Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, 19-23, 25-31 are pending.
RCE of 05/12/2026 is/are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’ arguments presented in the Remarks of 11/10/2025 is/are fully considered but they are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated to address the amendments of at least modification of configuration comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, 19-23, 25-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims 1, 9, 17, and 23 are amended to recite the following: “modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration”.
The term “optimal” is subjective and is without any metrics/guidance in the claim to define the state deemed as optimal. As such the audiences are left guessing as to how to specify the criteria for such. The Specification has several instances of the discussion of the limitation; however they are mere verbatim recitation without any elaborations. Therefore, the limitation is indefinite as the scope of such subjective terminology is unclear. Dependent claims fail to remedy the issue(s) raised above and thus fall together with their respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-15, 17, 19-21, 23, 25-27, 30, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 111510934) in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0111886).
As to claim 1:
Zhou discloses:
A network node including a master node- distributed unit, MN-DU, and a MN-centralized unit, MN-CU, in communication with each other, (page 9, the node can be a wireless access network in the base station network device, also can be one entity in the network device, such as the CU/DU separating architecture in the central unit CU or distributed unit DU and so on. Page 16, gNB under the CU/DU separation framework)
the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive, at the MN-DU, first signaling that request for a master cell group, MCG, configuration associated with a wireless device to be modified, the first signaling indicating that the request for the MCG configuration modification is based at least on a change in secondary cell group, SCG, configuration associated with the wireless device ;
(Fig. 12, page 16-17, step 2: gNB-CU sends a user terminal context modification request message to gNB-DU1, wherein the request message comprises the source MCG reconfiguration indicative of the target SCG. gNB-DU1 generates the cell group configuration information of the target SCG after switching, wherein the cell group identification information of the source MCG is included to indicate that the configuration information is the increment configuration information based on the source MCG configuration information. In other words, the MCG reconfiguration comprises the indication of the target SCG (SCG is being promoted to MCG, and replaces the original MCG reconfiguration). The DU receives signaling that directly reflects this change and applies the configuration updates based on the target SCG)
and modify, at the MN-DU, the MCG configuration based at least on the change in the SCG configuration associated with the wireless device. (Page 16-17, step 2-3 of Fig. 12, gNB-DU1 generates the cell group configuration information of the target SCG after switching, wherein the cell group identification information of the source MCG is included to indicate that the configuration information is the increment configuration information. The new MCG is derived from the SCG config)
Zhou however does not explicitly mention said modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration.
Kim, in a related field of endeavor for optimization of SCG configuration for UE, discloses modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration (Kim, in at least ¶0042, 0125, 0126, 0073-0075, 0062, as SCI changes, the system information (i.e. L1/L2) is provided to the UE in an optimized manner such that it replaces heavy always-on broadcast of full L1/L2 details with more light weight SCI and on-demand probe responses to reduce signal overhead and power consumption. See Fig. 7, 8 and associated paragraphs wherein process is in respect to the UE capability provided by UE’s signaling, and per ¶0042, the SCG configuration is provided to UE in appropriate protocol and procedure and is operational to the UE, i.e. compatible. See also ¶0130-0132.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that Zhou’s configuration adjustment to include comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration. This implementation advantageously allows for reduction of signal overhead and internal processing thus increasing power consumption by skimming down SCI space (Kim, ¶0049, 0132-0133),
As to claim 9:
Zhou discloses all limitations of claim a method implemented by a network node including a master node-distributed unit, MN-DU, and a MN-centralized unit, MN-CU, in communication with each other, the method comprising: receiving, at the MN-DU, first signaling that request for a master cell group, MCG, configuration associated with a wireless device to be modified, the first signaling indicating that the request for the MCG configuration modification is based at least on a change in secondary cell group, SCG, configuration associated with the wireless device; (Fig. 12, page 16-17, gNB-CU sends a user terminal context modification request message to gNB-DU1, wherein it comprises the source MCG reconfiguration is the indication of the target SCG. gNB-DU1 generates the cell group configuration information of the target SCG after switching, wherein the cell group identification information of the source MCG is included to indicate that the configuration information is the increment configuration information based on the source MCG configuration information. In other words, the MCG reconfiguration comprises the indication of the target SCG (SCG is being promoted to MCG, and replaces the original MCG reconfiguration). The DU receives signaling that directly reflects this change and applies the configuration updates based on the target SCG) and modifying, at the MN-DU, the MCG configuration based at least on the change in the SCG configuration associated with the wireless device. (Page 16-17, step 2-3 of Fig. 12, gNB-DU1 generates the cell group configuration information of the target SCG after switching, wherein the cell group identification information of the source MCG is included to indicate that the configuration information is the increment configuration information. The new MCG is derived from the SCG config)
Zhou however does not explicitly mention said modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration.
