DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 04/23/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claims 5 and 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that prior art of record Kim et al. (US 2006/0193392), hereinafter Kim does not teach subject matter added to claims 1 and 12: “the channel variation coefficient indicating a temporal rate of change in a communication channel state.” The applicant argues that Kim teaches a per-subcarrier complex correction factor that is multiplied against a received signal to correct the signal before MIMO detection. While this is true, Kim also teaches the claimed subject matter above: “An absolute value of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a gain change of a channel and RF down-converter and a phase angle of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a residual frequency offset. The channel coefficient variation rate is 1.0 when there is no channel variation. The average detectors AVG obtain an average of the channel coefficient variation rate when a plurality of pilot signals are transmitted in a transmission end, thereby accurately estimating a channel coefficient variation” (Kim ¶ 0061). Thus the argument is not persuasive as a channel coefficient variation rate indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2004/0125900), hereinafter Liu in further view of Ferrante et al. (US 2019/0149199), hereinafter Ferrante, Marupaduga et al. (US 11,140,639), hereinafter Marupaduga, Pefkianakis et al. (US 2018/0092102), hereinafter Pefkianakis, and Kim et al. (US 2006/0193392), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches: A network node comprising: processing circuitry: “A data processor 113 processes the resultant r baseband signals and converts them back into t data streams, corresponding to the t data streams at the outputs of modulators 107-1-107-t” (Liu ¶ 0013) and “the transmitter end can be a base station and the receiver end a wireless unit or, alternatively, the transmitter end can be a wireless unit and the receiver end a base unit” (Liu ¶ 0029); configured to: determine an information carrying capacity, ICC, based at least on a channel variation coefficient for each of a plurality of candidate wireless devices: “the per antenna capacity for each channel has been determined to be a predefined function of selected channel coefficients, h, also known as the channel state information, in the instantaneous channel response matrix, H. The matrix H represents the response of the channel to a transmitted signal as the signal is affected by the amplitude and phase variations caused by the channel. The coefficients in the matrix H represent the operands upon an input signal, which transform a transmitted signal into a received signal due to the amplitude and phase variations imposed upon the transmitted signal by the channel conditions. The coefficients in the channel response matrix are determinable at the receiver end. In addition to the channel coefficients, h, the capacity of each transmitter antenna is also function of the number of transmitter antennas, t, and the average signal to noise (S/N) ratio, .rho., the latter measured at the receiver. Since channel conditions are constantly changing over a wireless channel, the capacity of each transmitter antenna is constantly updated” (Liu ¶ 0005).
Liu does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicating a temporal rate of change in a communication channel state, the ICC corresponding to a number of bits that are transmittable per second per resource while meeting a target bit error rate; determine a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device; and cause the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping.
Regarding Claim 1, Ferrante teaches: the ICC corresponding to a number of bits that are transmittable per second per resource while meeting a target bit error rate: “Channel coding and modulation may be designed as separate entities. For instance, a specific information bit rate and desired target bit error rate (BER) may be targeted. If channel coding is used to reach the target BER, the information bit rate (e.g., assuming a fixed bandwidth) may be reduced because of the redundancy added to the information bit stream. This reduction in the information rate may be handled, for example by using a higher order modulation format. The higher order modulation format, however, may decrease the distance between constellation points, which may in turn have a negative effect on the BER performance” (Ferrante ¶ 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu with Ferrante for the purpose of enhancing performance of a network system. According to Ferrante: “By designing the coding and modulation jointly, the overall performance of the system may be enhanced (e.g., in terms of requiring a smaller signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the same spectral efficiency)” (Ferrante ¶ 0071).
Ferrante does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicating a temporal rate of change in a communication channel state, determine a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device; and cause the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping.
