Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 12, 23, and 34 have been amended. Claims 1, 12-23 and 34-44 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 14, 23, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230016768, hereinafter, “Yang”) in view of Calcev et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230189020, hereinafter, “Calcev”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches:
A method implemented by a network node in a communication network for obtaining channel state information (CSI), the method comprising (Yang: [0046] FIG. 6 illustrates example operations 600 for wireless communications by a network entity, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. For example, operations 600 may be performed by a BS 110 (e.g., a gNB) shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 to trigger a UE 120 (performing operations 500 of FIG. 5) to generate and send an A-CSI report on PUCCH. Fig. 6):
generating a downlink control information (DCI) to trigger an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Yang: [0047] Operations 600 begin at 602, by sending a UE information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 604, the [BS] sends the UE a first downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 6); and
transmitting the DCI to a terminal device to initiate A-CSI reporting on the PUCCH (Yang: [0047] Operations 600 begin at 602, by sending a UE information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 604, the [BS] sends the UE a first downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 6).
Although Yang teaches the UE receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Calcev teaches:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0038] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first DCI further comprises any one or more of following: a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) time domain indicator indicating a CSI-IM configuration for interference statistics measurement; … or a parameter Statistics-Type indicating a type of interference statistics per resource to be reported by the UE, the type of interference statistics comprising an average clear channel duration, a standard deviation of clear channel durations, an average busy channel duration, a longest clear channel duration, a shortest clear channel duration, a longest busy channel duration, or a shortest busy channel duration for a duration of a measurement period …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang to include the features as taught by Calcev above in order to provide receiver assisted transmission in a shared or unlicensed spectrum. (Calcev, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches:
A network node in a communication network, comprising (Yang: [0046] FIG. 6 illustrates example operations 600 for wireless communications by a network entity, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. For example, operations 600 may be performed by a BS 110 (e.g., a gNB) shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 to trigger a UE 120 (performing operations 500 of FIG. 5) to generate and send an A-CSI report on PUCCH. Fig. 6):
a processor (Yang: [0028] … controller/processor 240 of the BS 110 may be configured to perform operations 600 of FIG. 6. Fig. 2); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor and adapted to store instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the network node to (Yang: [0033]... The controller/processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at the BS 110 may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein ... The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 and UE 120, respectively ... Figs. 1, 2):
generate a downlink control information (DCI) to trigger an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Yang: [0047] Operations 600 begin at 602, by sending a UE information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 604, the [BS] sends the UE a first downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 6); and
transmit the DCI to a terminal device to initiate A-CSI reporting on the PUCCH (Yang: [0047] Operations 600 begin at 602, by sending a UE information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 604, the [BS] sends the UE a first downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 6).
Although Yang teaches the UE receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Calcev teaches:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0038] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first DCI further comprises any one or more of following: a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) time domain indicator indicating a CSI-IM configuration for interference statistics measurement; … or a parameter Statistics-Type indicating a type of interference statistics per resource to be reported by the UE, the type of interference statistics comprising an average clear channel duration, a standard deviation of clear channel durations, an average busy channel duration, a longest clear channel duration, a shortest clear channel duration, a longest busy channel duration, or a shortest busy channel duration for a duration of a measurement period …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang to include the features as taught by Calcev above in order to provide receiver assisted transmission in a shared or unlicensed spectrum. (Calcev, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang further teaches:
wherein the DCI includes a field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting (Yang: [0047] ... At 604, the [BS] sends the UE a first downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report [i.e., request] on the PUCCH ... Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Yang teaches:
A method implemented by a terminal device in a communication network for providing channel state information (CSI), the method comprising (Yang: [0044] FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. For example, operations 500 may be performed by a UE 120 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 to generate an A-CSI report, triggered by a DL grant, and send the A-CSI report on a PUCCH. Fig. 5):
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) to trigger an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Yang: [0045] Operations 500 begin at 502, by obtaining information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 504, the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 5);
obtaining a CSI report (Yang: [0045] ... At 506, the UE generates the A-CSI report based on one of the set of A-CSI reporting configurations selected based on the field in the DCI ... Fig. 5); and
transmitting the CSI report to a network node on the PUCCH (Yang: [0045] ... At 508, the UE transmits the CSI report on the PUCCH. Fig. 5).
