Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 2, 2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The claim amendments appear to be supported by paragraphs [0045]-[0048] of the original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to exclude a binder in the slurry mixture however claims 14 and 15 clearly include binders. Applicant is reminded that chemical compounds are inseparable from their properties. MPEP 2112.01 II.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-17 of copending Application No. 17/583422 (US 202280238853) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed method is anticipated entirely by the claimed method of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JANG et al. (US 2017).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, JANG et al. discloses a method for fabricating an electrode for an energy storage device (abstract), the method comprising heating a mixture of solvent and materials for use as energy storage media, adding active material and dispersant ([0055]) to the mixture to make a slurry and subsequently coating a current collector with the slurry ([0043] – [0059]). JANG et al. further teaches compression of the coated slurry ([0066]) which meets the present limitations for the calendaring step. Regarding the newly added “free from binder” limitation, JANG et al. clearly teaches the optional use of a binder in paragraph [0066] wherein a binder is used “if necessary” [0066].
Regarding claims 2-5, JANG et al. further teaches high aspect ratio carbon elements ([0027] - [0031]) with an aspect ratio of 1 to 1,000 with preferably ranges given and a surface treatment thereof (para [0053]-[0054)). The high aspect ratio carbon elements meet the instant limitations for nanocarbons.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 9, surface treatment of the fibrous carbon materials is taught wherein the surface treatment comprises addition of materials to promote adhesion of the active material to the nanocarbons ([0053], [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, JANG et al. further discloses the contents of the nanofilm coating ([0025]-[0026]) which meets the instant limitations for a polymeric layer on the nanocarbon.
Regarding claim 11, the nanofilm coated active material of JANG et al. is specifically selected from any one or a mixture of two or more selected from the group consisting of LiCoO2, LiNiO2, LiMnO2, LiMn2O4, Li[NiaCobMnc]O2 (0<a, b, c≦1, and a+b+c=1), and LiFePO.sub.4.([0041], [0111])
Regarding claims 14 and 15, JANG et al. teach the inclusion of binders including polyacrylic acid and polyvinylpyrrolidone ([0069], [0071]).
Regarding claims 18-20, JANG et al. summarizes the properties of the inventive energy storage devices including the energy capacity retention thereof being at least 90% which is within the claimed range (TABLE 1 & TABLE 2; [0113]-[0123]). Moreover given the JANG et al clearly anticipates the claimed energy storge material, it is the position of the office that the properties of the prior art device would be inherently the same given there is no evidence of record to suggest otherwise (MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. (2017/0040647) in view of BRAMBILLA (WO 2021007183 A1).
JANG et al does not specially teach the size of the active material when in particulate form ([0111]) however BRAMBILLA teaches electrodes for energy storage devices wherein the electrodes contain active material particles having a median particle size in the range of 0.1 um and 50 micrometers and the active layer the particles are contained therein having a mass loading of at least 20 mg/cm2 (page 13, lines 4-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to incorporate the particulate active material of JANG et al. in the size specifications described by BRAMBILLA et al. with the expectation of obtaining high mechanical stability and high mass loading.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. (2017/0040647) in view of TAKEUCHI et al. (US 5,543,249).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, JANG et al. does not teach a pyrolized form of the polymeric layer disposed on the nanocarbon taught therein. However TAKEUCHI discloses a method for preparing an electrode component comprising mixing a high surface area carbonaceous cathode active material with a water/surfactant mixture and adding a binder material. A a sintered form of the polymeric layer (col 3, lines 53-60; col 5, lines 26-36) is taught; but does not specifically disclose that the form is pyrolized. However, the high temperature heating (565 to 615 degrees Fahrenheit, would necessarily pyrolize the coated material. Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to heat the material of JANG et al. to use the high temperature of TAKEUCHI in order to optimize the removal of water and surfactant from the active material (col 3, lines 53-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments rely on the premise that the slurry of JANG et al. includes a binder which is now excluded from the claimed mixture. However as pointed out in the updated rejection, the binder of JANG et al. is optional. In paragraph [0066] JANG et al. clearly states that a binder can be used if necessary.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BARBARA L GILLIAM
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727