DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/3/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 38-58 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hiratsuka; Daisuke et al. US 20220408390 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-39, 41, 49-51, 53, 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka; Daisuke et al. US PGPUB 20220408390 A1, in view of Park; Jung-Kun US PGPUB 20150195723 A1.
Regarding claim 38. Hiratsuka teaches A method for managing uplink transmission of user data, the method being performed by a baseband unit, the baseband unit being operatively connected to at least two radio units, ([0044] In the case of FIG. 3B, the FHM 130 combines the two FI-1 signals from the respective O-RUs 120 (pre-stage devices) and then transmits the combined signal to the O-DU 110.) the method comprising:
sending a scheduler request for uplink user data to a radio unit, ([0073] The parameter notification unit 117 notifies the intermediate device 130 of at least a portion of the parameters decided by the parameter control unit 115. [0074] Specifically, the parameter notification unit 117 can transmit the capability information set for the intermediate device 130 to the intermediate device 130.
See [0046] In addition, in the following description, the FHM 130 and the O-RU 130A are collectively referred to as the intermediate device 130.)
the scheduler request comprising a control message comprising parameters pertaining to transmission of uplink user data from the at least two radio units to the baseband unit, wherein the parameters specify a transmission window per each of the at least two radio units for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit; ([0131] In the present embodiment, the O-DU 110 can decide capability information set for the intermediate device 130 based on at least the above-described processing time information and the capability information of the pre-stage device (O-RU 120) provided on the fronthaul. For this reason, in a case where the shared cell configuration is applied, it is possible to set more appropriate sizes of the transmission window and the reception window.)
and receiving uplink user data from the radio units in accordance with the parameters, ([0081] Specifically, the parameter setting unit 137 sets the sizes of the transmission window and the reception window for the FH signal applied to the intermediate device 130 based on the capability information (corresponding to Ta3_min and/or Ta3_max) decided based on the processing time information indicating the processing time in the intermediate device 130.) wherein the baseband unit is an Open Radio Access Network Digital Unit, O-DU, and each of the at least two radio units is a respective Open Radio Access Network Radio Unit, O-RU. (Fig. 11, O-DU and O-RU(1-3))
Hiratsuka does not teach
sending a request to the at least two radio units
receive uplink user data from the at least two radio units
However, Park teaches
sending a request to the at least two radio units ([0054] In step 603, the redundancy apparatus duplicates the transmit signal of the normally operating neighbor base transceiver DU.)
receive uplink user data from the at least two radio units ([0058] In step 703, the redundancy apparatus receives the data channels, e.g., I/Q signals, of the RU of the selected base transceiver, and the RU previously linked to the failed DU.)
in order to improve system reliability by introducing redundancy scheme between Dus and Rus.
Hiratsuka and Park are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of redundancy in Park in order to improve system reliability.
Regarding claim 39, Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, Hiratsuka does not teach comprising the further step of: determining the amount and type of data to request from each radio unit in said control message.
However, Park teaches determining the amount and type of data to request from each radio unit in said control message. (see Fig. 6 and 7, esp. [0058] In step 703, the redundancy apparatus receives the data channels, e.g., I/Q signals, of the RU of the selected base transceiver, and the RU previously linked to the failed DU. [0059] In step 705, the redundancy apparatus combines the received data channel I/Q signals, e.g., as described with reference to FIG. 3 above. [0060] In step 707, the redundancy apparatus provides the combined signal to the selected base transceiver DU.)
in order to improve system reliability by introducing redundancy scheme between Dus and Rus.
Hiratsuka and Park are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of redundancy in Park in order to improve system reliability.
Regarding claim 41. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, and Hiratsuka teaches wherein the parameters specify at least partly overlapping transmission windows for the at least two radio units for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit. (Fig. 12, transmit window TA3_max for O-RU(1-3) are partially overlapping).
Regarding claim 49. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, and Hiratsuka teaches wherein the control message is sent in a scheduler request for the uplink user data. ([0131] In the present embodiment, the O-DU 110 can decide capability information set for the intermediate device 130 based on at least the above-described processing time information and the capability information of the pre-stage device (O-RU 120) provided on the fronthaul. For this reason, in a case where the shared cell configuration is applied, it is possible to set more appropriate sizes of the transmission window and the reception window.)