Although Yang teaches the UE receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement;
wherein the CSI report is based on the multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Calcev teaches:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0038] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first DCI further comprises any one or more of following: a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) time domain indicator indicating a CSI-IM configuration for interference statistics measurement; … or a parameter Statistics-Type indicating a type of interference statistics per resource to be reported by the UE, the type of interference statistics comprising an average clear channel duration, a standard deviation of clear channel durations, an average busy channel duration, a longest clear channel duration, a shortest clear channel duration, a longest busy channel duration, or a shortest busy channel duration for a duration of a measurement period …);
wherein the CSI report is based on the multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0039] … performing, by the UE upon triggered by the DCI, a first measurement of received energy on the resource; generating, by the UE, a first measurement report based on the first measurement … [0046] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the resource comprises a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) resource or a CSI-IM resource set … [0051] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first measurement report comprises an interference measurement indicator (IMI) indicating a measurement result of the resource or a subset of the resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang to include the features as taught by Calcev above in order to provide receiver assisted transmission in a shared or unlicensed spectrum. (Calcev, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 34, Yang teaches:
A terminal device in a communication network for providing channel state information (CSI), comprising (Yang: [0044] FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. For example, operations 500 may be performed by a UE 120 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 to generate an A-CSI report, triggered by a DL grant, and send the A-CSI report on a PUCCH. Fig. 5):
a processor (Yang: [0028] … controller/processor 280 of the UE 120 may be configured to perform operations 500 of FIG. 5. Fig. 2); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor and adapted to store instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the user equipment (UE) to (Yang: [0033] ... The controller/processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at the UE 120 may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein. The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 and UE 120, respectively ... Figs. 1, 2):
receive a downlink control information (DCI) to trigger an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reporting via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Yang: [0045] Operations 500 begin at 502, by obtaining information regarding a set of one or more configurations for aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI) reporting on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). At 504, the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 5);
obtain a CSI report (Yang: [0045] ... At 506, the UE generates the A-CSI report based on one of the set of A-CSI reporting configurations selected based on the field in the DCI ... Fig. 5); and
transmit the CSI report to a network node on the PUCCH (Yang: [0045] ... At 508, the UE transmits the CSI report on the PUCCH. Fig. 5).
Although Yang teaches the UE receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement;
wherein the CSI report is based on the multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Calcev teaches:
wherein the CSI reporting comprises statistical CSI reporting based on multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0038] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first DCI further comprises any one or more of following: a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) time domain indicator indicating a CSI-IM configuration for interference statistics measurement; … or a parameter Statistics-Type indicating a type of interference statistics per resource to be reported by the UE, the type of interference statistics comprising an average clear channel duration, a standard deviation of clear channel durations, an average busy channel duration, a longest clear channel duration, a shortest clear channel duration, a longest busy channel duration, or a shortest busy channel duration for a duration of a measurement period …);
wherein the CSI report is based on the multiple CSI reference resources for interference measurement (Calcev: [0039] … performing, by the UE upon triggered by the DCI, a first measurement of received energy on the resource; generating, by the UE, a first measurement report based on the first measurement … [0046] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the resource comprises a channel state information-interference measurement (CSI-IM) resource or a CSI-IM resource set … [0051] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the first measurement report comprises an interference measurement indicator (IMI) indicating a measurement result of the resource or a subset of the resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang to include the features as taught by Calcev above in order to provide receiver assisted transmission in a shared or unlicensed spectrum. (Calcev, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 36, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang further teaches:
wherein the DCI includes a field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting (Yang: [0045] ... At 504, the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) for a downlink grant that includes at least one field to trigger an A-CSI report on the PUCCH ... Fig. 5).
