DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, on page 11, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and in light of amendment are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, on page 11, with respect to the objection to claim 16 have been fully considered and in light of amendment are persuasive. The objection to claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, on page 12, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection to claim 5 have been fully considered and in light of amendment are persuasive. The objection to 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection to claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 12, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Li in view of Ma do not disclose “generating a message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and initiating transmission of the message to the first RAN node” because in Ma the message is sent from an RRU to a BBU. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The RRU1 in Ma corresponds to the first RAN/transport in the instant claim, and the BBU in Ma corresponds to the second RAN/transport node in the instant claim. Ma in paragraph 215 discloses that when there is a faulty link between RRU1 and the BBU, RRU1 creates and sends information about the fault to the other RRUs. One of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably interpret this information as corresponding to the “generating a message indicating the status of the transport network connection” in the instant claim. Ma further teaches in paragraph 220 that this information is forwarded by the RRUs to the BBU. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably interpret the transmission by RRU1 to the other RRUs as indirect transmission to the BBU, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably interpret this as correspond to “initiating transmission of the message to the first RAN node.” Thus, Ma does teach this feature of the claim, and thus Li in view of Ma do teach all the features of claim 1. Applicant’s remarks regarding the remaining claims are based on their dependence or similarity to claim 1 and are respectfully disagreed with for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 14, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190313288 A1) in view of Ma (US 20230224731 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses:
“A method in a mobile communication system comprising a radio access network, RAN, the radio access network comprising a first RAN node and a second RAN node connected by a transport network, the transport network comprising a first transport node and a second transport node, the first RAN node being connected to the first transport node and the second RAN node being connected to the second transport node,” ([para 0015]: “The FTN includes an FTN-ACC and an FTN-AGG. The FTN ACC is connected to a RRU. The FTN-AGG is connected to the FTN-ACC and a BBU pool respectively.” Also see Fig. 2)
“the method comprising, by the first transport node: determining the status of a transport network connection between the first transport node and the second transport node…” ([para 0065]: “In this case, during the transmission, once a controller of the FTN finds failure of a direct connection channel 101 or of a direct connection path…”)
Li does not explicitly disclose “generating a message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and initiating transmission of the message to the first RAN node.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “generating a message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and initiating transmission of the message to the first RAN node.” ([para 0220]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message indicates at least one of: the transport network connection is active; a transport network connection failure; a fault in the transport network connection; a temporary state in the transport network connection; a change in state of the transport network connection; the status of a transport link in the transport network; waiting for a transport connection.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “wherein the message indicates at least one of: the transport network connection is active; a transport network connection failure; a fault in the transport network connection; a temporary state in the transport network connection; a change in state of the transport network connection; the status of a transport link in the transport network; waiting for a transport connection.” ([para 0220]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “the method further comprising repeating the steps of determining, generating and initiating.” ([para 0106]: “The traffic condition information is periodically monitored, the currently detected traffic condition information is analyzed, and a delay requirement and a required bandwidth of the traffic are determined.” Wherein the generating and initiating steps are obvious in view of Ma as discussed in relation to the parent claim.)
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “a transport network failure or fault; and that the transport network failure or fault has been resolved.” ([para 0106]: “The traffic condition information is periodically monitored, the currently detected traffic condition information is analyzed, and a delay requirement and a required bandwidth of the traffic are determined.” Wherein the generating and initiating steps are obvious in view of Ma as discussed in relation to the parent claim.)
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “wherein the first RAN node comprises a remote RAN node or a central RAN node and if the first RAN node comprises the remote RAN node, the second RAN node comprises the central RAN node; andif the first RAN node comprises the central RAN node, the second RAN node comprises the remote RAN node.” ([para 0106]: “The traffic condition information is periodically monitored, the currently detected traffic condition information is analyzed, and a delay requirement and a required bandwidth of the traffic are determined.” Wherein the generating and initiating steps are obvious in view of Ma as discussed in relation to the parent claim.)
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “wherein the remote RAN node is a remote radio unit, RRU, and the central unit is a baseband unit, BBU.” ([para 0003]: “The FTN is a transport network between a remote radio unit (RRU) and a base band unit (BBU).”)
