DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is responsive to the application filed on 11/29/2025. Applicant has submitted Claims 1-16 for examination.
Examiner finds the following: 1) Claims 1-16 are rejected; 2) no claims are objected to; and 3) no claims allowable.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Application No. KR10-2021-0032222, filed on 03/11/2021, has been filed in this matter.
Claim Interpretation
Generally: The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments and Remarks
Examiner respectfully acknowledges Applicant' s arguments, remarks, and amendments.
Applicant’s Argument 1: Jung’s dome portion does not satisfy the limitation “configured to enclose at least a portion of the spherical surface.”
Examiner is cited to Jung to show that if PHOSITA were to implement known flexible circuit boards, such as those disclosed in Jung, it would be enclosed within the structure 1 of Kim (the dome). Examiner has tried to be clearer in this mapping. However, Examiner maintains the combination and the rejection.
Applicant Argument 2: Jong’s dome portion does not satisfy the limitation “to be disposed in contact with the spherical surface at the enclosed portion.”
Examiner is cited to Jung to show that if PHOSITA were to implement known flexible circuit boards, such as those disclosed in Jung, it would be disposed, and thus in contact, with the structure 1 of Kim (the dome). Examiner has tried to be clearer in this mapping. However, Examiner maintains the combination and the rejection.
Applicant Argument 3: Even the combination of Kim and Jung fails to teach “a circuit board in contact with a spherical surface and cover along the spherical surface.”
Examiner is cited to Jung to show that if PHOSITA were to implement known flexible circuit boards, such as those disclosed in Jung, it could be used with the structure 1 of Kim (the dome). Kim shows sensors and internal circuitry within the dome, and Examiner reasonably understands PHOSITA to have the skills to implement it as such. Examiner has tried to be clearer in this mapping. However, Examiner maintains the combination and the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210404809 A1) in view of Jung (US 20150008114 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses:
A tilt and direction detecting apparatus (Kim, FIG. 4, [0053], slope detection device 100) comprising:
a dome structure including a spherical surface (Kim, [0064], structure 1);
a plurality of optical sensors (Kim, FIG. 4, [0065], optical sensors 2) configured to measure the intensity of sunlight (Kim, [0065], “… in addition to visible light emitted by the sun…”); and …
… configured to enclose at least a portion of the spherical surface and to be disposed in contact with the spherical surface at the enclosed portion (Kim, FIGS. 5(a) & 5(b), [0069], “FIG. 5(a) shows multiple optical sensors 2 fixed at regular intervals on a virtual spherical surface. The normal 22 of the light receiving surface 21 of each of the optical sensors 2 is provided to be the same as the normal of the spherical surface”) …
… is disposed on the spherical surface such that … the plurality of optical sensors are disposed on the same spherical surface (Kim, FIGS. 5(a) & 5(b), [0069], “FIG. 5(a) shows multiple optical sensors 2 fixed at regular intervals on a virtual spherical surface. The normal 22 of the light receiving surface 21 of each of the optical sensors 2 is provided to be the same as the normal of the spherical surface”) and the plurality of optical sensors are oriented in different directions from each other (Kim, FIG. 4, [0064], “The multiple optical sensors 2 are provided on the spherical surface of the structure in a manner that face different directions).
Kim discloses the above, but does not explicitly disclose:
… a flexible circuit printed board …
wherein, the plurality of optical sensors are disposed on the flexible circuit board …
However, Jung, in a similar field of endeavor (SIGNAL INPUT MODULE AND MOBILE TERMINAL HAVING THE SAME), discloses:
… a flexible circuit printed board (Jung, [0016], “a flexible printed circuit board … having a dome portion”) … ,
wherein, the plurality of optical sensors are disposed on the flexible circuit board (Jung, [0016], “a flexible printed circuit board … having a dome portion”) …
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the flexible printed circuit board of Jung. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of flexible printed circuit boards as disclosed by Jung and how to use them to modify Kim. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically making the dome as a flexible printed circuit board for ease of construction and wiring.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 1, and Kim further discloses:
… wherein the flexible printed circuit board includes a plurality of base units (Kim, FIG. 4, [0065], optical sensors 2) and a plurality of first connecting portions connecting two neighboring base units among the plurality of base units (inherent to Kim, as structure 1 contains a circuit connecting all of the optical sensors 2).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the flexible printed circuit board including the plurality of base units and the plurality of first connecting portions is formed as a single body.
The structural integrity is a result-effective variable. In that, if there is insufficient support it would fail and too much support could interfere with the optics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s filing date to include “wherein the spherical surface includes a plurality of supporting surfaces, and each of the plurality of base units is disposed on each of the plurality of supporting surfaces,” since determining the optimum support structure to provide sufficient support is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the thickness of the base units is larger than the thickness of the first connecting portions.
The thickness of the base units as claimed is to “reinforce the rigidity of the circuit portions” (Specification, [0063]). The structural integrity is a result-effective variable. In that, if the material is too thin it would fail to provide support and if the material is too thick it could interfere with the optics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s filing date to include “wherein the thickness of the base units is larger than the thickness of the first connecting portions,” since determining the optimum thickness to provide sufficient support is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the spherical surface includes a plurality of supporting surfaces, and each of the plurality of base units is disposed on each of the plurality of supporting surfaces.
The structural integrity is a result-effective variable. In that, if there is insufficient support it would fail and too much support could interfere with the optics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s filing date to include “wherein the spherical surface includes a plurality of supporting surfaces, and each of the plurality of base units is disposed on each of the plurality of supporting surfaces,” since determining the optimum support structure to provide sufficient support is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 5, and Kim further discloses:
… further comprising a plurality of cover members disposed on the plurality of base units, respectively (Kim, FIG. 8, [0100], screen wall 12),
wherein the cover members each include a light receiving hole corresponding to each of the optical sensors (Kim, FIG. 8, showing how the screen walls 12 make individual holes sectioning the optical sensors 2).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein either the dome structure or the cover member includes a through-hole, and the other one includes a protruding portion capable of being fitted to the through-hole.
