DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 04/23/2026 claims 1-16 are pending. Independent claim 1 is amended to incorporate new limitations not previously presented.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 04/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 12, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (USPGPN 20160068075) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference in combination with the previously cited prior art references.
The applicant argues in pages 8-9 of the Remarks dated 04/23/2026 that Chen fails to disclose the materials used for the first and second members and specifically does not disclose the use of resin or metal. The examiner agrees with the applicant that Chen fails to disclose the material type used. However, Vogler et al. (USPGPN 20140061218) teaches below that the first member is made of resin and the second member is made of metal.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The specification objection of the title is withdrawn due to the amendments made by the applicant.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPN 20160068075; identified in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 10/29/2025) and further in view of Vogler et al. (USPGPN 20140061218).
With respect to independent claim 1, Chen teaches a holding apparatus (Fig. 2A; ¶[70]; a two-way distribution, charging, and vending system 110) that holds an electric device (Fig. 2A; portable electric energy storage device 120) including a first electric terminal (Fig. 2D; electrical coupling assembly 240).
Chen teaches a holding portion configured to hold the electric device (Fig. 2A; charging module 112 configured to hold the portable electric energy storage device 120).
Chen teaches a second electric terminal configured to be connected to the first electric terminal of the electric device held by the holding portion (Figs. 2A and 2D-2E; ¶[77-79]; a locking hub and electrical contact assembly 250 which is configured to be connected to the electrical coupling assembly 240 when the portable electric energy storage device 120 is received by the charging module 112).
Chen teaches a drive portion configured to move the second electric terminal in a direction toward the first electric terminal and/or move the second electric terminal in a direction away from the first electric terminal (Fig. 3C; ¶[87]; an actuator 340 is configured to move the locking hub and electrical contact assembly 250 in a direction towards and/or away from the electrical coupling assembly 240).
Chen teaches wherein the holding portion is formed with a shape of a bottomed tube including a bottom portion and a tubular portion (Fig. 3A; ¶[85]; the charging module 112 is formed with a shape of a bottom tube including a base 304 (i.e., a bottom portion) and surface features 308 (i.e., a tubular portion)).
Chen teaches the holding portion includes a first member that includes the bottom portion and a second member that is attached to the first member and includes the tubular portion which surrounds an outer periphery of the electric device held in the holding portion (See annotated Fig. 3C below. The charging module 112 includes a first member that includes the base 304 and the second member is attached to the first member and includes the surface features 308 which surrounds an outer periphery (not illustrated in the annotated Fig. 3C below) of the portable electric energy storage device 120 held in the charging module 112).
Chen teaches the second electric terminal and the drive portion are attached to the first member and are supported by the first member (See annotated Fig. 3C below. The locking hub and electrical contact assembly 250 and the actuator 340 are attached to and supported by the first member).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the first member is made of resin and the second member is made of metal.
Vogler teaches the first member is made of resin and the second member is made of metal (Fig. 1; ¶[71]; the side, top and bottom panels of shelf frame 10 may be made of metal while the back panel of shelf frame 10 may be made of a hard plastic).
In reviewing applicant’s discloser, though there is support for the claimed material selection, applicant fails to disclose any criticality to the particular selections. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Vogler’s (who teaches a related shelf and storage system) recitation of a broad range of materials including metals and plastics for parts of the shelf frame into Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to select a material type considering the part’s location and functionality within the apparatus. The well-known benefit of this being that certain parts may be made of plastic to take advantage of budget-friendly, weight, corrosion resistance and insulation properties while other parts may be made of metal to take advantage of strength, durability, and heat resistance properties.
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches the second electric terminal and the drive portion are arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Figs. 3C-3D; the assembly 250 and the actuator 340 are arranged to being within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches the first member includes an extending portion that is provided extending from a surface of the bottom portion that is opposite to a surface thereof that faces toward the second member; and the second electric terminal and the drive portion are attached to the extending portion (Figs. 3A and 3C; one of ordinary skill understands that the first member is integrated with an extending portion that is provided extending from a surface of the base 304 that is opposite to a surface thereof that faces toward the second member (i.e., a surface extension which permits assembly 250 to be properly seated in the bottom surface); and the assembly 250 and the actuator 340 are attached to that extending portion).
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Chen teaches the extending portion is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3C; it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the extending portion would be within a range of projection of an outer edge of the first member (i.e., an outer ring or an arm extending from first member to) in order to allow for the assembly 250 to be seated in the bottom surface in a fixed manner).