Regarding Claim 1, Marupaduga teaches: determine a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “To facilitate MU-MIMO service, the UEs that will share air-interface resources (e.g., PRBs) should be “orthogonal” to each other, meaning that each UE could receive spatially separate transmissions from the base station without undue interference from the base station's transmissions to each other UE. Thus, when a base station is going to apply MU-MIMO (perhaps in response to the base station being heavily loaded with connected UEs with high throughput requirements), the base station could select a group of UEs to be a MU-MIMO group based on the UEs being orthogonal to each other” (Marupaduga Col 3 Lines 45-55); and cause the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping: “a base station can modulate data streams destined to each of multiple UEs on the same PRBs as each other and can transmit the modulated data streams on a separate respective propagation paths for receipt by the UEs. To facilitate this, the base station could pre-code transmissions on each propagation path using weighted coefficients based on channel estimates from the UEs, in a manner that enables each UE to remove cross-talk and receive its intended data. Further, the base station could beamform the transmissions respectively to each UE to help physically distinguish the transmissions from each other” (Marupaduga Col 2-3 Lines 60-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu and Ferrante with Marupaduga for the purpose of responsively allocating particular uplink air-interface resources to carry data. According to Marupaduga: “when a UE has data to transmit to the base station, the UE could transmit to the base station an uplink resource grant request, the base station could responsively allocate particular uplink air-interface resources to carry the data, and the UE could then transmit the data to the base station on the allocated uplink resources” Marupaduga Col 1-2 Lines 66-5).
Marupaduga does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicating a temporal rate of change in a communication channel state, logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device.
Regarding Claim 1, Pefkianakis teaches: logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device: “Each round of the informed greedy selection process, a potential MU-MIMO group may be constructed by iteratively adding client devices the group, with each client devices being added only if they satisfy certain inclusion criteria. In particular, the inclusion criteria may include (1) that the client device satisfies the SINR threshold condition, and (2) a throughput criterion (individual and/or group throughput). The throughput condition may be, for example, that adding the client device to the group results in an aggregate throughput for the group that is better than the combined throughput of the client device operating in single user mode and the group without the client device. As another example, the throughput condition may be that adding the client device to the group produces an aggregate throughput for the group that is higher than the throughput that would be produced by adding any other client device to the group. In certain examples, the client devices may be considered in descending order of throughput, and each iteration the client device currently being considered may be added to the group if it satisfies the selection criteria” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, and Marupaduga with Pefkianakis for the purpose of providing a method to select MIMO groups that can save processing requirements and communications overhead. According to Pefkianakis: “in certain circumstances the savings in processing requirements and/or communications overhead my offset any losses in overall throughput” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0023).
Pefkianakis does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state: “An absolute value of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a gain change of a channel and RF down-converter and a phase angle of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a residual frequency offset. The channel coefficient variation rate is 1.0 when there is no channel variation. The average detectors AVG obtain an average of the channel coefficient variation rate when a plurality of pilot signals are transmitted in a transmission end, thereby accurately estimating a channel coefficient variation” (Kim ¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Pefkianakis with Kim for the purpose of compensating for frequency offset and channel variation. According to Kim: “The present invention provides an apparatus for and a method of compensating for a frequency offset and a channel variation, which are suitable for an MIMO communication system, and an MIMO-OFDM receiver” (Kim ¶ 0018).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim teach: The network node of claim 1.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim do not teach: the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a total ICC for a first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; modify the first group by logically adding the first wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices to the first group; determine the total ICC for the modified first group; add the first wireless device to the subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being greater than the total ICC of the first group; and remove the first wireless device from the modified first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being less than the total ICC of the first group.
