DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed 04/14/2023, is a 371 filing of PCT/US21/71892, filed 10/14/2021, and claims domestic benefit of 63/198,386, filed 10/14/2020.
Status of Claims/Application
Applicant’s preliminary amendment of 10/23/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 10-11, 13, and 15-19 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation that culturing the isolated TILs comprises increasing “the ratio of CD8+ TILs”. The plain meaning of the word “ratio” is a comparison of two or more numbers or quantities which is indicative of their relative size and amounts. The claim, however, does not indicate what the number of CD8+ TILs is compared to in order to establish that the ratio has increased. For instance, the claim could be interpreted as the ratio of CD8+ TILs to any single other phenotype of TIL or as the ratio of CD8+ TIL to all other TIL. As it is unclear what the CD8+ TIL are compared to in order to determine the ratio, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 in view of Chen, X., et al (2020) Epigenetic strategies synergize with PD-L1-PD-1 targeted cancer immunotherapies to enhance antitumor responses Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B 10(5); 723-733 as evidenced by Kaminskas, E., et al (2005) FDA Drug approval summary: Azacitidine (5-azacytidine, VidazaTM) for injectable suspension The Oncologist 10; 176-182.
Wei teaches that there is a need for novel therapies for acute myeloid leukemia (AML) including immune-based therapies (page 3193, left column, paragraph 2).
Wei teaches that reports in the literature suggest that adoptive cell therapy (ACT) using autologous TIL was promising in patients with solid tumors and T cells that are reactive to tumor-specific antigens might mediate tumor regression. Twenty percent of metastatic melanoma patients were reported to experience durable complete regression after treatment with autologous TIL in the light of reactivity with autologous tumor cells. In postoperative treatment of NSCLC the three-year survival rate was significantly higher in patients who underwent TIL ACT compare to that of untreated patients. In patients with pancreatic adenocarcinomas, infiltration of CD4+ T and CD8+ T cells were noted to be associated with improved prognosis and a markedly better five-year survival rate. A recent study demonstrated that the infiltration of CD3+ T cells correlated with improved clinical outcomes in patients with epithelial ovarian cancer. T cell immune responses in patients with solid tumors suggest the potential application of TIL (paragraph bridging columns, page 3193).
Whether AML harbor TIL had been debated for decades. In the study presented, Wei demonstrates the presence of AML TIL and demonstrates that they are able to specifically recognize autologous AML cells. The major observation on a small cohort of AML patients is: 1) TIL could be identified in bone marrow of 50% AML patients as revealed by immunophenotyping and IFN-γ Elispot assay; 2) AML TIL exerted anti-AML reactivity and anti-leukemic cytotoxicity; 3) AML TIL exhibited a higher anti-AML reactivity and anti-leukemia cytotoxicity compared with those of aPBL; 4) AML TIL were expandable; and 5) enrichment of expandable AML-reactive TIL is feasible (page 3193, right column, paragraph 2).
Wei concludes that the study demonstrates TIL in 50% of AML patient cohort and that AML TIL express CD137 (4-1BB) and secrete IFN-γ. They exhibit profound anti-AML reactivity and cytotoxicity. They are also expandable in cultures, which might translate to ACT for AML in the future (page 3194, left column, paragraph 3).
Wei further teaches that the TIL detected in the bone marrow samples highly expressed CD137 and PD-1 (abstract, results).
In the study performed by Wei, TIL isolated from AML patients and expanded ex vivo in a culture system (page 3189, patient characteristics; expansion of TIL; phenotype characterization of expanded TIL; abstract).
Wei, however, does not disclose that the TIL are administered along with therapeutically effective amounts of an inhibitor of PD-1 and a hypomethylating agent.