Claims 13, 15, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev in view of Kim et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200313831, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 13, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI comprises one of a format 1_1 DCI and a format 1_2 DCI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the DCI comprises one of a format 1_1 DCI (Kim: [0195] In accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, a method for measuring and reporting CSI by using scheduling DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1) of a PDSCH is provide, wherein a base station may indicate, to a terminal, scheduling information of a PDSCH, and allocation information (e.g., a PUCCH resource indicator in DCI format 1_1) of a PUCCH in which a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH is to be transmitted, by using DCI …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to effectively measuring and reporting a channel state of a changed BWP. (Kim, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a PUCCH resource indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator indicates a PUCCH resource in which A-CSI report on PUCCH is transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a PUCCH resource indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator indicates a PUCCH resource in which A-CSI report on PUCCH is transmitted (Kim: [0198] The base station may trigger aperiodic CSI reporting for the terminal by DCI scheduling a PDSCH, and the terminal may report corresponding CSI by using a PUCCH resource indicated by a PUCCH resource indicator in the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to effectively measuring and reporting a channel state of a changed BWP. (Kim, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 35, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI comprises one of a format 1_1 DCI and a format 1_2 DCI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the DCI comprises one of a format 1_1 DCI (Kim: [0195] In accordance with an aspect of the disclosure, a method for measuring and reporting CSI by using scheduling DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1) of a PDSCH is provide, wherein a base station may indicate, to a terminal, scheduling information of a PDSCH, and allocation information (e.g., a PUCCH resource indicator in DCI format 1_1) of a PUCCH in which a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH is to be transmitted, by using DCI …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to effectively measuring and reporting a channel state of a changed BWP. (Kim, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 37, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 36 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a PUCCH resource indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator indicates a PUCCH resource in which A-CSI report on PUCCH is transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a PUCCH resource indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator indicates a PUCCH resource in which A-CSI report on PUCCH is transmitted (Kim: [0198] The base station may trigger aperiodic CSI reporting for the terminal by DCI scheduling a PDSCH, and the terminal may report corresponding CSI by using a PUCCH resource indicated by a PUCCH resource indicator in the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to effectively measuring and reporting a channel state of a changed BWP. (Kim, ¶ [0009]).
Claims 16 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev in view of Papasakellariou (US Patent Application Publication, 20210037555, hereinafter, “Papasakellariou”).
Regarding claim 16, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a field with a bit-length above a threshold value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Papasakellariou teaches:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a field with a bit-length above a threshold value (Papasakellariou: [0120] When the DCI format schedules a PUCCH transmission with an A-CSI report the reinterpretation of the bits [threshold value] (other than the for the ones of the A-CSI report trigger) of the DCI format can provide one or more of the following information fields: a PUCCH resource indicator providing a PUCCH resource; a PDCCH-to-CSI report timing indicator providing a slot for the PUCCH transmission relative to the slot of the PDCCH reception with the DCI format; and/or a TPC command for PUCCH transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Papasakellariou above in order to support CSI feedback for support of multiple services. (Papasakellariou, ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 38, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 36 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a field with a bit-length above a threshold value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Papasakellariou teaches:
wherein the field for indicating a request for A-CSI reporting comprises a field with a bit-length above a threshold value (Papasakellariou: [0120] When the DCI format schedules a PUCCH transmission with an A-CSI report the reinterpretation of the bits [threshold value] (other than the for the ones of the A-CSI report trigger) of the DCI format can provide one or more of the following information fields: a PUCCH resource indicator providing a PUCCH resource; a PDCCH-to-CSI report timing indicator providing a slot for the PUCCH transmission relative to the slot of the PDCCH reception with the DCI format; and/or a TPC command for PUCCH transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Papasakellariou above in order to support CSI feedback for support of multiple services. (Papasakellariou, ¶ [0004]).
