Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 05/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 and 11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the prepreg" in lines 4, 8, 10, 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the prepreg" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KAMOSHITA et al. (JP 2004063991).
Regarding claim 1, KAMOSHITA et al. (JP 2004063991) discloses a method for
manufacturing a substrate material for a semiconductor package, comprising:
increasing a temperature of a laminated body comprising a metal foil, one or more prepregs, and a metal foil, the metal foils and the prepreg being laminated in this order, to a hot- press temperature while pressurizing the laminated body [0021]; and
heating the laminated body to a temperature higher than or equal to the hot-press temperature while pressurizing the laminated body to form a substrate material comprising an insulating substrate including the prepreg, and the metal foil provided on both surfaces of the insulating substrate [0021], in this order,
wherein the prepreg contains an inorganic fiber base material, and a thermosetting resin composition impregnated in the inorganic fiber base material, and a content of the thermosetting resin composition is 40 to 80% by mass on the basis of a mass of the prepreg [0012], and
in increasing the temperature of the laminated body to the hot-press temperature while pressurizing the laminated body, the laminated body is heated in a heating condition in which the lowest melt viscosity of the prepreg is 5000 Pa-s or less [0005], claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, KAMOSHITA et al. discloses the minimum melting viscosity is 3,000 Pas – 7,000 pas (abstract, claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) KAWAKITA et al. (US 2006/0064871) discloses a method of manufacturing circuit board.
b) JORDAN et al. (US 2014/0167333) discloses radiation curable resin systems for composite materials and methods for use thereof.
c) HOZUMI et al. (JP 2013209626) discloses prepreg and prepreg manufacturing method.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742