DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-14 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/16/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both inventions require the claimed c1/c ratio and that Yoshino (WO2019156146) fails to teach this ratio. This is not found persuasive because the ratio of c1/c is broadly recited as 0.6 or more, which includes a ratio of 1. Yoshino teaches that dimethylpolysiloxane (which has the claimed properties of c1) is the only c component present (p. 4, e.g.) and, thus, anticipates a c1/c ratio of 1 wherein dimethylpolysiloxane is the only component in c (e.g., if the mass of c is 10g and c1 accounts for all 10g of that total, c1/c or 10g/10g would equal 1).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshino (WO2019156146, machine translation).
Claims 1 and 2: Yoshino teaches a method for forming a coating film on skin by electrostatically spraying a composition (Abst.), the composition comprising the following components: (a) a film formable polymer (Abst.; top of p. 3); (b) an alcohol (i.e. claimed volatile substance) (Abst.; middle of p. 3); and (c) a plasticizer, such as dimethylpolysiloxane (Abst.; top through middle third of p. 4). Dimethylpolysiloxane is an oil having a surface tension at 25˚C of 25 mN/m or less and is liquid at 25˚C (see, e.g., applicant’s specification at Table 2 which indicates that dimethylpolysiloxane has the properties of required for c1).
With respect to the claimed c1/c ratio, Yoshino teaches that dimethylpolysiloxane is the only component in c, which would yield a c1/c ratio of 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino in light of Alexander et al. (US 5,996,855).
Claim 3: Yoshino fails to discuss the spray rate in a volume per time context. Alexander teaches an electrostatic spray process and explains that the discharge rate is determined by the amount of material needed per unit time to coat the substrate to its desired thickness (Abst.; 1:50-62). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a spray rate of 0.12-2 mL/min depending on the desired coating thickness with the predictable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712