DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 3
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 3
A. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0131285 (“Kim”). 4
B. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0197552 (“Otremba”). 12
C. Claims 1, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over WO 2021/013988 A1 (“Beyer”). 13
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 16
A. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2013/0256922 (“Bauer”). 16
V. Response to Arguments 17
Conclusion 19
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0131285 (“Kim”).
With regard to claim 1, Kim discloses, generally in Figs. 9, 10, and 13
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module, comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 140 [¶¶ 82-85], and
[2] a molded body 110/131/180/132 [¶¶ 79-81] coupled to the substrate layer 140 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure [i.e. glass cloth or glass fabric portion of 110 (infra) and/or glass fiber portion of 180 (infra)] forming a local reinforcement portion [as shown in Figs. 9, 10, and 13] embedded within a molding compound material [i.e. the resin materials of 131 (¶ 75) and 132 (¶ 80), and the resin material portions of 110 (¶ 75) and 180 (¶ 90) (infra)] of the molded body 110/131/180/132 [¶¶ 74-75, 79-81, 90],
[3] wherein the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to at least one of a screw hole, an opening for a terminal, a recess [e.g. each portion including 180 directly over recess 110B and 110C (infra)], and a wall structure with reduced thickness to provide mechanical stability at positions exposed to mechanical stress of the molded body.
With regard to the preamble of claim 1, the “semiconductor package module 100A” (¶ 70) shown in Figs. 9-10 may be a semiconductor power module because it includes a semiconductor chip 120 that may include a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) (¶ 70) and passive devices 125A-125F that include power inductors (¶ 78), and is used in, e.g., cell phones (Fig. 2) which are known in the art to rely heavily on power semiconductor devices for a variety of functions such as voltage conversion, power switching, and managing power requirements and battery life.
With regard to feature [2] of claim 1, specifically the claimed “local reinforcement portion”, is formed by the fiber or mesh portions of 110 and 180 (¶¶ 75, 90; infra), Kim states that the “core member 110 may improve rigidity of the fan-out semiconductor package module 100A” (¶ 74; emphasis added) and includes “insulating layer 111” which may include “a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric)”. A cloth or fabric is a mesh formed by woven fibers; therefore the glass cloth or glass fabric is both a fiber structure and a mesh structure. The glass fiber or cloth is embedded in an insulating resin (infra); therefore, the insulating resin forms a portion of the claimed “molding compound material” of the molded body 110/131/180/132. In this regard, Kim states,
[0075] The core member 110 may include an insulating layer 111. The material of the insulating layer 111 is not particularly limited. An insulating material may be used as the material of the insulating layer 111, and may be, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin in which the thermosetting resin or the thermoplastic resin is impregnated, together with an inorganic filler in a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric), for example, prepreg, Ajinomoto Build up Film (ABF), FR-4, Bismaleimide Triazine (BT), or the like. Alternatively, a PID resin may also be used as the insulating material. The core member 110 may have a good elastic modulus, as compared to the first encapsulant 131, so as to maintain rigidity. The insulating layer 111 of the core member 110 may be, for example, prepreg, including a glass fiber, an inorganic filler, and an insulating resin, while the first encapsulant 131 may be, for example, ABF, including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, but the insulating layer and the first encapsulant are not limited thereto.
(Kim: ¶ 75; emphasis added)
Another portion of the claimed “molding compound material” of the molded body 110/131/180/132 is the insulating region of the first encapsulant 131 (id.).
With regard to the second encapsulant 132, Kim states,
[0079] The first encapsulant 131 may cover at least portions of the core member 110 and the passive components 125B, 125C, 125D, 125E, and 125F. … The first encapsulant 131 may include an insulating material, which may be a material including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin having a reinforcing material such as an inorganic filler impregnated in the thermosetting resin and the thermoplastic resin, such as prepreg, ABF, FR-4, BT, or the like. Known molding materials such as an epoxy molding compound (EMC), or the like, may be used, and a photosensitive material, that is, a photoimagable encapsulant (PIE) may be used, if necessary. Alternatively, a material in which an insulating resin such as a thermosetting resin or a thermoplastic resin is impregnated in an inorganic filler and/or a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric) may also be used as the insulating material.
