DETAILED ACTION
The following is a response to the amendment filed 11/21/2025 which has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6, 11-14 and 17 are pending in the application. Claims 7-10 and 15-16 are cancelled.
-The 112(f) claim interpretation has been withdrawn due to applicant amending accordingly.
-The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claims 1, 3 and 12 accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant’s arguments that “Afrouzi, at most, may be said to teach an engaged configuration with the pins and rails, as pointed out in the Office action. However, the pins and rails do not also interlock the two "engaged" components to one another, as the pins are slidable along the rails……………Further, the second optional mechanical interlock of claim 1 is said to include mechanical locking elements that mechanically lock the vehicle platform to the upper body structure of claim1. As noted above, Afrouzi also does not teach or suggest any such mechanical interlock, much less mechanical locking elements, beyond the noted slidable pins and rails.” has been acknowledged. However, Afrouzi describes the body and platform as being locked via the retractable pins in column 17, line 24 to column 18, line 27 and shown in Figure 7B; therefore, Afrouzi does meet the “mechanical lock” limitations as recited in currently amended claims 1, 12 and 14.
-Applicant’s argument that “The Office action points to col. 6, lines 42-45 in Afrouzi as disclosing the recited electromagnet (in rejecting claim 8). However, this excerpt in Afrouzi does not relate in any way to an electromagnet, much less joining a vehicle platform and an upper body structure. In fact, Afrouzi only mentions magnets twice, as an accessory for attaching objects to the vehicle. See col. 16, lines 37-54 in Afrouzi. Thus, Afrouzi does not teach or suggest the first optional electromagnet interlocking mechanism of claim 1.” has been acknowledged. The examiner agrees with applicant’s argument that the magnet described in Afrouzi isn’t the same as the electromagnet recited in amended claims 1, 12 and 14 pertaining to the recited magnetic force pulling and the previous rejection pertaining to this limitation has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 11-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Afrouzi et al 11144057 (previously cited). Note: the use of the term “or” indicates that the limitations preceding or following the term doesn’t need to be met entirely and the recitations are in the form of “alternative” embodiments.
As to claim 1, Afrouzi discloses a mounting system for a motor vehicle: an upper body structure (pod); a vehicle platform (chassis); wheels (i.e., 404, 704, column 20, lines 42-45) on at least one of the upper body structure (i.e., Figure 4C) or the vehicle platform (i.e., Figures 8C and 8D) whereby the upper body structure or the vehicle platform is movable laterally on the ground (vehicle moveable on ground) with regards to a respective longitudinal direction; an engagement portion (rails; column 18, lines 59-61) on the upper body structure; and a counter-engagement portion (top pins) on the vehicle platform and have a complementary shape relative to the engagement portion, wherein the engagement and counter-engagement portions are shaped to engage each other under relative lateral movement of the upper body structure and the vehicle platform towards each other via the wheels whereby the upper body structure and the vehicle platform are coupled to each other in an engaged configuration for joint longitudinal movement, wherein at least one of the upper body structure or the vehicle platform comprises an interlocking mechanism (top pins and rails) configured to interlock the upper body structure with the vehicle platform in the engaged configuration, wherein the interlocking mechanism includes at least one of an electromagnet configured to be activated in the engaged configuration and to generate a magnetic force pulling the upper body structure and the vehicle platform to each other, or a mechanical interlock configured to mechanically lock the upper body structure with the vehicle platform in the engaged configuration via mechanical locking elements (top pins and rails), wherein the mechanical locking elements comprise retractable pins (i.e., Figure 7B and described in column 17, line 24 to column 18, line 27).
As to claim 2, wherein both the upper body structure (Figure 4C; 404) and the vehicle platform (101, 607, column 19, lines 37-39) are equipped with the wheels.
As to claim 4, wherein the engagement portion and the counter-engagement portion are shaped to engage each other in a form fit manner (top pin engages rail).
