DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2022/0375813 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Huang”).
With respect to claim 1, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, an electronic device, comprising: a substrate comprising: a substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate 24); a substrate (24) second side/(lower surface of substrate 24) opposite to the substrate first side; and a conductive structure/(TSV); a first electronic component (25) comprising: a component first side/(lower surface of device 25) coupled to the conductive structure/(TSV) at the substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate 24); a component second side/(upper surface of device 25) opposite to the component first side; and a component lateral side/(side surface of device 25) connecting the component first side to the component second side (see Par.[0060] wherein a carrying structure 24 and an electronic component 25 disposed on the carrying structure 24, and the first heat dissipation material 22a is combined on the electronic component 25. For example, the carrying structure 24 is, for example, a package substrate with a core layer and a wiring structure, a package substrate with a coreless wiring structure, and a through silicon interposer (abbreviated as TSI) with a through-silicon via (abbreviated as TSV) or other board type, which includes at least one insulating layer and at least one wiring layer combining the insulating layer, such as at least one fan out type redistribution layer (abbreviated as RDL)); a lid structure (3a) comprising: a first lid comprising: a first lid side wall (21) coupled to the substrate (24); and a first lid top (23, 23a) coupled to the first lid side wall (21) and comprising an opening/(ring opening) over the component (25) second side/(upper surface of device 25) (see Par.[0070] wherein see Par.[0089] wherein the peripheral area C can be formed with a frame 23a corresponding to the ring body 23 depends on requirements, such that at least one auxiliary channel 204 extending from the gas section 202 is formed between the ring body 23 and the frame body 23a, as shown in FIG. 3A; the heat-generating component 2a and the first heat dissipation element 3a are combined, such that the ring body 23 of the first heat dissipation element 3a is bonded to the electronic component 25 of the heat-generating component 2a by the second heat dissipation element 22b, and the supporting leg 21 of the first heat dissipation element 3a is bonded to the bonding material 26 on the carrying structure 24 of the heat-generating component 2a, such that the inactive surface 25b of the electronic component 25 is exposed on a ring opening of the ring body 23; ); a second lid (3b) comprising a second lid top (20) coupled to the first lid top (3a); and a lid channel (200) coupled to the opening (see Par.[0062]-[0070] wherein the adjustment channel 200 may have a plurality of gas sections 202, as shown in FIG. 3G-2 or FIG. 3H-2, and each of the gas sections 202 is connected to the fluid section 201; furthermore, the active area B can also be formed with at least one buffer channel 203 communicating with the fluid section 201, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3C, such that the buffer channel 203 and the gas section 202 are arranged separately on opposite sides of the ring body 23, such that the first heat dissipation material 22a can be filled into the buffer channel 203 after being pressed, so as to disperse a pressing force of the first heat dissipation material 22a during the manufacturing process; the peripheral area C can be formed with a frame 23a corresponding to the ring body 23 depends on requirements, such that at least one auxiliary channel 204 extending from the gas section 202 is formed between the ring body 23 and the frame body 23a, as shown in FIG. 3A); and a thermal interface material (22a) within the opening and covering at least a portion of the component (25) second side/(upper surface of device 25) (see Par.[0057]-[0060] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a has a high thermal conductivity, about 25 to 80 Wm.sup.−1K.sup.−1. For example, the first heat dissipation material 22a is made of solid indium (In), liquid metal, or any other metal-containing material that is fluid at room temperature/high temperature, and is pressed onto the heating object 2a by the heat dissipation block 22).
With respect to claim 2, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: lid channel (200) is defined by the first lid (3a).
With respect to claim 3, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the lid channel (200) comprises segments comprising different dimensions (see Fig.4C-1, Par.[0081]-[0082] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a from overflowing into the gas section 202, the height H of the gas section 202 is set to be 10 microns to 1200 microns, preferably 10 microns to 800 microns, and the minimum width D2 of the fluid section 201 (that is, where the fluid section 201 is connected to the end of the gas section 202) needs to be smaller than the minimum height H of the gas section 202; the width D3 of the buffer channel 203 (the flattened channel shown in FIG. 4C-1 or the tapered channel shown in FIG. 4D) or the width of the auxiliary channel 204 (the uniform type shown in FIG. 4C-1) can also be changed according to needs; preferably, the entrance width D3 of the buffer channel 203 is 20 microns to 300 microns).
With respect to claim 4, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the second lid (3b) comprise comprises a protrusion (22) that extends inward from the second lid top (20) into the opening (see Par.[0076]-[0078] wherein the first heat dissipation element 3a includes the supporting leg 21, the ring body 23, and the frame 23a, and the second heat dissipation element 3b includes the heat dissipation body 20 and the heat dissipation block 22, wherein the bonding material 36 is formed between the heat dissipation body 20 and the supporting leg 21, as shown in a ring distribution).
