DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant argues the specification describes other fixation means beyond those listed by the examiner, specifically, “adhesive or otherwise”. The examiner agrees that adhesive should be included as a fixation element and now lists adhesive in the claim interpretation section.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tepic have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the implant of Tepic fundamentally differs from the present meniscus prosthesis because Tepic requires surgical removal of the tibial condyle surface and replacement with the resurfacing implant, in contrast to the present application which provides a meniscus prosthesis designed to be placed on the preserved tibial plateau in the position normally occupied by the meniscus without requiring osteotomy of the tibia. This is not persuasive because the arguments are directed to an intended use of the prosthesis. The claims are not directed to a method of implanting a prosthesis and instead are directed to a prosthesis itself. The limitation “for implantation in a joint between a tibia and a femur of a mammal so that a dorsal surface faces a distal end of the femur and a ventral surface faces a tibial plateau at a proximal end of the tibia” is directed to an intended use of the prosthesis and the prosthesis of Tepic is capable of being implanted as intended by the claim. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, since the structure of the prosthesis of Tepic is the same as the structure of claimed the prosthesis, the prosthesis of Tepic is capable of performing the intended use and meets the claim.
Applicant further argues that Tepic’s implant structure differs significantly from the claimed prosthesis because the prominent concave recess 20 is not “at the caudal edge” since there is a large portion of the implant (at numerals 19, 26) which separate the recess from the caudal edge of the prosthesis body. This is not persuasive because the dorsal surface of the prosthesis of Tepic includes the entire top surface, including at 19 and 26 (as shown in fig.4), not just the recess 20. The rejection relies on the raised caudalmost portion of the prosthesis of Tepic, located behind the recess 20 (near the 19, 26 reference numerals in fig.4) as the “rim at the caudal edge of the prosthesis body, wherein the rim is shaped to fit around and extend beyond at least part of an edge of the distal end of the femur”. See annotated fig.6a below.
Applicant argues the claimed prosthesis provides stabilization through an inclined dorsal surface with a rim structure that extends beyond the femur edge, whereas Tepic provides articulation through a concave recess that receives the femur. This is not persuasive because Tepic also inherently provides stabilization through the inclined caudal rim that extends beyond the femur edge as clearly shown in at least fig.6a (shown above). Applicant argues the structure and shape of the claimed prosthesis can accommodate shape variations of the femur condyle which is in contrast to Tepic in which the concave recess has a standard shape in which the femur condyle has to be accommodated while being able to move and rotate which may give problems when there is no perfect fit. This argument is not based on any structure actually claimed. The claims do mention any structure that can accommodate shape variations of the femur condyle. Further, Tepic specifically teaches that the recess 20 matches the curvature of the femoral condyle in par.28 so applicant’s arguments regarding problems related to perfect fit are incorrect.
Applicant argues the claimed prosthesis achieves stabilization through a specific rim structure that provides a counter pressure to the distal end of the femur to protect the distal end of the femur from displacement in the caudal direction. Applicant argues this counter pressure mechanism using a rim that extends beyond the femur edge is not disclosed in Tepic. This is not persuasive because at least fig.6a of Tepic shows a caudal rim structure extending around the distal end of the femur which inherently provides a counter pressure to protect the distal end of the femur from displacement in the caudal direction.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one fixation element for fixing the prosthesis body to a bone” in claim 1. The generic placeholder is “at least one fixation element” which is described in the specification as a through hole in the prosthesis body and may further comprise a screw, pin, cord, or nail to fit through the through hole, or an adhesive. Note that claims 7 and 8 recite sufficient structure and are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tepic et al. US 2022/0175540 (hereafter referred to as Tepic).
Regarding claim 1, Tepic discloses a prosthesis 100 capable of implantation in a joint between a tibia 1 and a femur 5, 6 of a mammal so that a dorsal surface faces a distal end of the femur and a ventral surface faces a tibial plateau at a proximal end of the tibia (fig.6a; the limitation “for implantation in a joint between a tibia and a femur of a mammal so that a dorsal surface faces a distal end of the femur and a ventral surface faces a tibial plateau at a proximal end of the tibia” is directed to an intended use of the prosthesis and the prosthesis of Tepic is capable of being placed in a joint as claimed), the prosthesis comprising a prosthesis body 100 with the dorsal surface 19 and the ventral surface 18 (fig.4); and at least one fixation element 25, 26, 27, and 28 for fixing the prosthesis body to a bone adjacent to the ventral surface (figs. 4-5), wherein the dorsal surface is inclined in a dorsal direction towards a caudal edge of the prosthesis body (figs. 4, 6a, and 6b show the caudal/right side of the prosthesis inclined upwardly), to stabilize the joint (par.13 discloses stabilizing the stifle in a human or non-human animal subject), wherein the dorsal surface comprises a rim at the caudal edge of the prosthesis body, wherein the rim is shaped to fit around and extend beyond at least part of an edge of the distal end of the femur, to provide a counter pressure to the distal end of the femur to protect the distal end of the femur from displacement in caudal direction (figs. 4, 6a, and 6b show the right/rear/caudal rim/edge of the prosthesis body being capable of fitting around and extending beyond at least part of an edge of the distal end of the femur which inherently provides some counter pressure to the distal end of the femur to protect the distal end of the femur from displacement in caudal direction).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, see fig.4 which shows the dorsal surface 19, including 20, inclined as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, see fig.4 for a minimal thickness at the center which increases outwardly.
Regarding claim 5, see par.9 for medial resurfacing a stifle/knee joint in humans or dogs.
Regarding claim 6, see figs.4-6 for through hole 25 being located at a cranial/anterior end of the prosthesis body.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the fixation elements comprise through holes 25 and 26 and screws 27 and 28 as shown in figs. 4-6 and as discussed in par.30.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, no particular shape is required by the claims and the shape depends on an unclaimed surface of the tibia or meniscus. Accordingly, the ventral/bottom surface 18 is capable of matching a flat surface of a tibial plateau or meniscus. Note that “match” is interpreted to mean similar to and not exactly the same.
Regarding claim 11, see par.1 for the prosthesis of Tepic being capable of performing the intended use claimed.
Regarding claim 12, see figs. 4, 6a, and 6b for the thickness at the caudal edge being at least ¼ of the length of the prosthesis in the cranial-caudal direction.
Regarding claim 13, the prosthesis of Tepic is capable of being used to treat osteoarthritis since it resurfaces a surface of the joint.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fell US 2005/0033424 discloses a knee prosthesis comprising a raised posterior rim and fixation elements wherein the prosthesis is placed on a tibial plateau (fig. 10). Fitz et al. US 2009/0226068 discloses a knee prosthesis comprising a raised posterior rim and fixation elements, wherein the lower surface of the prosthesis matches the tibial plateau (figs. 2A-2G).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN Y WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774