DETAILED ACTION
Election Acknowledged
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 08/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1-16 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 17-21 are withdrawn from examination.
In the claims filed 03/27/2023, claims 1-21 are currently amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
One (1) information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was submitted on 03/27/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,444,009 (B1) to Liu et al. (“Liu”) in view of US 5,294,242 (A) to Zurecki et al. (“Zurecki”) and further in view of US 4,080,126 (A) to Clark et al. (“Clark”).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Liu teaches a method of manufacturing powders. Abstract; col. 1, lines 10-15; col. 4, lines 58-60. The method includes the following steps:
(a) heating wire (material) by electric arc to form a metal melt (melting material by means of electric arc) (col. 7, lines 44-62);
(b) atomizing the metal melt into liquid droplets (spraying the material molten so as to form droplets) (col. 7, lines 60-67);
(c) carrying the stream of liquid droplets downward by a carrier gas that sends the droplets to a second-stage atomizer chamber for cooling the liquid droplets and forming solid powders (cooling the droplets by a carrier gas so as to form solid particles) (col. 7, lines 62-67; col. 8, lines 36-51);
(d) exposing the droplets to a reactive gas in the atomizing fluid during cooling (enriching the droplets and/or the particles by an active substance implemented during the cooling step) (col. 12, lines 10-22; claim 20); and
(e) utilizing a powder collector, separator, and filter system for receiving and collecting the powders (separating solid particles from carrier gas and collecting the solid particles so as to form the powder) (col. 10, lines 53-67; col. 11, lines 1-30; FIG. 4c).
The metal melt can be metal alloy or mixture (at least first and second materials). Col. 6, lines 26-30, 62-63; col. 13, lines 27-34.
An inert gas (e.g., argon, helium) can be supplied for speed reduction (inert gas functioning as a gas buffer). FIG. 1a – reference characters 18a, 18b. This inert gas resides in the second-stage atomizing chamber in which cooling takes place. FIG. 1a.
Liu does not teach an exhaust means connected to the atomization chamber.
Zurecki is directed to forming metal powder by atomizing molten metal melted by electric arc. Abstract; col. 4, lines 5-19; col. 5, lines 24-45. A line (111) (exhaust means) is positioned at the top of the atomizing vessel (100). Col. 6, lines 2-6; FIG. 1. Vaporized cryogen, inert gas from the arc spray gun, entrained particles, and entrained liquid cryogen flow through line (111) into vessel (200). Col. 6, lines 21-24; FIG. 1. Powders are also recovered at line (107) by opening valve (109). Col. 6, lines 12-20; FIG. 1. The powders recovered from vessels (100, 200) typically may have different particle size distributions and may be utilized as separate products. Col. 6, lines 57-60.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have appended an exhaust line or exhaust means, as taught in Zurecki, to the atomizing chamber of Liu because it would provide additional egress for particles and gas and additionally permit the manufacturing process to immediately sort particles by size/distribution, which would expedite the particle sorting or sieving process.
Zurecki does not specifically identify the creation of a gas buffer by the exhaust line.
Clark is directed to an apparatus and method for water atomizing molten metal. Abstract. The apparatus is depicted as having an inert gas entrance (21) and inert gas exit (22) (exhaust means). Sole figure. The entrance and exit are located near the top of the atomization vessel, and the entrance and exhaust valves are generally selected to provide for constant pressure within the apparatus. Col. 4, lines 57-65.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the entrance and exit valves of the apparatus of Liu, as modified by Zurecki, in order to provide further control of the pressure within the atomization apparatus. In doing so, Liu’s buffer gas is managed (said exhaust means creates said gas buffer) to effectively carry out the atomization and cooling processes within the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches that the atomizing medium includes an inert gas (at least one neutral gas) and a reactive gas (at least one active compound). Col. 12, lines 10-22. The reactive gas may include hydrogen, oxygen, carbon, and/or nitrogen. Col. 12, lines 11-14. The proportion of the reactive gas relative to the inert gas required in the atomizing fluid medium will vary slightly depending on the metal alloy composition to be atomized. Col. 12, lines 19-22. An atomic ratio of 1/1000 to 1/10 is sufficient to react with the reactive alloying element to form a protective film. Col. 12, lines 22-29; claim 4.