[0080] … The second encapsulant 132 may also include an insulating material, which may be a material including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin having a reinforcing material such as an inorganic filler impregnated in the thermosetting resin and the thermoplastic resin, such as prepreg, ABF, FR-4, BT, or the like. In addition, the material such as EMC, PIE, or the like, may be used, if necessary. Alternatively, a material in which an insulating resin such as a thermosetting resin or a thermoplastic resin is impregnated in an inorganic filler and/or a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric) may also be used as the insulating material.
[0081] The first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 may include the same material or may include different materials. Even when the first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 include the same material, a boundary therebetween may be identifiable. The first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 may include similar materials, but may have different colors. For example, the first encapsulant 131 may be more transparent than the second encapsulant 132. In other words, the boundary therebetween may be clear. In the alternative, the boundary between the first and second encapsulant 131 and 132 may not be visible. …
(Kim: ¶¶ 79-81; emphasis added)
Note that each of the first 131 and second 132 encapsulants may include or may not include a glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric reinforcement (¶ 80, supra).
In addition, Kim states that “the reinforcing member 180 may be, for example, prepreg, including a glass fiber, an inorganic filler, and an insulating resin …” (Kim: ¶ 90) and that “[t]he reinforcing member 180 may allow a thickness of the first encapsulant 131 to be relatively low, and may reinforce rigidity of the fan-out semiconductor package module 100A” (id.). Therefore, Kim uses the reinforcing member 180 for the same reason as in the Instant Application, i.e. to reinforce thin regions of encapsulant around electronic components (¶¶ 38-41 of US 2023/0420271, which is the pre-grant publication of the Instant Application).
Thus, as explained above, the claimed “molding compound material” in made up of the resin materials of the first 131 (¶ 75) and second 132 (¶ 80) encapsulants, as well as, the resin material portions of 110 (¶ 75) and 180 (¶ 90). The glass fabric or glass cloth portion of 111(110) and the glass fiber portion of 180 make up the claimed “at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure” of the molded body.
With regard to feature [3] of claim 1,
[3] wherein the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to at least one of a screw hole, an opening for a terminal, a recess, and a wall structure with reduced thickness to provide mechanical stability at positions exposed to mechanical stress of the molded body.
Each of the portions of the molded body 110/131/180/132 that is a “reinforcing member 180” (Kim: ¶ 90) formed directly over—and therefore “adjacent to”—the “recesses”, 110HB and 110HC (id.) is one example of a local reinforcement portion. This same portion of the “reinforcing member 180” (id.) is formed directly over—and therefore “adjacent to”— “wall structure[s]” that may be considered to be the thinned walls of the “core member 110” (id.) formed between, e.g., recesses 110HB and 110HA and between recesses 110HC and 110HA, as shown in Figs. 9 and 10, as well as each of the thinned portions of 110 between 110HB and the outer edge of the package and between 110HC and the outer edge of the package, as also shown in Figs. 9 and 10.
In addition, the portions of the “core member 110” (Kim: ¶ 70) formed between, e.g., recesses 110HB and 110HA and between recesses 110HC and 110HA are also formed “adjacent to” and therefore reinforce the resin portions 131 and 132 between said same recesses that may be considered as forming the claimed “wall structures”. NOTE that the thinned portions of the core member 110 of Kim, as discussed above, are entirely consistent with the “wall structure 17” shown in Fig. 1 of the Instant Application (¶ 39 of US 2023/0420271 which is the pre-grant publication of the Instant Application). In other words, the “wall structure 17” of the Instant Application appears to be the “wall structure” rather than merely being “adjacent to” the “wall structure” as currently claimed.
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
With regard to claims 2-7, 9-13, 19, and 20, Kim further discloses,
2. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises
[1] a first molding compound 131 and a different second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)],
[2] the first molding compound 131 [¶¶ 75, 79, 81] is configured to form a first molded body portion 131 without local reinforcement [¶ 75 (supra)] and
[3a] the second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)] includes
[3b] the at least one of the at least one fiber structure [e.g. “glass fiber” of 180 (supra)] and the at least one mesh structure [e.g. “glass fabric” or “glass cloth” of 110 and/or 132 (supra)] and
[3c] is configured to form a second molded body portion [e.g. any one or more of 110, 180, and 132] with local reinforcement [again, the glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric].
3. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein the at least one fiber structure of the second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)] comprises at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers [e.g. glass fibers, glass cloth, and glass fabric all have glass fibers (¶ 90)].
4. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein the first molding compound 131 and the second molding compound 132 differ from each other with respect to at least one of a respective filler and a resin material [¶ 81].
5. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein
[1] the first molded body portion 131 and the second molded body portion [any one or more of 110, 180, and 132] are coupled to the substrate layer 12 with respect to a stacking direction of the semiconductor power module [as shown in Figs. 9 and 13] and
[2] overlap each other in part at least along a lateral direction of the semiconductor power module perpendicular to the stacking direction [as shown in Figs. 9 and 13].
6. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises a separate reinforcement part 110 or 180 [¶¶ 70, 75] formed by a separate element 110 or 180 including the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure [i.e. the glass fiber, glass cloth or glass fabric 111 of 110 [¶ 75, supra] or glass fiber of 180 [¶ 90, supra] forming a second molded body portion 110 or 180 with local reinforcement [i.e. only locally as shown in Figs. 9 and 10].
7. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one of the separate reinforcement part 110 comprises at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers 111 [¶ 75, supra].
9. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one of the separate reinforcement part 110 comprises a non-conductive mesh 111 [“glass cloth or glass fabric” (¶ 75)].
10. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises
[1] an opening 110HA-110HF [¶ 70], a recess 110HA-110HF [¶ 70], a wall structure 110 [¶¶ 70, 75] with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area and/or a wall area 110 with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area [as shown in Figs. 9-10 and as explained under claim 1, above] and
[2] the at least one local reinforcement portion 110 is formed adjacent to at least one of the opening 110HA-110HF [¶ 70], the recess 110HA-110HF [¶ 70], the wall area 110 and the wall structure 110.
11. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, further comprising: an electronic unit 125B, 125C which is coupled with the substrate layer 140 and covered in the local reinforcement portion 180 in part at least.
12. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, further comprising:
[1] an electronic unit [any one or more of 120, 125A-125F] which is coupled with the substrate layer 12,
[2] wherein the at least one local reinforcement portion 110 in the molded body 110/131/180/132 is formed only beside the electronic unit with respect to a lateral direction [as shown in Figs. 9-10].
13. (Previously Presented) A semiconductor device 1000, 1100 comprising
[1] the semiconductor power module 100A according to claim 1, and
[2] electronics [¶¶ 39-42] coupled with the semiconductor power module 100A [¶¶ 43-50].
19. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure is impregnated by the molding compound material of the molded body 110/131/180/132 [again, each of the portions 110, 180, and 132 have glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric in an insulating resin, as explained under claim 1].
20. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molding compound material comprises a fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers.
With regard to claim 1, again, each of the portions 110, 180, and optionally 132, have glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric in an insulating resin, that may be epoxy for at least 110 and 132 (¶¶ 75, 80) as explained under claim 1.
With regard to claim 21, Kim further discloses,
21. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1,
[1] wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises a first molded body portion without local reinforcement [e.g. the portion of molding 132 (¶ 80) within the recess 110HA or either of the portions of 131 (¶ 79) in the holes 110HB and 110HC] and a second molded body portion with local reinforcement [e.g. (1) the portions of 132 plus the thinned core structure 110 forming the wall structures between the recess 110HA and each of the holes 110HB and 110HC, or (2) the wall structures between each of the holes 110HB and 110HC and the respective sides of the package],
[2] wherein the second molded body portion includes the at least one of the at least one fiber structure [again, e.g. 110] and the at least one mesh structure and is formed only at mechanically critical positions of the molded body.
With regard to the claimed “second molded body portion”, any the following may be taken as the second portion: (1) the portions of 132 plus the thinned core structure 110 forming the wall structures between the recess 110HA and each of the holes 110HB and 110HC, or (2) the wall structures between each of the holes 110HB and 110HC and the respective sides of the package, or (3) “the reinforcing member 180 may be, for example, prepreg, including a glass fiber, an inorganic filler, and an insulating resin …” (Kim: ¶ 90). Thus, the claimed “second portion of the molded body portion of the molded body that is 180 includes a molding material, i.e. the “insulating resin” (id.) and a local reinforcement of “glass fiber” (id.).
In addition, the reinforcement structures i.e. 180 and 110 are “only at mechanically critical positions”.
With regard to claim 23, Kim further discloses,
23. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure [e.g. “core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric)” of the core member 110] and the at least one mesh structure comprises a separate reinforcement part [i.e. 110] that is adhered to the substrate layer 140 and impregnated by the molding compound material 131 and/or 132 of the molded body 110/131/180/132.
B. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0197552 (“Otremba”).
With regard to claim 1, Otremba discloses, generally in Fig. 1C,
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module [because 406 can a semiconductor power chip (¶ 30)], comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 404 [¶ 27], and
[2] a molded body 948 [¶ 33] coupled to the substrate layer 404 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure forming a local reinforcement portion [e.g. near the screw hole 1194 (¶ 45) is reinforced because the entirety of the molding compound 948 is fiber reinforced (infra)] embedded within a molding compound material of the molded body 948 [as shown in Fig. 1C],
[3] wherein the local reinforcement portion [e.g. the fiber of the fiber reinforced polymer (¶ 33, infra)] is formed adjacent to at least one of a screw hole 1194 [¶ 45], an opening for a terminal, a recess, and a wall structure with reduced thickness to provide mechanical stability at positions exposed to mechanical stress of the molded body 948.
With regard to the molded body 948, Otremba states,
[0033] Encapsulation material 948 may include at least one from the following group of materials, the group consisting of: filled or unfilled epoxy, pre-impregnated composite fibers, reinforced fibers, laminate, a mold material, a thermoset material, a thermoplastic material, filler particles, fiber-reinforced laminate, fiber-reinforced polymer laminate, and fiber-reinforced polymer laminate with filler particles.
(Otremba: ¶ 33; emphasis added)
With regard to claim 18, Otremba further discloses,
18. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body comprises a screw hole 1194 [¶ 45] and the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to the screw hole 1194 [because the entirety of the molding compound 948 is fiber reinforced (id.)].
C. Claims 1, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over WO 2021/013988 A1 (“Beyer”).
The applied reference has common inventors with the Instant Application but an apparently different assignee. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In addition to including any one of the statements pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A) through (C), (supra), to overcome Beyer as prior art available under 35 USC 102(a)(2), it is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C). In this instance, Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Turning now to the rejection …
With regard to claim 1, Beyer discloses, generally in Figs. 1 and 2 and associated pages 19-20, as well as the abstract,
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module 10, comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 12, and
[2] a molded body 20, 32 coupled to the substrate layer 12 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure forming a local reinforcement portion [because the entirety of the molding compound 20 is fiber reinforced] embedded within a molding compound material [i.e. epoxy resin] of the molded body 20,
[3] wherein the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to at least one of a screw hole 36 [p. 20, 4th ¶], an opening for a terminal, a recess, and a wall structure with reduced thickness to provide mechanical stability at positions exposed to mechanical stress of the molded body 20, 32 [again, because the entirety of the molding compound 20 is fiber reinforced].
In addition to pages 19 and 20, see pages 8-9 providing details about the fibers, which can be glass or carbon, inter alia.
With regard to claims 17-20 and 22, Beyer further discloses,
17. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the molded body has an edge length of at least 50 mm [“at least 50 mm”, “at least 80 mm”, “at least 100 mm” (p. 16)].
18. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim1, wherein the molded body 20, 32 comprises a screw hole 36 and the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to the screw hole 36 [because the entirety of the molding compound 20 is fiber reinforced].
19. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure is impregnated by the molding compound material of the molded body 20 [abstract, pp. 19-20].
20. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the molding compound material comprises a fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound [abstract, pp. 19-20] containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers [pages 8-9].
22. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein
[1] the molded body 20, 32 has an edge length of at least 50 mm [“at least 50 mm”, “at least 80 mm”, “at least 100 mm” (p. 16)] and
[2] the local reinforcement portion counteracts mechanical stress caused by at least one of bending when attaching the semiconductor power module to a cooler and thermal cycling.
Note that the limitation, “when attaching the semiconductor power module to a cooler and thermal cycling” is a statement of intended use that fails to require a structure and therefore fails to have patentable weight. All that is required is that the local reinforcement portion is capable of “counteract[ing] mechanical stress caused by at least one of bending when attaching the semiconductor power module to a cooler and thermal cycling”. Because the entire molded body is fiber reinforced, it is held, absent evidence to the contrary, that the local reinforcement portion is capable of “counteract[ing] mechanical stress caused by at least one of bending when attaching the semiconductor power module to a cooler and thermal cycling”. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V).)
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2013/0256922 (“Bauer”).
