DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 02/20/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, and 18-20 has/have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
The previous drawing objections have been withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, and 17-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,716,899) in view of Commins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,665,672).
Regarding claim 1, Beck et al. teaches a pre-manufactured floor-ceiling panel (figure 30) capable of use for a multi-story building having load bearing walls, the floor-ceiling panel comprising: a plurality of parallel metal joists (124); an end member (170) affixed to a distal end of at least one joist of the plurality of parallel metal joists (figure 30); and a drag anchor (180) fixedly attached to the end member and the distal end (figure 30), the drag anchor comprising a first body panel (smaller fold panel of 180; figure 31) foldably attached to a second body panel (larger fold panel of 180; figure 31) at a first fold line (fold line between the panels; figure 31).
Beck et al. does not specifically disclose the drag anchor further comprising a washer section that is a plate washer having at least one first edge in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line and at least one second edge that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel, wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel and is formed with a through-hole that aligns with an underlying through-hole formed in the second body panel.
Commins et al. discloses a hold-down connector (abstract) including a washer section (24) that is a plate washer (figure 1) having at least one first edge (rear edge of 24) in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line (figure 1) and at least one second edge (front edge of 24) that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel (at 68), wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel (68) and is formed with a through-hole (25) that aligns with an underlying through-hole (5) formed in the second body panel (figure 1).
Therefore, from the teaching of Commins et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the floor-ceiling assembly of Beck et al. to include a washer section that is a plate washer having at least one first edge in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line and at least one second edge that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel, wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel and is formed with a through-hole that aligns with an underlying through-hole formed in the second body panel, as taught by Commins et al., in order to maintain the load distribution on the anchor, while requiring less individual fastening points, to facilitate assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Beck et al. teaches the drag anchor is welded (col. 19, lines 20-25) to the distal end at one or more of the first body panel and the second body panel (figure 30).
Regarding claim 8, Beck et al. as modified discloses the drag anchor is fastened, by a bolt (7 of Commins et al.) that runs through the through-hole formed in the washer section and the through-hole formed in the second body panel (figure 7), to a vertical section of a peripheral angle arranged about a periphery of the floor-ceiling panel (in the combination, it is understood that the bolt of Commins et al. would be capable of attaching to a vertical section of a peripheral angle at arranged about a periphery of the floor-ceiling panel; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element is not being positively claimed).
Regarding claim 9, Beck et al. as modified discloses the drag anchor is arranged to transmit drag force through the peripheral angle and into interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, wherein the interior support members comprise a rigid member at a top of the adjacent load bearing wall and a plate attached to and underneath the rigid member, and wherein a horizontal section of the peripheral angle is configured to be arranged on top of the rigid member (in the combination, it is understood that the drag anchor is capable of transmitting drag force through the peripheral angle and into interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, wherein the interior support members comprise a rigid member at a top of the adjacent load bearing wall and a plate attached to and underneath the rigid member, and wherein a horizontal section of the peripheral angle is configured to be arranged on top of the rigid member; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element and the interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, are not being positively claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Beck et al. as modified discloses the interior support members of the adjacent load bearing wall are configured to transmit the drag force received from the drag anchor and the peripheral angle into sheet metal of a floor-ceiling corridor panel directly attached to the adjacent load bearing wall (in the combination, it is understood that interior support members of the adjacent load bearing wall are capable of transmitting the drag force received from the drag anchor and the peripheral angle into sheet metal of a floor-ceiling corridor panel directly attached to the adjacent load bearing wall; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element and the interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, are not being positively claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Beck et al. teaches a multi-story building (figure 30), comprising: one or more levels formed from prefabricated interior panels and prefabricated exterior panels (figure 30), the one or more levels being substantially parallel to a ground plane defined by a foundation (although not shown, it is understood that the levels are parallel to a ground plane defined by a foundation); and a floor-ceiling panel (figure 30) arranged to form a portion of a floor of the one or more levels (figure 30), the floor-ceiling panel comprising: a plurality of parallel metal joists (124); an end member (176) affixed to a distal end of at least one joist of the plurality of parallel metal joists (figure 30); and a drag anchor (180) fixedly attached to the end member and the distal end (figure 30), the drag anchor comprising a first body panel (smaller fold panel of 180; figure 31) foldably attached to a second body panel (larger fold panel of 180; figure 31) at a first fold line (fold line between the panels; figure 31).
Beck et al. does not specifically disclose the drag anchor further comprising a washer section that is a plate washer having at least one first edge in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line and at least one second edge that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel, wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel and is formed with a through-hole that aligns with an underlying through-hole formed in the second body panel.
