DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5-7 are pending. Claims 1-4 and 8 have been canceled. Note that, the preliminary amendment filed September 18, 2025, has been entered.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 6/27/25 have been withdrawn:
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN101338251A, has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,082,516 (i.e. WO91/17236), has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 6 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,082,516 (i.e. WO91/17236) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ortmann et al (US2014/0190526) or Peitersen et al (US2006/0112972), has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3,399,013.
‘013 teaches a laundry detergent composition which provides improved grease removal both with and without pretreatment, wherein the composition has a pH of from 6 to 8.9. See Abstract. ‘013 specifically teaches laundry detergent compositions containing 2% of 2-ethyl hexanol, 0.003% of a silicone suds suppressor, etc. See para. 87. Additionally, ‘013 specifically teaches laundry detergent compositions containing 0.5% of 2-propylheptanol, 0.02% silicone suds suppressor, etc. Note that, the Examiner asserts that ‘013 clearly teaches adding 2-propylheptanol to a cleaning composition wherein 2-propylheptanol clearly falls within the scope of the structure recited by instant claim 1 and would serve as a foam control agent since it is the same as the branched alcohol as recited by the instant claims. Additionally, the Examiner asserts that laundry detergent composition as taught by ‘013 would clearly fall within the broad scope of an “industrial or institutional cleaner” as recited by the instant claims. ‘013 discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of ‘013 anticipate the material limitations of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 USC 102, Applicant states that the '013 reference does not specifically disclose 2-propylheptanol, as now recited by instant claim 1.
In response, note that, as set forth above, ’013 clearly teaches a composition containing, for example, 0.5% of 2-propylheptanol, 0.02% silicone suds suppressor, etc. Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of ‘013 are sufficient to anticipate the claimed invention under 35 USC 102.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/December 9, 2025