Chen teaches that immunotherapy strategies targeting the programmed cell death ligand 1 (PD-L1)/programmed cell death 1 (PD-1) pathway in clinical treatments have achieved remarkable success in treating multiple types of cancer. However, owing to the heterogeneity of tumors and individual immune systems, PD-L1/PD-1 blockade still shows slow response rates in controlling malignancies in many patients. Accumulating evidence has shown that an effective response to PD-L1/PD-1 therapy requires establishing an integrated immune cycle. Damage to any step of the immune cycle is one of the most important causes of immunotherapy failure. Impairments in the immune cycle can be restored by epigenetic modification, including reprogramming the environment of the tumor-associated immunity, eliciting an immune response by increasing the presentation of tumor antigens, and by regulating T cell trafficking and reactivation. Thus, a rational combination of PD-L1/PD-1 blockade and epigenetic agents may offer great potential to retrain the immune system and improve clinical outcomes of checkpoint blockade therapy (abstract).
Chen teaches that cancer immunotherapy is based on the stimulation and engineering of the immune system, such as the restoration of T lymphocytes to combat cancer. One of the most promising ways to activate the immune system is blockade of the immune checkpoints. Chen teaches that immune checkpoint molecules can mediate tumor immune escape, leading to malignant tumor progression. Targeting the immune checkpoint pathway has achieved an unprecedented long-lasting response rate in various cancers. The sustained response rate can be achieved primarily by blockade of the PD-1/PD-L1 pathway (page 724, left column, paragraph 1). Chen further teaches that initial studies suggested that the PD-L1/PD-1 pathway mediates CD8+ T cell exhaustion and PD-1 is considered to be a marker of exhausted T cells (page 728, right column, paragraph 4).
Chen further teaches that each step of the immune cycle can be regulated by epigenetic therapies to improve antigen presentation, T cell trafficking and infiltration and disruption of the immunosuppressive state. Epigenetic therapy, combined with immune checkpoint inhibitors, can restore immune recognition and tumor elimination, thus improving clinical response rates (page 725, right column, paragraph 2). Chen teaches that results have indicated a potential synergy between immune checkpoint inhibitors and epigenetic agents, as the former could upregulate expression of immune checkpoints, which may improve the therapeutic sensitivity of immune checkpoint inhibitors (page 730, left column, paragraph 1). Epigenetic reprogramming has been demonstrated to play a vital role in protecting tumor cells from immune surveillance. All of these studies suggest that epigenetic reprograming influences both cancer cells and immune cells and suggests a potential combination of epigenetic agents and anti-PD-L1 and PD-1 immunotherapy (page 730, left column, paragraph 2).
Chen teaches clinical trials that are designed to evaluate the effect of PD-L1/PD-1 antibodies combined with epigenetic agents among different cancer types summarized in Table 1. The studies include treatment of AML with azacitidine (targeting DNMT1) in combination with the anti-PD-L1 antibody, avelumab (page 729, Table 1). Chen also teaches trials in which epigenetic drugs are used in combination with anti-PD-1 antibodies including pembrolizumab, nivolumab, SHR-1210, and PDR001 and in which the epigenetic drugs are decitabine or 5-azacitidine/azacitidine, which are hypomethylating agents. It is also noted that azacitidine is another name for 5-azacytidine as evidenced by Kaminskas (abstract; Figure 1, page 177).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the TIL as an adoptive cell therapy for the treatment of AML as disclosed by Wei in combination with a hypomethylating therapy and a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor, including a PD-1 inhibitor, as disclosed by Chen. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to further administer a hypomethylating therapy as Chen teaches that such epigenetic therapies can improve antigen presentation, T cell trafficking and infiltration, and disrupt the immunosuppressive state. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer an anti-PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor in order to overcome tumor immune escape and T cell exhaustion. Additionally, Chen teaches that epigenetic therapy combined with immune checkpoint inhibitors can restore immune recognition and tumor elimination improving clinical responses and that there is potential synergy in the combination of immune checkpoint inhibitors and epigenetic agents. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the trials disclosed by Chen demonstrate the combination of an hypomethylating agent in combination with an inhibitor of the PD-1/PD-L1 pathway had been considered for the treatment of AML, which is the same type of cancer being treated by Chen. Additionally, Chen teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 blockade in AML.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 in view of Chen, X., et al (2020) Epigenetic strategies synergize with PD-L1-PD-1 targeted cancer immunotherapies to enhance antitumor responses Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B 10(5); 723-733 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of WO 2015/157636 A1 (Sarnaik, A.A., et al) 15 October 2015.
The combination of Wei and Chen teach the method of claim 1 as discussed in detail above.
