DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 11-12 and 17 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 10 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-16, 18-21 are pending and have been examined, of which claims 1-4 and 10 are independent.
Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are withdrawn.
Claim objections for claims 1-4 and 10 raised in previous office action have been withdrawn. It is noted that the objection to claim 13 has been maintained.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
The following rejections are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment filed.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 line 2 recites, “the comprising processing circuitry”, which appears to be typographical error for “the .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-16, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210360610) in view of Chen et al. (US 20160174238)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network (abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2. Chen is directed to prioritizing colliding transmissions in LTE and URLLC communications.
Chen further teaches the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure (fig 5, para 51: 1 ms subframe 500 that includes legacy downlink transmission resources 502, the ULL transmission resources may be assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a non-DM-RS region 540, as shown by ULL transmission resources 512, or assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a DM-RS region 506, as shown by ULL transmission resources 514; para 53: in LTE, an eNB can transmit a DM-RS in one or more code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, where the DM-RS can be multiplexed in each CDM group based on rank), communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: a UE accordingly can be configured to prioritize communications where the legacy downlink transmission resources and ULL transmission resources overlap (e.g., for ULL transmission resources 512 and 514)), and by transmitting the indication signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 and ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may relate to different UEs, and the UE(s) related to ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may then be configured to prioritize communications received over overlapping ULL transmission resources 512 and 514 where the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 correspond to communications with one or more other UEs; as shown in fig 4 and para 50, the ULL transmission includes uPUCCH (ULL control channel); here, the ULL including uPUCCH, and ULL given priority over legacy transmission in the overlapping resources have been considered for the claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with prioritizing control signaling in overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding resources interfering with all symbols of DM-RS transmissions as taught by Chen in Para 77.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a receiving radio node for a wireless communication network (fig 49; para 754: communication node (terminal or base station) for performing the methods; abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node comprising processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) being configured for:
data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1);
indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units(para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel); and
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2. Chen is directed to prioritizing colliding transmissions in LTE and URLLC communications.
Chen further teaches the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure (fig 5, para 51: 1 ms subframe 500 that includes legacy downlink transmission resources 502, the ULL transmission resources may be assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a non-DM-RS region 540, as shown by ULL transmission resources 512, or assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a DM-RS region 506, as shown by ULL transmission resources 514; para 53: in LTE, an eNB can transmit a DM-RS in one or more code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, where the DM-RS can be multiplexed in each CDM group based on rank), communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: a UE accordingly can be configured to prioritize communications where the legacy downlink transmission resources and ULL transmission resources overlap (e.g., for ULL transmission resources 512 and 514)), and by transmitting the indication signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 and ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may relate to different UEs, and the UE(s) related to ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may then be configured to prioritize communications received over overlapping ULL transmission resources 512 and 514 where the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 correspond to communications with one or more other UEs; as shown in fig 4 and para 50, the ULL transmission includes uPUCCH (ULL control channel); here, the ULL including uPUCCH, and ULL given priority over legacy transmission in the overlapping resources have been considered for the claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with prioritizing control signaling in overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding resources interfering with all symbols of DM-RS transmissions as taught by Chen in Para 77.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a method of operating a signaling radio node in a wireless communication network (serving base station as described in para 634 and with respect to fig 43, 45), the signaling radio node being configured for communicating with a receiving radio node based on data signaling (para 637: the serving base station may instruct the terminal through the DL control channel #2), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating with the receiving radio node omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2. Chen is directed to prioritizing colliding transmissions in LTE and URLLC communications.
