`DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed February 21, 2024 are acknowledged. Claims 1-20 were cancelled, and claims 21-39 were introduced. Claims 21-39 are pending and under consideration hereinafter.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon prior foreign applications is acknowledged. The certified copies of Application Nos. GB2015997.6 and GB2019325.6 have been received. However, Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows:
The disclosure of the prior-filed foreign application, GB2015997.6, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, GB2015997.6 fails to disclose treating a neurological disease, prion disease, Alzheimer’s disease, Huntington’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease, as recited in instant claims 37-38. The first disclosure of treating a neurological disease, prion disease, Alzheimer’s disease, Huntington’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease, as recited in instant claims 37-38 is in GB2019325.6. Accordingly, the effective filing date of claims 37-38 is December 8, 2020. The remaining claims find support in GB2015997.6. The effective filing date of claims 21-36, and 39 is October 8, 2020.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
The view numbers for the partial views for FIG. 8 are followed by “(Continued)" instead of a capital letter such as FIG. 1A, FIG. 1B, etc. 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable code. See pgs. 6 and 17. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 25-26 recite sequences reverse complementary to “0 to 50,” “0 to 40,” “0 to 80,” “0 to 70,” and “0 to 4 nucleotides” of various regions of the OPA1 mRNA sequence. It is not clear how the values, and particularly, the “0” values, in claims 25-26 are intended to further limit the target binding sequence structure. It is not clear whether the values in the ranges refer to the number of contiguous nucleotides to which the sequence must be reverse complementary, e.g., such that the “0” values encompass sequences which are not reverse complementary to the 5’ UTR, and values greater than “0” are encompass sequences which are reverse complementary to 1, 2, 3, etc., contiguous nucleotides of the 5’ UTR. Alternatively, it is not clear whether the values are intended to refer to positions in the various regions of the OPA1 mRNA sequence, e.g., such that the claim encompasses a sequence reverse complementary to positions “0 to 50” of the 5’ UTR. In this latter case, it is also not clear what position “0” would refer to. Taken together, it is not clear how the ranges should be interpreted, and therefore, it is not clear how claims 25-26 further limit the structure of the functional nucleic acid molecule.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted as referring the number of contiguous nucleotides, and to ranges which begin with “1,” rather than “0,” e.g., “a sequence reverse complementary to [1] to 50 nucleotides of the 5’ untranslated region (5’ UTR)….”
Claims 25-26 also recite the phrase “the region upstream of an AUG site (start codon).” It is unclear if the parenthetical “(start codon)” is a limitation on the claims. Start codons are not limited to the AUG site, and the AUG site may be present as a codon other than the start codon.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted as encompassing an AUG site or start codon.
Notice to Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Carninci in view of Sarzi and GenBank
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carninci (Carninci et al., US 9,353,370 B2, published 31 May 2016) in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468) and GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019).
Claim 21 is interpreted as a nucleic acid molecule with the function of “enhancing the translation of a target mRNA of interest” (pg. 5). The nucleic acid molecule comprises at least one sequence which is reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence, with the function of “target binding,” and at least one sequence comprising an RNA comprising a SINE B2 element, or a functionally active fragment thereof, which is interpreted as “a portion of a SINE B2 element which retains protein translation enhancing efficiency” (pg. 6, see also specific fragment examples and means of identifying SINE B2 elements, pgs. 6 and 9), with a “regulatory” function of “protein translation enhancing efficiency” (pg. 8).
