DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi et al. (CN 111641009A, with attached machine translation), as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. (CN 102786560A, with attached machine translation).
With regard to claims 1 and 4, Yi et al. teach an aluminum-air battery electrolyte solution including lauryl glucoside (abstract, claims 1 and 4), and an aluminum-air battery comprising the electrolyte solution (claim 6).
The battery anode is aluminum (par.0004), which meets the limitations of claim 1 for “a negative electrode”, and the limitations of claim 4.
The aluminum-air battery also comprises an air cathode, which is the “air electrode” in claim 1.
The electrolyte solution is “an electrolyte solution disposed between the air electrode and the negative electrode” in claim 1.
Lauryl glucoside is an alkyl glucoside represented by the formula:
(C18H36O6)(see the attached “Lauryl Glucoside”), and meets the limitations of claim 1 for “an alkyl glucoside with 18 carbon atoms”.
Lauryl glucoside (C18H36O6) has a hydrophilic lipophilic balance (HLB) of 9, as evidenced in par.0005 of Jiang et al.
Therefore, the aluminum-air battery of Yi et al. anticipates the metal-air batteries in claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (CN 111641009A, with attached machine translation), as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. (CN 102786560A, with attached machine translation) in view of Sata et al. (JP 2015-220024 A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025).
With regard to claim 2, Yi et al. as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. teach the metal-air battery of claim 1 (see paragraph 4 above), but fail to teach the claimed membrane.
Sata et al. teach a metal-air battery comprising a metal anode, a porous electrode as cathode, and the electrolyte solution (3) (par.0002 and par.0018).
Sata et al. further teach that the separator (18) may be provided between the air electrode (9) and the metal electrode (5):
(par.0025 and fig.14).
By providing the separator (18) it is possible to prevent the electrolyte (3) from leaking to the outside of the metal-air battery (30) through the pores of the air electrode (9), thereby improving the safety of the metal-air battery (30)(Sata et al., par.0025).
Sata et al. further teach that the separator (18) may be an ion exchange membrane (par.0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include an ion exchange membrane between the air cathode and the aluminum anode in the aluminum-air battery of Yi et al., in order to prevent the leaking of electrolyte and to improve the safety of the battery.
Fig.14 of Sata et al. shows that an ion exchange membrane (18) divides the electrolytic solution into an air electrode (positive electrode) side and a metal electrode (negative electrode) side.
The electrolyte of Yi modified by Sata comprises lauryl glucoside, so the electrolyte on the aluminum anode side comprises lauryl glucoside (alkyl glucoside with 18 carbon atoms).
With regard to claim 3, Sata et al. teach that the ion exchange membrane may be perfluorosulfonic acid-based and perfluorocarboxylic acid-based (par.0026).
A perfluorosulfonic acid-based polymer electrolyte membrane comprises sulfur atoms and oxygen atoms, and a perfluorocarboxylic acid-based polymer electrolyte membrane comprises carbon and oxygen atoms.
With regard to claims 6 and 7, Yi et al. teach that the aluminum-air battery has an aluminum anode (par.0004).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (CN 111641009A, with attached machine translation), as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. (CN 102786560A, with attached machine translation) in view of Nohara et al. (US 2019/0237834).
With regard to claims 1 and 5, Yi et al. as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. teach the aluminum-air batteries of claims 1 and 4 (see paragraph 4 above), but fail to teach the claimed air electrode.
Nohara et al. teach a battery including a cathode (101), an anode (102), and an electrolyte (103). The cathode (101) is made of a bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure having a plurality of nanostructures integrated by non-covalent bonds, and it functions as air electrode. The anode (102) may be aluminum (abstract, par.0023, par.0050).
The bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure in which a plurality of nanostructures is integrated by non-covalent bonds has a flexible structure and it is deformable (par.0065). Therefore, the battery is easy to handle (Nohara et al., par.0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure in which a plurality of nanostructures is integrated by non-covalent bonds as the air electrode in the aluminum-air battery of Yi et al., in order to take advantage of the flexibility and deformability of the bicontinuous body.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (CN 111641009A, with attached machine translation), as evidenced by “Lauryl Glucoside” and Jiang et al. (CN 102786560A, with attached machine translation) in view of Sata et al. (JP 2015-220024 A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025) as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Nohara et al. (US 2019/0237834).
With regard to claims 8 and 9, Yi modified by Sata teach the metal-air batteries of claims 2 and 3 (see paragraph 6 above) but fail to teach the claimed air electrode.
Nohara et al. teach a battery including a cathode (101), an anode (102), and an electrolyte (103).
Nohara et al. teach a battery including a cathode (101), an anode (102), and an electrolyte (103). The cathode (101) is made of a bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure having a plurality of nanostructures integrated by non-covalent bonds, and it functions as air electrode. The anode (102) may be aluminum (abstract, par.0023, par.0050).
The bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure in which a plurality of nanostructures is integrated by non-covalent bonds has a flexible structure and it is deformable (par.0065). Therefore, the battery is easy to handle (Nohara et al., par.0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the bicontinuous body having a three-dimensional network structure in which a plurality of nanostructures is integrated by non-covalent bonds as the air electrode in the aluminum-air battery of Yi modified by Sata, in order to take advantage of the flexibility and deformability of the bicontinuous body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner would like to notice that:
-the objection to the specification is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendments to the specification;
-the rejection of claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (CN 110137613A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025), as evidenced by the attached “Alkyl Polyglucoside APG 1214” is withdrawn following the amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 2, 3, 6, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 110137613A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025), as evidenced by the attached “Alkyl Polyglucoside APG 1214” and in view of Sata et al. (JP 2015-220024 A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025) is withdrawn following the amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 5 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 110137613A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025), as evidenced by the attached “Alkyl Polyglucoside APG 1214” and in view of Nohara et al. (US 2019/0237834) is withdrawn following the amendment to claim 1; and
-the rejection of claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 110137613A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025), as evidenced by the attached “Alkyl Polyglucoside APG 1214” and in view of Sata et al. (JP 2015-220024 A, with machine translation made of record on November 14, 2025) as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Nohara et al. (US 2019/0237834) is withdrawn following the amendment to claim 1.
However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1-10 are presented in paragraphs 3-8 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722