DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 08/11/2025 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 05/09/2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results as follows.
2. In response to the last Office Action, claims 1,19 and 34 are amended. New claims 40-42 are added. Claim 3, 6-18, 20, 22 are canceled. As a result, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 19 and 23-42 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection(s).
Applicant’s argument with respect to claims, 1, 19 and 34, stated as “Patil does not disclose or suggest a search query that includes a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration”.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner wants to point out that the Patil reference discloses an action manager receives queries to retrieve information about state maintenance parameters, and the action manager may update state information and notify an AMF set of a timer expiry (See Patil, para. [0041]). The Patil reference also discloses providing context information based on state parameters in response to the received query (See para. [0041], claim 3). Therefore, the Patil reference discloses a request comprising a search query comprising a reference to the metadata schema. Guo and Patil do not explicitly disclose the metadata schema include a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration. The Examiner has incorporated a newly cited reference Lee to teach this feature. Hence, it is the combination of the cited references discloses the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 19, 23, 24, 27, 28, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Guo (US 2023/0388871 A1) and in view of Patil (US 2020/0187290 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 2015/0098400 A1).
Referring to claims 1, 19 and 34, Guo discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing computer code (See para. [0803]-para. [0805] and Figure 56, one or more processors and one or more memory/storage devices) of an unstructured data storage function (UDSF) (See para. [0791]) of a core network of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network (See para. [0082], 3GPP TS 33.210) which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus at least to perform:
storing a record comprising an information element comprising at least one or more tags and a reference to a metadata schema defining requirements for the one or more tags (See para. [0540] and Table 8.1-1, storing fields to be present in a message, the definition of each is specified in table 8.1-1); wherein the one or more tags comprise a tag indicating use of a timer (See para. [0725] and Table 8.418-3 and Table 8.419-1, one or more tags indicating a TimeAlignmentTimer, e.g., enumerated in ms 500, ms 750, ms 1280, ms 1920, infinity);
receiving, from a network function, a request for records […]; and transmitting, to the network function, one or more records (See para. [00391], the system transmits suitable information and data).
Guo does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a network function, a request for records for which the timer has expired.
Patil discloses receiving, from a network function, a request for records (See para. [0041], the action manager receives queries to retrieve information about state maintenance parameters) for which the timer has expired (See para. [0041], the action manager may update state information and notify AMF set of a timer expiry); wherein the request comprises a search query comprising the reference to the metadata schema (See para. [0041] and claim 3, receives a context query context information based on state parameters) and transmitting, to the network function, based on search query, one or more records associated with the reference to the metadata schema for which the timer has expired (See para. [0041] and claim 3, the action may respond to queries from AMF set to provide state information when a timer expiry, for example, the action manager receives a query with a vendor identifier and compares the vendor identifier with access control parameters before responding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the data storage network of Guo to include a data storage function comprises a timer, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the UDSF to support context-related characteristics (See Patil, para. [0015]). In addition, both of the references (Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with data networks. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Guo in view of Patil does not explicitly disclose metadata schema including a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration.
However, Lee discloses metadata schema including a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration (See para. [0119] and Figure 14, the UE is configured with cell(s) that are included in a Tag, when a TAC {an adjusted timing value} is received, the US starts a TAT {a time alignment timer} for the TAG is expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the metadata schema of Guo to include a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the wireless communication system with valid uplink timing (See Lee, para. [0119]). In addition, all of the references (Lee, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with wireless communication networks. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claims 2 and 31, Guo discloses the tag indicating use of the timer comprises a timer name and a corresponding value for timer (See para. [0725] and Table 8.418-3 and Table 8.419-1, one or more tags indicating a TimeAlignmentTimer, e.g., enumerated in ms 500, ms 750, ms 1280, ms 1920, infinity).
As to claims 4 and 32, Guo discloses the metadata schema comprises an indication of whether a presence of each of the one or more tags is optional or mandatory (See para. [0540] and Table 8.1-1, storing fields to be present in a message, the definition of each is specified in table 8.1-1).
As to claims 5 and 33, Guo discloses wherein the metadata schema comprises an indication of a default tag value when the presence of the one or more tags is optional (See para. [0540] and Table 8.1-1, storing fields to be present in a message, the definition of each is specified in table 8.1-1).