Regarding Claim 10, Pefkianakis teaches: the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a total ICC for a first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; modify the first group by logically adding the first wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices to the first group; determine the total ICC for the modified first group; add the first wireless device to the subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being greater than the total ICC of the first group; and remove the first wireless device from the modified first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being less than the total ICC of the first group: “Each round of the informed greedy selection process, a potential MU-MIMO group may be constructed by iteratively adding client devices the group, with each client devices being added only if they satisfy certain inclusion criteria. In particular, the inclusion criteria may include (1) that the client device satisfies the SINR threshold condition, and (2) a throughput criterion (individual and/or group throughput). The throughput condition may be, for example, that adding the client device to the group results in an aggregate throughput for the group that is better than the combined throughput of the client device operating in single user mode and the group without the client device. As another example, the throughput condition may be that adding the client device to the group produces an aggregate throughput for the group that is higher than the throughput that would be produced by adding any other client device to the group. In certain examples, the client devices may be considered in descending order of throughput, and each iteration the client device currently being considered may be added to the group if it satisfies the selection criteria” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim with Pefkianakis for the purpose of providing a method to select MIMO groups that can save processing requirements and communications overhead. According to Pefkianakis: “in certain circumstances the savings in processing requirements and/or communications overhead my offset any losses in overall throughput” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0023).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu teaches: A method implemented by a network node comprising: determining an information carrying capacity, ICC, based at least on a channel variation coefficient for each of a plurality of candidate wireless devices: “the per antenna capacity for each channel has been determined to be a predefined function of selected channel coefficients, h, also known as the channel state information, in the instantaneous channel response matrix, H. The matrix H represents the response of the channel to a transmitted signal as the signal is affected by the amplitude and phase variations caused by the channel. The coefficients in the matrix H represent the operands upon an input signal, which transform a transmitted signal into a received signal due to the amplitude and phase variations imposed upon the transmitted signal by the channel conditions. The coefficients in the channel response matrix are determinable at the receiver end. In addition to the channel coefficients, h, the capacity of each transmitter antenna is also function of the number of transmitter antennas, t, and the average signal to noise (S/N) ratio, .rho., the latter measured at the receiver. Since channel conditions are constantly changing over a wireless channel, the capacity of each transmitter antenna is constantly updated” (Liu ¶ 0005).
Liu does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state, the ICC corresponding to a number of bits that are transmittable per second per resource while meeting a target bit error rate; determining a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; and causing the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping.
Regarding Claim 12, Ferrante teaches: the ICC corresponding to a number of bits that are transmittable per second per resource while meeting a target bit error rate: “Channel coding and modulation may be designed as separate entities. For instance, a specific information bit rate and desired target bit error rate (BER) may be targeted. If channel coding is used to reach the target BER, the information bit rate (e.g., assuming a fixed bandwidth) may be reduced because of the redundancy added to the information bit stream. This reduction in the information rate may be handled, for example by using a higher order modulation format. The higher order modulation format, however, may decrease the distance between constellation points, which may in turn have a negative effect on the BER performance” (Ferrante ¶ 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu with Ferrante for the purpose of enhancing performance of a network system. According to Ferrante: “By designing the coding and modulation jointly, the overall performance of the system may be enhanced (e.g., in terms of requiring a smaller signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for the same spectral efficiency)” (Ferrante ¶ 0071).
Ferrante does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state, determining a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; and causing the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping.
Regarding Claim 12, Marupaduga teaches: determining a subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices for Multiple-Input Multiple-Output, MIMO, grouping based at least on the ICC of a MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping and spatial separability of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “To facilitate MU-MIMO service, the UEs that will share air-interface resources (e.g., PRBs) should be “orthogonal” to each other, meaning that each UE could receive spatially separate transmissions from the base station without undue interference from the base station's transmissions to each other UE. Thus, when a base station is going to apply MU-MIMO (perhaps in response to the base station being heavily loaded with connected UEs with high throughput requirements), the base station could select a group of UEs to be a MU-MIMO group based on the UEs being orthogonal to each other” (Marupaduga Col 3 Lines 45-55); and causing the MIMO transmission to the MIMO grouping: “a base station can modulate data streams destined to each of multiple UEs on the same PRBs as each other and can transmit the modulated data streams on a separate respective propagation paths for receipt by the UEs. To facilitate this, the base station could pre-code transmissions on each propagation path using weighted coefficients based on channel estimates from the UEs, in a manner that enables each UE to remove cross-talk and receive its intended data. Further, the base station could beamform the transmissions respectively to each UE to help physically distinguish the transmissions from each other” (Marupaduga Col 2-3 Lines 60-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu and Ferrante with Marupaduga for the purpose of responsively allocating particular uplink air-interface resources to carry data. According to Marupaduga: “when a UE has data to transmit to the base station, the UE could transmit to the base station an uplink resource grant request, the base station could responsively allocate particular uplink air-interface resources to carry the data, and the UE could then transmit the data to the base station on the allocated uplink resources” Marupaduga Col 1-2 Lines 66-5).
Marupaduga does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state, logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device.