It is also noted that autosomal dominant optic atrophy (ADOA) and dominant optic atrophy (DOA) are interchangeable terms in the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, Carninci teaches a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising at least one target binding sequence comprising a sequence reverse complementary to a target mRNA sequence (“target determinant sequence comprising an antisense sequence to a target sequence in the protein-encoding RNA for which protein synthesis efficiency is to be increased,” col. 6, lines 56-65; col. 8 line 1 to col. 9 line 5); and at least one regulatory sequence comprising an RNA comprising a SINE B2 element or a functionally active fragment of a SINE B2 element (“a regulatory sequence having an activity of increasing the protein synthesis efficiency,” col. 6, lines 56-65; “the regulatory sequence may comprise a SINE-derived sequence… for example SINE-B2…,” “the SINE B2-derived sequence indicates a sequence entirely or partially identical with or similar to the consensus sequence of a SINE B2,” “The regulatory sequence may be… an RNA, which is encoded by a DNA consisting of the nucleotide sequence shown in SEQ ID No: 1…,” col. 9, line 6 to col. 10, line 53).
Carninci further teaches how to design a target binding sequence to a target mRNA sequence, in which the target binding sequence “can hybridize to the target sequence in the protein-encoding RNA” (col. 8, line 1 to col. 9, line 5) and provides example sequences that “are complementary to protein coding mRNAs” (col. 24, line 56 to col. 26). Carninci provides further guidance with respect to the target binding sequence for a length from 7 to 250 nucleotides, but most preferably more than 15 and less than 30 nucleotides (col. 8, lines 14-22), and a target region including the 5’-UTR, coding region, or both the 5’ UTR and coding region (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5). Regarding the target mRNA, Carninci teaches the invention “is not especially limited in regard to its sequence, origin, and the like” with respect to the target mRNA, and “may be endogenous RNA of biological origin (for example, mRNA)” (col. 7, lines 10-67). Carninci teaches their invention may be used “for treatment of a disease caused by a quantitative decrease in a predetermined normal protein” (col. 14, line 6 to col.15, line 39). Carninci also specifically points to treating diseases caused by haploinsufficiency (col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 19).
Carninci does not teach an OPA1 mRNA target sequence, or, therefore, a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising a target binding sequence which is reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence.
However, Sarzi teaches that insufficient gene expression of OPA1 in the retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) of the eye is the leading cause of ADOA (“Dominant optic atrophy (DOA) is one of the most frequent forms of [disease characterized by progressive degeneration of the retinal ganglion cells (RGC)], and is mainly related to dominant OPA1 mutations. Importantly, in the majority of DOA cases, haplo-insufficiency of the OPA1 protein represents the princeps mechanism responsible for the disease support that gene supplementation should be beneficial,” pg. 1). Sarzi demonstrates that methods which increase the levels of OPA1, thereby remedying the haplo-insufficiency “responsible for the disease,” treat ADOA in a mammalian model (“Our results show that CMV-induced OPA1 expression prevents RGC loss in Opa1+/- treated mice,” pg. 1; “injection of the construction…. Prevents RGC progressive degeneration, which is the hallmark of the disease,” pg. 2; Fig. 2-3). Indeed, Sarzi teaches that their results establish that “OPA1 expression in retinal ganglion cells can be an effective solution to treat dominant optic atrophy” (pg. 3).
GenBank teaches the transcribed OPA1 sequence, including the 5’ UTR and coding region.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed a functional nucleic acid molecule of Carninci with an OPA1 mRNA specific target binding sequence, such that the resulting molecule comprised a sequence comprising an RNA comprising a SINE B2 element and a sequence reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence in view of Sarzi and GenBank. It would have amounted to designing a known functional nucleic acid molecule with a target binding sequence reverse complementary to a known target mRNA sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. The disclosure of Carninci provides design principles for the target binding sequence of the functional nucleic acid molecule, which could have readily been applied by the skilled artisan to the OPA1 mRNA sequence taught by GenBank. It also would have been predictable to the skilled artisan that the resulting functional nucleic acid molecule would work to increase OPA1 levels, because Carninci provides evidence that a sequence reverse complementary to a target mRNA paired with a SINE B2 regulatory sequence increases protein synthesis efficiency. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to design a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising a sequence reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence because Carninci teaches their invention is for treatment of diseases caused by reduced expression of a protein and haploinsufficiency, and Sarzi teaches that upregulating OPA1 levels is an established strategy for treating ADOA, a disease characterized by reduced expression and haploinsufficiency of OPA1.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, as shown in the attached alignment in Appendix I, Carninci teaches a regulatory sequence corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 1, which comprises a sequence 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (“The regulatory sequence may be… an RNA, which is encoded by a DNA consisting of the nucleotide sequence shown in SEQ ID No: 1…,” col. 9, line 6 to col. 10, line 53).