Chen further teaches the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure (fig 5, para 51: 1 ms subframe 500 that includes legacy downlink transmission resources 502, the ULL transmission resources may be assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a non-DM-RS region 540, as shown by ULL transmission resources 512, or assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a DM-RS region 506, as shown by ULL transmission resources 514; para 53: in LTE, an eNB can transmit a DM-RS in one or more code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, where the DM-RS can be multiplexed in each CDM group based on rank), communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: a UE accordingly can be configured to prioritize communications where the legacy downlink transmission resources and ULL transmission resources overlap (e.g., for ULL transmission resources 512 and 514)), and by transmitting the indication signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 and ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may relate to different UEs, and the UE(s) related to ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may then be configured to prioritize communications received over overlapping ULL transmission resources 512 and 514 where the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 correspond to communications with one or more other UEs; as shown in fig 4 and para 50, the ULL transmission includes uPUCCH (ULL control channel); here, the ULL including uPUCCH, and ULL given priority over legacy transmission in the overlapping resources have been considered for the claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with prioritizing control signaling in overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding resources interfering with all symbols of DM-RS transmissions as taught by Chen in Para 77.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a signaling radio node for a wireless communication network (fig 49; para 754: communication node (terminal or base station) for performing the methods; serving base station as described in para 634 and with respect to fig 43, 45), the signaling radio node comprising processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) being configured for communicating with a receiving radio node based on data signaling (para 637: the serving base station may instruct the terminal through the DL control channel #2), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the processing circuitry (fig 49, the communication node 4900 comprising processor and memory) configured to:
communicate with the receiving radio node omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2. Chen is directed to prioritizing colliding transmissions in LTE and URLLC communications.
Chen further teaches the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure (fig 5, para 51: 1 ms subframe 500 that includes legacy downlink transmission resources 502, the ULL transmission resources may be assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a non-DM-RS region 540, as shown by ULL transmission resources 512, or assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a DM-RS region 506, as shown by ULL transmission resources 514; para 53: in LTE, an eNB can transmit a DM-RS in one or more code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, where the DM-RS can be multiplexed in each CDM group based on rank), communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: a UE accordingly can be configured to prioritize communications where the legacy downlink transmission resources and ULL transmission resources overlap (e.g., for ULL transmission resources 512 and 514)), and by transmitting the indication signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 and ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may relate to different UEs, and the UE(s) related to ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may then be configured to prioritize communications received over overlapping ULL transmission resources 512 and 514 where the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 correspond to communications with one or more other UEs; as shown in fig 4 and para 50, the ULL transmission includes uPUCCH (ULL control channel); here, the ULL including uPUCCH, and ULL given priority over legacy transmission in the overlapping resources have been considered for the claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with prioritizing control signaling in overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding resources interfering with all symbols of DM-RS transmissions as taught by Chen in Para 77.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium (memory 4920, fig 49) storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform (para 755-758: the computer readable medium may include a hardware device such as ROM, RAM, and flash memory, which are specifically configured to store and execute the program instructions executable by a computer) a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network (abstract: a method for operating a terminal which transmits uplink control information (UCI)), the receiving radio node being configured for data signaling according to a code block distribution (fig 45; para 635: the DL control channel #1 instructs the terminal to divide the transport block into three CBGs and map the three CBGs to the UL data channel #1 for transmission), the code block distribution mapping one or more code blocks of a code block bundle to a first signaling resource structure comprising one or a plurality of allocation units (as shown in fig 45, CBG#1, 2 and 3 are mapped on UL data channel # 1), the receiving radio node further being configured for indication signaling on an indication resource structure comprising one or more allocation units (para 635: the DL control channel #2 may instruct the terminal to transmit only the CBG #2 and the CBG #3, which are a portion of the CBGs, to the UL data channel #2; here, DL control channel #2 is considered indication signaling), the indication signaling being one or both of represented by and comprising control information signaling (DL control channel #2 in fig 43 and 45 are control channel indicates reassignment of UL channel or CBG2-3 of UL channel), the method comprising:
communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 635-637: the terminal may transmit only the CBG #1 on the UL data channel #1 according to the indication of the DL control channel #1, the terminal may allocate resources for the CBG #2 and the CBG #3 according to the DL control channel #2, in fig 45, the CBG #1 and the CBG #2 may be mapped to the same symbol in the UL data channel #1, the subcarriers to which the CBG #2 is mapped are transmitted as being empty).
