DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching such as “there is no disclosure in Kim that upon detecting a standby mode event in the second network the UE sends a second message to the base station reporting the occurrence of the event in the second network” and Kim fails to disclose “monitoring an occurrence of at least one idle/inactive event in the second network” and “transmitting a second indication of the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event to the first network”.
In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees and for or more understanding of the previous rejection Examiner would like to re-write the rejection base on figs.13-14 as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-21 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (2023/0262446).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kim discloses a method performed by a wireless device operating in both a first network and a second network wherein the wireless device is in an idle/inactive state in the second network (see abstract, figs.13-14, elements 1m-05, 1m-10, 1m-15, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0022-0023] and descriptions) the method comprising: determining a periodic pattern for performing a set of idle/inactive mode procedures in the second network (see abstract, fig.13, elements 1m-05, 1m-10, 1m-15, step 1m-35, fig.14, step 1n-25, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0022-0023], [0130-0131], [0133-0138] and descriptions); transmitting a first indication of the determined periodic pattern to the first network (see abstract, fig.13, elements 1m-05, 1m-10, step 1m-40, fig.14, step 1n-30, paragraphs [0022-0023], [0130-0131], [0133-0141] and descriptions); monitoring an occurrence of at least one idle/inactive event in the second network; and (see abstract, fig.13, elements 1m-05, 1m-10, step 1m-45, fig.14, step 1n-40, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0022-0023], [0130-0131], [0133-0141] and descriptions) and transmitting a second indication of the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event to the first network (see abstract, fig.13, elements 1m-05, 1m-10, step 1m-55-60, fig.14, step 1n-45-50, paragraphs [0022-0023], [0130-0131], [0133-0143] and descriptions).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further discloses wherein the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event in the second network comprises a periodic event and the second indication comprises an updated periodic pattern based on the determined periodic pattern and the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event (see paragraphs [0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further discloses wherein the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event in the second network comprises a non-periodic event and the second indication comprises an indication that the wireless device will be unavailable to the first network (see paragraphs [0038-0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further discloses wherein the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event in the second network comprises a non-periodic event and the second indication comprises a request to the first network for the wireless device to be unavailable to the first network (see paragraphs [0038-0040], [0050], [0054-0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim further discloses wherein the second indication includes an indication of an amount of time the wireless device will be unavailable to the first network (see paragraphs [0050], [(0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further discloses wherein the second indication includes an indication of the idle/inactive event that occurred in the second network (see paragraphs [0038-0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim further discloses wherein the periodic pattern is based on one or more of the following procedures in the second network: paging frames and paging occasions configured for the wireless device, discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, periods for performing measurements, and periodic registration area updates (see paragraph [0101-0106]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim further discloses wherein the periodic pattern comprises a set of time domain windows (see paragraphs [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim further discloses wherein the time domain windows are relative to a frame structure of the first network (see paragraphs [0050], [0054- 0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim further discloses wherein the wireless device comprises a multi-SIM wireless device (see fig.3, element UE 1c-15, paragraph [0005], [0040] and its description).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Kim discloses a network node capable of operating in a first network serving a first wireless device, wherein the wireless device is also in an idle/inactive state in a second network (see abstract, figs.3-4, elements UE 1c-15, gNB 1 1c-05, gNB 2 1c-10, fig.10, fig.16, element 1p-50, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0012-0013], [0019], [0025], [0038-0041], [0151-0152], [0156-0157] and descriptions), the network node comprising processing circuitry operable to: receive, from the wireless device a first indication of a periodic pattern for performing a set of idle/inactive mode procedures in the second network (see fig.10, step 1j-30, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0100] and its description); and upon an occurrence of at least one idle/inactive event in the second network, receive a second indication of the occurrence of the at least one idle/inactive event (see fig.10, steps 1j-40, 1j-65, paragraphs [0007-0008], [0108-0109] and its description).
Regarding claims 32-40 recite limitations substantially similar to the claims 12-20. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647