As discussed above, Wei teaches that the autologous TIL are expanded ex vivo in a culture system.
The combination of Wei and Chen, however, do not disclose that the TIL are PD-1 inhibited or that the TIL are bioengineered or exposed to a PD-1 inhibitor.
WO’636 teaches a method for ex vivo expanding tumor infiltrating lymphocytes for use in adoptive cell therapy (abstract). The method involves culturing tumor fragments from the subject in a culture medium containing IL-2 and 41BB agonist in an amount effective to expand tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes with enriched tumor reactivity and specificity. The culture medium can further contain a checkpoint inhibitor, such as anti-PD-1 antibody, e.g., BMS 936558, anti-PD-L1 antibody, e.g., clone M1H1, anti-CTLA-4 antibody, e.g., Ipilimumab, MS, or any combination thereof (page 11, lines 1-7). WO’636 teaches that PD-1 blockade has been shown to facilitate anti-tumor T cell priming, increase T cell infiltration into tumors and anti-tumor effector function (page 38, lines 26-27). WO’636 further teaches that PD-1 blockade in vivo prior to TIL expansion from resected tumors enhances anti-tumor reactivity of expanded TIL (page 39, lines 4-8).
WO’636 teaches that ACT may be performed by (i) obtaining autologous lymphocytes from a mammal, (ii) culturing the autologous lymphocytes to produce expanded lymphocytes, and (ii) administering the expanded lymphocytes to the mammal. Preferably the lymphocytes are tumor-derived, i.e., they are TILs, and are isolated from the mammal to be treated, i.e., autologous transfer (page 9, lines 1720).
WO’636 also teaches that anti-cancer drugs that can be used in combination with the method and compositions disclosed include azacitidine and decitabine (page 24, lines 1-5, 8, and 13).
WO’636 further teaches that ACT is a very effective form of immunotherapy and involves the transfer of immune cells with antitumor activity into cancer patients. ACT is a treatment approach that involves the identification, in vitro, of lymphocytes with antitumor activity, the in vitro expansion of these cells to large numbers and their infusion into the cancer-bearing host. Lymphocytes used for adoptive transfer can be derived from the stroma of resected tumors, i.e., tumor infiltrating lymphocytes or TILs. They can also be derived from blood if they are genetically engineered to express antitumor T cell receptors (TCRs) or chimeric antigen receptors (CARs), enriched with mixed lymphocyte tumor cell cultures, or cloned using autologous antigen presenting cells and tumor derived peptides (page 22, lines 4-12).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of Wei and Chen to inhibit PD-1 on the expanded TIL, for instance by further including an anti-PD-1 antibody in the culture media, as taught by WO’636. It would have further been obvious to bioengineer the TIL, for instance through the engineered inclusion of a TCR or CAR based on the teachings of WO’636. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to inhibit PD-1 on the expanded TIL as WO’636 teaches that PD-1 blockade can facilitate anti-tumor T cell priming, increase T cell infiltration into tumors and improve anti-tumor effector function and teaches the inclusion of anti-PD-1 antibodies in culture media during ex vivo expansion of TIL. It would have been obvious to further bioengineer the TIL, for instance through the inclusion of a TCR or CAR, as WO’636 demonstrates that the engineering of lymphocytes to express such receptors was known in the prior art. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because, like Wei, WO’636 is teaching methods of adoptive cell therapy for cancer treatment comprising the ex vivo culturing of autologous TIL. Additionally, Wei teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 blockade in TIL obtained from AML patients.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 in view of Chen, X., et al (2020) Epigenetic strategies synergize with PD-L1-PD-1 targeted cancer immunotherapies to enhance antitumor responses Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B 10(5); 723-733 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of WO 2015/157636 A1 (Sarnaik, A.A., et al) 15 October 2015, WO 2017/214190 A1 (Tang, X, et al) 14 Dec 2017, and Miyaura, C., et al (1981) 1α,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 induces differentiation of human myeloid leukemia cells Biochemical and biophysical research communications 102(3); 937-943.
The combination of Wei and Chen teach the method of claim 1 as discussed in detail above.
As discussed above, Wei teaches that the autologous TIL are expanded ex vivo in a culture system.