With respect to claim 5, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, further comprising: a dam structure (22b) coupling the first lid top (23) with the component (25) second side/(upper surface of device 25); wherein: the thermal interface material (22a) is inside the dam structure (22b) (see Par.[0088]-[0089] wherein the second heat dissipation material 22b is arranged on the ring body 23 of the first heat dissipation material 3a, and the bonding material 26 is formed on the carrying structure 24 of the heat-generating component 2a).
With respect to claim 6, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the lid channel (200) comprises: a first portion (201, 202) that extends from the opening to a first lateral side of the lid structure; and a second portion/(portion filled with TIM 22a) that extends from the opening to a second lateral side of the lid structure.
With respect to claim 7, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the first lateral side is opposite to the second lateral side.
With respect to claim 8, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the first lateral side is adjacent to the second lateral side.
With respect to claim 9, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the thermal interface material comprises a liquid (see Par.[0057]-[0060] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a has a high thermal conductivity, about 25 to 80 Wm.sup.−1K.sup.−1. For example, the first heat dissipation material 22a is made of solid indium (In), liquid metal, or any other metal-containing material that is fluid at room temperature/high temperature, and is pressed onto the heating object 2a by the heat dissipation block 22); and a portion (201, 202) of the lid channel (200) is devoid of the thermal interface material (22a).
With respect to claim 10, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the thermal interface material (22a) extends into, a least, a portion of the lid channel (200).
With respect to claim 11, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, further comprising: a closing member (36) coupled to the lid structure (3a, 3b) and covering an exposed opening of the lid channel (200) located at a lateral side of the lid structure (see Par.[0090]-[0091] wherein the first heat dissipation element 22a is arranged on the concave-convex surface S of the heat dissipation block 22, and another bonding material 36 is formed on the supporting leg 21 of the first heat dissipation element 3a, wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a can also be arranged on the inactive surface 25b of the electronic component 25 as required).
With respect to claim 12, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (24) comprising: a substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate 24); a substrate (24) second side/(lower surface of substrate 24) opposite to the substrate first side; and a conductive/(TSV) structure; a first electronic component (25) comprising: a component first side/(lower surface of device 25) coupled to the conductive structure/(TSV) at the substrate first side; a component second side/(upper surface of device) opposite to the component first side; and a component lateral side connecting the component first side to the component second side (see Par.[0060] wherein a carrying structure 24 and an electronic component 25 disposed on the carrying structure 24, and the first heat dissipation material 22a is combined on the electronic component 25; for example, the carrying structure 24 is, for example, a package substrate with a core layer and a wiring structure, a package substrate with a coreless wiring structure, and a through silicon interposer (abbreviated as TSI) with a through-silicon via (abbreviated as TSV) or other board type, which includes at least one insulating layer and at least one wiring layer combining the insulating layer, such as at least one fan out type redistribution layer (abbreviated as RDL)); a first lid (3a) coupled to the substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate) and comprising a first lid top (23, 23a) comprising an opening; a second lid (3b) comprising a second lid top (20) coupled to the first lid top (23, 23a); a lid channel (200) in one or more of the first lid (3a) or the second lid (3b) (see Par.[0062]-[0070] wherein the adjustment channel 200 may have a plurality of gas sections 202, as shown in FIG. 3G-2 or FIG. 3H-2, and each of the gas sections 202 is connected to the fluid section 201; furthermore, the active area B can also be formed with at least one buffer channel 203 communicating with the fluid section 201, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3C, such that the buffer channel 203 and the gas section 202 are arranged separately on opposite sides of the ring body 23, such that the first heat dissipation material 22a can be filled into the buffer channel 203 after being pressed, so as to disperse a pressing force of the first heat dissipation material 22a during the manufacturing process; the peripheral area C can be formed with a frame 23a corresponding to the ring body 23 depends on requirements, such that at least one auxiliary channel 204 extending from the gas section 202 is formed between the ring body 23 and the frame body 23a, as shown in FIG. 3A); and a thermal interface material (22a) within the opening (see Par.[0057]-[0060] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a has a high thermal conductivity, about 25 to 80 Wm.sup.−1K.sup.−1. For example, the first heat dissipation material 22a is made of solid indium (In), liquid metal, or any other metal-containing material that is fluid at room temperature/high temperature, and is pressed onto the heating object 2a by the heat dissipation block 22).
With respect to claim 13, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, further comprising: a dam structure (22b) coupled to the first lid top (23, 23a) and the first electronic component (25); wherein: the thermal interface material (22a) comprises a liquid (see Par.[0057]-[0060] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a has a high thermal conductivity, about 25 to 80 Wm.sup.−1K.sup.−1. For example, the first heat dissipation material 22a is made of solid indium (In), liquid metal, or any other metal-containing material that is fluid at room temperature/high temperature, and is pressed onto the heating object 2a by the heat dissipation block 22); the dam structure (22b) laterally confines the thermal interface material (22a) (see Par.[0088]-[0089] wherein the second heat dissipation material 22b is arranged on the ring body 23 of the first heat dissipation material 3a, and the bonding material 26 is formed on the carrying structure 24 of the heat-generating component 2a); and the second lid (3b) comprises a protrusion (22) that is, at least, partially within the opening (see Par.[0076]-[0078] wherein the first heat dissipation element 3a includes the supporting leg 21, the ring body 23, and the frame 23a, and the second heat dissipation element 3b includes the heat dissipation body 20 and the heat dissipation block 22, wherein the bonding material 36 is formed between the heat dissipation body 20 and the supporting leg 21, as shown in a ring distribution).