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “receiving the message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and performing an operation based on the message.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “receiving the message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and performing an operation based on the message.” ([para 0220-0221]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers… In the foregoing process, after the link between the RRU 1 and the BBU is faulty, the RRU 1 may report the information 1 to the BBU by using other RRUs (the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4) in the base station, so that the BBU may determine fault information in time.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first RAN node operates by at least one of: changing state to waiting for transport; changing state to transport network connection active; changing state to transport status known; using the transport network connection; changing state to transport network connection failure; maintaining a current state.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “wherein the first RAN node operates by at least one of: changing state to waiting for transport; changing state to transport network connection active; changing state to transport status known; using the transport network connection; changing state to transport network connection failure; maintaining a current state.” ([para 0220-0221]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “wherein the message is based on Common Public Radio Interface, CPRI, enhanced CPRI, eCPRI, Ethernet Link Fault Management, Ethernet LFM, Internet Protocol, or Operations Administration and Maintenance protocol.” ([para 0047]: “Common public radio interfaces (CPRI) are illustrated in FIG. 3 and can be used to connect the BBU and the RRU.”)
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “by the second transport node: determining the status of the transport network connection…” ([para 0065]: “In this case, during the transmission, once a controller of the FTN finds failure of a direct connection channel 101 or of a direct connection path…”)
Li does not explicitly disclose “generating a second message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and initiating transmission of the second message to the second RAN node.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “generating a second message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and initiating transmission of the second message to the second RAN node.” ([para 0220]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “wherein hardwired connections are used between at least one pair of: the first RAN node and the first transport node; and the second RAN node and the second transport node.” ([para 0005]: “In a first way, a manner of an optical fiber direct connection is used. Each RRU and the BBU pool are connected by using a pair of optical fibers.”)
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li further discloses “wherein the hardwired connections comprise at least one of: fiber optic connections, microwave radio links or copper-based links.” ([para 0005]: “In a first way, a manner of an optical fiber direct connection is used. Each RRU and the BBU pool are connected by using a pair of optical fibers.”)
Claim 21 is substantially similar to claim 1 with the differences amounting to that claim 1 is directed towards a method while claim 21 is directed towards an apparatus containing generic hardware. Such hardware is taught by Li in paragraphs 160 and 205. Thus, claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses:
“A first radio access network, RAN, node of a radio access network, RAN, the RAN comprising the first RAN node and a second RAN node connected by a transport network, the transport network comprising a first transport node and a second transport node, the first RAN node being connected to the first transport node and the second RAN node being connected to the second transport node,” ([para 0015]: “The FTN includes an FTN-ACC and an FTN-AGG. The FTN ACC is connected to a RRU. The FTN-AGG is connected to the FTN-ACC and a BBU pool respectively.” Also see Fig. 2)
“the first radio node comprising processing circuitry and a memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry to configure the first RAN node to…” ([para 0160]: “The processor can include a central processing unit, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor, an application processor or a programmable array, and the like.” ; [para 0205]: “The computer storage medium may be a medium which can store program codes, such as a removable storage device, a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a magnetic disk or an optical disk, and the medium may be a non-transitory storage medium.”)
Li does not explicitly disclose “receive a message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and perform an operation based on the message.”
However, Ma discloses the missing feature “receive a message indicating the status of the transport network connection; and perform an operation based on the message.” ([para 0220]: “At a moment 3, after receiving the information 1, the RRU 2, the RRU 3, and the RRU 4 separately send the information 1 to the BBU by using the optical fibers.” ; [para 0215]: “In the communication method provided in some embodiments, a PLC module is disposed in an RRU, and different RRUs are connected by using a power line, so that PLC may be performed between different RRUs in the base station by using PLC modules. In this way, after the link between the BBU and the first RRU is faulty, the first RRU may send the information about the first RRU and/or the information about the optical module connected to the first RRU to the BBU by using the at least one second RRU, so that the BBU may determine fault information of the link in time, to fast locate a link fault.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li and Ma, to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to indicate a status message as disclosed by Ma. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the issues to be diagnosed and thus corrected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190313288 A1) in view of Ma (US 20230224731 A1) and further in view of Kachhla (US 20190245740 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the method further comprises the first transport node initiating a transport network connection configuration operation to configure the transport network connection between the first transport node and the second transport node.”