The combination of Wei and Chen, however, do not disclose that the TIL are PD-1 inhibited or that the TIL are bioengineered to express CYP27B1.
The teachings of WO’636 are as discussed in detail above.
WO’190 teaches engineered cells comprising a heterologous polynucleotide that encodes a 1α-hydroxylase protein and that, in some embodiments the 1α-hydroxylase protein is human cytochrome P450 family 27 subfamily B member 1 (CYP27B1) (abstract).
WO’190 teaches the engineering of dendritic cells and teaches that the cells are engineered for de novo synthesis of a supra-physiological and/or therapeutic dose of the active vitamin D metabolite 1,25[OH]2D, also referred to as calcitriol. In some embodiments, the de novo synthesis of a therapeutic calcitriol dose is achieved through overexpression of a 1α-hydroxylase that physiologically convers 25[OH]D (or calcidiol), the major vitamin D form in the blood circulation and the substrate for 1α-hydroxylase, into calcitriol. In some embodiments, the overexpression of 1α-hydroxylase is achieved through transduction of dendritic cells with a vector that expresses cytochrome P450, family 27, subfamily B, polypeptide 1 (CYP27B1) gene (page 2, [0007]).
WO’190 teaches that “1α-hydroxylase” refers to 25-hydroxyvitamin D-1 alpha hydroxylase. 1α-hydroxylase is an enzyme that catalyzes the conversion of 250hydroxyvitamin D3 (25(OH)D) to 1,25-dihydroxyvtamin D3 (1,25(OH)2D). The gene that encodes 1α-hydroxylase is a human cytochrome P450 family 27 subfamily B member 1 (CYP27B1). Sequences for human CYP27B1 mRNA and 1α-hydroxylase are set forth in, for example NCBI GenBank Accession numbers NM_000785.3 and NP_000776.1, respectively (page 14, [0044]).
Miyaura teaches that it is well established that vitamin D3 undergoes two sequential hydroxylations in the liver and kidney before exerting its biological effect in enhancing intestinal calcium transport and bone mineral mobilization activities (page 937, paragraph 1). Of great interest is that some tumor cells possess a cytosol protein specifically bound to the resulting metabolite 1α,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (1α,25(OH)2D3). It had been previously shown that murine myeloid leukemia cells (M1 cells) could be induced to differentiate into macrophages in vitro by physiological plasma concentrations of 1α,25(OH)2D3. The metabolite was at least 100 times more potent on a molar basis than dexamethasone, the most potent known stimulator, in suppressing cell growth and inducing differentiation (paragraph bridging pages 937 and 938). The study presented by Miyaura examined whether human myeloid leukemia cells are similarly induced to differentiate by 1α,25(OH)2D3. It is reported that 1α,25(OH)2D3 is capable of inducing differentiation of not only M1 cells, but also a human myeloid leukemia cell line (HL-60 cells) isolated from the peripheral blood leukocytes of a patient with acute promyelocytic leukemia (page 938, paragraph 2).
Miyaura teaches that, when HL-60 cells were cultured with various concentrations of 1α,25(OH)2D3, cell growth was inhibited markedly in a dose- and time- dependent manner. The inhibition of cell growth was effected by as little as 10-9 M of 1α,25(OH)2D3 and at 10-8 M, the viable cell number decreased to 20% of the control (page 939, paragraph 1; Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of Wei and Chen to inhibit PD-1 on the expanded TIL, for instance by further including an anti-PD-1 antibody in the culture media, as taught by WO’636 and to further engineer the cell to overexpress CYP27B1 as taught by WO’190 based on the teachings of Miyaura.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to inhibit PD-1 on the expanded TIL as WO’636 teaches that PD-1 blockade can facilitate anti-tumor T cell priming, increase T cell infiltration into tumors and improve anti-tumor effector function and teaches the inclusion of anti-PD-1 antibodies in culture media during ex vivo expansion of TIL. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because, like Wei, WO’636 is teaching methods of adoptive cell therapy for cancer treatment comprising the ex vivo culturing of autologous TIL. Additionally, Chen teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 blockade in TIL obtained from AML patients.
