DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1 – 4, 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 2, 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the term 'cross-wise associated' is vague and indefinite. It is unclear from the claim language what specific spatial, temporal, or logical relationship 'cross-wise' defines between the first and second pairs of allocation units. The phrase "cross-wise associated" is not a standard technical term in wireless communications (e.g., 3GPP standards). Without a precise definition in the specification, a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) cannot determine the boundaries of the claim.
Claim 1, 2, 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The phrase “the cross-wise association being on an allocation unit level” is unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the metes and bounds of this association, as it is not specified how an association exists 'on' a single allocation unit level, as opposed to between two, or across a range of units. It is unclear if this refers to a logical mapping, a physical frequency hopping, or a specific indexing scheme."
Claim 1, 2, 10 recites the limitation "broadcast signaling" in paragraph 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the final clause of Claim 1, "broadcast signaling carried on first and second pairs of allocation units..." lacks proper antecedent basis. The term "broadcast signaling" was previously introduced in the claim as "carrying broadcast signaling" (lines 3 and 5). However, the subsequent reference uses an indefinite form ("broadcast signaling") rather than the required definite article ("the broadcast signaling" or "said broadcast signaling"), making it unclear if it refers to the previously mentioned signaling or a new, different type of signaling.
Claim 3, 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the term 'cross-wise associated' is vague and indefinite. It is unclear from the claim language what specific spatial, temporal, or logical relationship 'cross-wise' defines between the first and second pairs of allocation units. The phrase "cross-wise associated" is not a standard technical term in wireless communications (e.g., 3GPP standards). Without a precise definition in the specification, a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) cannot determine the boundaries of the claim.
Claim 3, 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The phrase “the cross-wise association being on an allocation unit level” is unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the metes and bounds of this association, as it is not specified how an association exists 'on' a single allocation unit level, as opposed to between two, or across a range of units. It is unclear if this refers to a logical mapping, a physical frequency hopping, or a specific indexing scheme."
Claim 3, 4 recites the limitation "broadcast signaling" in paragraph 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the final clause of Claim 1, "broadcast signaling carried on first and second pairs of allocation units..." lacks proper antecedent basis. The term "broadcast signaling" was previously introduced in the claim as "carrying broadcast signaling" (lines 3 and 5). However, the subsequent reference uses an indefinite form ("broadcast signaling") rather than the required definite article ("the broadcast signaling" or "said broadcast signaling"), making it unclear if it refers to the previously mentioned signaling or a new, different type of signaling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 10, 12, 14, 16 – 18, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahlin et al. (US Publication 2016/0142241).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 10, Sahlin teaches an apparatus and a method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: (i.e. fig. 20 shows a radio network node comprising a transceiver, processor and memory for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 74 - 77)
transmitting first synchronization signaling comprising one or more first pairs of allocation units carrying broadcast signaling, (fig. 17 shows a network node may generate synchronization signal sequences, map to radio subframes and transmit the signals to a wireless device) (see Also; the synchronization signal sequences may comprise a first primary synchronization signal (PSS) associated with a first OFDM symbol (first allocation unit) and paired with a first secondary synchronization signal (SSS) associated with a second OFDM symbol (second allocation unit); see paragraph 8 and claim 1) and;
transmitting second synchronization signaling comprising one or more second pairs of allocation units carrying broadcast signaling, (i.e. the synchronization signal sequence may further comprise a second PSS associated with a third OFDM symbol and paired with a second SSS associated with a fourth OFDM symbol; see paragraphs 8 and claim 1) and broadcast signaling carried on first and second pairs of allocation units are cross-wise associated. (i.e. the first and second pairs of symbols comprising broadcast signaling may be associated in various ways; see paragraphs 10 – 13 and claims 7 - 13)
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Sahlin teaches an apparatus and a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: (i.e. fig. 19 shows a wireless device comprising a transceiver, processor and memory for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 71 - 73)
communicating based on received first synchronization signaling comprising one or more first pairs of allocation units carrying broadcast signaling, (fig. 17 shows a network node may generate synchronization signal sequences, map to radio subframes and transmit the signals to a wireless device) (see Also; the synchronization signal sequences may comprise a first primary synchronization signal (PSS) associated with a first OFDM symbol (first allocation unit) and paired with a first secondary synchronization signal (SSS) associated with a second OFDM symbol (second allocation unit); see paragraph 8 and claim 1)and
