DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 3
A. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 3
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 4
A. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0168519 (“Nakahara”). 4
B. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0131285 (“Kim”). 7
C. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0197552 (“Otremba”). 12
D. Claims 1 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over WO 2021/013988 A1 (“Beyer”). 13
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 15
A. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakahara in view of US 2017/0271273 (“Asai”). 15
IV. Response to Arguments 16
A. Rejection of claim 1 over Nakahara 17
B. Rejection of claim 1 over Kim 17
Conclusion 19
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 reads,
20. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the local reinforcement portion comprises a fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers.
However, claim 1 requires the “local reinforcement portion” to be formed by “at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure”. As such, it is unclear if the “fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers” is intended to (1) have antecedent basis to the “at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure” recited in claim 1 or (2) is an additional component included along with the “at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure”. If it is the latter, i.e. (2), then the claim 20 should read, instead, “wherein the local reinforcement portion further comprises …”
For the purposes of examination, the elements of claim 20 will be interpreted best as understood.
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0168519 (“Nakahara”).
With regard to claim 1, Nakahara discloses, generally in Figs. 1-6,
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module [title], comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 12 [¶ 18], and
[2] a molded body [40' in Figs. 1-3 (¶¶ 22-24) or 40A'/40B' in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] coupled to the substrate layer 12 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure [32 in Figs. 1-3 (¶ 22) or 32 and 50 in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] forming a local reinforcement portion [32 in Figs. 1-3 (¶ 22) or 32 and 50 in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] embedded within a molding compound material 40, 40A, 40B [e.g. epoxy resins (¶ 31, last sentence)] of the molded body 40' or 40A'/40B' [as shown in Figs. 3 and 6; ¶¶ 30-31].
With regard to claims 2, 4, and 5, Nakahara discloses, generally in Figs. 4-6,
2. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body comprises
[1] a first molding compound 40B and a different second molding compound 40A [¶ 31; Fig. 5],
[2] the first molding compound 40B [in Fig. 5] is configured to form a first molded body portion 40B' without local reinforcement [as shown in Fig. 6] and
[3a] the second molding compound 40A includes
[3b] the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure 32, 50 [¶¶ 19, 30-31] and
[3c] is configured to form a second molded body 40A' [in Fig. 6] portion with local reinforcement 32, 50 [as shown in Fig. 6].
4. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein the first molding compound 40B' and the second molding compound 40A' differ from each other with respect to at least one of a respective filler and a resin material [¶¶ 31-32].
5. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein
[1] the first molded body portion 40B' and the second molded body portion 40A' are coupled to the substrate layer 12 with respect to a stacking direction of the semiconductor power module and
[2] overlap each other in part at least along a lateral direction of the semiconductor power module perpendicular to the stacking direction [as shown in Fig. 6].
With regard to claims 6 and 8, Nakahara discloses, generally in Figs. 3 and 8-9,
6. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 40' comprises a separate reinforcement part 32B formed by a separate element 32B including the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure 32B forming a second molded body portion 40' with local reinforcement 32B [¶¶ 37-41].
8. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one fiber structure of the separate reinforcement part comprises a conductive mesh 32B [¶ 37].
With regard to claims 10 and 11, Nakahara further discloses, generally in Figs. 1-6,
10. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body [40' in Figs. 1-3 (¶¶ 22-24) or 40A'/40B' in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] comprises
[1] an opening, a recess, a wall structure with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area and/or a wall area [i.e. space between housing 30 and either of terminals 20 and 24 (¶ 23)] with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area [i.e. area between terminals 20 and 24] and
[2] the at least one local reinforcement portion [32 in Figs. 1-3 (¶ 22) or 32 and 50 in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] is formed adjacent to at least one of the opening, the recess, the wall area and the wall structure.
11. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, further comprising:
[1] an electronic unit 16 [¶ 18] which is coupled with the substrate layer 12 and
[2] covered in the local reinforcement portion [32 in Figs. 1-3 (¶ 22) or 32 and 50 in Figs. 4-6 (¶¶ 30-31)] in part at least.
With regard to claim 13, Nakahara further discloses, generally in Figs. 3, 6, 9, and 10,
13. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device 201 comprising
[1] the semiconductor power module 202 according to claim 1, and
[2] electronics 203 coupled with the semiconductor power module 202 [¶¶ 43-50].
With regard to claim 19, Nakamura further discloses,
19. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure 32, 50 is impregnated by the molding compound material 40, 4A of the molded body 40', 40A'/40B' [as shown in Figs. 3 and 6].
