DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15 and 17-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 17, 18, 20, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 20230292259, hereinafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses,
A method in a wireless device (WD) configured to communicate with a network node (The user terminal 20 may be connected to at least one of the plurality of base stations 10 [0148]), the method comprising:
determining that a maximum permissible emission (MPE) event has occurred for a current spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement), [0034]-[0037]);
selecting a candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may determine the UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement in response to the detection of the occurrence of the MPE problem. In the present disclosure, the UL Tx beam/panel, an MPE-adapted beam/panel, an MPE safe beam/panel, a candidate beam/panel, and a new UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement may be replaced with each other [0042]), the candidate downlink reference signal corresponding to a candidate spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs, [0165]; “R” may be applied to beam information/RS information switching. For example, “R” may be applied to UL beam/RS or DL beam/RS switching and SSB/CSI-RS switching [0135]-[0140]); and
reporting the selected candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may report at least one determined MPE-adapted beam/panel [0043]; One or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for one cell/BWP in which the MPE problem is detected [0048]-[0049]) and a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value for the candidate spatial domain transmission filter in an MPE report to the network node (Required P-MPR for each beam/panel index in addition to at least one of Contents 1, 2, and 3 [0047]-[0051]; The P-MPR, P-MPR.sub.f,c, and the PMPR may be replaced with each other. P.sub.CMAX and P.sub.CMAXf,c may be replaced with each other. “PMPR is applied to P.sub.CMAX” and “PMPR is used to calculate P.sub.CMAX” may be replaced with each other [0077]; and also see [0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura discloses,
receiving from the network node an indication of a spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (It has been studied to prompt a UE equipped with a plurality of panels to select a UL Tx beam based on UL beam indication in consideration of a UL coverage loss due to the MPE, for fast UL panel selection [0031]; The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement) [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura discloses,
wherein the candidate downlink reference signal is a synchronization signal block, SSB, signal or a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs [0165]).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura discloses,
A wireless device (WD) configured to communicate with a network node (The user terminal 20 may be connected to at least one of the plurality of base stations 10 [0148]), the WD comprising:
Processing circuitry configured to:
determine that a maximum permissible emission (MPE) event has occurred for a current spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement), [0034]-[0037]);
select a candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may determine the UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement in response to the detection of the occurrence of the MPE problem. In the present disclosure, the UL Tx beam/panel, an MPE-adapted beam/panel, an MPE safe beam/panel, a candidate beam/panel, and a new UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement may be replaced with each other [0042]), the candidate downlink reference signal corresponding to a candidate spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs, [0165]; “R” may be applied to beam information/RS information switching. For example, “R” may be applied to UL beam/RS or DL beam/RS switching and SSB/CSI-RS switching [0135]-[0140]); and
a radio interface (Fig. 15; 220) in communication with the processing circuitry and configured to:
report the selected candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may report at least one determined MPE-adapted beam/panel [0043]; One or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for one cell/BWP in which the MPE problem is detected [0048]-[0049]) and a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value for the candidate spatial domain transmission filter in an MPE report to the network node (Required P-MPR for each beam/panel index in addition to at least one of Contents 1, 2, and 3 [0047]-[0051]; The P-MPR, P-MPR.sub.f,c, and the PMPR may be replaced with each other. P.sub.CMAX and P.sub.CMAXf,c may be replaced with each other. “PMPR is applied to P.sub.CMAX” and “PMPR is used to calculate P.sub.CMAX” may be replaced with each other [0077]; and also see [0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses,
Wherein the radio interface is further configured to receive from the network node an indication of a spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (It has been studied to prompt a UE equipped with a plurality of panels to select a UL Tx beam based on UL beam indication in consideration of a UL coverage loss due to the MPE, for fast UL panel selection [0031]; The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement) [0035]).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura discloses,
wherein the candidate downlink reference signal is a synchronization signal block, SSB, signal or a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs [0165]).