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to engineer the TIL to overexpress CYP27B1 as taught by WO’190 because WO’190 teaches that overexpression of 1α-hydroxylase, achieved through transduction of a vector that expresses the CYP27B1 gene, physiologically converts 25(OH)D to the active D metabolite 1,25(OH)2D, which Miyaura demonstrates is capable of inducing differentiation in acute myeloid leukemia cells resulting in marked inhibition of cell growth in a dose and time dependent manner. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Miyaura teaches the use of 1,25(OH)2D in the treatment of an AML cancer, which is the same type of cancer disclosed by the combination of Wei and Chen and WO’190 teaches that the overexpression of CYP27B1 is an alternative method of treating with 1,25(OH)2D. Additionally, WO’636 demonstrates that the genetic engineering of lymphocytes was known and practiced in the prior art demonstrating a reasonable expectation of success in genetically modifying the TIL.
Claims 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196.
The teachings of Wei are as discussed in detail above.
In the studies performed by Wei, bone marrow and peripheral blood samples were taken from patients with AML (page 3188, left column, patient samples). Bone marrow mononuclear cells (BMMC) and peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMC) were enriched by density gradient centrifugation using Ficoll-Hypaque. Cells were then labeled with CD3 microbeads for cell selection according to the manufacturer’s protocol. CD3+ cells were considered AML TIL, whereas CD3- cells were considered autologous AML cells. Wei teaches that the BMMC and PBMC were then expanded in culture (page 3188, Enrichment and expansion of TIL).
Wei further teaches that the expandability of AML TIL in 10 bone marrow samples were tested and compared to that of circulating lymphocytes from 10 peripheral blood samples collected from the patient cohort in a 14-day co-culture system using irradiated feeder cells of unrelated PBMC supplemented with anti-CD3, IL-2, IL-7, and IL-15. Bone marrow group yielded a mean ± SD of 8.7x109 ± 1.0x109 cells being similar to 7.1x109 ± 0.8 x109 derived from the peripheral blood group. The folds of increase in cell numbers of 875 ± 102 were noted among bone marrow samples being comparable to 713 ± 80 of the circulating lymphocytes in peripheral blood samples (page 3189, right column, paragraph 2). Based on these teachings, Wei teaches an expansion of up to 977-fold (875+102), which meets the instant claim 12 limitation of about a 1000-fold increase relative to the starting number which was derived from a sample from the subject.
While Wei does not exemplify the administration of the cultured TILs back to the subject, Wei teaches that the TIL from AML patients exhibit profound anti-AML reactivity and cytotoxicity and are expandable in cultures, which might translate to ACT for AML in the future (page 3194, left column, conclusion). Wei also teaches that the TIL are active against autologous AML cells. Wei further teaches that ACT with TIL has been practiced in the prior art in the treatment of other cancers, such as metastatic melanoma and metastatic cholangiocarcinoma.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the cultured TILs back to the subject after expansion based on the teachings of Wei. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the expanded TIL back to the subject as Wei suggests their use in ACT regimens and demonstrates that the expanded TIL exhibit autologous anti-AML reactivity, Thus, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, Wei demonstrates that such methods of ACT using TIL had been practiced in the prior art in methods of treating other cancers.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of WO 2018/075664 A1 (Moriarity, B., et al) 26 April 2018.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
Wei, however, does not disclose that the TILs comprise CCR7+CD95- and/or CD62L+CD45RA+ T cells as recited in claim 11 or that the isolated TILs are engineered to reduce expression or function of a PD-1 gene as recited in claim 17.
WO’664 teaches that the adoptive transfer of tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TIL) has achieved considerable success in mediating durable regression of metastatic melanoma. In spite of these successes, the use of TIL therapy in other settings has been challenging. This is likely due to the suppressive effects exerted by the tumor microenvironment and T-cell intrinsic impairments in receptor signaling and acquisition of effector functions. Monoclonal antibody based immune checkpoint inhibitors targeting programmed cell death protein 1 (PD-1) and cytotoxic T lymphocyte associated protein (CTLA-4) function can sometimes relieve T-cell extrinsic suppressive effects (page 1, [0001]).
