DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 28, applicant argues that the prior art Rotzoll does not disclose the a system where one line connects pixels while the other connects microdevices as required by the claim because both the row-select and column-data lines interfere pixel controller rather than connecting individually to the microdevices themselves. The mcirodevices are driven by the pixel controller based on the stored values and timing signals rather than being directly addressed or controlled by separate lines.
However Fig 1 of Rotzoll discloses a pixel (20; Fig 1) and Lines 60 are connected between each pixel through pixel controller (40) and lines 62 are connected to microdevices through pixel controller (40). The lines 60/62 are still electrically connected to the microdevices and pixels even through pixel controller but connected. The claim only requires one common lines connects microdevices and one common line connects pixels. It does not limit the claims to these lines being individually connected as argued in the remarks. Therefore Rotzoll discloses the claimed limitation.
For above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-27 are canceled. Therefore Claims 16-27 should be also included in the amendment with the right claim status i.e. Claims 16-27 (Canceled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “pads formed on top of openings coupling microdevices and the common electrode” is unclear to the examiner because the pads formed on top of openings should be pads formed on top of openings and the second openings because pads are formed at both openings and claimed limitation regarding pads formed on top of openings is not clear.
Note: The dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28, 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rotzoll et al (US 2018/0197471; hereinafter Rotzoll).
Regarding claim 28, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses an optoelectronic system, the system comprising:
more than one pixel (20; Fig 1; ¶ [0070]);
each pixel having multiple microdevices (22; Fig 1; ¶ [0070]); and wherein first common lines (62; Fig 1; ¶ [0080]) connect microdevices (22; Fig 1; ¶ [0070]) and second common lines (60; Fig 1; ¶ [0080]) connect pixels (20; Fig 1; ¶ [0070]).
Regarding claim 32, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses the first common lines (62; Fig 1; ¶ [0080]) are columns (Fig 1) and the second common lines (60; Fig 1; ¶ [0080]) are rows (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 33, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses the first common lines and second column lines are select lines (Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 34, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses firstly a first column is activated and microdevices in the first column are driven followed by a second column being activated and microdevices in the second column are driven. (Figs 1-5)
Regarding claim 35, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses firstly a first row is activated and microdevices in the first row are driven followed by a second row being activated and microdevices in the second row are driven. (Figs 1-5)
Regarding claim 36, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses firstly a first column is activated and pixels in the first column are driven followed by a second column being activated and pixels in the second column are driven. (Figs 1-5)
Regarding claim 37, Figs 1-3 of Rotzoll discloses firstly a first row is activated and pixels in the first row are driven followed by a second row being activated and pixels in the second row are driven. (Figs 1-5)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817