DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #94 R1-1809219; Title: Initial Access in NR unlicensed; Source: Xiaomi; Agenda Item: 7.2.2.4.2; Document for: Discussion and Decision; Location and Date: Gothenburg, Sweden, August 20-24, 2018, consisting of 5 pages (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report), hereinafter Xiaomi.
Regarding claim 1, Xiaomi teaches a method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
transmitting first synchronisation signaling covering a plurality of first allocation units in a synchronisation time interval; and
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
transmitting second synchronisation signaling covering a plurality of second allocation units in the synchronisation time interval, the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronisation signaling.
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol. – Fig. 2, teaches SSS is fixed, which corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization signaling”.
Xiaomi in Fig. 2 and the cited portion(s) further teaches one of other symbols PBCH is shifted in Cyclic shift#1 of SSB#1; in another scenario, PSS (which corresponds to claim limitation “second synchronization signaling”) is shifted in Cyclic shift#2 of SSB#1. The PSS (“second synchronization signaling”) being shifted relative to SSS (“first synchronization signaling”), which teaches the claimed limitation “the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronization signaling”)
Regarding claim 2, Xiaomi teaches a transmitting radio node for a wireless communication network, the transmitting radio node comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Xiaomi: pages 1-2, 1. Introduction DL and UL and 2. SS/PBCH blocks transmission for NR-U SA where UE can achieve DL synchronization with the network) and Xiaomi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 2 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 3, Xiaomi teaches a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
communicating based on one or both:
received first synchronisation signaling covering a plurality of first allocation units in a synchronisation time interval; and
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
received second synchronisation signaling covering the plurality of second allocation units in the synchronisation time interval, the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronisation signaling.
(Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol. – Fig. 2, teaches SSS is fixed, which corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization signaling”.
Xiaomi in Fig. 2 and the cited portion(s) further teaches one of other symbols PBCH is shifted in Cyclic shift#1 of SSB#1; in another scenario, PSS (which corresponds to claim limitation “second synchronization signaling”) is shifted in Cyclic shift#2 of SSB#1. The PSS (“second synchronization signaling”) being shifted relative to SSS (“first synchronization signaling”), which teaches the claimed limitation “the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronization signaling”)
Regarding claim 4, Xiaomi teaches a receiving radio node for a wireless communication network, the receiving radio node comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Xiaomi: pages 1-2, 1. Introduction DL and UL and 2. SS/PBCH blocks transmission for NR-U SA where UE can achieve DL synchronization with the network) and Xiaomi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore apparatus claim 2 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 5, Xiaomi teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the second synchronisation signaling is shifted in at least one allocation unit. (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed (corresponds to claimed “first synchronisation signaling") and not shifted. While other symbols (other symbols such as PSS correspond to claimed “second synchronisation signaling") will be shifted around SSS symbol. In particular, Cyclic shift #2 of SSB#1 locates from symbol #8~#12 with transmission of SSS-PBCH-PSS-PBCH. Cyclic shift #3 of SSB#1 locates from symbol #9~#13 with transmission of SSS-PBCH-PSS-PBCH.)
Regarding claim 7, Xiaomi teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein one of both of the first synchronisation signaling and the second synchronisation signaling comprises one or both primary synchronisation signaling and secondary synchronisation signaling and/or broadcast signaling. (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed (corresponds to claimed “first synchronisation signaling") and not shifted. While other symbols (other symbols such as PSS correspond to claimed “second synchronisation signaling") will be shifted around SSS symbol. E.g., Cyclic shift #2 of SSB#1 locates from symbol #8~#12 with transmission of SSS-PBCH-PSS-PBCH.)
Regarding claim 9, Xiaomi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein information content of the first synchronisation signaling is the same as information content of the second synchronisation signaling. (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol. – where SSB#1 includes the same synchronization signaling and is relative to SSB#0)
Regarding claim 10, Xiaomi teaches the method or device according to claim 1, wherein the first synchronisation signaling and second synchronisation signaling are synchronised. (Xiaomi: figure 2, SSS is null-shifted while PSS is cyclically shifted with 1, 2 or 3. Section 2 – SS/PBCH blocks transmission for NR-U SA - From the SSB index and the fixed time location of each SSB, UE can achieve DL synchronization with the network)
Regarding claim 11, Xiaomi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein for each allocation unit of primary synchronisation signaling of the first synchronisation signaling, the second synchronisation signaling comprises shifted primary synchronisation signaling. (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
Regarding claim 12, Xiaomi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein for each allocation unit of secondary synchronisation signaling of the first synchronisation signaling, the second synchronisation signaling comprises shifted secondary synchronisation signaling. (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol.)