Regarding Claim 12, Pefkianakis teaches: logically add a first wireless device to the MIMO grouping; add the first wireless device to the MIMO grouping if the ICC of the MIMO transmission improves after logically adding the first wireless device: “Each round of the informed greedy selection process, a potential MU-MIMO group may be constructed by iteratively adding client devices the group, with each client devices being added only if they satisfy certain inclusion criteria. In particular, the inclusion criteria may include (1) that the client device satisfies the SINR threshold condition, and (2) a throughput criterion (individual and/or group throughput). The throughput condition may be, for example, that adding the client device to the group results in an aggregate throughput for the group that is better than the combined throughput of the client device operating in single user mode and the group without the client device. As another example, the throughput condition may be that adding the client device to the group produces an aggregate throughput for the group that is higher than the throughput that would be produced by adding any other client device to the group. In certain examples, the client devices may be considered in descending order of throughput, and each iteration the client device currently being considered may be added to the group if it satisfies the selection criteria” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, and Marupaduga, with Pefkianakis for the purpose of providing a method to select MIMO groups that can save processing requirements and communications overhead. According to Pefkianakis: “in certain circumstances the savings in processing requirements and/or communications overhead my offset any losses in overall throughput” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0023).
Pefkianakis does not teach: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches: the channel variation coefficient indicates a rate of change in a communication channel state: “An absolute value of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a gain change of a channel and RF down-converter and a phase angle of the channel coefficient variation rate indicates a residual frequency offset. The channel coefficient variation rate is 1.0 when there is no channel variation. The average detectors AVG obtain an average of the channel coefficient variation rate when a plurality of pilot signals are transmitted in a transmission end, thereby accurately estimating a channel coefficient variation” (Kim ¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Pefkianakis with Kim for the purpose of compensating for frequency offset and channel variation. According to Kim: “The present invention provides an apparatus for and a method of compensating for a frequency offset and a channel variation, which are suitable for an MIMO communication system, and an MIMO-OFDM receiver” (Kim ¶ 0018).
Regarding Claim 21, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim teach: The method of claim 12.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim do not teach: determining a total ICC for a first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; modifying the first group by logically adding the first wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices to the first group; determining the total ICC for the modified first group; adding the first wireless device to the subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being greater than the total ICC of the first group; and removing the first wireless device from the modified first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being less than the total ICC of the first group.
Regarding Claim 21, Pefkianakis teaches: determining a total ICC for a first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices; modifying the first group by logically adding the first wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices to the first group; determining the total ICC for the modified first group; adding the first wireless device to the subset of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being greater than the total ICC of the first group; and removing the first wireless device from the modified first group of the plurality of candidate wireless devices based on the total ICC of the modified first group being less than the total ICC of the first group: “Each round of the informed greedy selection process, a potential MU-MIMO group may be constructed by iteratively adding client devices the group, with each client devices being added only if they satisfy certain inclusion criteria. In particular, the inclusion criteria may include (1) that the client device satisfies the SINR threshold condition, and (2) a throughput criterion (individual and/or group throughput). The throughput condition may be, for example, that adding the client device to the group results in an aggregate throughput for the group that is better than the combined throughput of the client device operating in single user mode and the group without the client device. As another example, the throughput condition may be that adding the client device to the group produces an aggregate throughput for the group that is higher than the throughput that would be produced by adding any other client device to the group. In certain examples, the client devices may be considered in descending order of throughput, and each iteration the client device currently being considered may be added to the group if it satisfies the selection criteria” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Kim with Pefkianakis for the purpose of providing a method to select MIMO groups that can save processing requirements and communications overhead. According to Pefkianakis: “in certain circumstances the savings in processing requirements and/or communications overhead my offset any losses in overall throughput” (Pefkianakis ¶ 0023).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Studer et al. (US 2020/0382228), hereinafter Studer.