received second synchronisation signaling comprising one or more second pairs of allocation units carrying broadcast signaling, (i.e. the synchronization signal sequence may further comprise a second PSS associated with a third OFDM symbol and paired with a second SSS associated with a fourth OFDM symbol; see paragraphs 8 and claim 1) wherein broadcast signaling carried on first and second pairs of allocation units are being cross-wise associated. (i.e. the first and second pairs of symbols comprising broadcast signaling may be associated in various ways; see paragraphs 10 – 13 and claims 7 - 13)
Regarding claims 5, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 1, wherein cross-wise association refers to broadcast signaling carried on a leading allocation unit of a first pair of allocation units being associated to a trailing allocation unit of a second pair of allocation units. (i.e. fig. 5 shows the association of the related pairs of broadcast signaling may comprise the first pair in the first and second symbol may lead the second pair in the 3rd and 4th symbol (PSS1, SSS1 and PSS2, SSS2); see paragraphs 37 - 39)
Regarding claims 6, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 1, wherein cross-wise association refers to signaling carried on a trailing allocation unit of a first pair of allocation units is associated to a leading allocation unit of a second pair of allocation units. (i.e. fig. 7 shows the association of the related pairs of broadcast signaling may comprise the first pair in the 1st and second symbol may trail the second pair in the 3rd and 4th symbol (PSS1, SSS1 and PSS0, SSS1); see paragraphs 41 - 42)
Regarding claims 7, Sahlin teaches the method according to one of the preceding claims Claim 1, wherein the first synchronization signaling comprises 2 or 3 first pairs of allocation units, and the second synchronization signaling comprises 2 or 3 second pairs of allocation units. (i.e. Sahlin discloses the synchronization signal sequencing my comprise more than one first pairs of symbols that may be associated to more than one second pairs of symbols; see paragraphs 34, 35, 40, 41, 48 - 51)
Regarding claims 8, Sahlin teaches the method according to one of the preceding claims Claim 1, wherein the first pairs and second pairs are neighboring in time domain to secondary synchronization signaling. (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 shows the first and second pair of symbols comprising the first and second PSS and SSS are consecutive, and as symbols are consecutive in the time-domain)
Regarding claims 9, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 1, wherein the first pairs are in an order in time domain, and the second pairs are in an order in time domain, wherein first and second pairs corresponding to each other according to the order in time domain correspond to the same information content. (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 show the first and second pair of symbols that comprise the broadcast synchronization signals (PSS, SSS) may be consecutive, and as symbols are in the time domain, and may comprise the same sequences; see paragraphs 37, 38)
Regarding claims 12, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 3, wherein cross-wise association refers to broadcast signaling carried on a leading allocation unit of a first pair of allocation units being associated to a trailing allocation unit of a second pair of allocation units. (i.e. fig. 5 shows the association of the related pairs of broadcast signaling may comprise the first pair in the first and second symbol may lead the second pair in the 3rd and 4th symbol (PSS1, SSS1 and PSS2, SSS2); see paragraphs 37 - 39)
Regarding claims 14, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 3, wherein cross-wise association refers to signaling carried on a trailing allocation unit of a first pair of allocation units is associated to a leading allocation unit of a second pair of allocation units. (i.e. fig. 7 shows the association of the related pairs of broadcast signaling may comprise the first pair in the 1st and second symbol may trail the second pair in the 3rd and 4th symbol (PSS1, SSS1 and PSS0, SSS1); see paragraphs 41 - 42)
Regarding claims 16, Sahlin teaches the method according to one of the preceding claims Claim 3, wherein the first synchronization signaling comprises 2 or 3 first pairs of allocation units, and the second synchronization signaling comprises 2 or 3 second pairs of allocation units. (i.e. Sahlin discloses the synchronization signal sequencing my comprise more than one first pairs of symbols that may be associated to more than one second pairs of symbols; see paragraphs 34, 35, 40, 41, 48 - 51)
Regarding claims 17, Sahlin teaches the method according to one of the preceding claims Claim 3, wherein the first pairs and second pairs are neighboring in time domain to secondary synchronization signaling. (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 shows the first and second pair of symbols comprising the first and second PSS and SSS are consecutive, and as symbols are consecutive in the time-domain)
Regarding claims 18, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 3, wherein the first pairs are in an order in time domain, and the second pairs are in an order in time domain, wherein first and second pairs corresponding to each other according to the order in time domain correspond to the same information content. (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 show the first and second pair of symbols that comprise the broadcast synchronization signals (PSS, SSS) may be consecutive, and as symbols are in the time domain, and may comprise the same sequences; see paragraphs 37, 38)
Regarding claims 20, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 6, wherein the first pairs and second pairs are neighboring in time domain to secondary synchronization signaling. (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 show the first and second pair of symbols (allocation units) may be near each other (neighbor) in the time domain)
Regarding claims 21, Sahlin teaches the method according to Claim 7, wherein the first pairs and second pairs are neighboring in time domain to secondary synchronization signaling. . (i.e. figs. 4 and 5 show the first and second pair of symbols (allocation units) may be near each other (neighbor) in the time domain)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
March 5, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471