Regarding claim 24, Carninci teaches target binding sequences comprising a sequence reverse complementary to a 5’ UTR (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5). “[A]ll OPA1 isoforms” would necessarily have a 5’ UTR, i.e., a region transcribed from the common OPA1 gene, which is not translated.
Regarding claims 25-26, as stated above, Carninci provides guidance with respect to the target binding sequence, for example, for a length from 7 to 250 nucleotides, but most preferably more than 15 and less than 30 nucleotides (col. 8, lines 14-22), and a target binding sequence reverse complementary to “both the 5’ UTR and a part of the other functional part of the sequence, like the coding sequence” (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5).
Carninci does not explicitly recite or teach a target binding sequence which meets the ranges or positional relationships recited in instant claims 25-26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed a target binding site which meets the limitations recited in claims 25-26 in view of Carninci. It would have amounted to applying known design principles to a known target mRNA sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. Using the known OPA1 mRNA sequence taught by GenBank, the skilled artisan would have been able to use the teachings of Carninci with respect to the target binding sequence length, and target regions in the target mRNA to design a functional nucleic acid as described in claims 25-26. It would have been predictable because the design features of target binding sites and principles of reverse complementary binding were well known as evidenced by at least Carninci.
Regarding claim 27, Carninci teaches “a linker sequence … for connecting the target determinant sequence and the regulatory sequence” (col. 10, line 67 to col. 11, line 3).
Regarding claim 28, Carninci teaches the invention may be “an RNA vector comprising … functional RNA molecules,” which may be a RNA plasmid, which is circular (col. 11, line 44 to col. 12, line 3).
Regarding claim 29, Carninci teaches “[a] DNA molecule according to the present invention encod[ing] any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules according to the present invention” (col. 11, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 30, Carninci teaches an expression vector comprising the functional nucleic acid (col. 11, line 40 to col. 12, line 6).
Regarding claim 31, Carninci teaches a composition comprising the functional nucleic acid molecule (col. 11, lines 40-57).
Regarding claim 32, Carninci teaches “[a] method for increasing the protein synthesis efficiency … compris[ing] the step of allowing any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules or the aforementioned expression vector” and “the method may comprise the step of transfecting (or transducing) into a cell any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules” (col. 4, lines 41-58).
Regarding claim 33, the term “naked RNA,” is interpreted herein as encompassing any RNA form, e.g., RNA with chemical modifications, RNA which is comprised in a transfection reagent (“transfected as naked RNA carrying modified ribonucleotides,” specification, pg 28). Carninci teaches administering the functional nucleic acid molecule as “naked RNA” (“any one of the aforementioned functional RNA molecules of the present invention… a composition for increasing protein synthesis efficiency according to the present invention comprises any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules,” Carninci, col. 11, lines 40-51).
Regarding claim 34, Carninci teaches administration to cells which are haploinsufficient (col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 19).
Regarding claims 35-36, and 38-39, Carninci teaches “[a] method for treating a disease according to the present invention, wherein the disease is caused by a quantitative decrease in a predetermined normal protein or haploinsufficiency, compris[ing] the step of increasing the protein synthesis efficiency in a subject by any one of the aforementioned protein synthesis efficiency-increasing methods” (col. 4, line 41 to col. 5, line 19).
Carninci does not teach a method of treating ADOA with a functional nucleic acid molecule.
