DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/3/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 12 and 17 are cancelled, claim 11 was previously cancelled. Claims 1-4, 10 and 13 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-16, 18-21 are pending and have been examined, of which claims 1-4 and 10 are independent.
Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are withdrawn.
The objections to the specification and abstract have been withdrawn.
Claim objections for claims 1-4 and 10 raised in previous office action have been withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 USC 101 for claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Claim rejections under 35 USC 112(b) for claims 1-10, 12-21 raised in previous office action have been withdrawn.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
The following rejections are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment filed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 10, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-4 and 10 recite “one of more of: reference signaling”, which appear to be typographical error for “one [[of]] or more of: reference signaling”.
Claim 4 line 12 and claim 13 line 2 recite, “the comprising processing circuitry”, which appears to be typographical error for “the .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-16, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210360610)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network (abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2.
However, regarding limitation - the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure, communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure - Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2; the entire UL data channel #1 is not transmitted, while the DL control channel # 2 is transmitted, thus teaches the above limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with omitting data associated with overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Kim for the benefit of improving the efficiency of radio resources as taught by Kim in Para 27.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a receiving radio node for a wireless communication network (fig 49; para 754: communication node (terminal or base station) for performing the methods; abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node comprising processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) being configured for:
data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1);
indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units(para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel); and
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2.
However, regarding limitation - the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure, communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure - Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2; the entire UL data channel #1 is not transmitted, while the DL control channel # 2 is transmitted, thus teaches the above limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with omitting data associated with overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Kim for the benefit of improving the efficiency of radio resources as taught by Kim in Para 27.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a method of operating a signaling radio node in a wireless communication network (serving base station as described in para 634 and with respect to fig 43, 45), the signaling radio node being configured for communicating with a receiving radio node based on data signaling (para 637: the serving base station may instruct the terminal through the DL control channel #2), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating with the receiving radio node omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2.
However, regarding limitation - the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure, communicating with the receiving radio node, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure - Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2; the entire UL data channel #1 is not transmitted, while the DL control channel # 2 is transmitted, thus teaches the above limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with omitting data associated with overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Kim for the benefit of improving the efficiency of radio resources as taught by Kim in Para 27.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a signaling radio node for a wireless communication network (fig 49; para 754: communication node (terminal or base station) for performing the methods; serving base station as described in para 634 and with respect to fig 43, 45), the signaling radio node comprising processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) being configured for communicating with a receiving radio node based on data signaling (para 637: the serving base station may instruct the terminal through the DL control channel #2), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the comprising processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) configured to:
communicate with the receiving radio node omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2.
However, regarding limitation - the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure, communicating with the receiving radio node, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure - Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2; the entire UL data channel #1 is not transmitted, while the DL control channel # 2 is transmitted, thus teaches the above limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with omitting data associated with overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Kim for the benefit of improving the efficiency of radio resources as taught by Kim in Para 27.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium (memory 4920, fig 49) storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform (para 755-758: the computer readable medium may include a hardware device such as ROM, RAM, and flash memory, which are specifically configured to store and execute the program instructions executable by a computer) a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network (abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2.
However, regarding limitation - the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure, communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure - Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2; the entire UL data channel #1 is not transmitted, while the DL control channel # 2 is transmitted, thus teaches the above limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with omitting data associated with overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Kim for the benefit of improving the efficiency of radio resources as taught by Kim in Para 27.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 18, Kim further teaches wherein the receiving radio node (or processing circuitry) is configured for communicating utilising data signaling (para 641: the terminal may transmit the UCI using the UL control channel instead of the UL data channel #2) comprising one code block bundle or a plurality of code block bundles mapped to at least one second signaling resource structure (para 641: the terminal may map all UCIs to front symbols of the UL data channel #1 (or the first frequency hop). In this case, the transport block or CBGs may be mapped to the UL data channel (or the first frequency hop) after the UCI is mapped), the at least one second signaling resource structure being disjunct in time domain to the indication resource structure (fig 45 shows resources the UL data channel 1 being disjunct in time domain from UL data channel 2), wherein communicating comprises communicating using data signaling on the at least one second signaling resource structure (para 641: the terminal may transmit the UCI using the UL control channel instead of the UL data channel #2).
Regarding claim 7, 14 and 19, Kim further teaches wherein the first signaling resource structure is only partly overlapped by the indication resource structure (Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2).
Regarding claim 8, 15 and 20, Kim further teaches wherein data signaling is associated to a physical data channel (para 622: the terminal may map the UCI and the transport block to different physical channels (i.e., the UCI to the UL control channel, and the transport block to the UL data channel); fig 43 shows UL data channel).
Regarding claim 9, 16 and 21, Kim further teaches wherein communicating comprises one or both transmitting and receiving data signaling on at least one signaling resource structure (para 634: when the transport block is first transmitted on the UL data channel #1, the DL control channel #1 should instruct the terminal to transmit all the CBGs constituting the corresponding transport block on the UL data channel #1, thereafter, the DL control channel #2 indicating reassignment may instruct the terminal to transmit only some of the CBGs; here, the UL transmission by terminal is considered received by base station).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to Kim not teaching the amended claim limitation of claim 1 (page 17-18) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Kim teaches dropping of entire UL data channel including the UL control channel which is different than applicant’s claimed feature of dropping data signaling of the first resource structure while permitting reference, synchronization or control signaling. The examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claim recites the node being configured for indication signaling on indication resource structure and communicating by omitting data signaling by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure. The claim does not limit the permitting (or communicating/ transmitting/ receiving) indication signaling while or at the same time the data signaling is omitted or not transmitted. In other words, the claim recites communicating, but does not limit what is being communicated during the time data signaling is omitted or not transmitted. Kim teaches the code block group transmission for uplink data channel and also DL control signal transmission overlapping in time domain with data channel in fig 43 and 45. Further, in fig 45, the UL data channel # 1 does not transmit configured CBG # 2 or # 3, which overlaps with DL control channel #2 configuring CBG 2 and 3 for the bandwidth 2 and UL data channel # 2. Thus, the reference appears to teach the partially overlapping resources of control channel and not transmitted data channel, as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 2/23/2026