Kim, in a related field of endeavor for optimization of SCG configuration for UE, discloses modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration (Kim, in at least ¶0042, 0125, 0126, 0073-0075, 0062, as SCI changes, the system information (i.e. L1/L2) is provided to the UE in an optimized manner such that it replaces heavy always-on broadcast of full L1/L2 details with more light weight SCI and on-demand probe responses to reduce signal overhead and power consumption. See Fig. 7, 8 and associated paragraphs wherein process is in respect to the UE capability provided by UE’s signaling, and per ¶0042, the SCG configuration is provided to UE in appropriate protocol and procedure and is operational to the UE, i.e. compatible. See also ¶0130-0132.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that Zhou’s configuration adjustment to include comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration. This implementation advantageously allows for reduction of signal overhead and internal processing thus increasing power consumption by skimming down SCI space (Kim, ¶0049, 0132-0133),
As to claims 17, 23:
Zhou discloses:
A method and a network node including a master node- distributed unit, MN-DU, and a MN-centralized unit, MN-CU, in communication with each other, (page 9, the node can be a wireless access network in the base station network device, also can be one entity in the network device, such as the CU/DU separating architecture in the central unit CU or distributed unit DU and so on. Page 16, gNB under the CU/DU separation framework) the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to perform the method:
receive, at the MN-CU, an indication of a change in a secondary cell group, SCG, configuration associated with the wireless device ; (Fig. 12, step 1, Page 16, changes in SCG configuration associated with UE, which lead to transmission of reconfiguration in step 2)
and cause, at the MN-CU, transmission of first signaling to the MN-DU, the first signaling requesting for a master cell group, MCG, configuration associated with a wireless device to be modified, the first signaling indicating that the request for the MCG configuration modification is based at least on the change in the SCG configuration that is associated with the wireless device Fig. 12, page 16-17, gNB-CU sends a user terminal context modification request message to gNB-DU1, wherein it comprises the source MCG reconfiguration is the indication of the target SCG. gNB-DU1 generates the cell group configuration information of the target SCG after switching, wherein the cell group identification information of the source MCG is included to indicate that the configuration information is the increment configuration information based on the source MCG configuration information. In other words, the MCG reconfiguration comprises the indication of the target SCG (SCG is being promoted to MCG, and replaces the original MCG reconfiguration). The DU receives signaling that directly reflects this change and applies the configuration updates based on the target SCG)
Zhou however does not explicitly mention said modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration.
Kim, in a related field of endeavor for optimization of SCG configuration for UE, discloses modifying comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration (Kim, in at least ¶0042, 0125, 0126, 0073-0075, 0062, as SCI changes, the system information (i.e. L1/L2) is provided to the UE in an optimized manner such that it replaces heavy always-on broadcast of full L1/L2 details with more light weight SCI and on-demand probe responses to reduce signal overhead and power consumption. See Fig. 7, 8 and associated paragraphs wherein process is in respect to the UE capability provided by UE’s signaling, and per ¶0042, the SCG configuration is provided to UE in appropriate protocol and procedure and is operational to the UE, i.e. compatible. See also ¶0130-0132.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that Zhou’s configuration adjustment to include comprises re-considering an optimal L1/L2 configuration in light of wireless device capabilities while maintaining a configuration compatible with the SCG configuration. This implementation advantageously allows for reduction of signal overhead and internal processing thus increasing power consumption by skimming down SCI space (Kim, ¶0049, 0132-0133),
As to claims 2, 10:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the first signaling is received from the MN-CU. (Zhou, page 16, “gNB-CU sends a user terminal context modification request message to gNB-DU1”)
As to claims 4, 12, 19, 25:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9/17/23, wherein the modification of the MCG configuration includes one of: modifying a quantity of resources utilized by the network node for at least one communication channel used by the wireless device ; and modifying a quantity of wireless device capabilities utilized by the network node for at least one communication channel used by the wireless device. (See Zhou, page 2, “configuration information mainly comprises the three parameters: measurement configuration, radio bearer configuration information and cell group configuration information. wherein the measurement configuration information is used for indicating which measurement is required by the network side to the terminal; the radio bearer configuration information is used for indicating which bearer should be configured by the terminal, and the bearer should configure the PDCP layer and the SDAP resource; and the cell group configuration information is used for indicating how to configure physical layer, MAC layer and RLC layer resource”. See Page 16-17, notable step 2, the reconfiguration message such configuration, including the bearers. Since MCG and SCG exchange roles, thus implicating the resources they were using)