The teachings of Sarzi with respect to OPA1 and ADOA are described above. Sarzi’s method of treating ADOA uses retinal administration (“intravitreal,” pg. 1-2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a therapeutically effective amount of the functional nucleic acid rendered obvious above to the retina of a subject having ADOA, to increase the levels of OPA1 and thereby, treat ADOA. It would have amounted to applying an obvious functional nucleic acid to a disease specifically suited for the use of the functional nucleic acid, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that such a method would treat a subject with ADOA, because Carninci teaches their method may be used for diseases caused by low expression of a protein and haploinsufficiency, and because Sarzi teaches that ADOA is caused by low expression levels of OPA1 and haploinsufficiency, for which raising OPA1 levels is therapeutic. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the functional nucleic acid rendered obvious above to the retina of a subject with ADOA based on the relevance of Carninci’s method for increasing OPA1 levels, which was known to be therapeutic in ADOA subjects as evidenced by Sarzi.
Regarding claim 37, Sarzi teaches that ADOA affects the retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) and optic nerve (pg. 1). Therefore, ADOA meets the scope of the term neurological disease as it would be understood by the skilled artisan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Gustincich in view of Carninci, Sarzi, and GenBank
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustincich (Gustincich et al., WO 2019/150346 A1, published 8 August 2019) in view of Carninci (Carninci et al., US 9,353,370 B2, published 31 May 2016), Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468), and GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019).
Regarding claims 21-23, Gustincich teaches a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising a target binding sequence comprising a sequence reverse complementary to a target mRNA sequence (“a target binding sequence comprising a sequence reverse complementary to a target mRNA sequence for which protein translation is to be enhanced,” pg. 48); and a regulatory sequence comprising an RNA comprising a SINE B2 element or a functionally active fragment of a SINE B2 element (“a regulatory sequence comprising a sequence having at least 90% identity with a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:7…,” pg. 48). As shown in the alignment in Appendix II, SEQ ID NO: 7 comprises a sequence 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Thus, Gustincich’s regulatory sequence meets the limitations of instant claims 21-23.
Gustincich teaches the functional nucleic acid molecule is for the purpose of enhancing protein translation (“for which protein translation is to be enhanced,” pg. 48). However, Gustincich does not teach design principles for modifying the target binding sequence to target an OPA1 mRNA, or methods of using the functional nucleic acid molecules to increase OPA1 mRNA in cells, or treat a disease associated with reduced OPA1 expression.
However, Carninci teaches how to design target binding sequences in functional nucleic acid molecules to a target mRNA sequence, in which the target binding sequence “can hybridize to the target sequence in the protein-encoding RNA” (col. 8, line 1 to col. 9, line 5) and provides example sequences that “are complementary to protein coding mRNAs” (col. 24, line 56 to col. 26). Carninci provides further guidance with respect to the target binding sequence for a length from 7 to 250 nucleotides, but most preferably more than 15 and less than 30 nucleotides (col. 8, lines 14-22), and a target region including the 5’-UTR, coding region and both the 5’ UTR and coding region (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5). Regarding the target mRNA, Carninci teaches a target binding sequence “is not especially limited in regard to its sequence, origin, and the like” with respect to the target mRNA, and “may be endogenous RNA of biological origin (for example, mRNA)” (col. 7, lines 10-67). Carninci teaches that a functional nucleic acid molecule may be used “for treatment of a disease caused by a quantitative decrease in a predetermined normal protein” (col. 14, line 6 to col.15, line 39). Carninci also specifically points to treating diseases caused by haploinsufficiency (col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 19).
Neither Carninci nor Gustincich teach an OPA1 mRNA target sequence, or, therefore, a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising a target binding sequence which is reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence.