Claims 17, 19, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev in view of Zhang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200178240, hereinafter, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 17, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein characteristics of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
wherein characteristics of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting (Zhang: [0086] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating gNB 105a and UE 115a configured according to one aspect of the present disclosure. A-CSI group-common PDCCH can be separately configured. gNB 105a sends A-CSI PUCCH configuration 1200 to UE 11a to provide a CSI-RNTI for unscrambling the CRC of group common DCI 1201, and the CSI-Trigger index for identifying which codepoint in group common DCI 1201 is allocated to UE 115a. Within the A-CSI trigger for UE 15a (A-CSI Trigger 1 of codepoint 1) a PUCCH format is included for UE 115a. For short PUCCH and long PUCCH, at least one configuration may be defined for A-CSI reporting using short PUCCH, and at least one configuration for A-CSI reporting using a long PUCCH. For different PUCCH formats, a first option would allow at least one configuration for each format, while, in a second option, the PUCCH format may be semi-statically configured, which may include a field to indicate the PUCCH format. Such PUCCH formats may be included within the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1 for UE 115a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhang above in order to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications. (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting (Zhang: [0086] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating gNB 105a and UE 115a configured according to one aspect of the present disclosure. A-CSI group-common PDCCH can be separately configured. gNB 105a sends A-CSI PUCCH configuration 1200 to UE 11a to provide a CSI-RNTI for unscrambling the CRC of group common DCI 1201, and the CSI-Trigger index for identifying which codepoint in group common DCI 1201 is allocated to UE 115a. Within the A-CSI trigger for UE 15a (A-CSI Trigger 1 of codepoint 1) a PUCCH format is included for UE 115a. For short PUCCH and long PUCCH, at least one configuration may be defined for A-CSI reporting using short PUCCH, and at least one configuration for A-CSI reporting using a long PUCCH. For different PUCCH formats, a first option would allow at least one configuration for each format, while, in a second option, the PUCCH format may be semi-statically configured, which may include a field to indicate the PUCCH format. Such PUCCH formats may be included within the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1 for UE 115a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhang above in order to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications. (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 39, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein characteristics of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
wherein characteristics of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting (Zhang: [0086] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating gNB 105a and UE 115a configured according to one aspect of the present disclosure. A-CSI group-common PDCCH can be separately configured. gNB 105a sends A-CSI PUCCH configuration 1200 to UE 11a to provide a CSI-RNTI for unscrambling the CRC of group common DCI 1201, and the CSI-Trigger index for identifying which codepoint in group common DCI 1201 is allocated to UE 115a. Within the A-CSI trigger for UE 15a (A-CSI Trigger 1 of codepoint 1) a PUCCH format is included for UE 115a. For short PUCCH and long PUCCH, at least one configuration may be defined for A-CSI reporting using short PUCCH, and at least one configuration for A-CSI reporting using a long PUCCH. For different PUCCH formats, a first option would allow at least one configuration for each format, while, in a second option, the PUCCH format may be semi-statically configured, which may include a field to indicate the PUCCH format. Such PUCCH formats may be included within the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1 for UE 115a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhang above in order to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications. (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 41, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the DCI indicates that the DCI comprises a request for A-CSI reporting (Zhang: [0086] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating gNB 105a and UE 115a configured according to one aspect of the present disclosure. A-CSI group-common PDCCH can be separately configured. gNB 105a sends A-CSI PUCCH configuration 1200 to UE 11a to provide a CSI-RNTI for unscrambling the CRC of group common DCI 1201, and the CSI-Trigger index for identifying which codepoint in group common DCI 1201 is allocated to UE 115a. Within the A-CSI trigger for UE 15a (A-CSI Trigger 1 of codepoint 1) a PUCCH format is included for UE 115a. For short PUCCH and long PUCCH, at least one configuration may be defined for A-CSI reporting using short PUCCH, and at least one configuration for A-CSI reporting using a long PUCCH. For different PUCCH formats, a first option would allow at least one configuration for each format, while, in a second option, the PUCCH format may be semi-statically configured, which may include a field to indicate the PUCCH format. Such PUCCH formats may be included within the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1 for UE 115a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhang above in order to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications. (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Claims 18 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev-Zhang in view of Kwak et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210184824, hereinafter, “Kwak”).