Claim 8 reads,
8. (Previously Presented) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one fiber structure of the separate reinforcement part comprises a conductive mesh.
The prior art of Kim, as explained above, teaches each of the features of claims 1 and 6.
Kim does not indicate that the at least one fiber structure of the separate reinforcement, e.g. 180 part comprises a conductive mesh, indicating only glass fiber (Kim: ¶ 90, supra).
Bauer teaches a fiber-reinforced molding material, including fiber mesh 230, 330 in encapsulant 320, formed over semiconductor chips 210, 310 (Bauer: ¶¶ 24, 25, 27-30; Figs. 2A-2B, 3A-3B, 4A-4B), to provide mechanical stability and stiffness (Bauer: ¶ 23). Also like Kim, Bauer teaches that the fibers 230, 330 of the mesh can be glass (Bauer: ¶¶ 24, 29). Bauer further teaches the fibers 230, 330 of the mesh can be metal (Bauer: ¶ 17, claims 2, 13, 17, and 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use metal fibers for the fiber mesh portion of the “reinforcing member 180” shown in Kim’s Figs. 9, 10, and 13 because Bauer teaches that metal fiber mesh is a suitable substitute for glass fiber mesh, as a mechanical reinforcement material. As such, the selection of metal fiber mesh instead of glass fiber mesh amounts to the substitution of one known material for another known material suitable for the same purpose and producing the same result. (See MPEP 2143 and 2144.07.)
This is all of the limitations of claim 8.
V. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been considered but they are not fully persuasive.
For the reasons argued by Applicant (Remarks filed 06/08/2026, pp. 7-8), Examiner agrees with that US 2020/0168519 (“Nakahara”) does not discuss that the grid 32, 50 is capable of providing mechanical stability as positions exposed to mechanical stress. Accordingly the rejection based on Nakamura is withdrawn.
With regard to US 2019/0131285 (“Kim”), Applicant argues that “the core member 110 and reinforcing member 180 in Kim provide overall rigidity to the package, not local reinforcement at mechanically critical positions such as screw holes, terminal openings, recesses, or wall structures with reduced thickness.” (Remarks: p. 9) First, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., “mechanically critical positions such as screw holes, terminal openings, recesses, or wall structures with reduced thickness”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Second, as explained in the rejection Kim clearly disclosed reinforcement at wall structures and around recesses, e.g. 110HB and 110HC, as explained in the rejection (supra). Third, Kim does disclose “local” reinforcement and does not require reinforcement anywhere in the molding compound 132 in the opening 110HA or in portions in the molding compound 131 in at least the openings 110HB and 110HC. Thus, Kim does discuss local reinforcement since the reinforcing members, 110 and 180, are only locally placed in the package. Fourth, even if, arguendo, the reinforcement in Kim were not considered local—a point with which Examiner disagrees given the evidence of record—the claimed requirement for local reinforcement does not omit the existence of more general reinforcement.
Applicant further argues that “Kim does not disclose or teach that the core member 110 or reinforcing member 180 is formed adjacent to a screw hole, an opening for a terminal, a recess, or a wall structure with reduced thickness to provide mechanical stability at positions exposed to mechanical stress, as recited by claim 1 as amended.” (Remarks: p. 9) Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons explained in the rejection. To be sure, Kim includes the core member 110 to form reinforced, thin walls between the recess 110HA and each of the recesses 110HB and 110HC, as well as between each of 110HB and 110HC and the respective outer walls of the package, as shown in Figs. 9 and 10 of Kim.
Based on the foregoing, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
With regard to US 2014/0197552 (“Otremba”) Applicant argues because the entirety of the molding 948 can be fiber reinforced, that it does not include a local reinforcement, generally as required by claim 1, or adjacent a screw hole, as required by claim 18 (Remarks: p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As already stated above, the claimed requirement for local reinforcement does not omit the existence of more general reinforcement, particularly given the open-ended language of the preamble, “comprising”. The screw hole 1194 is reinforced the local existence of e.g. “fiber-reinforced polymer laminate” 948 (Otremba: ¶ 33). As such, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
With regard to WO 2021/013988 (“Beyer”), Applicant makes the same argument with respect to Beyer as is made with Otremba (Remarks: p. 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reason, again, the claimed requirement for local reinforcement does not omit the existence of more general reinforcement, particularly given the open-ended language of the preamble, “comprising”. As such, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814