However, Sarzi teaches that insufficient gene expression of OPA1 in the retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) of the eye is the leading cause of ADOA (“Dominant optic atrophy (DOA) is one of the most frequent forms of [disease characterized by progressive degeneration of the retinal ganglion cells (RGC)], and is mainly related to dominant OPA1 mutations. Importantly, in the majority of DOA cases, haplo-insufficiency of the OPA1 protein represents the princeps mechanism responsible for the disease support that gene supplementation should be beneficial,” pg. 1). Sarzi demonstrates that methods which increase the levels of OPA1, thereby remedying the haplo-insufficiency “responsible for the disease,” treat ADOA in a mammalian model (“Our results show that CMV-induced OPA1 expression prevents RGC loss in Opa1+/- treated mice,” pg. 1; “injection of the construction…. Prevents RGC progressive degeneration, which is the hallmark of the disease,” pg. 2; Fig. 2-3). Indeed, Sarzi teaches that their results establish that “OPA1 expression in retinal ganglion cells can be an effective solution to treat dominant optic atrophy” (pg. 3).
GenBank teaches the transcribed OPA1 sequence, including the 5’ UTR and coding region.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the functional nucleic acid molecule of Gustincich with an OPA1 mRNA specific target binding sequence, and used the molecule in methods of using the functional nucleic acid molecule in view of Carninci, Sarzi, and GenBank. It would have amounted to designing a known functional nucleic acid molecule with a target binding sequence reverse complementary to a known target mRNA sequence, and using the functional nucleic acid molecule in known methods of using such functional nucleic acid molecules, by known means to yield predictable results. The disclosure of Carninci provides design principles for the target binding sequence of Gustincich’s functional nucleic acid molecule, which could have readily been applied by the skilled artisan to the OPA1 mRNA sequence taught by GenBank. It also would have been predictable to the skilled artisan that the resulting functional nucleic acid molecule would work to increase OPA1 levels in cells, because Gustincich and Carninci provide evidence that a sequence reverse complementary to a target mRNA paired with a SINE B2 regulatory sequence increases protein synthesis efficiency. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to design a functional nucleic acid molecule comprising a sequence reverse complementary to an OPA1 mRNA sequence because Carninci teaches that functional nucleic acids such as Gustincich’s are used for treatment of diseases caused by reduced expression of a protein and haploinsufficiency, and Sarzi teaches that upregulating OPA1 levels is an established strategy for treating ADOA, a disease characterized by reduced expression and haploinsufficiency of OPA1.
Regarding claim 24, Carninci teaches target binding sequences comprising a sequence reverse complementary to a 5’ UTR (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5). “[A]ll OPA1 isoforms” would necessarily have a 5’ UTR, i.e., a region transcribed from the common OPA1 gene, which is not translated.
Regarding claims 25-26, as stated above, Carninci provides guidance with respect to the target binding sequence, for example, for a length from 7 to 250 nucleotides, but most preferably more than 15 and less than 30 nucleotides (col. 8, lines 14-22), and a target binding sequence reverse complementary to “both the 5’ UTR and a part of the other functional part of the sequence, like the coding sequence” (col. 8, line 53 to col. 9, line 5).
Carninci does not explicitly recite or teach a target binding sequence which meets the ranges or positional relationships recited in instant claims 25-26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed a target binding site in Gustincich’s functional nucleic acid molecule which meets the limitations recited in claims 25-26 in view of Carninci. It would have amounted to applying known design principles to a known target mRNA sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. Using the known OPA1 mRNA sequence taught by GenBank, the skilled artisan would have been able to use the teachings of Carninci with respect to the target binding sequence length, and target regions in the target mRNA to design a functional nucleic acid as described in claims 25-26. It would be predictable because the design features of target binding sites and principles of reverse complementary binding were well known as evidenced by at least Carninci.
Regarding claim 27, Gustincich teaches “a linker sequence” (pg. 11, line 17-18).
Regarding claim 28, Gustincich teaches the functional nucleic acid molecule is circular (pg. 16, lines 22-23).
Regarding claims 29-30, Gustincich teaches an expression vector, including a DNA molecule, encoding the functional nucleic acid (pg. 16, lines 27-32).
Regarding claim 31, Gustincich teaches a composition comprising the functional nucleic acid molecule (pg. 16, lines 27-32).
