current ratio of the third current to the first current, and wherein the first deviation coefficient is larger than the second deviation coefficient (Tseng in view of Chen teaches the light emitting semiconductor device having the same structure and materials as the device of the instant application. Therefore, the same materials arranged in the same manner can be operated to have the same result).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by Tseng in view of Chen can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating to the deviation coefficient appear to be simply operating a device using the desired power/current ratios to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 6, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the first deviation coefficient and the second deviation coefficient are in a range of 0.85 to 1.1 (Tseng in view of Chen teaches the light emitting semiconductor device having the same structure and materials as the device of instant application. The same materials arranged in the same manner can be operated to have the same result).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by Tseng in view of Chen can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating to the deviation coefficient appear to be simply operating a device using the desired power/current ratios to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 8, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first peak wavelength is smaller than the second peak wavelength and larger than the third peak wavelength (Chen, paragraph 0031 teaches the device can be operated at a variety of peak wavelengths).
Furthermore, the structure as taught by the combination above can be operated in the manner as claimed. The limitations relating to the peak wavelength appear to be simply operating a device at a desired current to achieve a desired device performance, and thus Tseng in view of Chen would anticipate the limitations of this claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) as well as “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim 9, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first peak wavelength, the second peak wavelength and the third peak wavelength are in a range of 850 nm to 1150 nm (Chen, paragraph 0031 teaches the device being operated such that the peak wavelength ranges from 700 nm to 3000 nm, which included the claimed peak wavelength range. Further, paragraph 0031 teaches specific peak wavelength examples wherein the first peak wavelength can be 850 nm, the second peak wavelength can be 910 nm, and the third peak wavelength can be 940 nm, all of which fall within the peak wavelength range).
Regarding Claim 10, Tseng in view of Chem teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a reflecting structure located between the base and the first semiconductor structure (Tseng, Fig. 1D, reflecting structure 124 located between the base 100 and the first semiconductor structure 104).
Regarding Claim 11, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 10, further comprising a conductive structure disposed between the reflecting structure and the first semiconductor structure (Tseng, fig. 1D teaches a conductive structure 122 disposed between the reflecting structure 124 and the first semiconductor structure 104)
Regarding Claim 12, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a first electrode structure disposed on the second semiconductor structure (Tseng fig. 1D, first electrode 110).
Regarding Claim 13, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, further comprising a contact layer disposed between the first electrode structure and the second semiconductor structure (Chen, fig. 1C, contact structure 128 located between first electrode structure 150 and second semiconductor structure 120).
Regarding Claim 21, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 10, further comprising a bonding structure disposed between the base and the reflecting structure (Tseng, fig. 1D teaches a bonding structure 128 disposed between the base 100 and the reflecting structure 124).
Regarding Claim 22, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 11, further comprising an insulating structure disposed between the second semiconductor structure and the conductive structure (Tseng, fig. 1D teaches an insulating structure 120 disposed between the second semiconductor structure 106 and the conductive structure 122).
Regarding Claim 23, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 13, wherein there is no barrier layer between the well layer and the two confinement layers (Tseng, fig. 1D teaches there are no barrier layers between well layer 108 and the two confinement layers 114 and 116).
Regarding Claim 24, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 23, further comprising a protecting layer covering the second semiconductor structure (Tseng, fig. 1D, protecting layer 118 covers the second semiconductor structure 106).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, and 21-24 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Pub 20230209676 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Tseng in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4.
Tseng in view of Chen fails to specifically teach the device being operated such that the second current is smaller than 1 mA and equal to or larger than 0.1 mA, and the third current is larger than 1 mA and equal to or smaller than 10 mA.
However, Lee et al. teaches the light emitting semiconductor device that can be operated such that the second current is smaller than 1 mA and equal to or larger than 0.1 mA, and the third current is larger than 1 mA and equal to or smaller than 10 mA (Lee, paragraph 0075 teaches the device can be operated at a second current of 0.2 mA, which is within the claimed current range. Paragraph 0076 teaches the device can be operated at a third current of 5 mA, which is within the claimed current range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the method of Tseng in view of Chen by operating the device such that the second current is smaller than 1 mA and equal to or larger than 0.1 mA, and the third current is larger than 1 mA and equal to or smaller than 10 mA. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tseng in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of applying currents to the device so that dichroic and trichromatic monolithic light emitting diodes in which two or more emission spectra are simultaneously generated may be implemented (Lee paragraph 0083).
Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited current parameters through routine experimentation and optimization to achieved a desired light emission characteristics. Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, and 21-24 above, and further in view of Hogan et al. (US Patent Pub 20220149229 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Tseng in view of Chen teach the semiconductor device according to claim 13.
Tseng in view of Chen fail to specifically teach the contact layer has a width smaller than that of the first electrode structure.
However, Hogan teaches a light emitting device wherein the contact layer has a width smaller than that of the first electrode structure (Hogan, fig. 1 teaches the contact layer 122 has a width smaller than that of the first electrode structure 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Hogan into the method of Tseng in view of Chen by forming the device wherein the contact layer has a width smaller than that of the first electrode structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tseng in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of limiting current leakage (Hogan, paragraph 0060).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, and 21-24 above, and further in view of Macgegor et al. (US Patent Pub 20130271751 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Tseng in view of Chen teaches a transmission module, comprising, a semiconductor device of claim 1 emitting a signal light and receiving a signal(Tseng, fig. 7 and paragraph 0059 teaches a transmission module 800 capable of receiving a signal and emitting a signal).
Tseng in view of Chen fails to teach using a light emitting device in a transmission module capable of emitting a signal light with a peak wavelength at an input current, and a light receiver receiving the signal light to output an output current wherein the output current is proportional to the input current.
However, Macgegor teaches a transmission module utilizing a light emitting device capable of emitting at an input current, receiving a light signal, and producing output current proportional to the input current (Macgegor fig. 1, a light emitting diode element 8 and a photodiode sensor 12, paragraph 0047 and paragraph 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Macgegor into the method of Tseng in view of Chen to have a transmission module with a semiconductor device emitting a signal light with a peak wavelength at an input current, and a light receiver receiving the signal light to output an output current; wherein the output current is proportional to the input current. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tseng in view of Chen in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of providing a lower power circuit which is tolerant of variations in temperature (Macgegor, abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Tseng in view of Chen and in further view of Macgegor fails to specifically teach the absorption wavelength of the device or that the peak wavelength is larger than the absorption wavelength. However, it is obvious that the absorption wavelength has to be less than or equal to the peak of the light emission in order to ensure the receiver fully turns on when detecting the light.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited wavelength dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization to achieved a desired module performance. Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tseng fails to teach that the well layer is not adjacent to any barrier layers. However, this is not persuasive as Tseng teaches a layer 108 containing a single well (further described in the rejection of Claim 1 above) that is interpreted as the well layer. Further, well layer 108 is in direct contact with both confinement layers 114 and 116 with no adjacent barrier layer as illustrated in figures 1B and 1D.
Applicant also argues that Chen does not supply the claimed AlGaAS confinement layers, and that layers 114 and 116 are improperly referenced as confinement layers. However, these arguments are not persuasive as layers 114 and 116 of Chen may be referenced as confinement layers as cited references Henrichs (US patent pub 20030185265, paragraph 0055) and Raring 20210194206 A1, paragraph 0189) teach that the terms confinement and cladding are simply labels in the art and may be used interchangeably. Further, the confinement layers 114 and 116 of Chen are only being relied on teaching the thickness of the confinement layers, as Tseng already teaches confinement layers formed of Alx1Ga1-x1As 0<x1<1, which includes the claimed x1 range in the rejection of Claim 1 above. Therefore, the combination of Tseng in view of Chen teaches the light emitting device of Claim 1, and the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tseng in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the optical-electrical characteristics of the device (such as light-emitting power or forward voltage value) and exhibiting relatively high internal quantum efficiency (IQE) (Chen, paragraph 0056).
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicant(s) is/are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) attached herewith.
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899