However, Kachhla discloses the missing feature “wherein the method further comprises the first transport node initiating a transport network connection configuration operation to configure the transport network connection between the first transport node and the second transport node.” ([para 0247]: “During the DU 104 startup, CPRI Adapter 117 card can be configured and the CPRI links to the RRUs 105-n can be initiated. This includes physical ports, ethernet interfaces associated with the physical port. Any pre-assigned VLANs associated with the ethernet interfaces can also be initiated. IPV4 or IPV6 addresses are assigned in subsequent steps, as shown below.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Kachhla to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to include the initiating of a transport connection as disclosed by Kachhla. The motivation for doing so is that it is necessary for the connection to exist in order for communication to occur and the transport node is the optimum initiator of said connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Kachhla to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Ma and Kachhla discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the transport network connection configuration operation comprises the first transport node sending a preliminary message indicating the start of the configuration operation to the first RAN node and establishing a transport network connection between the first transport node and the second transport node.”
However, Kachhla discloses the missing feature “wherein the transport network connection configuration operation comprises the first transport node sending a preliminary message indicating the start of the configuration operation to the first RAN node and establishing a transport network connection between the first transport node and the second transport node.” ([para 0287]: “At block 244, the NETCONF client initiates an SSH session to the NETCONF server/RRU using the TCP connection. At blocks 245-246 the Netconf session is established between SDM and RRU 105 (handshake NETCONF Hello/Capabilities).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Kachhla to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to include preliminary message indicating the start of a configuration operation as disclosed by Kachhla. The motivation for doing so is that it allows the connection to be more flexibly configured. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Kachhla to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190313288 A1) in view of Ma (US 20230224731 A1) and further in view of Yoon (US 20180270692 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first transport node performs a procedure to determine a communication protocol on which the message is to be based.”
However, Yoon discloses the missing feature “wherein the first transport node performs a procedure to determine a communication protocol on which the message is to be based.” ([para 0100]: “The decision APP 142 may determine a communication path of the packet based on the channel state information, packet analysis information received from the end TNs, and the like, and determine at least one protocol layer used in the TNs located in the determined communication path.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Yoon to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to include the initiating of a transport connection as disclosed by Yoon. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Yoon to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190313288 A1) in view of Ma (US 20230224731 A1) and further in view of Jack (US 20180070246 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message is encapsulated within a frame of a fronthaul interface.”
However, Jack discloses the missing feature “wherein the message is encapsulated within a frame of a fronthaul interface.” ([para 0035]: “In this example, data 400 may be communicated, such as via Ethernet encapsulation, using carrier network 230.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Jack to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to use encapsulation as disclosed by Jack. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Jack to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Ma discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message is one or both encapsulated within a RAN node protocol and transmitted in-band.”
However, Jack discloses the missing feature “wherein the message is one or both encapsulated within a RAN node protocol and transmitted in-band.” ([para 0035]: “In this example, data 400 may be communicated, such as via Ethernet encapsulation, using carrier network 230.” ; [para 0019]: “Baseband radio data may be exchanged, between the RRHs 110 and the BBU 120, using a protocol such as the IQ over Ethernet protocol or the Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Jack to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to use encapsulation as disclosed by Jack. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Jack to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Ma in view of Jack discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Li does not explicitly disclose “wherein the RAN node protocol is one of: CPRI, eCPRI, O-RAN interface.”
However, Jack discloses the missing feature “wherein the RAN node protocol is one of: CPRI, eCPRI, O-RAN interface.” ([para 0035]: “In this example, data 400 may be communicated, such as via Ethernet encapsulation, using carrier network 230.” ; [para 0019]: “Baseband radio data may be exchanged, between the RRHs 110 and the BBU 120, using a protocol such as the IQ over Ethernet protocol or the Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Li, Ma, and Jack to modify the technique as disclosed by Li, to use encapsulation as disclosed by Jack. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Ma and Jack to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412