DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/247,566, application filed on 03/31/2023, and Preliminary Amendment subsequently filed on 03/31/2023. In the Preliminary Amendment, claims 1-10 are cancelled by Applicant, and claims 11-21 are presented as New by Applicant. Claims 11-21 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 11-14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Syouda (US PG Pub No. 2018/0062402).
7. With respect to claim 11, Syouda teaches:
A battery for storing electrical energy (plurality of battery modules for storing power, para 6) comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (plurality of battery modules for storing power, para 6) which are electrically connected by an electrical circuit (see battery module circuit connecting battery modules, para 8), each battery module being configured to store electrical energy (plurality of battery modules for storing power, para 6), and
a switching unit (see switching unit, para 6) which comprises a plurality of switches (see switches of switching unit, para 19; see Fig 1 showing switches of switching unit at 22 and 23 of Fig 1) which are arranged on the electrical circuit (see battery module circuit connecting battery modules with switches, para 19, Fig 1 at switches 22, 23) and configured to connect the battery modules in series in the electrical circuit (switches connecting battery modules in series, para 19, Fig 1 showing switches 20 and 23 in connected series with battery modules 10 and 11, respectively) during a phase of charging the battery by means of a charger (battery modules connected in series to enable charger to charge battery modules, para 19),
wherein the switching unit further comprises a system for balancing the charge of the battery modules (see switching unit, para 19, see balancing control for battery modules, para 30), which is arranged on the electrical circuit (see controller 30 for balancing battery modules along with help from switches of switching unit, see para 19-30) and configured to modify the electrical circuit in order to divert some of the current delivered in the direction of one of the battery modules (using cell balancing to charge/discharge battery modules, one battery module can be used by charger to charge/discharge the full/depleted battery module, para 30), which is overcharged (see voltage detection unit and cell balancing to determine when battery modules are equal, or when one battery module is fully charged while another is not fully charged or depleted, including situations of overcharge, para 25-27), to another of the battery modules (one battery module can be used by charger to charge/discharge the full/depleted battery module, para 30), which is undercharged (some battery module fully charged while others not fully charged or when battery cell charge is not equal, undercharged or equalizing charge, para 24, 30), during a mixed phase during which the battery is simultaneously charged by the charger and discharged to a consumer circuit (quick charging device charges battery modules in series while selecting a battery module for discharge to the load, Abstract, para 5-7) which said battery supplies with electrical energy (supplying/discharging electrical power to the load, Abstract, para 5-7).
8. With respect to claim 21, Syouda teaches:
A method for controlling a battery (see controller 30 for balancing battery modules along with help from switches of switching unit, see para 19-30) comprising a plurality of battery modules (plurality of battery modules for storing power, para 6) which are electrically connected in an electrical circuit (see battery module circuit connecting battery modules, para 8) by a switching unit (see switching unit, para 6) which comprises a plurality of switches (see switches of switching unit, para 19; see Fig 1 showing switches of switching unit at 22 and 23 of Fig 1) as well as a system for balancing (using cell balancing to charge/discharge battery modules, one battery module can be used by charger to charge/discharge the full/depleted battery module, para 30) the charge of said battery modules (some battery module fully charged while others not fully charged or when battery cell charge is not equal, undercharged or equalizing charge, para 24, 30), the method comprising:
controlling, via a control unit, the switches of the switching unit (see controller 30 for balancing battery modules along with help from switches of switching unit, see para 19-30) in order to connect said battery modules in series with one another (switches connecting battery modules in series, para 19, Fig 1 showing switches 20 and 23 in connected series with battery modules 10 and 11, respectively), during a phase of charging said battery by a charger (battery modules connected in series to enable charger to charge battery modules, para 19); and
controlling, via the control unit, the balancing system (see controller 30 for balancing battery modules along with help from switches of switching unit, see para 19-30) of the switching unit (with help from switches of switching unit, see para 19-30) in order to divert some of the current delivered in the direction of one of the battery modules, which is overcharged (see voltage detection unit and cell balancing to determine when battery modules are equal, or when one battery module is fully charged while another is not fully charged or depleted, including situations of overcharge, para 25-27), to another of the battery modules, which is undercharged (some battery module fully charged while others not fully charged or when battery cell charge is not equal, undercharged or equalizing charge, para 24, 30), during a mixed phase during which the battery is simultaneously charged by the charger and discharged to said consumer circuit (quick charging device charges battery modules in series while selecting a battery module for discharge to the load, Abstract, para 5-7; supplying/discharging electrical power to the load, Abstract, para 5-7).