B. Claims 1-7, 9-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0131285 (“Kim”).
With regard to claim 1, Kim discloses, generally in Figs. 9, 10, and 13
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module, comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 140 [¶¶ 82-85], and
[2] a molded body 110/131/180/132 [¶¶ 79-81] coupled to the substrate layer 140 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure [i.e. glass cloth or glass fabric portion of 110 (infra) and/or glass fiber portion of 180 (infra)] forming a local reinforcement portion [as shown in Figs. 9, 10, and 13] embedded within a molding compound material [i.e. the resin materials of 131 (¶ 75) and 132 (¶ 80), and the resin material portions of 110 (¶ 75) and 180 (¶ 90) (infra)] of the molded body 110/131/180/132 [¶¶ 74-75, 79-81, 90].
The “semiconductor package module 100A” (¶ 70) shown in Figs. 9-10 may be a semiconductor power module because it includes a semiconductor chip 120 that may include a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) (¶ 70) and passive devices 125A-125F that include power inductors (¶ 78), and is used in, e.g., cell phones (Fig. 2) which are known in the art to rely heavily on power semiconductor devices for a variety of functions such as voltage conversion, power switching, and managing power requirements and battery life.
With regard to the claimed “local reinforcement portion”, which is formed by the fiber or mesh portions of 110 and 180 (¶¶ 75, 90; infra), Kim states that the “core member 110 may improve rigidity of the fan-out semiconductor package module 100A” (¶ 74; emphasis added) and includes “insulating layer 111” which may include “a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric)”. A cloth or fabric is a mesh formed by woven fibers; therefore the glass cloth or glass fabric is both a fiber structure and a mesh structure. The glass fiber or cloth is embedded in an insulating resin (infra); therefore, the insulating resin forms a portion of the claimed “molding compound material” of the molded body 110/131/180/132. In this regard, Kim states,
[0075] The core member 110 may include an insulating layer 111. The material of the insulating layer 111 is not particularly limited. An insulating material may be used as the material of the insulating layer 111, and may be, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin in which the thermosetting resin or the thermoplastic resin is impregnated, together with an inorganic filler in a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric), for example, prepreg, Ajinomoto Build up Film (ABF), FR-4, Bismaleimide Triazine (BT), or the like. Alternatively, a PID resin may also be used as the insulating material. The core member 110 may have a good elastic modulus, as compared to the first encapsulant 131, so as to maintain rigidity. The insulating layer 111 of the core member 110 may be, for example, prepreg, including a glass fiber, an inorganic filler, and an insulating resin, while the first encapsulant 131 may be, for example, ABF, including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, but the insulating layer and the first encapsulant are not limited thereto.
(Kim: ¶ 75; emphasis added)
Another portion of the claimed “molding compound material” of the molded body 110/131/180/132 is the insulating region of the first encapsulant 131 (id.).
With regard to the second encapsulant 132, Kim states,
[0079] The first encapsulant 131 may cover at least portions of the core member 110 and the passive components 125B, 125C, 125D, 125E, and 125F. … The first encapsulant 131 may include an insulating material, which may be a material including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin having a reinforcing material such as an inorganic filler impregnated in the thermosetting resin and the thermoplastic resin, such as prepreg, ABF, FR-4, BT, or the like. Known molding materials such as an epoxy molding compound (EMC), or the like, may be used, and a photosensitive material, that is, a photoimagable encapsulant (PIE) may be used, if necessary. Alternatively, a material in which an insulating resin such as a thermosetting resin or a thermoplastic resin is impregnated in an inorganic filler and/or a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric) may also be used as the insulating material.
[0080] … The second encapsulant 132 may also include an insulating material, which may be a material including an inorganic filler and an insulating resin, for example, a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin having a reinforcing material such as an inorganic filler impregnated in the thermosetting resin and the thermoplastic resin, such as prepreg, ABF, FR-4, BT, or the like. In addition, the material such as EMC, PIE, or the like, may be used, if necessary. Alternatively, a material in which an insulating resin such as a thermosetting resin or a thermoplastic resin is impregnated in an inorganic filler and/or a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric) may also be used as the insulating material.