WO’664 teaches that the cells can have one or more disrupted genes. For example, the expression of a checkpoint gene, such as PD-1, can be disrupted (page 15, [0087]).
WO’664 teaches methods in which a CRISPR system is used to knock out an endogenous gene, such as PD-1, in a tumor-reactive TIL (page 26 [0128]; page 78, example 3).
WO’664 further teaches that in some cases the cell is a stem memory cell, TSCM, comprised of CD45RO-, CCR7+, CD56RA+, CD62L+, CD27+, CD28+, and IL-5Ra+ and show numerous functional attributes distinctive of stem memory cells (page 20, [0108]).
WO’664 further teaches that the methods disclosed can be used to treat cancer including acute myeloid leukemia (page 14, [0081]; page 8, [0017]). WO’664 teaches that the method comprises obtaining TIL, identifying reactive TIL, and disrupting an endogenous gene or portion thereof with CRISPR nuclease (page 8, [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Wei to use TILs comprising stem memory T cells (TSCM) that express CD45RA+ and CD62L+ as disclosed by WO’664. It would have further been obvious to engineer the TILs to reduce expression of the PD-1 gene as taught by WO’664. It would have been obvious to have the TILs comprise TSCM cells as WO’664 demonstrates the use of such cells as TILs for adoptive cell therapy and also teaches that the cells have functional attributes distinctive of stem memory cells. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to knockdown PD-1 as WO’664 teaches that PD-1 is an immune checkpoint that can lead to suppressive effects on TIL exerted by the tumor microenvironment and demonstrates methods of knocking down PD-1 in TIL for adoptive cell therapy. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because, like Wei, WO’664 is teaching methods for adoptive transfer of TILs for the treatment of cancers including AML. Additionally, Wei teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 disruption in TIL obtained from AML patients.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of WO 2015/157636 A1 (Sarnaik, A.A., et al) 15 October 2015.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
As discussed above, Wei teaches that the TIL are expanded ex vivo in a culture system.
Wei, however, does not disclose that the step of culturing the isolated TILs comprise exposing the isolated TILs to a PD-1 inhibitor, such as a PD-1 antibody.
The teachings of WO’636 are as discussed in detail above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wei to further expose the isolated TIL to a PD-1 inhibitor, for instance an anti-PD-1 antibody, by including the anti-PD-1 antibody in the culture media as taught by WO’636. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to inhibit PD-1 on the expanded TIL as WO’636 teaches that PD-1 blockade can facilitate anti-tumor T cell priming, increase T cell infiltration into tumors and improve anti-tumor effector function and teaches the inclusion of anti-PD-1 antibodies in culture media during ex vivo expansion of TIL. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because, like Wei, WO’636 is teaching methods of adoptive cell therapy for cancer treatment comprising the ex vivo culturing of autologous TIL. Additionally, Wei teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 blockade in TIL obtained from AML patients.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Prieto, P.A., et al (2010) Enrichment of CD8+ cells from melanoma tumor infiltrating lymphocyte cultures reveals tumor reactivity for use in adoptive cell therapy J. Immunother 33(5); 547-556.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
Wei further teaches the immunophenotypes of the ex vivo expanded TIL and aPBL from AML patients in table 2 on page 3191, in which it is shown that, after expansion, there is a higher number of CD8+ CD3+ TIL in both cultures of TIL and aPBL from AML patients.
Wei, however, does not disclose the initial phenotypes in order to establish that the ratio of CD8+ T cells was increased during culturing.