9. With respect to claim 12, Syouda teaches:
The battery as claimed in claim 11, wherein the switches of the switching unit are configured to connect, during the mixed phase, the battery modules in series on the electrical circuit while at the same time connecting the consumer circuit to the terminals of at least one of the battery modules (quick charging device charges battery modules in series while selecting a battery module for discharge to the load, Abstract, para 5-7; see cell balancing and equalization, charging at a fast rate while other battery discharged to load, para 24, 30; charging battery modules while equalizing module voltages; providing power to load while charging battery modules, para 25-27).
10. With respect to claim 13, Syouda teaches:
The battery as claimed in claim 11, wherein the switches of the switching unit are configured to connect, during the mixed phase, the battery modules in series on the electrical circuit while at the same time connecting the consumer circuit to the terminals of one of the battery modules (battery modules connected to charger while battery modules are connected to load, Abstract; para 6-8).
11. With respect to claim 14, Syouda teaches:
The battery as claimed in claim 11, wherein the switches of the switching unit are further configured to connect said battery modules in parallel in the electrical circuit during a phase of discharging the battery into the consumer circuit, and the balancing system is configured to modify the electrical circuit in order to transfer some of the current supplying power to one of the battery modules, which is overcharged, to another of the battery modules, which is undercharged, during a transient phase between said phase of charging and said phase of discharging the battery (using cell balancing to charge/discharge battery modules, one battery module can be used by charger to charge/discharge the full/depleted battery module, para 30; see voltage detection unit and cell balancing to determine when battery modules are equal, or when one battery module is fully charged while another is not fully charged or depleted, including situations of overcharge, para 25-27; one battery module can be used by charger to charge/discharge the full/depleted battery module, para 30; some battery module fully charged while others not fully charged or when battery cell charge is not equal, undercharged or equalizing charge, para 24, 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (US PG Pub No. 2018/0062402) in view of Pernyeszi (US PG Pub No. 2017/0141586).
14. With respect to claim 15, while Syouda appears to be silent regarding the limitations of claim 15 below, Pernyeszi teaches:
The battery as claimed in claim 11, wherein the balancing system comprises at least one main balancing unit arranged as a branch from part of a branch of the electrical circuit connecting the two positive terminals of two distinct battery modules, said main balancing unit comprising a switch connected in series with a coil and in parallel with a diode (see diode/coil, with respect to series balancing/switching branches where positive terminals of battery modules are connected, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Pernyeszi’s balancing branch feature and coil/diode and switching power transistor features into the invention of Syouda for at least the following reason(s): the balancing branch, coil/diode and switching transitor features of Pernyeszi provide for an improved way to control cell switching for equalizing power values across a plurality of battery cells, which improves the invention of Syouza by reducing the time it takes to charge and balance a plurality of battery modules in a battery system.
15. With respect to claim 18, while Syouda appears to be silent regarding the limitations of claim 15 below, Pernyeszi teaches:
The battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein the switch of each balancing unit is a power transistor (see switching transistor to provide for charge/discharge of battery cells for balancing, and or discharge of power to the load).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 15 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 16-17 and 19-20 which depends therefrom, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
17. With respect to claim 19, and claim 20 which depends therefrom, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 19, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 19, as follows:
The battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein the battery modules include a first battery module and a second battery module, a negative terminal of the first battery module is connected to a positive terminal of the second battery module via a first and a second diode connected in series with one another, the current input terminal of the first diode being connected to the negative terminal of the first battery module, and the current output terminal of the second diode being connected to the positive terminal of the second battery module; wherein the switching unit comprises: a first switch having a first contact point intended to be connected to a positive terminal of the charger and a second contact point connected to the positive terminal of the first battery module, a second switch having a first contact point intended to be connected to a negative terminal of the charger and a second contact point connected to the negative terminal of the second battery module, a third switch having a first contact point connected to the positive terminal of the second battery module and a second contact point connected to one terminal of the consumer circuit, a fourth switch having a first contact point connected to the negative terminal of the second battery module and a second contact point connected to the other terminal of the consumer circuit, a fifth switch having a first contact point connected to the positive terminal of the first battery module and a second contact point connected to the current output terminal of the second diode, a sixth switch having a first contact point connected to the negative terminal of the second battery module and a second contact point connected to the current input terminal of the first diode; and wherein the main balancing unit of the balancing system is arranged on the electrical branch connecting the positive terminal of the first battery module and the current input terminal in the second diode, the current input terminal of the diode of said main balancing unit being connected to the current output terminal of the first diode.
18. With respect to claim 16, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 16, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 16, as follows:
The battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein a closure period of the switch of said main balancing unit is controlled by pulse-width modulation, depending on the supply voltage across the terminals of the battery modules to be balanced and on the charging current coming from the charger.
19. With respect to claim 17, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 17, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 17, as follows:
The battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein the balancing system comprises at least one secondary balancing unit arranged as a branch from part of a branch of the electrical circuit connecting the two negative terminals of said two distinct battery modules, and comprising a switch connected in series with a coil and in parallel with a diode.
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851