As to claims 5, 13, 20, 26:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9/17/23, wherein the modification of the MCG configuration includes a reconfiguration of a layer 1/layer 2, L1/L2, configuration. (L1 and L2 correspond directly to physical layers, MAC layers, and RLC layers. (Zhou, See page 2, “configuration information mainly comprises (…) the radio bearer configuration information is used for indicating which bearer should be configured by the terminal, and the bearer should configure the PDCP layer and the SDAP resource; and the cell group configuration information is used for indicating how to configure physical layer, MAC layer and RLC layer resource”. See Page 16-17, notable step 2, she reconfiguration message such configuration, including the bearers. Since MCG and SCG exchange roles, thus implicating the resources they were using)
As to claims 6, 14, 21, 27:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9/17/23, wherein the request includes an information element, IE, that is configured to provide the indication that the request for the modification of the MCG configuration is based at least on the change in the SCG configuration. (Zhou, page 7, indication information (i.e. read as IE) is used for indicating the third node to modify the cell group identification information of the cell group controlled by the first node. See also Fig. 12, step 2)
As to claims 7, 15:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive second signaling indicating at least one parameter of the SCG configuration is being modified. (See Zhou, page 16-17, (…)indicate it continues to use the existing cell group configuration, only change the cell group identification information (CellGroup ID) of the cell group. so that the Cell Group ID can be changed by means of incremental reconfiguration. In addition, the participant in the wireless access system also needs to perform some additional operations to ensure that the change operation of the Cell Group ID can be performed correctly and efficiently. See also step 2, step 6 and 7 of Fig. 12’s description)
As to claim 30:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein the change in the SCG configuration corresponds to removing a SCG from the SCG configuration. (Zhou, page 12, step 1, the change in configuration occurred in step 1, wherein that change namely includes the promotion of the target SCG to be indicated as the new source MCG. Since the target SCG is now the new MCG, it is no longer part of the SCG configuration (i.e. removed), and secondly, the SCG itself is modified by virtue of being appointed as the new MCG)
As to claim 31:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein the change in the SCG configuration corresponds to modifying a SCG associated with the SCG configuration. (Zhou, page 12, step 1, the change in configuration occurred in step 1, wherein that change namely includes the promotion of the target SCG to be indicated as the new source MCG. Since the target SCG is now the new MCG, it is no longer part of the SCG configuration and is modified by virtue of being appointed as the new MCG)
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 111510934) in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0111886) and in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0359450).
As to claim 29:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein the cell group reconfiguration in in responses a change pertaining in the SCG per Fig. 12, however does not explicitly disclose one possible change corresponds to adding a SCG to the SCG configuration.
Xu, in a related field of cell group management, discloses in scenarios when a change occurs, namely when the MN adds, modifies, and releases (removes) a particular SCG, a configuration update request is made to ensure bearer context, UE context, and SCG configuration are updated to reflect said change (¶0117). (It is noted that, Xu covers all possible scenarios in original claim 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the update of configuration pertaining a SCG in Zhou to include a trigger that corresponds to the adding of a SCG. This implementation ensures system transparency in both ends where network and user contexts are always up-to-date of real time changes responsive to network/mobility changes.
Claim(s) 8, 16, 22, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 111510934) in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0111886)in view of Teyeb et al. (US 2020/0128454).
As to claims 8, 16, 22, and 28:
Zhou in view of Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1/9/17/23, however is silent on the change in the SCG configuration indicates one of: a different subset of wireless device capabilities is being implemented; and that the MCG configuration is no longer restricted to at least one band combination.
Teyeb, in a related field of endeavor, discloses on the change in the SCG configuration indicates one of: a different subset of wireless device capabilities is being implemented; and that the MCG configuration is no longer restricted to at least one band combination, see ¶0228 and Table 10 of CG Config message, gNB to request the SgNB to perform certain actions e.g. to establish, modify or release an SCG. The message may include additional information e.g. to assist the SgNB to set the SCG configuration. It can also be used by a CU to request a DU to perform certain actions, e.g. to establish, modify or release an MCG or SCG”, also “ue-Capabilityinfo” which contain UE capability-container list which hold features of UE to be used adaptively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that Zhou’s system to include at least one of: a different subset of wireless device capabilities is being implemented; and that the MCG configuration is no longer restricted to at least one band combination in manner disclosed by Teyeb. Both references aim to solve adjustment in MCG behavior without significant overhead/service interruption, such implementation advantageously lead to more resource allocation with the smart role swapping between SCG and MCG.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Futaki et al. (US 2019/0182716) - A radio access network (RAN) node (11) is configured to send, to another RAN node (12), first control information regarding at least one of one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) configured in a system bandwidth. It is thus, for example, possible to contribute to inter-radio access network (RAN) node (e.g., inter-gNB) signaling enhanced to handle bandwidth parts.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645