Regarding claim 32, Carninci teaches “[a] method for increasing the protein synthesis efficiency … compris[ing] the step of allowing any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules or the aforementioned expression vector” and “the method may comprise the step of transfecting (or transducing) into a cell any one of the aforementioned functional nucleic acid molecules” (col. 4, lines 41-58). The obviousness of using the functional nucleic acid molecule rendered obvious above in methods of use taught by Carninci is described above and applied hereinafter.
Regarding claim 33, Gustincich administering the functional nucleic acid molecule as “naked RNA” (pg. 16, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 34, Carninci teaches administration to cells which are haploinsufficient (col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 19). The obviousness of using the functional nucleic acid molecule rendered obvious above in methods of use taught by Carninci is described above and applied hereinafter.
Regarding claims 35-36, and 38-39, Carninci teaches “[a] method for treating a disease according to the present invention, wherein the disease is caused by a quantitative decrease in a predetermined normal protein or haploinsufficiency, compris[ing] the step of increasing the protein synthesis efficiency in a subject by any one of the aforementioned protein synthesis efficiency-increasing methods” (col. 4, line 41 to col. 5, line 19). The obviousness of using the functional nucleic acid molecule rendered obvious above in methods of use taught by Carninci is described above and applied hereinafter.
However, Carninci does not teach a method of treating ADOA with a functional nucleic acid molecule.
The teachings of Sarzi with respect to OPA1 and ADOA are described above. Sarzi’s method of treating ADOA uses retinal administration (“intravitreal,” pg. 1-2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a therapeutically effective amount of the functional nucleic acid rendered obvious over Gustincich, Carninci, Sarzi, and GenBank to the retina of a subject having ADOA, to increase the levels of OPA1 and thereby treat ADOA. It would have amounted to applying an obvious functional nucleic acid to a disease specifically suited for the use of the functional nucleic acid, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that such a method would treat a subject with ADOA, because Carninci teaches that methods which administer functional nucleic acid molecules may be use for diseases caused by low expression of a protein and haploinsufficiency, and because Sarzi teaches that ADOA is caused by low expression levels of OPA1 and haploinsufficiency, for which raising OPA1 levels is therapeutic. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the functional nucleic acid rendered obvious above to the retina of a subject with ADOA based on the relevance of Gustincich’s functional nucleic acid molecule for increasing OPA1 levels, which was known to be therapeutic in ADOA subjects as evidenced by Sarzi.
Regarding claim 37, Sarzi teaches that ADOA affects the retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) and optic nerve (pg. 1). Therefore, ADOA meets the scope of the term neurological disease as it would be understood by the skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Patent No. 9,353,370 B2
Claims 21-23, and 32-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,370 B2 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468) and GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019).
Patented claim 3 recites a functional nucleic acid molecule which meets the limitations of instant claims 21-23, with the exception that the target binding sequence is generic, rather than specific for OPA1 mRNA.
The teachings of Sarzi and GenBank are described above and applied hereinafter. Patented claim 3 renders obvious instant claims 21-23 in view of Sarzi and GenBank for the reasons described in paragraph 18 above.
Patented claims 12-18 render obvious instant claims 32-39 in view of Sarzi and GenBank for the reasons described in paragraphs 27 and 30 above.
Claims 24-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,370 B2 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468), GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019), and Carninci (Carninci et al., US 9,353,370 B2, published 31 May 2016).
Patented claims 3-18 meet the limitations of instant claims 24-31 with the exception of the features specific to lengths and positional relationships of instant claims 25-26, the linker sequence of claim 27, and the explicit recitation of a “circular” molecule.
The teachings of Carninci are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the patented functional nucleic acid molecule as taught by Carninci. It would have amounted to applying known design features of functional nucleic acid molecules to patented functional nucleic acid molecules by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to design the patented functional nucleic acid molecules as taught by Carninci because Carninci’s and the patented functional nucleic acid molecules are substantially identical, and therefore, the design features of Carninci would be applicable thereto.
Patent No. 12,134,768 B2
Claims 21-23, 28, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,768 B2 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468) and GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019).