Regarding Claim 3, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The network node of claim 1.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: the plurality of candidate wireless devices are associated with pairwise spatial metrics that meet a spatial pairing threshold: “UL MU-MIMO pairing can be a function of Γ and SINR. For a given Γ, only UEs of SINR larger than a certain threshold (which is a function of Γ – see Figure 1) can be paired” (3GPP Page 2 last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, Studer teaches: the plurality of candidate wireless devices are associated with pairwise spatial metrics that meet a spatial pairing threshold: “the wireless system comprises a massive MIMO BS with a uniform linear array (ULA) of B=32 antennas receiving data from N=2048 UE locations. We simulate a narrowband, line-of-sight (LoS) channel at a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of 0 dB. As will be described in more detail below, an example channel chart generated in such a system uses pairs of transmitters, with each pair being associated with a pairwise spatial distance and a pairwise feature dissimilarity. The channel features are designed to ensure that the pairwise feature dissimilarity is approximately lowerbounded by the pairwise spatial distance (when divided by a suitable reference distance). Thus, UEs that are far apart in space will have dissimilar channel features” (Studer ¶ 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Studer for the purpose of proactively reducing communication rates so as to prevent transmission failure. According to Studer: “The generated proximity map indicates if multiple wireless devices are at a common location, which can be used to guide the adaptation of communication rates for each such user. If a wireless device moves towards the cell boundary, as extracted from the proximity and velocity information, the rate can preventively be reduced even before the device will be in an area of bad reception. This mitigates transmission failures and improves communication reliability” (Studer ¶ 0035).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The method of claim 12.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: the plurality of candidate wireless devices are associated with pairwise spatial metrics that meet a spatial pairing threshold: “UL MU-MIMO pairing can be a function of Γ and SINR. For a given Γ, only UEs of SINR larger than a certain threshold (which is a function of Γ – see Figure 1) can be paired” (3GPP Page 2 last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Studer teaches: the plurality of candidate wireless devices are associated with pairwise spatial metrics that meet a spatial pairing threshold: “the wireless system comprises a massive MIMO BS with a uniform linear array (ULA) of B=32 antennas receiving data from N=2048 UE locations. We simulate a narrowband, line-of-sight (LoS) channel at a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of 0 dB. As will be described in more detail below, an example channel chart generated in such a system uses pairs of transmitters, with each pair being associated with a pairwise spatial distance and a pairwise feature dissimilarity. The channel features are designed to ensure that the pairwise feature dissimilarity is approximately lowerbounded by the pairwise spatial distance (when divided by a suitable reference distance). Thus, UEs that are far apart in space will have dissimilar channel features” (Studer ¶ 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Studer for the purpose of proactively reducing communication rates so as to prevent transmission failure. According to Studer: “The generated proximity map indicates if multiple wireless devices are at a common location, which can be used to guide the adaptation of communication rates for each such user. If a wireless device moves towards the cell boundary, as extracted from the proximity and velocity information, the rate can preventively be reduced even before the device will be in an area of bad reception. This mitigates transmission failures and improves communication reliability” (Studer ¶ 0035).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Sen et al. (US 2017/0127377), hereinafter Sen.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The network node of claim 1.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on mobility estimates of the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 6, Sen teaches: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on mobility estimates of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “During movement of the mobile device 108, the wireless protocol selection module 152 may limit the length of past history that a wireless protocol may refer to based on the intensity of movement of the mobile device 108 (and/or the wireless AP 110). For example, if the mobile device 108 is under macro-mobility 138 and is moving towards the wireless AP 110 (e.g., based on increase or decrease in the ToF 142), quality of the wireless channel 106 is likely to improve, and hence a more aggressive transmission bit-rate control (e.g., a transmission bit-rate control that provides for transmission of a higher number of bits for a given time duration) may be employed” (Sen ¶ 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Sen for the purpose of obtaining higher throughput when able due to changes in the UE mobility. According to Sen: “mechanisms to obtain higher throughput, for example, in 802.11n/ac WLANs, such as frame aggregation, beam-forming, and multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), typically utilize different optimizations based on the intensity of mobility of the mobile device 108. In this regard, the wireless protocol selection module 152 may similarly select an appropriate wireless protocol for the wireless channel 106 based on whether the mobile device 108 is in the static state 132 relative to the wireless AP 110, under environmental mobility 134, under micro-mobility 136, or under macro-mobility 138 relative to the wireless AP 110” (Sen ¶ 0043).