As to claims 23, 27 and 35, Guo in view of Patil discloses wherein the one or more tags further comprise a tag indicating use of a timer callback, and wherein the information element further comprises a uniform resource identifier indicating a destination for a notification to be transmitted upon expiry of the timer, wherein the computer code, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: upon the expiry of the timer, transmitting the notification of the expiry to the destination indicated by the URI (See Patil, para. [0025] and para. [0048] and Figure 2A, the state maintenance parameters may include vendor-specific formatting and/or fields. The state maintenance parameters may include, for example, settings for an array of timers to be run on the context, an array of applicable context states, and/or access controls on the context. Settings for each timer may include, for example, a timer ID, a timer value, a grace period, a callback address, actions to be taken upon time expiry, and/or actions to be taken upon grace period expiry. The applicable context states may include, for example, a state identity and a state value for each state. The access controls may include read permission parameters, update/delete permission parameters, and/or context lock permissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the data storage network of Guo to include a data storage function comprises a callback timer, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the UDSF to support context-related characteristics (See Patil, para. [0015]). In addition, all of the references (Lee, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with data networks. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claims 24, 28 and 36, Guo discloses one or more tags further comprise a tag indicating use of a unique key and wherein the record further comprises a value for the unique key (See para. [0589]-para. [0591], each tag has tag-ID value) and where the receiving request comprising receiving a request and that comprise the value of the tag, wherein the transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record and that comprise the value the unique key (See para. [0591], for each tag-Id value included in tag-ToAddModList that is not part of the current UE configuration (TAG addition), the UE 5402 adds the TAG, corresponding to the tag-Id, in accordance with the received timeAlignmentTimer; and for each tag-Id value included in tag-ToAddModList that is part of the current UE configuration (TAG modification), the UE 5402 reconfigures the TAG, corresponding to the tag-Id, in accordance with the received timeAlignmentTimer).
Guo does not explicitly disclose transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record for which the timer has expired and that comprise the value of the unique key.
Patil transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record for which the timer has expired and that comprise the value of the unique identifier (See para. [0072], para. [0075], para. [0082] and para. [0083] and Figure 8, performing an action/or notification based on the requested state maintenance parameters in response to a UDSF network function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the data storage network of Guo to include a data storage function comprises a timer, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the UDSF to support context-related characteristics (See Patil, para. [0015]). In addition, both of the references (Lee, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with data networks. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claims 40-42, Guo does not explicitly the metadata schema defines attributes for one or more tags.
Lee discloses the metadata schema defines attributes for one or more tags (See para. [0124] and Figure 15, cell#1 and cell#2 are assigned to a Tag#1 and cell$3 is assigned to a Tag#2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the metadata schema of Guo to include a tag name corresponding to a timer and a comparison operator indicating expiration, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the wireless communication system with valid uplink timing (See Lee, para. [0119]). In addition, all of the references (Lee, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with wireless communication networks. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Claims 25, 29, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Guo et al. (US 2023/0388871 A1) and in view of Patil (US 2020/0187290 A1) and Lee (US 2015/0098400 A1) and further in view of Hamada (CN 101399711 B).
As to claims 25, 29 and 37, Guo discloses one or more tags further comprise a tag indicating use of a […] key pretaining to a record set and wherein the record further comprises a value for the key pretaining to the record set (See para. [0589]-para. [0591], each tag has tag-ID value) and where the receiving request comprising receiving a request and that comprise the value of the key, wherein the transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record and that comprise the value the key (See para. [0591], for each tag-Id value included in tag-ToAddModList that is not part of the current UE configuration (TAG addition), the UE 5402 adds the TAG, corresponding to the tag-Id, in accordance with the received timeAlignmentTimer; and for each tag-Id value included in tag-ToAddModList that is part of the current UE configuration (TAG modification), the UE 5402 reconfigures the TAG, corresponding to the tag-Id, in accordance with the received timeAlignmentTimer).
Guo does not explicitly disclose transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record for which the timer has expired and that comprise the value of the key.
Patil transmitting the one or more records comprises transmitting a single record for which the timer has expired and that comprise the value of a unique identifier (See para. [0072], para. [0075], para. [0082] and para. [0083] and Figure 8, performing an action/or notification based on the requested state maintenance parameters in response to a UDSF network function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the data storage network of Guo to include a data storage function comprises a timer, as taught by Patil. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance the UDSF to support context-related characteristics (See Patil, para. [0015]). In addition, both of the references (Lee, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with data networks. This close relation between all of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Guo in view of Patil does not explicitly one or more tags comprise a tag indicating use of a search key pertaining to a record set.
Hamada discloses one or more tags comprise a tag indicating use of a search key pertaining to a record set (See para. [0045], para. [0066] and para. [0067], one or more tag contains a list of keywords which used to search data record).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art to modify the data storage network of Guo to include a data storage function comprises a tag indicating use of a search key, as taught by Hamada. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to improve network monitoring (See Hamada, para. [0006]). In addition, all of the references (Hamada, Guo and Patil) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as storing metadata state information with data networks. This close relation between all of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As to claim 39, Guo discloses the tag indicating use of the timer comprises a timer name and a corresponding value for timer (See para. [0725] and Table 8.418-3 and Table 8.419-1, one or more tags indicating a TimeAlignmentTimer, e.g., enumerated in ms 500, ms 750, ms 1280, ms 1920, infinity).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUK TING CHOI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164