Regarding claim 3, Liu shows that exposure to the reactive gas occurs during atomizing and in the second atomizing chamber while the droplets are cooling (enriching implemented during spraying and cooling). Col. 5, lines 9-22; col. 6, lines 19-30; FIG. 1a.
Regarding claim 5, Liu shows that an inert gas is supplied for cooling (cooling gas) and resides in the second-stage atomizing chamber that contains a carrier gas. Col. 7, lines 62-67; col. 12, lines 10-19; col. 14, lines 43-47; FIG. 1a.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,147,448 (A) to Roberts et al. (“Roberts”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu does not teach a step of ionizing the reactive gas (active substance).
Roberts is directed to a method for producing a fine metal powder from molten droplets via electric arc melting and atomization. Abstract; col. 2, lines 26-51. In an embodiment, the atomization is reactive for introducing a strengthening agent into the metal alloy. Col. 3, lines 60-64; col. 4, lines 45-51. The reactive component may be ionized in an arc plume to achieve a high energy state, which increases the component reactivity and may provide additional element injection into the molten metal (enrichment step where the active substance is ionized). Col. 5, lines 63-68; col. 6, lines 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have ionized the reactive gas of Liu prior to exposing it to the molten droplets (enrichment preceded by step of ionizing active substance) because ionized form of the reactive gas would enhance its ability to react with the metal melt, thereby increasing reaction time, decreasing process time, and reducing waste due to increased reactivity of the available reactive gas.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claims 5 and 1 above, respectively, and further in view of US 2003/0178104 (A1) to Sekine (“Sekine”).
Regarding claim 6, Liu shows that an inert gas is supplied for cooling (cooling gas) (col. 7, lines 62-67; col. 12, lines 10-19; col. 14, lines 43-47; FIG. 1a), but is silent as to its injection temperature.
Sekine is directed to processes for producing metal or metal alloy powders from molten metal by impinging the molten metal on a rotating disk. Abstract; para. [0001], [0023]. To cool the particles, the temperature of the atmosphere gas supplied can be at room temperature. Para. [0043]. Cooling-reaction gas supplied has a preferred temperature of 10oC to 30oC. Para. [0043]. By ensuring that the temperature inside the chamber is less than 100oC, the dispersed metal droplets can be rapidly cooled. Para. [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have supplied the cooling gas of Liu at a temperature less than 100oC, such 10-30oC or specifically room temperature, in order to expedite the cooling step.
Regarding claim 7, Liu is silent regarding the temperature of the inert gas that acts as a gas buffer.
Sekine is directed to processes for producing metal or metal alloy powders from molten metal by impinging the molten metal on a rotating disk. Abstract; para. [0001], [0023]. To cool the particles, the temperature of the atmosphere gas supplied can be at room temperature. Para. [0043]. Cooling-reaction gas supplied has a preferred temperature of 10oC to 30oC. Para. [0043]. By ensuring that the temperature inside the chamber is less than 100oC, the dispersed metal droplets can be rapidly cooled. Para. [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have supplied the buffer gas of Liu at a temperature less than 100oC, such 10-30oC or specifically room temperature, in order to aid the cooling step and ensure quick cooling.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 6,007,183 (A) to Horine (“Horine”).
Regarding claim 9, Liu is silent regarding the speed of the gas buffer.
Horine is drawn to a method of manufacturing metal structures in which minute drops of liquid metal are emitted through an inert gas. Abstract. It is desirable to keep the flow rate of the gas as low as possible to avoid disturbing the trajectory of the emitted droplet. Col. 4, lines 53-57. Flow rates of approximately 0.5 m/sec or less should be sufficient to provide a continuous flow of inert gas without disturbing the trajectory of the mitted droplet. Col. 4, lines 57-60.