With respect to claim 12, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches the first member includes, in the bottom portion, a communication path configured to allow an inside and an outside of the holding portion to communicate with each other (Fig. 3E; ¶[90]; the electrical interface 360 situated in the bottom portion provides for the bidirectional flow of signals between the charging module 112 and the distribution system controller 114 (i.e., inside and outside of the holding portion)).
With respect to claim 15, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches an electronic circuit that is electrically connected to an electronic device installed in the holding portion, wherein the electronic circuit is attached to the first member and supported by the first member (Fig. 3E; the electrical interface 360 functions as an electronic device because it provides bidirectional flow of signals between the charging module 112 and the controller 114 thereby forming an electronic circuit. It is attached to the first member and supported by the first member).
With respect to claim 16, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. Further, Chen teaches the electronic circuit is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3E; the electrical interface 360 is arranged so as to be withing a range of projection of an outer edge of the first member).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPN 20160068075), in view of Vogler et al. (USPGPN 20140061218), and further in view of Etsunagi et al. (USPGPN 20190393627; identified in the IDS dated 04/05/2023).
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Chen teaches the drive portion includes a drive force transmission mechanism configured to mechanically connect the actuator and the second electric terminal, and the actuator and the drive force transmission mechanism are arranged so as to be within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3C; the linking member 342 physically couples the actuator 340 and the assembly 250, which these are arranged to being within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach an electric machine configured to receive a supply of electric power and generate drive force.
Etsunagi teaches an electric machine configured to receive a supply of electric power and generate drive force (¶[46] last sentence; the connection control part 350 includes a motor which one of ordinary skill understands receives a supply of electric power and generates a driving force).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Etsunagi’s motor to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have the ability to operate the actuator using a motor. The advantage of this being well known that motor operation of an actuator provides the force necessary for efficient and precise control thereby improving operation (see Etsunagi ¶[46]).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPN 20160068075), in view of Vogler et al. (USPGPN 20140061218), and further in view of Kuramochi et al. (Japanese Patent JP-2019193325-A; identified in the IDS dated 04/05/2023).
With respect to claim 6, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 6.
Kuramochi teaches an abutment portion configured to move integrally with the second electric terminal and a connection detecting portion configured to detect that the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal are connected, based on abutting against the abutment portion when the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal are connected (Figs. 4 and 6; ¶[24]; when terminals 32 and 12 abut the contact portions 17, 37 come in contact causing a contact sensor 38 to detect if there is a connection between the terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kuramochi’s connector detection method to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a feedback mechanism for when the terminals/connectors make or break a connection. The advantage of this being that the system would know when to initiate charging control of the battery (see Kuramochi ¶[24]).
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Chen teaches the connection apparatus is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3C; the assembly 250 which these are arranged to being within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the connection detection portion.
Kuramochi teaches the connection detection portion (Figs. 4 and 6; contact sensor 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kuramochi’s connector detection method to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a feedback mechanism for when the terminals/connectors make or break a connection. The advantage of this being that the system would know when to initiate charging control of the battery (see Kuramochi ¶[24]).
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 8.
Kuramochi teaches an abutment portion configured to move integrally with the second electric terminal; and a disconnection detecting portion configured to detect that the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal are disconnected, based on abutting against the abutment portion when the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal are disconnected (Figs. 4 and 6; ¶[24]; when terminals 32 and 12 abut the contact portions 17, 37 come in contact causing a contact sensor 38 to detect if there is a disconnection between the terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kuramochi’s connector detection method to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a feedback mechanism for when the terminals/connectors make or break a connection. The advantage of this being that the system would know when to initiate charging control of the battery (see Kuramochi ¶[24]).
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Chen teaches the disconnection apparatus is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3C; the assembly 250 which these are arranged to being within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the disconnection detecting portion.
Kuramochi teaches the disconnection detecting portion (Figs. 4 and 6; contact sensor 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kuramochi’s connector detection method to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a feedback mechanism for when the terminals/connectors make or break a connection. The advantage of this being that the system would know when to initiate charging control of the battery (see Kuramochi ¶[24]).
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPN 20160068075), in view of Vogler et al. (USPGPN 20140061218), and further in view of Tsuboi (Japanese Patent JP-2000341868-A; identified in the IDS dated 12/03/2024).