Regarding claim 18, Yang-Calcev-Zhang discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev-Zhang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the characteristics of the PDCCH comprise one or more of a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwak teaches:
wherein the characteristics of the PDCCH comprise one or more of a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space set (Kwak: [0181] ... The wireless device may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on/for the CORESET, for example, based on the one or more RRC messages. The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats. Monitoring may comprise decoding DCI content of one or more PDCCH candidates with possible (or configured) PDCCH locations, possible (or configured) PDCCH formats (e.g., the number of CCEs, the number of PDCCH candidates in common search spaces, and/or the number of PDCCH candidates in the wireless device-specific search spaces) and possible (or configured) DCI formats. The decoding may be referred to as blind decoding. The wireless device may determine DCI as valid for the wireless device, for example, after or in response to CRC checking (e.g., scrambled bits for CRC parity bits of the DCI matching an RNTI value). The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev-Zhang to include the features as taught by Kwak above in order to minimize switching delay. (Kwak, ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 40, Yang-Calcev-Zhang discloses on the features with respect to claim 39 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev-Zhang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the characteristics of the PDCCH comprise one or more of a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space set.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwak teaches:
wherein the characteristics of the PDCCH comprise one or more of a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space set (Kwak: [0181] ... The wireless device may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on/for the CORESET, for example, based on the one or more RRC messages. The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats. Monitoring may comprise decoding DCI content of one or more PDCCH candidates with possible (or configured) PDCCH locations, possible (or configured) PDCCH formats (e.g., the number of CCEs, the number of PDCCH candidates in common search spaces, and/or the number of PDCCH candidates in the wireless device-specific search spaces) and possible (or configured) DCI formats. The decoding may be referred to as blind decoding. The wireless device may determine DCI as valid for the wireless device, for example, after or in response to CRC checking (e.g., scrambled bits for CRC parity bits of the DCI matching an RNTI value). The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev-Zhang to include the features as taught by Kwak above in order to minimize switching delay. (Kwak, ¶ [0004]).
Claims 20 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev in view of Zhou et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210185609, hereinafter, “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 20, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI includes an indication of one or more CSI trigger states, wherein the one or more CSI trigger states contains at least one associated CSI report configuration which is explicitly configured with a reporting type of A-CSI on PUCCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
wherein the DCI includes an indication of one or more CSI trigger states, wherein the one or more CSI trigger states contains at least one associated CSI report configuration which is explicitly configured with a reporting type of A-CSI on PUCCH (Zhou: [0443] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 55, a wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise aperiodic CSI configuration parameters (e.g., for aperiodic CSI reports on an uplink control channel). The aperiodic CSI configuration parameters may comprise one or more information elements indicating a list of aperiodic trigger states. In an example, a trigger state in the list of trigger states may indicate reference signals for aperiodic CSI measurement and/or reporting parameters. In an example, an aperiodic trigger state in the list of the aperiodic trigger states may indicate radio resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) and uplink control channel type (e.g., short, long, etc.) for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report. In an example, radio resources and/or uplink control channel type may be determined based on the parameters of the aperiodic trigger state and/or a DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH. In an example, the DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH may indicate a parameter in a plurality of parameters wherein the radio resources for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report is based on the parameter. In an example, the DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH may comprise a field, a value of the field may indicate an index to a parameter in a plurality of parameters wherein the radio resources for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report is based on the parameter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhou above in order to improve performance of a wireless network. (Zhou, ¶ [0187]).
Regarding claim 42, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI includes an indication of one or more CSI trigger states, wherein the one or more CSI trigger states contains at least one associated CSI report configuration which is explicitly configured with a reporting type of A-CSI on PUCCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
wherein the DCI includes an indication of one or more CSI trigger states, wherein the one or more CSI trigger states contains at least one associated CSI report configuration which is explicitly configured with a reporting type of A-CSI on PUCCH (Zhou: [0443] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 55, a wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise aperiodic CSI configuration parameters (e.g., for aperiodic CSI reports on an uplink control channel). The aperiodic CSI configuration parameters may comprise one or more information elements indicating a list of aperiodic trigger states. In an example, a trigger state in the list of trigger states may indicate reference signals for aperiodic CSI measurement and/or reporting parameters. In an example, an aperiodic trigger state in the list of the aperiodic trigger states may indicate radio resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) and uplink control channel type (e.g., short, long, etc.) for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report. In an example, radio resources and/or uplink control channel type may be determined based on the parameters of the aperiodic trigger state and/or a DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH. In an example, the DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH may indicate a parameter in a plurality of parameters wherein the radio resources for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report is based on the parameter. In an example, the DCI triggering/scheduling the aperiodic CSI report on PUCCH may comprise a field, a value of the field may indicate an index to a parameter in a plurality of parameters wherein the radio resources for transmission of the aperiodic CSI report is based on the parameter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Zhou above in order to improve performance of a wireless network. (Zhou, ¶ [0187]).