Liu shows that the inert gas that reduces the speed of the particles (gas buffer) is injected by a nozzle angled upward while the droplets fall downward. FIG. 1a – reference characters 16, 18a, 18b. Because the droplets must fall into conduit (20) to be sent to the cyclone separator (FIG. 1a), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary art to have ensured that the gas buffer of Liu is injected at a speed of about 0.5 m/s or less in order to avoid disrupting the flow path of the droplets toward the cyclone for collection.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claim 1 above, alone, or further in view of US 2008/0271568 (A1) to Dunkley (“Dunkley”).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches that steps are carried out in sequential steps (method performed in sequences, i.e., in an order). Claims 1 and 19.
Alternatively regarding claim 10, Liu does not teach performing the method in sequences (method performed in sequences, i.e., in batches).
Dunkley is drawn to a method for gas atomization of metal melts. Abstract. The method includes steps of re-circulating and re-introducing gas. Para. [0014]. Hot gas exiting from a cyclone having been cooled to a temperature, for example of 50oC to 200oC, is then re-introduced into the atomizing vessel along a gas re-introduction conduit downstream of the fan and any heat exchanger. Para. [0033]. The conduit conducts cooled and re-circulated gas back to the atomizing zone. Para. [0033].
Re-circulation and re-introduction of gas allows significant reductions in gas consumption and major savings in operating costs. Dunkley at para. [0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have subjected the gases in Liu to a recycling treatment because it would reduce material waste and result in increased savings. Time is required to cool the gas buffer to an appropriate temperature for re-circulation; thus, an atomization process would have to be carried out in sequence dependent on the length of time necessary to cool the gases to an appropriate temperature during the recycling operation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2013/0040067 (A1) to Kennedy et al. (“Kennedy”).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches that the method is carried out by various apparatuses (method steps are implements by a manufacturing device). FIGS. 1a, 2a, 2b, 3, 4a, 4b, and 4c. Liu does not teach a step of inerting the manufacturing device as claimed.
Kennedy is directed to processes, systems, and apparatuses for forming products from atomized metals and alloys. Abstract. To prepare the apparatus, the chamber may be evacuated to provide a partial or complete vacuum and may be completely or partially filled with an inert gas (inerting the manufacturing device by a neutral gas for purging the manufacturing device). Para. [0103]. This step permits the user to regulate the atmosphere in the chamber before melting takes place (melting step being triggered subsequently to the inerting step). Para. [0100]-[0105]. Evacuation also allows the user to limit oxidation of the materials being processed and/or to inhibit other undesired chemical reactions. Para. [0103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have purged the atomizing apparatus of Liu prior to commencing the atomization process because it allows the user to exercise greater control over the composition of the atmosphere and chemical reactions that take place inside the chamber.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zurecki and Clark, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 104325147 (A) to Xu et al. (“Xu”) (abstract and computer-generated translation are attached).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a collection step (col. 10, lines 53-67; col. 11, lines 1-30; FIG. 4c), but does not teach a passivating step that follows.
Xu is related to an in-situ passivation method for preparing spherical brazing powder through atomization. Abstract. After the powders have been atomized, they are collected in a tank and then subject to passivation. Para. [0010], [0011], [0025]-[0027]. This method of in-situ passivation method addresses the problem of poor oxidation resistance of powders. Para. [0007], [0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the passivation step of Xu after the powder collection step of Liu because the in-situ passivation step of Xu improves the oxidation resistance of powders, ensuring the powders remain stable.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Xu teaches that the particles must be cooled and solidified before being passivated. Para. [0010], [0011]. The passivation step requires maintaining a temperature of 25-120oC. Para. [0016], [0027]. This implies that passivation takes place (is triggered) once the powder has reached a threshold temperature because the atomized powders must achieve a temperature low enough to be cooled and solidified (requiring a set waiting time) in order to be later subjected to the passivation temperature of 25-120oC.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Xu teaches that any time value can be selected to achieve the desired passivation dependent on the temperature chosen (passivation controlled as a function of temperature of the powder and the duration is set). Para. [0027].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/246,784 in view of Zurecki and Clark.
Claim 6 of the copending application recites steps and limitations that match the steps and limitations of instant claim 1 except the step of an exhaust means being connected to the atomization chamber so as to create said gas buffer.