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The method of claim 12.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: determining the ICC based at least on mobility estimates of the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 17, Sen teaches: determining the ICC based at least on mobility estimates of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “During movement of the mobile device 108, the wireless protocol selection module 152 may limit the length of past history that a wireless protocol may refer to based on the intensity of movement of the mobile device 108 (and/or the wireless AP 110). For example, if the mobile device 108 is under macro-mobility 138 and is moving towards the wireless AP 110 (e.g., based on increase or decrease in the ToF 142), quality of the wireless channel 106 is likely to improve, and hence a more aggressive transmission bit-rate control (e.g., a transmission bit-rate control that provides for transmission of a higher number of bits for a given time duration) may be employed” (Sen ¶ 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Sen for the purpose of obtaining higher throughput when able due to changes in the UE mobility. According to Sen: “mechanisms to obtain higher throughput, for example, in 802.11n/ac WLANs, such as frame aggregation, beam-forming, and multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), typically utilize different optimizations based on the intensity of mobility of the mobile device 108. In this regard, the wireless protocol selection module 152 may similarly select an appropriate wireless protocol for the wireless channel 106 based on whether the mobile device 108 is in the static state 132 relative to the wireless AP 110, under environmental mobility 134, under micro-mobility 136, or under macro-mobility 138 relative to the wireless AP 110” (Sen ¶ 0043).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen as applied to claims 6 and 18 above, and further in view of Ki et al. (US 2010/0158089), hereinafter Ki.
Regarding Claim 7, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen teach: The network node of claim 6.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen do not teach: the mobility estimates are based on temporal filtering of a correlation coefficient between channel estimates at successive channel estimation instants.
Regarding Claim 7, Ki teaches: the mobility estimates are based on temporal filtering of a correlation coefficient between channel estimates at successive channel estimation instants: “The Doppler estimator 416 calculates the time correlation of the multi-tap channel, estimates the mobility of the mobile terminal based on the time correlation to generate the filter coefficients of the individual subchannel estimators of the multi-tap subchannel estimator and the parameter for determining the convergence speed of the equalizer, and outputs the parameter to the multi-tap subchannel estimator” (Ki ¶ 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen with Ki for the purpose of compensating for frequency offset and channel variation. According to Ki: “The present invention provides an apparatus for and a method of compensating for a frequency offset and a channel variation, which are suitable for an MIMO communication system, and an MIMO-OFDM receiver” (Kim ¶ 0018).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen teach: The method of claim 17.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen do not teach: the mobility estimates are based on temporal filtering of a correlation coefficient between channel estimates at successive channel estimation instants.
Regarding Claim 18, Ki teaches: the mobility estimates are based on temporal filtering of a correlation coefficient between channel estimates at successive channel estimation instants: “The Doppler estimator 416 calculates the time correlation of the multi-tap channel, estimates the mobility of the mobile terminal based on the time correlation to generate the filter coefficients of the individual subchannel estimators of the multi-tap subchannel estimator and the parameter for determining the convergence speed of the equalizer, and outputs the parameter to the multi-tap subchannel estimator” (Ki ¶ 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, and Sen with Ki for the purpose of compensating for frequency offset and channel variation. According to Ki: “The present invention provides an apparatus for and a method of compensating for a frequency offset and a channel variation, which are suitable for an MIMO communication system, and an MIMO-OFDM receiver” (Kim ¶ 0018).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Goutay et al. (US 2021/0367654), hereinafter Goutay.