Regarding claim 50. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, and Hiratsuka teaches wherein the baseband unit is operatively connected to the at least two radio units over a fronthaul network. (Fig. 3A-3C)
Regarding claim 51. Hiratsuka teaches A method for uplink transmission of user data, the method being performed by a radio unit, the radio unit being operatively connected to a baseband unit, (([0044] In the case of FIG. 3B, the FHM 130 combines the two FI-1 signals from the respective O-RUs 120 (pre-stage devices) and then transmits the combined signal to the O-DU 110.))
the method comprising: receiving a scheduler request for uplink user data from the baseband unit, ([0073] The parameter notification unit 117 notifies the intermediate device 130 of at least a portion of the parameters decided by the parameter control unit 115. [0074] Specifically, the parameter notification unit 117 can transmit the capability information set for the intermediate device 130 to the intermediate device 130.
See [0046] In addition, in the following description, the FHM 130 and the O-RU 130A are collectively referred to as the intermediate device 130.)
the scheduler request comprising a control message comprising parameters pertaining to transmission of uplink user data from the radio unit to the baseband unit, wherein the parameters specify a transmission window for the radio unit for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit, and specify what uplink data each radio unit shall forward to the base band unit; ([0131] In the present embodiment, the O-DU 110 can decide capability information set for the intermediate device 130 based on at least the above-described processing time information and the capability information of the pre-stage device (O-RU 120) provided on the fronthaul. For this reason, in a case where the shared cell configuration is applied, it is possible to set more appropriate sizes of the transmission window and the reception window.)
and sending uplink user data to the baseband unit in accordance with the parameters, ([0081] Specifically, the parameter setting unit 137 sets the sizes of the transmission window and the reception window for the FH signal applied to the intermediate device 130 based on the capability information (corresponding to Ta3_min and/or Ta3_max) decided based on the processing time information indicating the processing time in the intermediate device 130.) wherein the radio unit is an Open Radio Access Network Radio Unit, O-RU, and the baseband unit is an Open Radio Access Network Digital Unit, O-DU. . (Fig. 11, O-DU and O-RU(1-3))
Hiratsuka does not teach
sending uplink user data from the at least two radio units
However, Park teaches
sending uplink user data from the at least two radio units ([0058] In step 703, the redundancy apparatus receives the data channels, e.g., I/Q signals, of the RU of the selected base transceiver, and the RU previously linked to the failed DU.)
in order to improve system reliability by introducing redundancy scheme between Dus and Rus.
Hiratsuka and Park are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of redundancy in Park in order to improve system reliability.
Regarding claim 53. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 51, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the transmission window is shared with at least one other radio unit operatively connected to the baseband unit. (Fig. 3A-3C)
Regarding claim 57. Hiratsuka and Park teach A baseband unit for managing uplink transmission of user data, the baseband unit being operatively connected to at least two radio units (Hiratsuka Fig. 3A-3C) and comprising processing circuitry, (Hiratsuka Fig. 5) the processing circuitry being configured to cause the baseband unit to perform the method in claim 38. It is rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claim 58. Thelen and Lee teaches A radio unit for uplink transmission of user data, the radio unit being operatively connected to a baseband unit (Hiratsuka Fig. 3A-3C) and comprising processing circuitry, (Hiratsuka Fig. 5) the processing circuitry being configured to cause the radio unit to perform the method in claim 51. It is rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 40 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka and Park as applied to claim 38 above, further in view of THELEN; Christian Oliver et al. US PGPUB 20220095160 A1.
Regarding claim 40. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, Thelen
wherein the parameters specify a respective unique non-overlapping transmission window for each of the at least two radio units for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit.
However, Thelen teaches wherein the parameters specify a respective unique non-overlapping transmission window for each of the at least two radio units for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit. ([0099] lar property, such as beamforming weights, for example In this example, the various sections are non-overlapping and a section is created for a group of symbols/RBs that have a same pattern (e.g., 704-1, 704-2, and 704-3 have a same pattern, and 706-1 and 706-2 share another pattern).)
