DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement between claims 1-16 and 17-20, as set forth in the Office action mailed on March 25, 2025, is withdrawn because the claims have been amended
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat transfer element in claims 1 and 12;
lift mechanism in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a substrate in lines 2 and 6. It is unclear if these two recitations are different substrates or should the second refer to the first? Clarification is requested. Recitations of “a substrate” are also found in claims 2-3, 6 and 19.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the processing chamber" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. for purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted to refer to the chamber of claim 1.
Claim 12 recites a substrate in lines 2 and 4. It is unclear if these two recitations are different substrates or should the second refer to the first? Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi (US 20090014324).
In regards to claims 1 and 8, Kawaguchi teaches load lock chamber (122) comprising:
a plurality of substrate holders (204/206, stack holders) which supports a substrate, each of the substrate holders comprise a standoff (308, 310) with a curved inner portion (304/306) (fig. 2-3; para. 30, 38-39);
a pedestal (240) is connected to a heat transfer elements (286, 290) to regulate the temperature of the substrate supported on the substrate holders, where a hoop (220) is adjacent to the pedestal, and the hoop supports the plurality of substrate holders (fig. 2-3; para. 30, 38, 40-43).
In regards to claim 2, Kawaguchi teaches a transfer chamber (136) with a transfer robot (130), the transfer robot transfers the substrate from the transfer chamber to the substrate holders of the load lock chamber (fig. 2; para. 23-26)
In regards to claim 3, Kawaguchi teaches a factory interface (102) with a factory interface robot (114),
where the load lock chamber is between the transfer chamber and the factory interface,
the factory interface robot transfers the substrate from the factory interface to the plurality of substrate holders of the load lock chamber (fig. 2; para. 23-26).
In regards to claim 4, Kawaguchi teaches each of the substrate holders have a lip (314, support member), that extends laterally from the curved inner portion (fig. 2-3; para. 39).
In regards to claim 6, Kawaguchi teaches a heater module (270) and the plurality of substrate holders is between the heater module and the pedestal the hoop, and each of the substrate holders have a lip (314, holder) to support the substrate (fig. 2-4; para. 30, 39).
In regards to claim 7, Kawaguchi teaches a vent passage (230) and a pump passage (232, exhaust passage) and capable of the function of forming an laminar flow (fig. 2; para. 30-31).
In regards to claim 10, Kawaguchi teaches
a hoop (220, support) connected to a shaft (282) that extends through a bottom of the load lock chamber, the plurality of substrate holders is connected to the hoop; and
a lift mechanism is connected to the shaft, the lift mechanism is positioned exterior of the load lock chamber, the lift mechanism controls the elevation of the plurality of substrate holders (fig. 2-3; para. 36).
In regards to claims 12 and 14, Kawaguchi teaches a load lock chamber (122) comprising:
a plurality of substrate holders (204/206, stack holders) which supports a substrate, each of the substrate holders comprise a plurality of standoffs (308, 310) on opposing side, each standoff has a curved inner portion (304/306) (fig. 2-3; para. 30, 38-39);
a pedestal (240) is connected to a heat transfer elements (286/290) to regulate the temperature of the substrate supported on a lip (314, holder) of the substrate holders, the pedestal is connected to a bottom of the load lock chamber and the heat transfer elements (286/290 provide supply and return tubing which allow for circulation of a fluid from a fluid source (294) (fig. 2-4; para. 30, 38, 40-43).
In regards to claim 16, Kawaguchi teaches the fluid from the fluid source is used to cool the substrate (fig. 2; para. 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Madsen (US 2016/0358808).
In regards to claim 9, Kawaguchi as discussed, but does not explicitly teach the plurality of stacked holders are each configured to support a carrier that supports the respective substrate, and the carrier is made of a ceramic material.
However, Madsen teaches carrier ring (201) made of a ceramic material, that is used to support a wafer. Madsen teaches the use of the carrier ring to contact the indexer prevents non-uniformities from developing (fig. 2; para. 42-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the carrier ring to support the wafer of Madsen onto the apparatus of Kawaguchi because Madsen teaches it will aid in prevent non-uniformities.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Ha (US 2019/0035671).
In regards to claim 11, Kawaguchi as discussed, but does not explicitly teach the heat transfer element is sealed into the pedestal using a circular metallic over plate.
However, Ha teaches a supporting unit (200) comprising a dielectric plate (211), an insulating plate (215), and a grounding plate (216). Ha teaches the insulating plate comprises aa plurality of cooling flow passages (211b) to provide rapid cooling of the substrate. Ha teaches the ground plate electrically insulates (characteristic of metal) the insulating plate from the chamber body (110) (fig. 2; para. 46, 54-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the insulating plate and grounding plate of Ha onto the pedestal of Kawaguchi because Ha teaches it will provide rapid cooling after heating (para. 55).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 14 and 16 above.
In regards to claims 13 and 15, Kawaguchi as discussed to teach the pedestal is centrally positioned within the chamber, but does not explicitly teach a distance between an upper surface of the pedestal and a lower surface of a carrier supported by one of the holders is about 0.75 inches and the standoff and the second standoff are separated by a pitch of about 1 inch.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to size the distance between an upper surface of the pedestal and a lower surface of a carrier supported by one of the holders is about 0.75 inches along with the standoff and the second standoff are separated by a pitch of about 1 inch, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP-2144.05-II-A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 17-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,755,955. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than, and thus inclusive of, the limitations of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,755,955.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717