Regarding claim 13, Xiaomi teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein for a set of N allocation units carrying typified synchronisation signals, the typified synchronisation signals are shifted with a shift selected from a set of 2N shifts. (Xiaomi: sections 1-3 and figures 2-3, wherein N=4, figure 2 showing 4 cyclic shifts (0 to 3) and figure 3 showing 4 parallel shifts. Page 3 1st paragraph teaches - When LBT is considered, we could increase the SSB positions in a window of one half radio frame with a fixed backup SSB candidates. However, keep the maximum actual transmitted SSB to be fixed as the L in NR. Take the L=8 (where L=8 = 2*(N allocation units, here N = 4)), with 30 kHz SCS as example, the SSB could be transmitted in every subframe. Yet the total number of actual transmitted SSB number should be limited to L.).
Regarding claim 14, Xiaomi teaches a computer storage medium storing computer instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method, the method comprising: (Xiaomi: pages 1-2, 1. Introduction DL and UL and 2. SS/PBCH blocks transmission for NR-U SA where UE can achieve DL synchronization with the network) and Xiaomi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 2 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 20-21, Xiaomi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 5, 7 and 9-10, and therefore apparatus claims 16, 18 and 20-21 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaomi in view of Lei et al. US 20170317816 A1, hereinafter Lei.
Regarding claim 6, Xiaomi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second synchronisation signaling is shifted via one or both cyclic shifting (Xiaomi: pages 2-3, 2.3 Increasing SSB transmission opportunities – Fig. 2 and Option 2: cyclic shift of normal SSB. SSS, whose symbol is fixed and not shifted. While other symbols will be shifted around SSS symbol. – Fig. 2, teaches SSS is fixed, which corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization signaling”. Xiaomi in Fig. 2 and the cited portion(s) further teaches one of other symbols PBCH is shifted in Cyclic shift#1 of SSB#1; in another scenario, PSS (which corresponds to claim limitation “second synchronization signaling”) is shifted in Cyclic shift#2 of SSB#1. The PSS (“second synchronization signaling”) being shifted relative to SSS (“first synchronization signaling”), which teaches the claimed limitation “the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronization signaling”).
Xiaomi does not explicitly teaches: wherein the second synchronisation signaling ramping.
Lei from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the second synchronisation signaling ramping. (Lei: para. [0094] and Abstract teaches eNB constructs an SSS using a ZC root index, a scrambling code, a cyclic shift or phase ramping sequence, and an interleaving sequence, wherein a combination of the ZC root index, the scrambling code index, the cyclic shift or phase ramping sequence index, and the interleaving sequence index signals information for a cell identifier (e.g., PCID) and frame timing information (e.g., SFN timing information)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lei in the method of Xiaomi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for allow the eNB to construct a SSS that allows robust detection by a UE of cell ID and frame timing in both synchronized and asynchronized multi-cell deployment (Lei: para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Xiaomi and Lei teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, and therefore apparatus claim 17 is rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remarks on independent claims 1-4 and 14 (pages 11-13), applicant submits
“However, Xiaomi's SSB#1 is shifted relative to the SSS symbol of SSB#1 where Xiaomi's SSB#0 does not affect how SSB#1 is shifted, i.e., SSB#1 is not shifted relative to SSB#0. Further, the Office Action's general assertion that "SSB#1 is relative to SSB#0" does not address Xiaomi's explicit teaching that SSB#1 is cyclic shifted relative to SSS of SSB#1 or even relative to the normal SSB#1, but that SSB#1 is not cyclic shifted relative to SSB#0 (Page 5 of the Office Action).” (pages 12-13)
Like applicant pointed out, the cited portions of Xiaomi, Fig. 2, teaches SSS is fixed, which corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization signaling”.
Xiaomi in Fig. 2 and the cited portion(s) further teaches one of other symbols PBCH is shifted in Cyclic shift#1 of SSB#1; in another scenario, PSS (which corresponds to claim limitation “second synchronization signaling”) is shifted in Cyclic shift#2 of SSB#1. The PSS (“second synchronization signaling”) being shifted relative to SSS (“first synchronization signaling”), which teaches the claimed limitation “the second synchronisation signaling being shifted relative to the first synchronization signaling”, and thus rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claims 6 and 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to 112 2nd rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 2nd rejection of claims 2 and 4 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to 112 2nd rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 2nd rejection of claim 13 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418