In order to optimize handling or indication of high priority data sections in a communication system. ([0002])
Hiratsuka and Thelen are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of indication of high priority data in Thelen in order to optimize handling or indication of high priority data sections in a communication system.
Regarding claim 52. Hiratsuka and Park teaches The method according to claim 51, but they don’t teach wherein the transmission window is unique and non-overlapping with respect to transmission windows of any other radio unit operatively connected to the baseband unit.
However, Thelen teaches wherein the parameters specify a respective unique non-overlapping transmission window for each of the at least two radio units for the transmission of uplink user data to the baseband unit. ([0099] lar property, such as beamforming weights, for example In this example, the various sections are non-overlapping and a section is created for a group of symbols/RBs that have a same pattern (e.g., 704-1, 704-2, and 704-3 have a same pattern, and 706-1 and 706-2 share another pattern).)
In order to optimize handling or indication of high priority data sections in a communication system. ([0002])
Hiratsuka and Thelen are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of indication of high priority data in Thelen in order to optimize handling or indication of high priority data sections in a communication system.
Claims 42, 43, 46, 54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka and Park as applied to claim 38 and 51 above, and further in view of LOU; Chong et al. US PGPUB 20220022224 A1.
Regarding claim 42. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, but it does not teach wherein the parameters specify start of the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units.
However, Lou teaches the parameters specify start of the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units. ([0061] for example, the PUCCH resource information may include start time information and a period. Correspondingly, after obtaining the configured PUCCH resource information, the terminal device may determine a periodic SR transmission occasion, so that when triggering the SR, the terminal device may send the SR on the SR transmission occasion.)
In order to improve the communication efficiency by multiplexing PUCCH/SR and PUSCH.
Hiratsuka and Lou are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in order to improve the communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 43. Hiratsuka and Park and Lou teachesThe method according to claim 42, and Thelen and Lee does not teach wherein the start of the transmission window is specified at a time resolution of one symbol.
However, Lou teaches wherein the start of the transmission window is specified at a time resolution of one symbol.
([0089[ For example, referring to FIG. 4A, a resource indicated by an uplink grant corresponding to a PUSCH includes a symbol 1 to a symbol 6 in time domain, and an overlapping time domain resource may include a symbol 5 and a symbol 6.
[0066] A manner in which the network device schedules an uplink resource based on an SR or random access may be understood as dynamic scheduling. Dynamic scheduling means that the network device indicates a resource by using physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)), for example, an uplink grant (uplink grant). )
In order to improve the communication efficiency by multiplexing PUCCH/SR and PUSCH.
Hiratsuka and Lou are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in order to improve the communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 46. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, but it does not teach wherein the parameters specify type of transmission in the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units.
However, Lou teaches wherein the parameters specify type of transmission in the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units. ([0064] In this way, when different service types of data are to be sent, the terminal device may send an SR based on an SR configuration corresponding to a logical channel used to carry data, so that the network device perceives a service type of the current to-be-sent data of the terminal device.)
In order to improve the communication efficiency by multiplexing PUCCH/SR and PUSCH.
Hiratsuka and Lou are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in order to improve the communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 54. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 51, but it does not teach wherein the parameters specify start of the transmission window for the radio unit.
However, Lou teaches wherein the parameters specify start of the transmission window for the radio unit. ([0061] for example, the PUCCH resource information may include start time information and a period. Correspondingly, after obtaining the configured PUCCH resource information, the terminal device may determine a periodic SR transmission occasion, so that when triggering the SR, the terminal device may send the SR on the SR transmission occasion.)
In order to improve the communication efficiency by multiplexing PUCCH/SR and PUSCH.
Hiratsuka and Lou are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in order to improve the communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 56. Hiratsuka and Park and Lee teach The method according to claim 51, but they don’t teach wherein the parameters specify type of transmission in the transmission window for the radio unit.
However, Lou teaches wherein the parameters specify type of transmission in the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units. ([0064] In this way, when different service types of data are to be sent, the terminal device may send an SR based on an SR configuration corresponding to a logical channel used to carry data, so that the network device perceives a service type of the current to-be-sent data of the terminal device.)
In order to improve the communication efficiency by multiplexing PUCCH/SR and PUSCH.