Commins et al. discloses a hold-down connector (abstract) including a washer section (24) that is a plate washer (figure 1) having at least one first edge (rear edge of 24) in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line (figure 1) and at least one second edge (front edge of 24) that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel (at 68), wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel (68) and is formed with a through-hole (25) that aligns with an underlying through-hole (5) formed in the second body panel (figure 1).
Therefore, from the teaching of Commins et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the floor-ceiling assembly of Beck et al. to include a washer section that is a plate washer having at least one first edge in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line and at least one second edge that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel, wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel and is formed with a through-hole that aligns with an underlying through-hole formed in the second body panel, as taught by Commins et al., in order to maintain the load distribution on the anchor, while requiring less individual fastening points, to facilitate assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Beck et al. teaches the drag anchor is welded (col. 19, lines 20-25) to the distal end at one or more of the first body panel and the second body panel (figure 30).
Regarding claim 18, Beck et al. as modified discloses the drag anchor is fastened, by a bolt (7 of Commins et al.) that runs through the through-hole formed in the washer section and the through-hole formed in the second body panel (figure 7), to a vertical section of a peripheral angle arranged about a periphery of the floor-ceiling panel (in the combination, it is understood that the bolt of Commins et al. would be capable of attaching to a vertical section of a peripheral angle at arranged about a periphery of the floor-ceiling panel; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element is not being positively claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Beck et al. as modified discloses the drag anchor is arranged to transmit drag force through the peripheral angle and into interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, wherein the interior support members comprise a rigid member at a top of the adjacent load bearing wall and a plate attached to and underneath the rigid member, and wherein a horizontal section of the peripheral angle is configured to be arranged on top of the rigid member (in the combination, it is understood that the drag anchor is capable of transmitting drag force through the peripheral angle and into interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, wherein the interior support members comprise a rigid member at a top of the adjacent load bearing wall and a plate attached to and underneath the rigid member, and wherein a horizontal section of the peripheral angle is configured to be arranged on top of the rigid member; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element and the interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, are not being positively claimed).
Regarding claim 20, Beck et al. as modified discloses the interior support members of the adjacent load bearing wall are configured to transmit the drag force received from the drag anchor and the peripheral angle into sheet metal of a floor-ceiling corridor panel directly attached to the adjacent load bearing wall (in the combination, it is understood that interior support members of the adjacent load bearing wall are capable of transmitting the drag force received from the drag anchor and the peripheral angle into sheet metal of a floor-ceiling corridor panel directly attached to the adjacent load bearing wall; the examiner notes that the peripheral angle element and the interior support members of an adjacent load bearing wall, are not being positively claimed).
Claim(s) 2-6 and 12-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,716,899) in view of Commins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,665,672), and in view of Collins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0032332)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Beck et al. does not specifically disclose a plurality of ceiling layers affixed to transverse edges of the plurality of metal joists.
Collins et al. discloses a floor and ceiling panel assembly including a plurality of ceiling layers (at 240) affixed to transverse edges of the plurality of metal joists (figure 4).
Therefore, from the teaching of Collins et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the floor-ceiling assembly of Beck et al. to include a plurality of ceiling layers affixed to transverse edges of the plurality of metal joists, as taught by Collins et al., in order to provide an insulative and finished look depending on the design requirements of the floor and ceiling.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Collins et al. in the combination discloses the plurality of ceiling layers form a ceiling for an interior space (figure 4).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Collins et al. in the combination discloses a plurality of floor layers affixed to transverse edges of the plurality of metal joists (figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Collins et al. in the combination discloses the plurality of floor layers form a floor for an interior space (figure 4).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Collins et al. in the combination discloses the pre-manufactured floor-ceiling panel defines a horizontal diaphragm (it is understood that the layers at 240 are capable of functioning as a horizontal diaphragm) arranged to transmit drag forces through the drag anchor (it is understood that the diaphragm structure is capable of transmitting drag forces through the drag anchor).
Regarding claim 15, Collins et al. in the combination discloses the plurality of floor layers form the portion of the floor (figure 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
New reference(s) Beck et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,716,899) and Commins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,665,672) have been added to overcome the newly added limitations. Applicant’s amendment regarding a plate washer having at least one first edge in alignment with and that abuts the first fold line and at least one second edge that abuts at least one edge of the second body panel, wherein the washer section is attached to the second body panel and is formed with a through- hole that aligns with an underlying through-hole formed in the second body panel, has overcome the previous rejection and the argument that the Collins reference did not cite any reference to a washer element was found persuasive. The new claim amendment is overcome in view of new references Beck et al. and Commins et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633