Kim teaches code block group based transport block transmission in reassignment of a UL data channel using DL control channel. Kim in fig 45, teaches that DL control channel 1 assigns UL channel 1 with CBG#1, 2 and 3 for transport block, while the reassignment DL control channel 2 assigns CBG#2 and 3, where the UL channel 1 transmits CBG 1 and sends empty data in CBG 2 of UL channel 1 that is mapped to same symbol as CBG 1 (para 636). Thus, the resources mapped to CBG are overlapping, but fig 45 does not show time domain overlap of the resources assigned by DL control channel 1 and 2. Chen is directed to prioritizing colliding transmissions in LTE and URLLC communications.
Chen further teaches the first signaling resource structure being at least partly overlapped in time domain by the indication resource structure (fig 5, para 51: 1 ms subframe 500 that includes legacy downlink transmission resources 502, the ULL transmission resources may be assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a non-DM-RS region 540, as shown by ULL transmission resources 512, or assigned to overlap the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 in a DM-RS region 506, as shown by ULL transmission resources 514; para 53: in LTE, an eNB can transmit a DM-RS in one or more code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, where the DM-RS can be multiplexed in each CDM group based on rank), communicating, omitting data signaling associated to the first signaling resource structure, by not transmitting or receiving data signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: a UE accordingly can be configured to prioritize communications where the legacy downlink transmission resources and ULL transmission resources overlap (e.g., for ULL transmission resources 512 and 514)), and by transmitting the indication signaling on the first signaling resource structure (para 52: the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 and ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may relate to different UEs, and the UE(s) related to ULL transmission resources 512, 514 may then be configured to prioritize communications received over overlapping ULL transmission resources 512 and 514 where the legacy downlink transmission resources 502 correspond to communications with one or more other UEs; as shown in fig 4 and para 50, the ULL transmission includes uPUCCH (ULL control channel); here, the ULL including uPUCCH, and ULL given priority over legacy transmission in the overlapping resources have been considered for the claim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine code block based resource mapping and communication as taught by Kim with prioritizing control signaling in overlapping resources in time domain as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding resources interfering with all symbols of DM-RS transmissions as taught by Chen in Para 77.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 18, Kim further teaches wherein the receiving radio node (or processing circuitry) is configured for communicating utilising data signaling (para 641: the terminal may transmit the UCI using the UL control channel instead of the UL data channel #2) comprising one code block bundle or a plurality of code block bundles mapped to at least one second signaling resource structure (para 641: the terminal may map all UCIs to front symbols of the UL data channel #1 (or the first frequency hop). In this case, the transport block or CBGs may be mapped to the UL data channel (or the first frequency hop) after the UCI is mapped), the at least one second signaling resource structure being disjunct in time domain to the indication resource structure (fig 45 shows resources the UL data channel 1 being disjunct in time domain from UL data channel 2), wherein communicating comprises communicating using data signaling on the at least one second signaling resource structure (para 641: the terminal may transmit the UCI using the UL control channel instead of the UL data channel #2).
Regarding claim 7, 14 and 19, Kim further teaches wherein the first signaling resource structure is only partly overlapped by the indication resource structure (Kim in fig 45 shows the transmission interval 1 for UL channel 1 being partially overlapped in time domain by DL control channel # 2 for reassignment of CBG #2 and #3 on UL channel #2).
Regarding claim 8, 15 and 20, Kim further teaches wherein data signaling is associated to a physical data channel (para 622: the terminal may map the UCI and the transport block to different physical channels (i.e., the UCI to the UL control channel, and the transport block to the UL data channel); fig 43 shows UL data channel).
Regarding claim 9, 16 and 21, Kim further teaches wherein communicating comprises one or both transmitting and receiving data signaling on at least one signaling resource structure (para 634: when the transport block is first transmitted on the UL data channel #1, the DL control channel #1 should instruct the terminal to transmit all the CBGs constituting the corresponding transport block on the UL data channel #1, thereafter, the DL control channel #2 indicating reassignment may instruct the terminal to transmit only some of the CBGs; here, the UL transmission by terminal is considered received by base station).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Kim not teaching the amended claim limitation of claim 1 (page 10-11) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 6/24/2026