Patented claim 1 recites a functional nucleic acid molecule which meets the limitations of instant claims 21-23, with the exception that the target binding sequence is generic, rather than specific for OPA1 mRNA.
The teachings of Sarzi and GenBank are described above and applied hereinafter. Patented claim 1 renders obvious instant claims 21-23 in view of Sarzi and GenBank for the reasons described in paragraph 18 above.
Patented claims 6-7 meet the limitations of instant claims 28 and 31.
Claims 24-27, 29-30, and 32-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,768 B2 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468), GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019), and Carninci (Carninci et al., US 9,353,370 B2, published 31 May 2016).
The patented claims do not meet the limitations of the functional nucleic acid molecules, DNA molecule, or expression vector recited in claims 24-27, and 29-30.
The teachings of Carninci are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the patented functional nucleic acid molecules, DNA molecules, and expression vectors encoding the molecule as taught by Carninci. It would have amounted to applying known design features of functional nucleic acid molecules, DNA molecules and expression vectors to patented functional nucleic acid molecules by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to design the patented functional nucleic acid molecules, DNA molecules and expression vectors as taught by Carninci because Carninci’s and the patented functional nucleic acid molecules are substantially identical, and therefore, the design features of Carninci would be applicable thereto.
The patented claims are not directed to methods of using the functional nucleic acid molecule as recited in claims 32-39.
The teachings of Carninci, Sarzi, and GenBank are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the functional nucleic acid molecule rendered obvious above in methods as in instant claims 32-39. It would have amounted to using an obvious functional nucleic acid molecules in known methods of using such functional nucleic acid molecules, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the obvious functional nucleic acid molecules as recited in instant claims 32-39 because Carninci teaches that functional nucleic acid molecules are used for methods of increasing protein synthesis, and for methods of treating diseases associated with decreased protein synthesis/haploinsufficiency, such as ADOA taught by Sarzi.
Application No. 18/245,902
Claim 21 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of co-pending Application No. 18/245,902 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468) and GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Co-pending claim 19 recites a functional nucleic acid molecule which meets the limitations of instant claim 21, with the exception that the target binding sequence is generic, rather than specific for OPA1 mRNA.
The teachings of Sarzi and GenBank are described above and applied hereinafter. Co-pending claim 19 renders obvious instant claim 21 in view of Sarzi and GenBank for the reasons described in paragraph 18 above.
Claims 22-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of co-pending Application No. 18/245,902 in view of Sarzi (Sarzi et al., 6 February 2018, Scientific Reports, (2018) 8:2468), GenBank (Homo sapiens OPA1 mitochondrial dynamin like GTPase (OPA1), transcript variant 8, mRNA, NCBI Reference Sequence: NM_130837.2, available 30 April 2019), and Carninci (Carninci et al., US 9,353,370 B2, published 31 May 2016). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The co-pending claim does not meet the limitations of the functional nucleic acid molecules, DNA molecule, expression vector, or compositions recited in claims 22-31.
The teachings of Carninci are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the co-pending functional nucleic acid molecule as taught by Carninci. It would have amounted to applying known design features of functional nucleic acid molecules to a co-pending functional nucleic acid molecule by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to design the co-pending functional nucleic acid molecule as taught by Carninci because Carninci’s and the co-pending functional nucleic acid molecule are substantially identical, and therefore, the design features of Carninci would be applicable thereto.
The co-pending claim is not directed to methods of using the functional nucleic acid molecule as recited in claims 32-39.
The teachings of Carninci, Sarzi, and GenBank are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the functional nucleic acid molecule rendered obvious above in methods of instant claims 32-39. It would have amounted to using an obvious functional nucleic acid molecules in known methods of using such functional nucleic acid molecules, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the obvious functional nucleic acid molecules as recited in instant claims 32-39 because Carninci teaches that functional nucleic acid molecules are used for methods of increasing protein synthesis, and for methods of treating diseases associated with decreased protein synthesis/haploinsufficiency, such as ADOA as taught by Sarzi.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JENNA L PERSONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600