DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Modification A1, Modification B1, Modification C1, and Modification E1, upon which claims 1-5, 7, 8, 12, 16, and 17 read, in the reply filed on 1/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 9-11, and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and modification, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junichi JP 2007264005 A (hereinafter referred to as Junichi).
Regarding claim 1, Junichi teaches
A display device (“organic EL display device 1” [0026] FIG. 1) comprising:
a display panel (“EL substrate 2” [0026]) including a plurality of semiconductor light-emitting elements (“plurality of display regions” that each comprise a “transparent electrode 6”, a “hole transport layer 7”, an “organic EL layer 8”, and a “metal electrode 9”, [0026]), each of the plurality of semiconductor light-emitting elements including a light-emitting layer (“organic EL layer 8”);
a drive substrate (“TFT base 3” [0026]) having a drive circuit (“TFT base 3” contains thin film transistors “TFTs 15”) and facing the display panel (“TFT base 3” faces “EL substrate 2”); and
a plurality of joints (“conductive adhesive 17”, of which the examiner understands there is one “conductive adhesive 17” for each light-emitting element, [0033]), each of the plurality of joints electrically connecting each of a plurality of the semiconductor light-emitting elements to the drive substrate (“conductive adhesive 17” connects “TFT 15” to the light-emitting element, [0033]),
wherein, in a case where a direction in which the display panel and the drive substrate face each other is a line-of-sight direction, the semiconductor light-emitting element has a light- emitting region whose position at a center is shifted from a position of a center of the joint to be joined to the semiconductor light-emitting element (“conductive adhesive 17” is in contact with the portion of “metal electrode 9” formed over “bank 11”, wherein “bank 11” partitions the light-emitting regions [0026], such that each “conductive adhesive 17” is formed between adjacent light-emitting elements and their centers are shifted from each other.)
Regarding claim 5, Junichi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting regions adjacent to each other are separated from each other (“banks 11” separate the “display regions”, [0026]) , and in a case where the direction in which the display panel and the drive substrate face each other is the line-of-sight direction, the joint is located in a region between the light- emitting regions adjacent to each other (“conductive adhesive 17” is formed on “bank 11”, such that “conductive adhesive 17” is disposed between adjacent “display regions”).
Claims 1, 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edmond et al. US 20170294418 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Edmond).
Regarding claim 1, Edmond teaches
A display device (“multi-LED chip” on “interface element 94” para. 00232 FIG. 11A-11B) comprising:
a display panel (light emitting device that includes multiple “flip chip LEDs 10” on “substrate 15”, para. 0232) including a plurality of semiconductor light-emitting elements (“flip chip LEDs 10”), each of the plurality of semiconductor light-emitting elements including a light-emitting layer (LEDs are understood to contain light-emitting layers so light is produced, such as in the embodiment of FIG. 1 that contains “active region 25”, para. 0197);
a drive substrate having a drive circuit (“interface element 94”, which is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip that controls the current to each “flip chip LED 10”, para. 0230 and 0232) and facing the display panel (“interface element 94” faces the “flip chip LEDs 10” on “substate 15”); and
a plurality of joints (“solder bumps 93” para. 0232), each of the plurality of joints electrically connecting each of a plurality of the semiconductor light-emitting elements to the drive substrate (pairs of “solder bumps 93” connect each “flip chip LED 10” to “interface element 94”),
wherein, in a case where a direction in which the display panel and the drive substrate face each other is a line-of-sight direction, the semiconductor light-emitting element has a light- emitting region whose position at a center is shifted from a position of a center of the joint to be joined to the semiconductor light-emitting element (“solder bumps 93” are shown as being disposed between a center and an edge of each “flip chip LED 10”.).
Regarding claim 7¸ Edmond teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the joint includes a bump joint (“solder bumps 93” are bumps).
Regarding claim 8¸ Edmond teaches the display device according to wherein the bump joint has a side surface part curved in a protruding shape (“solder bumps 93” are shown as round in FIG. 11A-11B, such that the side surface can be said to protrude outward in a direction orthogonal to the bonding direction).
Regarding claim 12¸ Edmond teaches the display device according to wherein the joint includes a material having reflow properties (“solder bump 93” is solder, which is known to reflow. Furthermore, para. 0232 indicates that “solder bump 93” is heated and compressed to bond “interface element 94” with “flip chip LEDs 10”. This is understood as a reflow operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Junichi teaches the display device according claim 1 but fails to expressly teach wherein the center of the joint and the center of the light-emitting region are shifted from each other with a positional shift having a magnitude of 1/4 or more and 3/4 or less of a center-to-center distance between the light-emitting regions adjacent to each other along a direction of the positional shift.