Prieto teaches that the successful application of TIL ACT therapy requires the selection of unique tumor-reactive lymphocyte cultures for each patient. To simplify the methods of TIL generation and extend TIL based immunotherapy to additional patients, methods were developed to use unselected, minimally cultured (“young”) TIL. Young TIL cultures contain a variable number of CD8+, CD4+, and CD3-CD56+ natural killer cells. Prieto provides a retrospective investigation of the roles of these subsets in clinical outcomes of patients treated with TIL derived from selected microcultures. The analysis demonstrated a suggestive but not significant association between the number of CD8+ cells administered and tumor regression. Therefore, Prieto investigated the feasibility of selecting CD8+ cells from young TIL cultures for ACT therapy and developed an optimized CD8+ enrichment method. It was observed that CD8+ enrichment of some TIL cultures revealed in vitro tumor recognition that was not evident in bulk culture and an improved in vitro tumor recognition in other TIL cultures. In addition, the enriched CD8+ young TIL expanded more reliably and predictably in rapid expansions than the bulk TIL. Thus, optimized CD8+ selection combines the benefits of antigen-selected TIL and young TIL for generation of lymphocyte cultures for ACT (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wei by further incorporating the optimized selection methods of Prieto to increase the ratio of CD8+ TILs in the culture. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to increase the ratio of CD8+ TILs as Prieto teaches that such enrichment increases tumor recognition and regression and expands more reliably and predictably. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Prieto is teaching methods of expanding isolated TIL for use in ACT for the treatment of cancer.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of WO 2017/214190 A1 (Tang, X, et al) 14 Dec 2017, Miyaura, C., et al (1981) 1α,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 induces differentiation of human myeloid leukemia cells Biochemical and biophysical research communications 102(3); 937-943, and Forget, M.A., et al (2017) A novel method to generate and expand clinical-grade, genetically modified, tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes Frontiers in Immunology 8(908); 1-8.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
Wei, however, does not disclose that the method further comprises the bioengineering of the isolated TIL to increase expression of function of a CYP27B1 gene.
The teachings of WO’190 and Miyaura are as discussed above.
Forget teaches that following clinical success achieved with the first generation of adoptive cell therapy using in vitro expanded TIL, the second and third generations of TIL ACT are evolving towards the use of genetically modified TIL. TIL therapy generally involves the transfer of a high number of TIL, ranging from 109 to 1011 cells. One of the technical difficulties in genetically modifying TIL, using a retroviral vector, is the ability to achieve large expansion of transduced TIL, while keeping the technique suitable for the GMP environment. Forget teaches the development and optimization of a method for the efficient production of large numbers of GMP-grade, gene modified TIL for the treatment of patients with ACT using CXCR2 as a gene of interest for method development. The optimized procedure is currently being used in the production of gene-modified TIL for two clinical trials for the treatment of metastatic melanoma (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wei by engineering the TIL to increase expression of CYP27B1 as taught by WO’190 based on the teachings of Miyaura and as further supported by Forget. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to engineer the cell to increase expression of CYP27B1 as taught by WO’190 because WO’190 teaches that overexpression of 1α-hydroxylase, achieved through transduction of a vector that expresses the CYP27B1 gene, physiologically converts 25(OH)D to the active D metabolite 1,25(OH)2D, which Miyaura demonstrates is capable of inducing differentiation in acute myeloid leukemia cells resulting in marked inhibition of cell growth in a dose and time dependent manner. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Miyaura teaches the use of 1,25(OH)2D in the treatment of an AML cancer, which is the same type of cancer disclosed by the combination of Wei and Chen and WO’190 teaches that the overexpression of CYP27B1 is an alternative method expressing 1,25(OH)2D. The genetic modification of TIL is further supported by Forget, which demonstrates that methods were known and available in the prior art for the genetic engineering of TIL.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Kerkar, S.P. (2013) “Model T” cells: a time-tested vehicle for gene therapy Frontiers in immunology 4(304); 1-7.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
Wei, however, does not disclose that the method further comprises bioengineering the isolated TILs to increase expression or function of one or more of CD3, CCR7, CD62L, CD45RA, CD95, CD127, CD27, and CD28.
Kerkar teaches that T lymphocytes first carried foreign genes safely into humans over two decades ago. Since these pioneering studies, scientific techniques to better understand the genomic landscape of cells has directly led to more sophisticated appreciation of the diversity, functional complexity, and therapeutic potential of T cells. Through the use of mouse models, we now know the function of the many genes that are critical for T cells to recognize foreign, mutated, or self-antigens and the factors responsible for the lineage diversification of T cells that lead to inhibitory or stimulatory immune responses. This knowledge, combined with well-established modalities to introduce genes into T cells allows for the design of effector and memory CD8 and CD4 T lymphocytes specific for tumor-antigens. Kerkar provides a review of strategies for designing the ideal T cell by introducing genes including co-stimulatory/inhibitor surface molecules (abstract).
