Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-5,7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kormelink(WO 2013/072888) in view of Seib(WO 9854973).
Regarding claims 1,3,8, Kormelink teaches a dried granular extruded product that comprises at least 10wt% resistant starch and 30-45wt% non-resistant rice starch on a dry basis(p.9, last paragraph; example; p.11, 4th paragraph, claim 1). Kormelink describes the composition as a “rice-like grain”(p.5, line 6). Kormelink teaches that the granular composition contain protein inherently present in the cereal and dietary fiber(p.9, line 1-3). Protein inherently contains amino acids.
Kormelink teaches that the non-resistant starch can be in the form of high amylose starch(p.13, 1st paragraph), which is known in the art to contain at least 25wt% amylose content.
Kormelink is silent on the calorie content of the granular composition and the resistant starch. However, Seib teaches resistant starch compositions that contain zero calories(p.2, line 31-p.3, line 3). The resistant starch is preferably in the form of distarch phosphates of high amylose starches(abstract). Note these are the same starches that applicant classifies as having zero calories in the instant spec. It would have been obvious to use resistant starches in the form of distarch phosphates of high amylose starches in Kormelink as taught in Seib since they contribute 0 kcals to the composition.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kormelink teaches a dried granular extruded product that comprises at least 10wt% resistant starch and 30-45wt% non-resistant starch on a dry basis(p.9, last paragraph; example; p.11, 4th paragraph, claim 1). Seib renders obvious using 0kcal/g resistant starch. The applicant states in the arguments that rice starch has a calorie content of 168kcal/100g. Therefore, assuming 30% non-resistant starch and 70% resistant starch, the composition would have 50kcal per 100g, which is less than 135kcal per 100g
Regarding claim 7, Kormelink teaches a dried granular extruded product that comprises at least 10wt% resistant starch and 30-45wt% non-resistant rice starch on a dry basis(p.9, last paragraph; example; p.11, 4th paragraph, claim 1). Seib renders obvious using 0kcal/g resistant starch. Therefore, assuming 30% non-resistant starch and 70% resistant starch, the composition would have a calorie content of 50kcal per 100g. The applicant states in the arguments that non-resistant rice starch has a calorie content of 168kcal/100g. Therefore, the final product would have a calorie content of 30% of cooked rice prepared without the resistant starch.
Regarding claim 9, Kormelink teaches that the non-resistant starch can be in the form of cereal flour, such as wheat flour, which contains gluten(p.7, 4th full paragraph, p. 12, 3rd full paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Kormelink teaches 3.5wt%-42wt% resistant starch and not 50 to 80% by weight as claimed.
However, Kormelink teaches a broader range of at least 10% resistant starch(see claim 1) and is not limited to 3.5wt%-42wt% resistant starch as alleged by the applicant. Kormelink further teaches the benefits of resistant starch dietary fiber(p.1) and also teaches that(p.7)
“The maximum amount of the resistant starch dietary fibre in the products is determined by the feasibility of the handling and processing of the raw ingredients blend containing the dietary fiber, and by the appearance, taste and texture of the final extruded product and the cooked final extruded product.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of resistant starch depending on factors as listed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791