Nevertheless, “banks 11” partition the light-emitting elements and each “conductive adhesive 17” is formed on a “bank 11” (see [0026]). Thus, there is a “conductive adhesive 17” formed between adjacent “display regions” that contain the light-emitting element stacks of “transparent electrode 6”, a “hole transport layer 7”, an “organic EL layer 8”, and a “metal electrode 9”. It is reasonable to expect that each “display region” has a substantially similar width and their centers are a similar distance shifted from the “conductive adhesive 17” in between. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that if the “conductive adhesive 17” is disposed on a “bank 11” in between adjacent “display regions”, the “conductive adhesive 17” can be around the midpoint between the centers of the “display regions”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the centers of the joint are between ¼ and ¾ of the center-to-center distance between adjacent light emitting regions. The joints are formed on bank structures that partition the light-emitting regions.
Regarding claim 3, Junichi teaches the display device according to The display device according to wherein the center of the joint and the center of the light-emitting region are shifted from each other with a positional shift having a magnitude of about 1/2 of a center-to- center distance between the light-emitting regions adjacent to each other along a direction of the positional shift.
Nevertheless, “banks 11” partition the light-emitting elements and each “conductive adhesive 17” is formed on a “bank 11” (see [0026]). Thus, there is a “conductive adhesive 17” formed between adjacent “display regions” that contain the light-emitting element stacks of “transparent electrode 6”, a “hole transport layer 7”, an “organic EL layer 8”, and a “metal electrode 9”. It is reasonable to expect that each “display region” has a substantially similar width and their centers are a similar distance shifted from the “conductive adhesive 17” in between. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that if the “conductive adhesive 17” is disposed on a “bank 11” in between adjacent “display regions”, the “conductive adhesive 17” can be around the midpoint between the centers of the “display regions”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the centers of the joint are around 1/2 of the center-to-center distance between adjacent light emitting regions. The joints are formed on bank structures that partition the light-emitting regions.
Regarding claim 4, Junichi teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the direction in which the display panel and the drive substrate face each other is the line-of-sight direction (“EL substrate 2” and “TFT base 3” face each other), and the center of the joint and the center of the light- emitting region are positionally shifted from each other in a direction that extends along an arrangement direction of the semiconductor light-emitting elements (“conductive adhesive 17” is in contact with the portion of “metal electrode 9” formed over “bank 11”, wherein “bank 11” partitions the light-emitting regions [0026], such that each “conductive adhesive 17” is formed between adjacent light-emitting elements and their centers are shifted from each other.).
However, fails to expressly teach a plurality of the semiconductor light-emitting elements is two-dimensionally arranged.
Nevertheless, a typical display device has light emitting regions in two dimensions to that a two-dimensional image is shown, as seen in FIG. 4 of Liao US 20180269184 A1, FIG. 1 of Kwag et al. US 20200144231 A1, and FIG. 2 of Xin et al. US 10516081 B1. Otherwise, a one-dimensional arrangement of “display regions” would not be able to display an image. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “EL substrate 2” has the plurality of “display regions” arranged in two dimensions so that images can be displayed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of light emitting regions in [] are two-dimensionally arranged so that images can be displayed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jeong et al. US 20210028244 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jeong), in view of Bower et al. US 20170047393 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bower).
Junichi teaches the display device according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein each of a plurality of the semiconductor light- emitting elements is a micro light-emitting diode (LED).
Nevertheless, Jeong teaches a display panel comprising organic light emitting elements (para. 0073 FIG. 3). Jeong proposes that the display panel may alternatively be an LCD display panel or a micro LED panel, among others (para. 0061). Bower indicates that micro LEDs are low-aperture ratio elements that enable greater areas for interconnections and enable higher resolution displays compared to OLEDs or LCDs (para. 0016-0017). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the organic light emitting element stack “transparent electrode 6”, a “hole transport layer 7”, an “organic EL layer 8”, and a “metal electrode 9” can be replaced by a micro LED so that the display resolution is greater.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Junichi with the micro LED taught between Jeong and Bower. Micro LEDs are smaller, such that the display panel can have a greater pixel density and image resolution.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Bower et al. US 20170047393 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bower).
Junichi teaches the display device according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the semiconductor light-emitting elements adjacent to each other have different light-emission colors from each other.
Nevertheless, Bower teaches a display panel with “light emitting areas LA1 to LA4” that include “first light emitting portion LA_R to emit light of a first color, a second light emitting portion LA_G to emit light of a second color, and a third light emitting portion LA_B to emit light of a third color” (para. 0090 FIG. 4). This produces a multicolor display device. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that having adjacent light emitting elements with different colors such as “first light emitting portion LA_R”, “second light emitting portion LA_G”, and “third light emitting portion LA_B” forms a multicolor display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught in Junichi with the different colored light emitting elements taught in Bower. Having light emitting elements with different colors allows for a colored image to be displayed.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898