With respect to claim 14, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the first lid (3a) comprises a first lid side wall (21) coupled to the substrate first side; and the first lid top (23, 23a) is coupled to the first lid side wall (21).
With respect to claim 15, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the thermal interface material (22a) comprises a liquid; and the thermal interface material is adjacent to the component lateral side and the first lid side wall (21).
With respect to claim 16, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, wherein: the first lid (3a) and the second lid (3b) comprise a lid structure; the lid structure comprises a first lateral side and a second lateral side that is different than the first lateral side; and the lid channel comprises: a first portion (202) that extends from the opening to the first lateral side; and a second portion (201) that extends from the opening to the second lateral side (see Par.[0062] wherein the adjustment channel 200 is divided into a fluid section 201 formed by the ring body 23 and the heat dissipation block 22 and at least one gas section 202 formed by the ring body 23 and the heat dissipation body 20).
With respect to claim 17, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the electronic device, further comprising: a closing member (36) covering a lid channel opening of the lid channel.
With respect to claim 18, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, a method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising: providing a substrate (24) comprising: a substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate); a substrate (24) second side/(lower surface of substrate) opposite to the substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate 24); and a conductive structure/(TSV); providing a first electronic component (25) comprising: a component first side/(lower surface of component) coupled to the conductive structure/(TSV) at the substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate); a component (25) second side/(upper surface of component) opposite to the component (25) first side/(lower surface of component); and a component lateral side connecting the component first side to the component second side (see Par.[0060] wherein a carrying structure 24 and an electronic component 25 disposed on the carrying structure 24, and the first heat dissipation material 22a is combined on the electronic component 25; for example, the carrying structure 24 is, for example, a package substrate with a core layer and a wiring structure, a package substrate with a coreless wiring structure, and a through silicon interposer (abbreviated as TSI) with a through-silicon via (abbreviated as TSV) or other board type, which includes at least one insulating layer and at least one wiring layer combining the insulating layer, such as at least one fan out type redistribution layer (abbreviated as RDL)); providing a first lid (3a) coupled to the substrate (24) first side/(upper surface of substrate) and comprising a first lid top (23, 23a) comprising an opening; providing a second lid (3b) comprising a second lid top (20) coupled to the first lid top (23, 23a); providing a lid channel (200) in one or more of the first lid (3a) or the second lid (3b) (see Par.[0062]-[0070] wherein the adjustment channel 200 may have a plurality of gas sections 202, as shown in FIG. 3G-2 or FIG. 3H-2, and each of the gas sections 202 is connected to the fluid section 201; furthermore, the active area B can also be formed with at least one buffer channel 203 communicating with the fluid section 201, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3C, such that the buffer channel 203 and the gas section 202 are arranged separately on opposite sides of the ring body 23, such that the first heat dissipation material 22a can be filled into the buffer channel 203 after being pressed, so as to disperse a pressing force of the first heat dissipation material 22a during the manufacturing process; the peripheral area C can be formed with a frame 23a corresponding to the ring body 23 depends on requirements, such that at least one auxiliary channel 204 extending from the gas section 202 is formed between the ring body 23 and the frame body 23a, as shown in FIG. 3A); and providing a thermal interface material (22a) within the opening (see Par.[0057]-[0060] wherein the first heat dissipation material 22a has a high thermal conductivity, about 25 to 80 Wm.sup.−1K.sup.−1. For example, the first heat dissipation material 22a is made of solid indium (In), liquid metal, or any other metal-containing material that is fluid at room temperature/high temperature, and is pressed onto the heating object 2a by the heat dissipation block 22).
With respect to claim 19, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the method, further comprising: providing a dam structure between the first lid top and the first electronic component; wherein: providing the thermal interface material (22a) comprises providing a liquid thermal interface material; the dam structure (36) laterally confines the thermal interface material (22a); and providing the second lid (3b) comprises locating a protrusion (22) of the second lid (3b), at least, partially within the opening.
With respect to claim 20, Huang discloses, in Figs.2-7C, the method, wherein: providing the lid channel comprises: providing a first channel portion (202) that extends from the opening to a first lateral side of the first lid top; and providing a second channel portion (201) that extends from the opening to a second lateral side of the first lid top, the second lateral side being different from the first lateral side; and the method further comprises: providing a first closing member (36) coupled to the first lateral side and covering a first channel opening of the first channel portion; and providing a second closing member (36) coupled to the second lateral side and covering a second channel opening of the second channel portion.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818