However, based on Applicant’s FIG. 5, “a bottom view of a cover member of a tilt and direction detecting apparatus,” Examiner understands the above limitations to mean that claim dome structure has a through hole for a peg to fit into for positioning. Though Kim does not explicitly disclose the above limitation, Kim’s structure 1 is connected to antenna apparatus 101.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with the claimed through-hole system. PHOSITA would have known about the multiple means to connect and interlock pieces would require routine skill in the art and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to connect and interlock pieces.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the through-hole includes a first hole and a second hole, and the protruding portion includes a first protruding portion having a shape corresponding to the first hole and a second protruding portion having a shape corresponding to the second hole.
As noted for Claim 7, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with the claimed through-hole system. PHOSITA would have known about the multiple means to connect and interlock pieces would require routine skill in the art and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to connect and interlock pieces.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the first hole configures in that at least one of size and shape is different from the second hole.
As noted for Claims 7 and 8, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with the claimed through-hole system. PHOSITA would have known about the multiple means to connect and interlock pieces would require routine skill in the art and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to connect and interlock pieces.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 6, and Kim further discloses:
… wherein the cover members each include:
a cover body (Kim, FIG. 8, showing how the screen walls 12 make individual holes sectioning the optical sensors 2); and
a plurality of supporting portions configured to support the cover body, that extended from one side of the cover member facing the base unit (Kim, FIG. 8, [0100], screen wall 12),
wherein each of the plurality of supporting portions is spaced apart from one another around the light receiving hole (Kim, FIG. 8, [0100], screen wall 12).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 10, and Kim further discloses:
… wherein the plurality of supporting portions include a first supporting portion, a second supporting portion neighboring the first supporting portion, and a third supporting portion neighboring the second supporting portion (Kim, FIG. 8, [0100], screen wall 12. Examiner notes there are multiple, interconnecting screen walls), …
The combination of Kim and Jung discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
…wherein a first space, which is a space between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion, is larger than a second space, which is a space between the second supporting portion and the third supporting portion.
However, the support spacing is a result-effective variable. In that, if there is insufficient support it would fail and too much support could interfere with the optics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s filing date to include “wherein the spherical surface includes a plurality of supporting surfaces, and each of the plurality of base units is disposed on each of the plurality of supporting surfaces,” since determining the optimum support structure to provide sufficient support is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the supporting portions are laser-fused onto the supporting surface.
However, laser fusing and etching circuit boards is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with laser-fusing and etching. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of laser-fusing and etching which would require routine skill in the art and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to work circuits.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 1, and Kim further discloses:
… further comprising a main board that is configured to calculate the angle of incidence of sunlight from information outputted from the plurality of optical sensors (Kim, FIG. 1, [0055], management server 103), and
The combination of Kim and Jung discloses the above but does not explicitly disclose:
… that includes a first surface contiguous to the dome structure and a second surface opposite to the first surface,
wherein the flexible printed circuit board further includes a second connecting portion for electrically connecting the plurality of optical sensors and the main board,
wherein one end of the second connecting portion is connected to the second surface.
However, Kim discloses in FIG. 1, [0051]:
The antenna apparatus 101 for mobile communication may be provided on a pillar 102 standing on the ground.
Additionally, Kim discloses in FIG. 1, [0055]:
Multiple antenna apparatuses are installed in a distributed manner over a large area where a mobile communication service is provided. In order to ensure an appropriate service area, the antenna apparatus is installed preferably at the highest position, such as the top of the mountain, a roof of a building, or the like. The slope information of the antenna apparatuses may be transmitted to a management server 103 located at a remote location over a network, or the like, for convenience of management. In this case, in transmitting the slope information to the management server 103, communication is performed via the inside of the antenna by using a wireless network or by applying a communication protocol embedded in the antenna apparatus for mobile communication.
Examiner acknowledges that Kim operates remotely and wirelessly, and Applicant’s claimed invention is directly connected. Based on information and understanding, as written, Applicant is claiming that the domed sensor array is directly connected to the main board that calculates the angle, and that that board has an opposite side also connected to the domed sensor array.
Additionally, Examiner understands that if Kim’s management server 103 were internal to antenna apparatus 101, then Kim would functionally disclose the claimed invention. As disclosed, Kim’s antenna apparatus 101 is directly wired and connected to a circuit within antenna apparatus 101 to transmit the management server 103. Wired connections and wireless connections are well known in the art and PHOSITA would have been aware about their uses and applications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with a direct wired connection to the management server. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of direct, wired connections and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to connect and wire electrical components.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose
… wherein the main board further includes a through groove, and at least a portion of the second connecting portion is configured to pass through the through groove.
However, as noted above, the use of wired and wireless connections are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Jung with a direct wired connection to the management server. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of direct, wired connections and how to use them to modify the combination of Kim and Jung. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)), specifically the use of a known means to connect and wire electrical components.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 1, and Kim further discloses:
… further comprising at least one of a GPS module (Kim, [0074], “The time providing unit may be a network clock receiver, a wireless time synchronization extraction module, or a GPS module”) and a camera module (Kim, FIG. 4, [0065], optical sensors 2).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Kim and Jung discloses Claim 1, and Kim further discloses:
… and an antenna apparatus (Kim, FIG. 1, [0050], antenna apparatus 101),
wherein the tilt and direction detecting apparatus is installed on the antenna apparatus (Kim, FIG. 1, [0050], antenna apparatus 101).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD ANDREW REVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877