Zurecki is directed to forming metal powder by atomizing molten metal melted by electric arc. Abstract; col. 4, lines 5-19; col. 5, lines 24-45. A line (111) (exhaust means) is positioned at the top of the atomizing vessel (100). Col. 6, lines 2-6; FIG. 1. Vaporized cryogen, inert gas from the arc spray gun, entrained particles, and entrained liquid cryogen flow through line (111) into vessel (200). Col. 6, lines 21-24; FIG. 1. Powders are also recovered at line (107) by opening valve (109). Col. 6, lines 12-20; FIG. 1. The powders recovered from vessels (100, 200) typically may have different particle size distributions and may be utilized as separate products. Col. 6, lines 57-60.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have appended an exhaust line or exhaust means because it would provide additional egress for particles and gas and additionally permit the manufacturing process to immediately sort particles by size/distribution, which would expedite the particle sorting or sieving process.
Zurecki does not specifically identify the creation of a gas buffer by the exhaust line.
Clark is directed to an apparatus and method for water atomizing molten metal. Abstract. The apparatus is depicted as having an inert gas entrance (21) and inert gas exit (22) (exhaust means). Sole figure. The entrance and exit are located near the top of the atomization vessel, and the entrance and exhaust valves are generally selected to provide for constant pressure within the apparatus. Col. 4, lines 57-65.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the entrance and exit valves of the apparatus in order to provide further control of the pressure within the atomization apparatus. In doing so, the buffer gas is managed (said exhaust means creates said gas buffer) to effectively carry out the atomization and cooling processes within the chamber.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/246,784 in view of Liu, Zurecki, and Clark.
Claims 1-16 of the copending application recites steps and limitations that match the steps and limitations of instant claims 1-16 except the step of the creation of a gas buffer by an exhaust means being connected to the atomization chamber.
Liu is directed to a method of manufacturing powders by atomization. Abstract; col. 1, lines 10-15; col. 4, lines 58-60. An inert gas (e.g., argon, helium) can be supplied for speed reduction (inert gas functioning as a gas buffer). FIG. 1a – reference characters 18a, 18b. This inert gas resides in the second-stage atomizing chamber in which cooling takes place. FIG. 1a.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a gas buffer to the cooling step in order to adjust the speed of the solidifying and falling particles, thereby ensuring the particles are not landing at a high rate of speed that they become deformed and/or stick to one another.
Zurecki is directed to forming metal powder by atomizing molten metal melted by electric arc. Abstract; col. 4, lines 5-19; col. 5, lines 24-45. A line (111) (exhaust means) is positioned at the top of the atomizing vessel (100). Col. 6, lines 2-6; FIG. 1. Vaporized cryogen, inert gas from the arc spray gun, entrained particles, and entrained liquid cryogen flow through line (111) into vessel (200). Col. 6, lines 21-24; FIG. 1. Powders are also recovered at line (107) by opening valve (109). Col. 6, lines 12-20; FIG. 1. The powders recovered from vessels (100, 200) typically may have different particle size distributions and may be utilized as separate products. Col. 6, lines 57-60.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have appended an exhaust line or exhaust means because it would provide additional egress for particles and gas and additionally permit the manufacturing process to immediately sort particles by size/distribution, which would expedite the particle sorting or sieving process.
Zurecki does not specifically identify the creation of a gas buffer by the exhaust line.
Clark is directed to an apparatus and method for water atomizing molten metal. Abstract. The apparatus is depicted as having an inert gas entrance (21) and inert gas exit (22) (exhaust means). Sole figure. The entrance and exit are located near the top of the atomization vessel, and the entrance and exhaust valves are generally selected to provide for constant pressure within the apparatus. Col. 4, lines 57-65.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the entrance and exit valves of the apparatus in order to provide further control of the pressure within the atomization apparatus. In doing so, the buffer gas is managed (said exhaust means creates said gas buffer) to effectively carry out the atomization and cooling processes within the chamber.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0394267 (A1) (equivalent WO 2020/046121 (A2)) to Verouden et al. discloses an assembly and method of producing metal powder. Title; abstract. FIGS. 7B and 7C show that smaller solidified droplets, which are suspended in turbulent gas, are removed from the atomizing vessel at an upper outlet of the vessel and directed to a cyclone or air classified. Para. [0145], [0146], [0153], [0154].
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
September 18, 2025