Hiratsuka and Lou are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in order to improve the communication efficiency.
Claims 44 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka and Lou as applied to claim 38 and 51 above, further in view of Lee; Moon-il et al. US PGPUB 20180176000 A1. (Lee-Moon)
Regarding claim 44. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 38, but it does not teach wherein the parameters specify size of the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units.
However, Lee-Moon teaches wherein the parameters specify size of the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units.([0125] Upon a Scheduling Request (SR) sent by the WTRU, the eNB may signal as a part of the UL grant, the window size to be used. The signal may be an explicit combination of bits that the WTRU may interpret as one of the semi-statically configured UL window sizes.)
In order to increase spectrum efficiency ([0106])
Hiratsuka and Lee-Moon are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in Lee-Moon in order to increase spectrum efficiency.
Regarding claim 55. Hiratsuka and Park teach The method according to claim 51, they don’t teach wherein the parameters specify size of the transmission window for the radio unit.
However, Lee-Moon teaches wherein the parameters specify size of the transmission window per each of the at least two radio units.([0125] Upon a Scheduling Request (SR) sent by the WTRU, the eNB may signal as a part of the UL grant, the window size to be used. The signal may be an explicit combination of bits that the WTRU may interpret as one of the semi-statically configured UL window sizes.)
In order to increase spectrum efficiency ([0106])
Hiratsuka and Lee-Moon are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of SR configuration in Lee-Moon in order to increase spectrum efficiency.
Claims 45, 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka and Park and Lee and Lee-Moon as applied to claim 44 above, further in view of Wang; Renqiu et al. US PGPUB 20180054282 A1
Regarding claim 45. Hiratsuka and Park and Lee and Lee-Moon teaches The method according to claim 44, but it does not teach wherein the size of the transmission window is specified at a time resolution of half a symbol.
However, Wang teaches
wherein the size of the transmission window is specified at a time resolution of half a symbol. ([0080] As indicated above, an uplink common burst symbol may include various types of information, such as an SRS, SR, feedback information, uplink data, or any combination thereof. In some cases, an uplink common burst transmission 210 may be split into two half-symbols, in which each split symbol has double tone spacing and a half cyclic prefix (CP) length. In such examples, the first half symbol may be used for SRS and SR, and the second half symbols may be used for feedback information and uplink data (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data).)
in order to enhance interference mitigation and increase the likelihood of successful reception of the uplink burst transmission ([0080])
Hiratsuka and Wang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of half-symbol allocation in Wang in order to enhance interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 47. Hiratsuka and Park and Lee and Lee-Moon teach The method according to claim 46, but it does not teach wherein the type of transmission indicates whether the uplink user data is to be evenly distributed over time within the transmission window or is to be sent in burst-mode within the transmission window.
However, Wang teaches wherein the type of transmission indicates whether the uplink user data is to be evenly distributed over time within the transmission window or is to be sent in burst-mode within the transmission window. ([0063] an uplink common burst symbol may be used at the end of a subframe to transmit various types of information, such as an SRS, a scheduling request (SR), HARQ acknowledgment/negative-acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) information, uplink data, or combinations thereof. The type of information to be provided in the uplink common burst symbol may be used, in some examples, to determine a waveform for the symbol.)
in order to enhance interference mitigation and increase the likelihood of successful reception of the uplink burst transmission ([0080])
Hiratsuka and Wang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of half-symbol allocation in Wang in order to enhance interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 48. Hiratsuka, Park, Lee and Wang teaches The method according to claim 47, but Hiratsuka and Park and Lee does not teach wherein the type of transmission is indicated by a flag.
However, Wang teaches
wherein the type of transmission is indicated by a flag. (Abstract: “The control message may be generated in a distributed unit (DU) and conveyed to a radio unit (RU) via a fronthaul link The control message may include either a flag or bits in a field of an extension data section allowing a RU to determine repeat of the highest priority data section based on reception of the flag or processing of the bit value in the field”)
in order to enhance interference mitigation and increase the likelihood of successful reception of the uplink burst transmission ([0080])
Hiratsuka and Wang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Hiratsuka with the technique of half-symbol allocation in Wang in order to enhance interference mitigation.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468