[0081] The first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 may include the same material or may include different materials. Even when the first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 include the same material, a boundary therebetween may be identifiable. The first encapsulant 131 and the second encapsulant 132 may include similar materials, but may have different colors. For example, the first encapsulant 131 may be more transparent than the second encapsulant 132. In other words, the boundary therebetween may be clear. In the alternative, the boundary between the first and second encapsulant 131 and 132 may not be visible. …
(Kim: ¶¶ 79-81; emphasis added)
Note that each of the first 131 and second 132 encapsulants may include or may not include a glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric reinforcement (¶ 80, supra).
In addition, Kim states that “the reinforcing member 180 may be, for example, prepreg, including a glass fiber, an inorganic filler, and an insulating resin …” (Kim: ¶ 90) and that “[t]he reinforcing member 180 may allow a thickness of the first encapsulant 131 to be relatively low, and may reinforce rigidity of the fan-out semiconductor package module 100A” (id.). Therefore, Kim uses the reinforcing member 180 for the same reason as in the Instant Application, i.e. to reinforce thin regions of encapsulant around electronic components (¶¶ 38-41 of US 2023/0420271, which is the pre-grant publication of the Instant Application).
Thus, as explained above, the claimed “molding compound material” in made up of the resin materials of the first 131 (¶ 75) and second 132 (¶ 80) encapsulants, as well as, the resin material portions of 110 (¶ 75) and 180 (¶ 90). The glass fabric or glass cloth portion of 111(110) and the glass fiber portion of 180 make up the claimed “at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure” of the molded body.
This is all of the features of claim 1.
With regard to claims 2-7, 9-13, 19, and 20, Kim further discloses,
2. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises
[1] a first molding compound 131 and a different second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)],
[2] the first molding compound 131 [¶¶ 75, 79, 81] is configured to form a first molded body portion 131 without local reinforcement [¶ 75 (supra)] and
[3a] the second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)] includes
[3b] the at least one of the at least one fiber structure [e.g. “glass fiber” of 180 (supra)] and the at least one mesh structure [e.g. “glass fabric” or “glass cloth” of 110 and/or 132 (supra)] and
[3c] is configured to form a second molded body portion [e.g. any one or more of 110, 180, and 132] with local reinforcement [again, the glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric].
3. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein the at least one fiber structure of the second molding compound [any one or more of the resin portions of 110, 180, and 132 (supra)] comprises at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers [e.g. glass fibers, glass cloth, and glass fabric all have glass fibers (¶ 90)].
4. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein the first molding compound 131 and the second molding compound 132 differ from each other with respect to at least one of a respective filler and a resin material [¶ 81].
5. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 2, wherein
[1] the first molded body portion 131 and the second molded body portion [any one or more of 110, 180, and 132] are coupled to the substrate layer 12 with respect to a stacking direction of the semiconductor power module [as shown in Figs. 9 and 13] and
[2] overlap each other in part at least along a lateral direction of the semiconductor power module perpendicular to the stacking direction [as shown in Figs. 9 and 13].
6. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises a separate reinforcement part 110 [¶¶ 70, 75] formed by a separate element 110 including the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure 111 [¶ 75, supra] forming a second molded body portion 110 with local reinforcement [i.e. only locally as shown in Figs. 9 and 10].
7. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one of the separate reinforcement part 110 comprises at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers 111 [¶ 75, supra].
9. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor power module according to claim 6, wherein the at least one of the separate reinforcement part 110 comprises a non-conductive mesh 111 [“glass cloth or glass fabric” (¶ 75)].
10. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body 110/131/180/132 comprises
[1] an opening 110HA-110HF [¶ 70], a recess, a wall structure 110 [¶¶ 70, 75] with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area and/or a wall area 110 with reduced thickness in view of an adjacent area [as shown in Figs. 9-10] and
[2] the at least one local reinforcement portion 110 is formed adjacent to at least one of the opening 110HA-110HF, the recess, the wall area 110 and the wall structure 110.
11. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, further comprising: an electronic unit 125B, 125C which is coupled with the substrate layer 140 and covered in the local reinforcement portion 180 in part at least.
12. (Original) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, further comprising:
[1] an electronic unit [any one or more of 120, 125A-125F] which is coupled with the substrate layer 12,
[2] wherein the at least one local reinforcement portion 110 of the molded body 110/131/180/132 is formed only besides the electronic unit with respect to a lateral direction [as shown in Figs. 9-10].
13. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device 1000, 1100 comprising
[1] the semiconductor power module 100A according to claim 1, and
[2] electronics [¶¶ 39-42] coupled with the semiconductor power module 100A [¶¶ 43-50].
19. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure is impregnated by the molding compound material of the molded body 110/131/180/132 [again, each of the portions 110, 180, and 132 have glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric in an insulating resin, as explained under claim 1].
20. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the local reinforcement portion comprises a fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers.
With regard to claim 1, again, each of the portions 110, 180, and optionally 132, have glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric in an insulating resin, that may be epoxy for at least 110 and 132 (¶¶ 75, 80) as explained under claim 1.
C. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0197552 (“Otremba”).
With regard to claim 1, Otremba discloses, generally in Fig. 1C,
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module [because 406 can a semiconductor power chip (¶ 30)], comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 404 [¶ 27], and
[2] a molded body 948 [¶ 33] coupled to the substrate layer 404 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure forming a local reinforcement portion [e.g. near the screw hole 1194 (¶ 45) is reinforced because the entirety of the molding compound 948 is fiber reinforced (infra)] embedded within a molding compound material of the molded body 948 [as shown in Fig. 1C].
With regard to the molded body 948, Otremba states,
[0033] Encapsulation material 948 may include at least one from the following group of materials, the group consisting of: filled or unfilled epoxy, pre-impregnated composite fibers, reinforced fibers, laminate, a mold material, a thermoset material, a thermoplastic material, filler particles, fiber-reinforced laminate, fiber-reinforced polymer laminate, and fiber-reinforced polymer laminate with filler particles.
(Otremba: ¶ 33; emphasis added)
With regard to claim 18, Otremba further discloses,
18. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body comprises a screw hole 1194 [¶ 45] and the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to the screw hole 1194 [because the entirety of the molding compound 948 is fiber reinforced (id.)].
D. Claims 1 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over WO 2021/013988 A1 (“Beyer”).
The applied reference has common inventors with the Instant Application but an apparently different assignee. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In addition to including any one of the statements pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A) through (C), (supra), to overcome Beyer as prior art available under 35 USC 102(a)(2), it is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C). In this instance, Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Turning now to the rejection …
With regard to claim 1, Beyer discloses, generally in Figs. 1 and 2 and associated pages 19-20, as well as the abstract,
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor power module 10, comprising:
[1] a substrate layer 12, and
[2] a molded body 20, 32 coupled to the substrate layer 12 having at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure forming a local reinforcement portion [because the entirety of the molding compound 20 is fiber reinforced] embedded within a molding compound material [i.e. epoxy resin] of the molded body 20.
In addition to pages 19 and 20, see pages 8-9 providing details about the fibers which can be glass or carbon, inter alia.
With regard to claims 17-20, Beyer further discloses,
17. (New) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the molded body has an edge length of at least 50 mm [“at least 50 mm”, “at least 80 mm” “at least 100 mm” (p. 16)].
18. (New) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim1, wherein the molded body 20, 32 comprises a screw hole 36 and the local reinforcement portion is formed adjacent to the screw hole 36 [because the entirety of the molding compound 20 is fiber reinforced].
19. (New) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the at least one fiber structure and the at least one mesh structure is impregnated by the molding compound material of the molded body 20 [abstract, pp. 19-20].
20. (New) The semiconductor power module 10 according to claim 1, wherein the local reinforcement portion comprises a fiber-reinforced epoxy molding compound [abstract, pp. 19-20] containing at least one of glass fibers and carbon fibers [pages 8-9].
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakahara in view of US 2017/0271273 (“Asai”).
Claim 17 reads,
17. (New) The semiconductor power module according to claim 1, wherein the molded body has an edge length of at least 50 mm.
The prior art of Nakahara, as explained above, teaches each of the features of claim 1.
Nakahara does not give the dimensions of the molded body 40'.
Asai teaches a power semiconductor module having a similar configuration to that in Nakahara, i.e. the molding material 5 encapsulating the power semiconductor device 1 and mounting substrate 3 are encased in a housing, i.e. a “resin case” 6 (Asai: Figs. 1, 7; ¶ 25). Asai further teaches that “the internal dimension of the longitudinal side T of the resin case 6 is about 50 mm” (Asai: ¶ 31; emphasis added) and more generally,
The internal dimension of the longitudinal side T of the resin case 6 is not limited to 50 mm Even when the longitudinal side T is not 50 mm, the effect of reducing stress may be similarly obtained. In particular, the longitudinal side T may be preferably of a range from 20 mm to 200 mm
(Asai: ¶ 46; emphasis added)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the internal longitudinal side dimension of the housing 30—and consequently the longitudinal dimension of the molding 40'—in the range of 20 mm to 200 mm, e.g. 50 mm, because Nakahara is merely silent as to the length of the internal longitudinal dimension of the housing 30 such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use known internal longitudinal dimensions, such as the known dimensions of 20 mm to 200 mm, e.g. 50 mm, taught in Asai.