With respect to claim 10, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches the electric device includes a recessed portion formed to be recessed in the bottom surface (Figs. 2D and 3C; the portable electric energy storage device 120 includes a recessed portion (i.e., the recessed area containing assembly 240) formed to be recessed in the bottom surface as illustrated in Fig. 3C).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the holding portion includes a holding detection portion disposed on a surface, of the holding portion, that faces toward a bottom surface of the electric device, the holding detection portion being configured to detect that the electric device is held inside the holding portion, based on abutting against the bottom surface; the holding detection portion is arranged at a position that causes the holding detection portion to abut against the bottom surface when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in a first direction, and also that causes the holding detection portion to be inserted into the recessed portion when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in a second direction that is different from the first direction; and the holding detection portion does not abut against the bottom surface when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in the second direction.
Tsuboi teaches the holding portion includes a holding detection portion disposed on a surface, of the holding portion, that faces toward a bottom surface of the electric device, the holding detection portion being configured to detect that the electric device is held inside the holding portion, based on abutting against the bottom surface (Fig. 13; ¶[15, 38]; a limit switch 56 disposed on a surface of the slot 4 wherein via linking arms faces the bottom of battery 2 and is configured to detect the battery 2 being inserted into the slot 4 based on abutting against the slots bottom surface).
Tsuboi teaches the holding detection portion is arranged at a position that causes the holding detection portion to abut against the bottom surface when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in a first direction (Fig. 13; when the battery 2 is pressed against the linking arms (i.e., a first direction) the limit switch 56 (via the linking arms) abuts against the bottom surface).
Tsuboi teaches the holding detection portion does not abut against the bottom surface when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in the second direction (Fig. 13; when the battery 2 is moved away from the linking arms (i.e., a second direction) the limit switch 56 does not abut against the bottom surface).
Chen discloses the claimed invention except for also that causes the holding detection portion to be inserted into the recessed portion when the electric device is held inside the holding portion while facing in a second direction that is different from the first direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the holding detection portion in a manner in which it displaces into or out of the recessed portion of the electric device when the electric device is moved into or out of holding portion, since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. The advantage to this modification being a user could easily insert the battery into the holding apparatus (see ¶[07] of Tsuboi) by adapting a holding detection portion into the recessed region.
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Further, Chen teaches the holding portion apparatus is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member (Fig. 3C; the assembly 250 which these are arranged to being within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the holding detection portion.
Tsuboi teaches the holding detection portion (Fig. 13; limit switch 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Tsuboi’s holding detection portion (i.e., limit switch) to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a feedback mechanism for when the battery is inserted into the holding device. The advantage to this modification being a user could easily insert the battery into the holding apparatus (see ¶[07] of Tsuboi) by adapting a holding detection portion into the recessed region.
With respect to claim 13, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 12. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach a blowing portion configured to facilitate a flow of air between the inside and the outside of the holding portion, wherein: the blowing portion is attached to a position corresponding to the communication path on a surface of the bottom portion that is opposite to a surface thereof that faces toward the second member, and the blowing portion is supported by the first member.
Tsuboi teaches a blowing portion configured to facilitate a flow of air between the inside and the outside of the holding portion (Fig. 5; fan 8 is configured to facilitate a flow of air between the inside and the outside of the holding portion).
Chen discloses the claimed invention except for the blowing portion is attached to a position corresponding to the communication path on a surface of the bottom portion that is opposite to a surface thereof that faces toward the second member, and the blowing portion is supported by the first member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the fan disclosed by Tsuboi in Chen’s system by fixing the fan to the bottom portion in a position corresponding to the communication path opposite of the second member, since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. The advantage to this modification being adding a fan allows for ventilating the interior of the battery holder apparatus (see ¶[12] of Tsuboi) thus cooling down components and improving efficiency.
With respect to claim 14, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 13. Further, Chen teaches the apparatus is arranged so as to be within a range of a projection of an outer edge of the first member ((Fig. 3C; the assembly 250 which these are arranged to being within the range of the projection of the outer edge of the first member)).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach the blowing portion.
Tsuboi teaches the blowing portion (Fig. 5; fan 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Tsuboi’s fan to Chen’s two-way distribution, charging, and vending system in order to have a cooling mechanism for when the battery is inserted into the holding device for charging. The advantage to this modification being adding a fan allows for ventilating the interior of the battery holder apparatus (see ¶[12] of Tsuboi) thus cooling down components and improving efficiency.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and the prior art cited in the Foreign Office Actions were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859