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura discloses,
A method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (WD) (The user terminal 20 may be connected to at least one of the plurality of base stations 10 [0148]) the method comprising:
receiving from the WD a maximum permissible emission (MPE) report providing a candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may report at least one determined MPE-adapted beam/panel [0043]; One or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for one cell/BWP in which the MPE problem is detected [0048]-[0049]) and a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value for a candidate spatial domain transmission filter corresponding to the candidate downlink reference signal (Required P-MPR for each beam/panel index in addition to at least one of Contents 1, 2, and 3 [0047]-[0051]; The P-MPR, P-MPR.sub.f,c, and the PMPR may be replaced with each other. P.sub.CMAX and P.sub.CMAXf,c may be replaced with each other. “PMPR is applied to P.sub.CMAX” and “PMPR is used to calculate P.sub.CMAX” may be replaced with each other [0077]; and also see [0080]-[0081]); and
selecting, based on the provided candidate downlink reference signal and the P- MPR value, a downlink reference signal corresponding to a spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs, [0165]; “R” may be applied to beam information/RS information switching. For example, “R” may be applied to UL beam/RS or DL beam/RS switching and SSB/CSI-RS switching [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 18, Matsumura discloses,
transmitting to the WD an indication of the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (It has been studied to prompt a UE equipped with a plurality of panels to select a UL Tx beam based on UL beam indication in consideration of a UL coverage loss due to the MPE, for fast UL panel selection [0031]; The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement) [0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura discloses,
wherein the selected downlink reference signal is one of a current downlink reference signal corresponding to a current spatial domain transmission filter used by the WD for uplink transmissions and the provided candidate downlink reference signal corresponding to the candidate spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The UE may determine the UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement in response to the detection of the occurrence of the MPE problem. In the present disclosure, the UL Tx beam/panel, an MPE-adapted beam/panel, an MPE safe beam/panel, a candidate beam/panel, and a new UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement may be replaced with each other [0042]; An index of the MPE-adapted beam/panel for a plurality of cells/BWPs in which the MPE problem is detected. The MAC CE may include one or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for each of the plurality of cells/BWPs [0049]; The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other [0068]).
Regarding claim 22, Matsumura discloses,
A network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (WD) (The user terminal 20 may be connected to at least one of the plurality of base stations 10 [0148]) the network node comprising:
a radio interface (Fig. 14; 120) configured to:
receivie from the WD a maximum permissible emission (MPE) report providing a candidate downlink reference signal (The UE may report at least one determined MPE-adapted beam/panel [0043]; One or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for one cell/BWP in which the MPE problem is detected [0048]-[0049]) and a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value for a candidate spatial domain transmission filter corresponding to the candidate downlink reference signal (Required P-MPR for each beam/panel index in addition to at least one of Contents 1, 2, and 3 [0047]-[0051]; The P-MPR, P-MPR.sub.f,c, and the PMPR may be replaced with each other. P.sub.CMAX and P.sub.CMAXf,c may be replaced with each other. “PMPR is applied to P.sub.CMAX” and “PMPR is used to calculate P.sub.CMAX” may be replaced with each other [0077]; and also see [0080]-[0081]); and
processing circuitry (Fig. 14; 110) in communication with the radio interface and configured to select, based on the provided candidate downlink reference signal and the P- MPR value, a downlink reference signal corresponding to a spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other. An index and an ID may be replaced with each other [0068]; a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and the like may be transmitted. In the radio communication system 1, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like may be transmitted as DL-RSs, [0165]; “R” may be applied to beam information/RS information switching. For example, “R” may be applied to UL beam/RS or DL beam/RS switching and SSB/CSI-RS switching [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 23, Matsumura discloses,
the radio interface being configured to transmit to the WD an indication of the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions (It has been studied to prompt a UE equipped with a plurality of panels to select a UL Tx beam based on UL beam indication in consideration of a UL coverage loss due to the MPE, for fast UL panel selection [0031]; The UE may detect (determine) the MPE problem in a case where the UL Tx beam or reference signal (RS) indicated for UL transmission (e.g., a PUSCH) does not satisfy the MPE requirement (in a case where a power parameter for the indicated UL Tx beam does not satisfy the MPE requirement) [0035]).