Kerkar teaches that generating a specific and productive T cell response requires not only appropriate signaling through the TCR but an additional secondary co-stimulatory signal. The most well studied co-stimulatory molecule is CD28, a disulfide linked homodimer that is constitutively expressed on naïve T cells. CD28 engagement with CD80 and CD86 on antigen presenting cells enables T cells to differentiate and become functionally active. However, after initial antigen encounter and under altered cytokine conditions, T cells can lose or decrease their expression of CD28 leading to replicative senescence and functional anergy. The lack of CD28 signaling can also result in an impaired memory response and activity of induced cell death. One strategy to circumvent these physiological restraints is to constitutively overexpress CD28 in T cells (page 3, right column, paragraph 3).
Kerkar teaches other potentially therapeutic gene therapies in T cells including co-stimulatory molecules including CD27 (page 2, Figure 1).
Kerkar also teaches that T lymphocytes represent the ideal vehicle for carrying therapeutic genes into humans. They are easily obtained through peripheral blood draws or apheresis procedures and can be induced to divide robustly ex vivo, a characteristic that allows them to be highly permissible to retroviral introduction of ectopic genes. Today, the adoptive transfer of tumor infiltrating lymphocytes combined with total-body irradiation, lymphodepleting chemotherapy, and high-dose IL-2 achieve response rates as high as 70% in patients with metastatic melanoma. The rapid development of gene therapy in this field promises to vastly improve current cellular therapies and opens the door to treat cancers of various histologies and wider arrays of disease (page 1, right column, paragraph 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Wei by engineering the TIL to constitutively express CD28 as taught by Kerkar. It would have been obvious to engineer the TILs to constitutively express CD28 as Kerkar teaches that T cells can lose or decrease expression of CD28 after initial antigen encounter leading to replicative senescence, functional anergy, and death. Additionally, Kerkar teaches that generating a specific and productive T cell response requires signaling through the TCR and also a secondary co-stimulatory molecule, such as CD28. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Kerkar is teaching methods of designing ideal T cells by gene introduction and teaches that the cells can be accomplished with well-established modalities for gene introduction. Additionally, Kerkar is teaching such modification for use in gene therapies for adoptive cell therapy for the treatment of cancers.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, L., et al (2019) Assessment of the presence and anti-tumor potential of tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in patients with acute myeloid leukemia Cancer management and research 11; 3187-3196 in view of Chen, X., et al (2020) Epigenetic strategies synergize with PD-L1-PD-1 targeted cancer immunotherapies to enhance antitumor responses Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B 10(5); 723-733 as evidenced by Kaminskas, E., et al (2005) FDA Drug approval summary: Azacitidine (5-azacytidine, VidazaTM) for injectable suspension The Oncologist 10; 176-182.
Wei teaches the method of claim 7 as discussed in detail above.
Wei, however, does not disclose the further administration of a PD-1 inhibitor and a hypomethylating agent, including AZA.
The teachings of Chen are as discussed in detail above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the TIL as an adoptive cell therapy for the treatment of AML as disclosed by Wei in combination with a hypomethylating therapy, including 5-azacytidine, and a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor, including a PD-1 inhibitor, as disclosed by Chen. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to further administer a hypomethylating therapy, including 5-azacytidine, as Chen teaches that such epigenetic therapies can improve antigen presentation, T cell trafficking and infiltration, and disrupt the immunosuppressive state. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer an anti-PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor in order to overcome tumor immune escape and T cell exhaustion. Additionally, Chen teaches that epigenetic therapy combined with immune checkpoint inhibitors can restore immune recognition and tumor elimination improving clinical responses and that there is potential synergy in the combination of immune checkpoint inhibitors and epigenetic agents. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the trials disclosed by Chen demonstrate the combination of an hypomethylating agent in combination with an inhibitor of the PD-1/PD-L1 pathway had been considered for the treatment of AML, which is the same type of cancer being treated by Chen. Additionally, Chen teaches that the TIL from AML bone marrow patients highly expressed PD-1 further demonstrating the relevance of PD-1 blockade in AML.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AUDREY L BUTTICE/Examiner, Art Unit 1647
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693