Regarding Claim 8, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The network node of claim 1.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on respective signal to noise ratio, SNR, of the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 8, Goutay teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on respective signal to noise ratio, SNR, of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “disclosed technique uses a function with the one or more trainable parameters θ, e.g., a neural network (NN), which takes as input indications about the channel quality, e.g., the SNR, and provides as output the locations of constellation points in the complex plane. The function is optimized using stochastic gradient descent (SGD) to maximize the information rate” (Goutay ¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Goutay for the purpose of optimizing the signal shape for MU-MIMO communications. According to Goutay: “the optimization of signal shaping has never been considered for the MU-MIMO communication systems. Therefore, there is a need for an improved method and apparatus to optimize the signal shaping for the MU-MIMO communication system, in order to maximize the information rate” (Goutay ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The method of claim 12.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: determining the ICC based at least on respective signal to noise ratio, SNR, of the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 19, Goutay teaches: determining the ICC based at least on respective signal to noise ratio, SNR, of the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “disclosed technique uses a function with the one or more trainable parameters θ, e.g., a neural network (NN), which takes as input indications about the channel quality, e.g., the SNR, and provides as output the locations of constellation points in the complex plane. The function is optimized using stochastic gradient descent (SGD) to maximize the information rate” (Goutay ¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Goutay for the purpose of optimizing the signal shape for MU-MIMO communications. According to Goutay: “the optimization of signal shaping has never been considered for the MU-MIMO communication systems. Therefore, there is a need for an improved method and apparatus to optimize the signal shaping for the MU-MIMO communication system, in order to maximize the information rate” (Goutay ¶ 0006).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Minotani et al. (US 2022/0303030), hereinafter Minotani.
Regarding Claim 9, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The network node of claim 1.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on inter-wireless device interference among the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 9, Minotani teaches: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on inter-wireless device interference among the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “In DL communication (e.g., transmission and reception of DL data), for example, AP 300 (or also referred to as a “downlink radio transmitter”) may perform DL MU-MIMO transmission to the plurality of STAs 400 (or also referred to as “downlink radio receivers”). Each of STAs 400 may, for example, generate feedback information based on a signal transmitted by the DL MU-MIMO (e.g,, DL MU PPDU), and transmit the feedback information to AP 300 (e,g., UL SU transmission or UL, MU transmission). In the present embodiment, STA 400 feeds back, to AP 300, a channel coefficient on a spatial stream of a single or some inter-user interference signals based on reception quality of a reference signal (e.g., LTF) included in a non-NDP MU PPDU. The channel coefficient is, for example, a component of a channel estimation matrix represented by N.sub.RX×N.sub.ss. In addition, the channel coefficient is, for example, part of a subcarrier represented by N.sub.s. Note that Ns indicates the number of subcarriers allocated to STA 400” (Minotani ¶ 0217-0218).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Minotani for the purpose of improving spectrum efficiency. According to Minotani: “Discussions have been proceeding for 11be on the increase, from 11ax, in the maximum number of spatial streams (SSs), e.g., also referred to as the number of spatial multiplexing, in downlink (DL) multi-user multiple-input multiple output (MU-MIMO), for example. The increase in the maximum number of spatial streams improves spectrum efficiency” (Minotani ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim teach: The method of claim 12.
Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim do not teach: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on inter-wireless device interference among the plurality of candidate wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 20, Minotani teaches: the processing circuitry is configured to determine the ICC based at least on inter-wireless device interference among the plurality of candidate wireless devices: “In DL communication (e.g., transmission and reception of DL data), for example, AP 300 (or also referred to as a “downlink radio transmitter”) may perform DL MU-MIMO transmission to the plurality of STAs 400 (or also referred to as “downlink radio receivers”). Each of STAs 400 may, for example, generate feedback information based on a signal transmitted by the DL MU-MIMO (e.g,, DL MU PPDU), and transmit the feedback information to AP 300 (e,g., UL SU transmission or UL, MU transmission). In the present embodiment, STA 400 feeds back, to AP 300, a channel coefficient on a spatial stream of a single or some inter-user interference signals based on reception quality of a reference signal (e.g., LTF) included in a non-NDP MU PPDU. The channel coefficient is, for example, a component of a channel estimation matrix represented by N.sub.RX×N.sub.ss. In addition, the channel coefficient is, for example, part of a subcarrier represented by N.sub.s. Note that Ns indicates the number of subcarriers allocated to STA 400” (Minotani ¶ 0217-0218).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Liu, Ferrante, Marupaduga, Pefkianakis, and Kim with Minotani for the purpose of improving spectrum efficiency. According to Minotani: “Discussions have been proceeding for 11be on the increase, from 11ax, in the maximum number of spatial streams (SSs), e.g., also referred to as the number of spatial multiplexing, in downlink (DL) multi-user multiple-input multiple output (MU-MIMO), for example. The increase in the maximum number of spatial streams improves spectrum efficiency” (Minotani ¶ 0003).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473