As to claim 5, wherein the engagement portion or the counter-engagement portion is formed as a protrusion (pin) and the respective other portion is formed correspondingly as a recess (rails with grooves) such that the protrusion can enter the recess laterally, and wherein at least one of the protrusion and the recess is formed with a lateral ridge (i.e., gear teeth) fitting into a correspondingly formed lateral undercut (gear grooves) of the respective other portion to couple the upper body structure and the vehicle platform to each other for joint longitudinal movement (column 18, line 66 to column 19, line 4).
As to claim 6, wherein the undercut is formed as a groove (gear groove), which is configured with roller wheels (gear teeth or rollers) or bearings to facilitate lateral sliding movement of the protrusion along the recess.
As to claim 11, wherein the vehicle platform comprises an electric battery, which is configured to power at least one wheel of the wheels and an interlocking mechanism (column 16, lines 15-16 and 31-33 describes battery charging operation which indicates that the vehicle has a battery to power the wheel motors and motors operating pins/rollers).
As to claim 12, Afrouzi discloses a motor vehicle having a mounting system, the motor vehicle comprising: an upper body structure (pods); and a vehicle platform (chassis), the mounting system including wheels (i.e., 404, 704, column 20, lines 42-45) on at least one of the upper body structure or the vehicle platform whereby the upper body structure or the vehicle platform is movable laterally on the ground with regards to a respective longitudinal direction, an engagement portion on the upper body structure, and a counter-engagement portion on the vehicle platform and have a complementary shape relative to the engagement portion, wherein the engagement and counter-engagement portions are shaped to engage each other under relative lateral movement of the upper body structure and the vehicle platform towards each other via the wheels whereby the upper body structure and the vehicle platform are coupled to each other in an engaged configuration for joint longitudinal movement, wherein at least one of the upper body structure or the vehicle platform comprises an interlocking mechanism (top pins and rails) configured to interlock the upper body structure with the vehicle platform in the engaged configuration, wherein the interlocking mechanism includes at least one of an electromagnet configured to be activated in the engaged configuration and to generate a magnetic force pulling the upper body structure and the vehicle platform to each other, or a mechanical interlock configured to mechanically lock the upper body structure with the vehicle platform in the engaged configuration via mechanical locking elements (top pins and rails), wherein the mechanical locking elements comprise retractable pins (i.e., Figure 7B and described in column 17, line 24 to column 18, line 27).
As to claim 13, wherein the motor vehicle is an electric motor vehicle (abstract; via motors driving wheels).
As to claim 14, Afrouzi discloses a method for assembling a motor vehicle, the method comprising: moving an upper body structure (pod) and a vehicle platform (chassis) laterally relative to each other via wheels (i.e., 404, 704, column 20, lines 42-45) provided on at least one of the upper body structure and the vehicle platform such that, in an engaged configuration, an engagement portion of the upper body structure engages a counter-engagement portion of the vehicle platform having a complementary shape relative to the engagement portion thereby coupling the upper body structure and the vehicle platform to each other for joint longitudinal movement and interlocking the upper body structure with the vehicle platform in the engaged configuration by an interlocking mechanism provided on at least one of the upper body structure or the vehicle platform, wherein interlocking includes at least one of activating an electromagnet to generate a magnetic force pulling the upper body structure and the vehicle platform to each other, or adjusting mechanical locking elements of a mechanical interlock to mechanically lock the upper body structure with the vehicle platform (i.e., Figure 7B and described in column 17, line 24 to column 18, line 27).
As to claim 17, wherein the method comprises a method of assembling an electric motor vehicle (abstract; via motors driving wheels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afrouzi in view of Kagi et al 20220274658 (previously cited). Afrouzi discloses wheels configured to roll, but doesn’t disclose the wheels as ball wheels configured to roll into horizonal directions as recited.
Kagi discloses a mounting system for a vehicle having a body structure (2) mounted to a vehicle platform (1) via wheels (42) and discloses that it is well known in the art to have the wheels in the form of ball bearings which are well known to roll in directions during operation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Afrouzi with ball wheels in view of Kagi to provide less frictional resistance during lateral movement which reduces wear or deterioration of wheels.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 February 27, 2026