Claims 21-22 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang-Calcev in view of Ijaz (US Patent Application Publication, 20230299827, hereinafter, “Ijaz”).
Regarding claim 21, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI includes an indication PUCCH resources to be used for the A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ijaz teaches:
wherein the DCI includes an indication PUCCH resources to be used for the A-CSI reporting (Ijaz: [0054] .... At step 605, it is determined whether or not there are sufficient PUCCH resources available for allocation in a DL DCI to be used to transmit multiplexed A-CSI report data and HARQ-ACK data without compromising the reliability or latency of HARQ-ACK feedback. If so, it proceeds to step 606 and generates and transmits a DL DCI with the CSI trigger field populated appropriately to trigger a CSI report. In this case, and as shown schematically in FIG. 7A, the DL DCI format has an additional bit x (which may be an existing bit, reused for the present purpose, or a newly-defined field) which can be set to, for example, ‘0’ to signify to the UE that CSI report data is required to be multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK message data and transmitted to the gNB using the allocated PUCCH resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Ijaz above in order to enable faster and more flexible A-CSI reporting. (Ijaz, ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 22, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is to be multiplexed on the PUCCH with the A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ijaz teaches:
wherein hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is to be multiplexed on the PUCCH with the A-CSI reporting (Ijaz: [0054] ... At step 605, it is determined whether or not there are sufficient PUCCH resources available for allocation in a DL DCI to be used to transmit multiplexed A-CSI report data and HARQ-ACK data without compromising the reliability or latency of HARQ-ACK feedback. If so, it proceeds to step 606 and generates and transmits a DL DCI with the CSI trigger field populated appropriately to trigger a CSI report. In this case, and as shown schematically in FIG. 7A, the DL DCI format has an additional bit x (which may be an existing bit, reused for the present purpose, or a newly-defined field) which can be set to, for example, ‘0’ to signify to the UE that CSI report data is required to be multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK message data and transmitted to the gNB using the allocated PUCCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Ijaz above in order to enable faster and more flexible A-CSI reporting. (Ijaz, ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 43, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI includes an indication PUCCH resources to be used for the A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ijaz teaches:
wherein the DCI includes an indication PUCCH resources to be used for the A-CSI reporting (Ijaz: [0054] .... At step 605, it is determined whether or not there are sufficient PUCCH resources available for allocation in a DL DCI to be used to transmit multiplexed A-CSI report data and HARQ-ACK data without compromising the reliability or latency of HARQ-ACK feedback. If so, it proceeds to step 606 and generates and transmits a DL DCI with the CSI trigger field populated appropriately to trigger a CSI report. In this case, and as shown schematically in FIG. 7A, the DL DCI format has an additional bit x (which may be an existing bit, reused for the present purpose, or a newly-defined field) which can be set to, for example, ‘0’ to signify to the UE that CSI report data is required to be multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK message data and transmitted to the gNB using the allocated PUCCH resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Ijaz above in order to enable faster and more flexible A-CSI reporting. (Ijaz, ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 44, Yang-Calcev discloses on the features with respect to claim 34 as outlined above.
Yang-Calcev does not explicitly teach:
wherein hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is to be multiplexed on the PUCCH with the A-CSI reporting.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ijaz teaches:
wherein hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is to be multiplexed on the PUCCH with the A-CSI reporting (Ijaz: [0054] ... At step 605, it is determined whether or not there are sufficient PUCCH resources available for allocation in a DL DCI to be used to transmit multiplexed A-CSI report data and HARQ-ACK data without compromising the reliability or latency of HARQ-ACK feedback. If so, it proceeds to step 606 and generates and transmits a DL DCI with the CSI trigger field populated appropriately to trigger a CSI report. In this case, and as shown schematically in FIG. 7A, the DL DCI format has an additional bit x (which may be an existing bit, reused for the present purpose, or a newly-defined field) which can be set to, for example, ‘0’ to signify to the UE that CSI report data is required to be multiplexed with the HARQ-ACK message data and transmitted to the gNB using the allocated PUCCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang-Calcev to include the features as taught by Ijaz above in order to enable faster and more flexible A-CSI reporting. (Ijaz, ¶ [0056]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416