This is all of the limitations of claim 17.
IV. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcomes the objections and rejection under 35 USC 112(b), which are, accordingly, withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/07/2026 with regard to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Rejection of claim 1 over Nakahara
With regard to the rejection of claim 1 over Nakahara, Applicant argues that because Nakahara states that the resin 40 flows through the grid 32 when it is melted, that the grid is not embedded in the resin 40' (Remarks: p. 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 2 of Nakahara shows that the “granular sealing resins 40” (¶ 22) does not fit through the openings formed by the grid 32. However, melting the granular resin 40 allows it to flow through the openings of the grid to reach and cover the underlying structures, including semiconductor chip 16. As shown in Fig. 3, this melting/curing process unambiguously results in the grid 32 being embedded in the melted and cured resin 40' (¶ 23). Moreover, the Instant Application provides a definition for “embedded” that is entirely consistent with the configuration of the grid 32 in the molded body 40' shown in Fig. 3 and of 40A' in Fig. 6 of Nakahara, the Instant Application stating in this regard,
The term “embedded” means or can also be interpreted in a way that there is a fiber and/or mesh structure impregnated or covered with a compound of the molded body. The fiber and/or mesh structure can also be embedded in the sense of being completely enclosed in the molded body.
(Instant Specification: ¶ 7; emphasis added)
As such, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
B. Rejection of claim 1 over Kim
Applicant argues,
[1] Kim's reinforcing member 180 is disposed on top of the first encapsulant 131, not embedded within a molding compound material. [2] The reinforcing member 180 is a separate layer that sits on the encapsulant rather than being embedded within the encapsulant material itself. Kim also discloses that the core member 110 may include an insulating layer 111 which may include a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric). Kim, paragraph [0075].
[3] However, the core member 110 is a separate structural component with through-holes in which the semiconductor chip 120 and the plurality of passive components are disposed. Kim, paragraph [0074]. The core member 110 is not a fiber or mesh structure embedded within a molding compound material.
Therefore, Kim does not disclose or teach "at least one of: at least one fiber structure and at least one mesh structure forming a local reinforcement portion embedded within a molding compound material of the molded body" as recited by claim 1 as amended. Claims 2- 7 and 9-13 depend from claim 1 and are allowable for at least the same reasons.
(Remarks: p. 9; emphasis added )
With regard to point [1] above, as explained in the rejection above, the claimed “fiber structure” and “mesh structure” are met by the glass fiber or glass cloth or glass fabric portions of any of 110, 180, and 132 and each of said fiber or cloth or fabric is embedded in an insulating resin (¶¶ 75, 80, 90).
With regard to point [2] above, first, to be sure, the reinforcing member 180 does not “sit” on top of the first encapsulant 131. If the reinforcing member 180 merely sat on the top of 131 then it could not perform its reinforcing function, which occurs by virtue of all of the elements, 110, 131, 180, and 132 being bonded together, vis-à-vis Newton’s Third Law, for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. The reinforcing member absorbs the forces by its higher Young’s modulus versus 131 specifically possible because 180 is bonded to 131.
Second, even in the Non-Final Rejection, 180 was indicated to between embedded in the first 131 and second 132 encapsulants, yet Applicant ignores the second encapsulant 132 covering the reinforcing member 180. Applicant also ignores the explicit definition in the Instant Specification which states, again,
The term “embedded” means or can also be interpreted in a way that there is a fiber and/or mesh structure impregnated or covered with a compound of the molded body. The fiber and/or mesh structure can also be embedded in the sense of being completely enclosed in the molded body.
(Instant Specification: ¶ 7; emphasis added)
Therefore, the second encapsulant 132—alone—would meet the explicit definition of “embedded” in the Instant Application. The first 131 and second 132 encapsulants certainly meet this, not to mention when the insulating resin portion of 180 is also included, as currently explained in the rejection, given claim 1 as currently amended.
With regard to point [3] above, 110 may be a separate element, but it is still a reinforcing member in the package made of fiber or cloth or fabric-reinforced insulating resin that forms portions of the overall molded body 110/131/180/132—which is entirely consistent with the Instant Application, in which the molded body includes various reinforced and non-reinforced portions. Therefore, the is no force to the argument that 110 is a separate element, as Applicant argues.
Based on all of the foregoing, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814