DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 20170287753 to Musselman et al. (Mussel)
With respect to claim 1, Mussel discloses a reflectometry system to monitor one or more conditions associated with an electrostatic chuck (ESC) in a process chamber, the reflectometry system comprising:
(FIG. 1 and corresponding description, i.e., ¶¶ 30-35 processing chamber 100, electrostatic chuck 122, 6 processing chamber may include reflectometer; 22, 46, 53, 61)
a light source configured to emit a beam of light directed at the ESC and collection optics1 configured to receive light reflected from the ESC by the beam of light directed at the ESC and output a signal related to the one or more conditions associated with the ESC; and
(¶¶ 6 SR, LSR . . . CCD or photodiode senses the signal reflected from the surface of the substrate, characteristics of the reflected signal are indicative of various characteristics of the substrate; 22 direct an SR signal downward at the substrate; FIG. 5A-D and corresponding description)
a processor configured to process the output signal and compare the output signal with an expected signal; and
(i.e., signal compared with maximum signal intensity or signal intensity within desired range, ¶¶ 23; 24 optimal signal refers to an SR signal having desired characteristics as predetermined or calibrated according to user specifications, substrate specifications, process specifications, chamber specifications, etc. For example, SR signal amplitudes relative to wavelength may have a known relationship (e.g., as determined via modeling, experimentation, etc.); 57-60; 63)
based on the determination that the output signal does not match the expected signal, the processor further to provide an indication of the one or more conditions of the ESC.
(¶ 53 “controller 216 may determine (and indicate to a user via an LED, graphical interface, etc.) when the SR requires realignment. The controller 216 can perform the
measurement of the alignment of the SR via the above methods periodically, when prompted by a user, etc.; 60 correlates signal intensities to positions of the SR 316 . . . optimal SR signal intensity . . . controller 216 may provide feedback (e.g., via a graphical interface, LEDs, etc.) to a user indicating which direction to rotate the thumbscrews (or other adjustment mechanisms) until the SR 316 is in a position corresponding to the optimal SR signal intensity)
With respect to claim 2, Mussel discloses the indication is at least one of an alarm and an annunciator2.
(¶¶ 53, 60 graphical interface for the user)
With respect to claim 3, Mussel discloses the annunciator is a display on a graphical user-interface (GUI) of the reflectometry system.
(¶¶ 53, 60 graphical interface for the user)
With respect to claim 4, Mussel discloses the one or more conditions includes bolts holding the ESC to a remainder of the process chamber have loosened.
(¶¶ 58, 59-60 correspond to deviations of respective first and second thumbscrews from
their original positions (i.e., corresponding to position of the SR 316 and the original signal intensity) . . . correlates signal intensities to positions of the SR 316 . . . optimal SR signal intensity . . . controller 216 may provide feedback (e.g., via a graphical interface, LEDs, etc.) to a user indicating which direction to rotate the thumbscrews (or other adjustment mechanisms) until the SR 316 is in a position corresponding to the optimal SR signal intensity); 29 thumbscrews, other alignment mechanisms)
With respect to claim 6, Mussel discloses the one or more conditions includes an indication that maintenance3 of the ESC is needed.
(¶¶ 58, 59-60 correspond to deviations of respective first and second thumbscrews from
their original positions (i.e., corresponding to position of the SR 316 and the original signal intensity) . . . correlates signal intensities to positions of the SR 316 . . . optimal SR signal intensity . . . controller 216 may provide feedback (e.g., via a graphical interface, LEDs, etc.) to a user indicating which direction to rotate the thumbscrews (or other adjustment mechanisms) until the SR 316 is in a position corresponding to the optimal SR signal intensity); 29 thumbscrews, other alignment mechanisms)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170287753 to Musselman et al. (Mussel) in view of US 6813032 to HUNTER (Hunter)
With respect to claim 5, Mussel fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the one or more conditions includes a microroughness level of an uppermost surface of the ESC has changed from an expected value of microroughness4.
Hunter, from the same field of endeavor, discloses monitoring the uppermost surface of a substrate of a processing chamber for indications of one or more conditions including an microroughness or smoothness had deviated from an expected value
(col. 2, ll. 1-32 inspecting substrate of the processing chamber, examining a substrate for selected characteristics which include particles, processing flaws, orientation, center finding, reflectivity, substrate type, discontinuity; col. 3, ll. 2-7 integrated system capable of rapidly inspecting semiconductor substrates and determining one or more conditions of the substrate in order to detect anomalies and facilitate a subsequent substrate handling decision; col. 3, ll. 29-63 optical inspection to monitor substrate surface topography . . . signal illuminates a substrate, receives reflections, to detect surface topographical effects; col. 32, ll. 52-67 monitoring substrate surface using values compared against expected values; col. 6, ll. 35-67 optical detected to detect light reflected from substrate surface; col. 12 – col. 13, l. 47; col. 18, ll. 44-64; col. 20, l. 25 – col. 21, l. 35; col. 21, ll. 26-42; col. 27, ll. 1-30)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to monitor the substrate surface of Mussel for microroughness, as taught by Hunter, in order to improve the speed, reliability and costs of substrate monitoring (Hunter, col. 2-3), warn users of defects (Hunter, col. 7), providing highly detailed inspection without reducing through time (Hunter, section VII including col. 21).
Conclusion
/KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1 No limiting definition provided but can include an optical detector (Spec. ¶ 38)
2 No limiting definition provided for “annunciator” but can include a GUI (Spec. ¶ 75).
3 No limiting definition of “maintenance” provided but the specification states it includes issues that may need to be performed relative to the ESC and bolt position (¶ 75).
4 No limiting definition provided by can include an indication of how smooth something is (Spec. ¶ 75)