DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 01/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1:
a first connectivity layer comprising:
a first conductive pad that enables an electrical connectivity to a transmit signal source, the first conductive pad having a first capacitance;
a feed line coupled between the first conductive pad and the transmit signal source; and
a first antipad surrounding at least a portion of the first conductive pad that enables isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the first conductive pad, wherein the first antipad has a resonance that is a function of the first capacitance;
a second connectivity layer comprising a second conductive pad that enables an electrical connectivity to an external device; and
a plurality of layers positioned between the first connectivity layer and the second connectivity layer (note bolded portion).
Claim 2:
wherein the second connectivity layer further comprises a second antipad surrounding at least a portion of the second conductive pad that enables an isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the second conductive pad.
Claim 6:
wherein the first antipad comprises: a first antipad structure proximate the first conductive pad, wherein the first antipad structure is a discontinuity in the first connectivity layer; and a second antipad structure coupled to the first antipad structure and extending into the first connectivity layer.
Claim 7:
wherein the first antipad structure has a first shape and the second antipad structure has a second shape different from the first shape.
Claim 8:
wherein the second antipad structure comprises two structures in parallel.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “410” has been used to designate both waveguide port and conductive pad. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings, Fig. 4A-4D, 5A-5D, 6A-6D, 7-11B, are further objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show structural boundaries with sufficient clarity. In other words, said drawings are vague and not clear or distinctly visible. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a first connectivity layer comprising: a first conductive pad that enables an electrical connectivity to a transmit signal source, the first conductive pad having a first capacitance; a feed line coupled between the first conductive pad and the transmit signal source; and a first antipad surrounding at least a portion of the first conductive pad that enables isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the first conductive pad, wherein the first antipad has a resonance that is a function of the first capacitance; a second connectivity layer comprising a second conductive pad that enables an electrical connectivity to an external device; and a plurality of layers positioned between the first connectivity layer and the second connectivity layer” (note bolded portion). It is unclear how the claim structural features are interrelated in the electromagnetic device, particularly when said limitations are not mappable to a single drawing. The specification does not use similar terms to the claim, which raises further ambiguity. The Examiner suggests that applicants map the claim to a specific drawing to help advance the prosecution.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the second connectivity layer further comprises a second antipad surrounding at least a portion of the second conductive pad that enables an isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the second conductive pad”. It is unclear what particular structural features are referred to as the second conductivity layer and second antipad. The Examiner suggests that applicants map said limitation to a specific drawing to help advance the prosecution.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the first antipad comprises: a first antipad structure proximate the first conductive pad, wherein the first antipad structure is a discontinuity in the first connectivity layer; and a second antipad structure coupled to the first antipad structure and extending into the first connectivity layer”. It is unclear what structural features said limitation is attempting to describe. The Examiner suggests that applicants map said limitation to a specific drawing to help advance the prosecution.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the first antipad structure has a first shape and the second antipad structure has a second shape different from the first shape”. It is unclear what structural features said limitation is attempting to describe. The Examiner suggests that applicants map said limitation to a specific drawing to help advance the prosecution.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the second antipad structure comprises two structures in parallel”. It is unclear what structural features said limitation is attempting to describe. The Examiner suggests that applicants map said limitation to a specific drawing to help advance the prosecution.
Claims 2-12 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUKUCHI (US Pub. 2016/0128191).
Regarding claim 1, FUKUCHI teaches a multi-layer electromagnetic device (Fig. 5A-5B), comprising:
a first connectivity layer 20c comprising:
a first conductive pad 25c that enables an electrical connectivity to a transmit signal source (see signal lines 22c-23c, Para [0026]), the first conductive pad 25c having a first capacitance (Fig. 5A-5B);
a feed line 24c coupled between the first conductive pad 25c and the transmit signal source (it is understood that the first conductive pad 25c is coupled to a signal source via feed line 24c/22c/23c, see Fig. 5B); and
a first antipad (any one of 43c-1, 43c-2 & 43c-3) surrounding at least a portion of the first conductive pad 25c that enables isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the first conductive pad 25c, wherein the first antipad has a resonance that is a function of the first capacitance (Fig. 5A-5B and associated text);
a second connectivity layer 20a comprising a second conductive pad 25a that enables an electrical connectivity to an external device (pad 25a is capable of electrical connectivity to an external device); and
a plurality of layers (11 & 20b) positioned between the first connectivity layer 20c and the second connectivity layer 20a (see Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 1, wherein the second connectivity layer 20a further comprises a second antipad surrounding at least a portion of the second conductive pad 25a that enables an isolation of electromagnetic signals propagating through the second conductive pad (see Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 3, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 1, wherein the first connectivity layer 20c further comprises a microstrip line (e.g. any of 22c/23c or 24c) coupled to the first conductive pad 25c and an input port (Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 4, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 3, wherein the first antipad (e.g. 43c-2) surrounds at least a portion of the microstrip line (see Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 5, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 4, wherein the first antipad 25c and the microstrip line (e.g. any of 22c/23c or 24c) form a routing path into the multi-layer electromagnetic device (Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 1, wherein the first antipad comprises: a first antipad structure (e.g. 43c-1) proximate the first conductive pad 25c, wherein the first antipad structure is a discontinuity in the first connectivity layer 20c; and a second antipad structure (corresponding 43c-1 or 43c-2 in the second connectivity layer 20a) coupled to the first antipad structure and extending into the first connectivity layer 20a (see Fig. 5A-5B and respective texts).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 6, wherein the first antipad structure has a first shape and the second antipad structure has a second shape different from the first shape (Fig. 5A-5B, 43c-2 in the second connectivity layer 20a has a different shape than 43c-1 in the first connectivity layer 20c).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 7, wherein the second antipad structure comprises two structures in parallel (Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 9, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 7, wherein the first shape and the second shape are a function of the first capacitance (Fig. 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 10, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 1 , wherein the first connectivity layer 20c, the second connectivity layer 20a, and the plurality of layers form an antenna in package (AIP) device (the structure of Fig. 5A-5B is capable of forming an AIP device).
Regarding claim 11, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 10, further comprising: an integrated circuit mapping with the AIP device that is configured to operate in a millimeter wave frequency range of the electromagnetic signals (Para [0026] and Fig. 5A-5B, the device is capable of operating in a millimeter wave frequency range of the electromagnetic signals).
Regarding claim 12, FUKUCHI teaches the multi-layer electromagnetic device of claim 1, wherein the first antipad is a discontinuity within the first connectivity layer (Fig. 5A-5B, & Para [0024]).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818