Regarding claim 25, Matsumura discloses,
wherein the selected downlink reference signal is one of a current downlink reference signal corresponding to a current spatial domain transmission filter used by the WD for uplink transmissions and the provided candidate downlink reference signal corresponding to the candidate spatial domain transmission filter of the WD (The UE may determine the UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement in response to the detection of the occurrence of the MPE problem. In the present disclosure, the UL Tx beam/panel, an MPE-adapted beam/panel, an MPE safe beam/panel, a candidate beam/panel, and a new UL Tx beam/panel that satisfies the MPE requirement may be replaced with each other [0042]; An index of the MPE-adapted beam/panel for a plurality of cells/BWPs in which the MPE problem is detected. The MAC CE may include one or more or up to N MPE-adapted beam/panel indexes for each of the plurality of cells/BWPs [0049]; The beam index may be an RS resource index, an RS index, a synchronization signal block (SSB) index, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or an SRS index. A panel index, an RS resource group (RS resource set) index, an RS group (RS set) index, an antenna port (antenna port group, or antenna port set) index, and an antenna assumption (mode) index may be replaced with each other [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura, and further in view of Yuan et al. (US 20230018795, hereinafter “Yuna”).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the reporting further comprises reporting quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses, wherein the reporting further comprises reporting quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node (wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a beam power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) metric, a beam uplink reference signal receive power (RSRP) metric, or a beam virtual power headroom metric, and transmitting a report based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values [0005]; the UE transmits the report in one or more of a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) message, or an uplink beam report [0014]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein the reporting further comprises reporting quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node, as taught by Yuan for the purpose of providing techniques for determining beam metrics for maximum permissible exposure reporting [0001].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matsumura and Yuan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), further Yuan discloses,
wherein the quality information includes a difference in quality between (a method of wireless communication, performed by a UE, may include identifying a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event for a current beam based at least in part on one or more beam metric values for the current beam, wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a P-MPR metric, an uplink RSRP metric, or a virtual power headroom metric [0029]; the determination to beam switch from the current beam to the replacement beam is based at least in part on a difference between the one or more beam metric values of the replacement beam and the one or more beam metric values of the current beam satisfying a threshold [0037]): using, for an uplink (UL) transmission, the current spatial domain transmission filter (the UE is configured with a first set of uplink resources associated with one or more current beams including the current beam and the UE is configured with one or more of a second set of uplink resources for candidate beams, or a third set of uplink resources for reporting beam metrics [0030]-0031]) taking a reduction of transmit power for the current spatial domain transmission filter due to the MPE event into account (identifying a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event for a current beam based at least in part on one or more beam metric values for the current beam [0029]; the beam virtual power headroom metric for a beam may be based at least in part on a difference between a maximum power available for a transmission via an uplink resource [0194]-[0197]), and using the candidate spatial domain transmission filter corresponding to the selected candidate downlink reference signal for the UL (the report may identify information for an uplink resource associated with a current beam and information for an uplink resource associated with a candidate beam (e.g., a proposed new beam or proposed new uplink resource, a candidate beam and/or a candidate downlink resource that the base station may choose, and/or the like), [0217]-[0220]).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, the radio interface being configured to report quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses, the radio interface being configured to report quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node. (wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a beam power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) metric, a beam uplink reference signal receive power (RSRP) metric, or a beam virtual power headroom metric, and transmitting a report based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values [0005]; the UE transmits the report in one or more of a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) message, or an uplink beam report [0014]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing the radio interface being configured to report quality information of the selected candidate downlink reference signal to the network node, as taught by Yuan for the purpose of providing techniques for determining beam metrics for maximum permissible exposure reporting [0001].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsumura and Yuan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Yuan discloses,
wherein the quality information includes a difference in quality between (a method of wireless communication, performed by a UE, may include identifying a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event for a current beam based at least in part on one or more beam metric values for the current beam, wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a P-MPR metric, an uplink RSRP metric, or a virtual power headroom metric [0029]; the determination to beam switch from the current beam to the replacement beam is based at least in part on a difference between the one or more beam metric values of the replacement beam and the one or more beam metric values of the current beam satisfying a threshold [0037]): using, for an uplink (UL) transmission, the current spatial domain transmission filter (the UE is configured with a first set of uplink resources associated with one or more current beams including the current beam and the UE is configured with one or more of a second set of uplink resources for candidate beams, or a third set of uplink resources for reporting beam metrics [0030]-0031]) taking a reduction of transmit power for the current spatial domain transmission filter due to the MPE event into account (identifying a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event for a current beam based at least in part on one or more beam metric values for the current beam [0029]; the beam virtual power headroom metric for a beam may be based at least in part on a difference between a maximum power available for a transmission via an uplink resource [0194]-[0197]), and using the candidate spatial domain transmission filter corresponding to the selected candidate downlink reference signal for the UL (the report may identify information for an uplink resource associated with a current beam and information for an uplink resource associated with a candidate beam (e.g., a proposed new beam or proposed new uplink resource, a candidate beam and/or a candidate downlink resource that the base station may choose, and/or the like), [0217]-[0220]).
Regarding claim 19, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the receiving further comprises receiving quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses, w wherein the receiving further comprises receiving quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD (wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a beam power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) metric, a beam uplink reference signal receive power (RSRP) metric, or a beam virtual power headroom metric, and transmitting a report based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values [0005]; the UE transmits the report in one or more of a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) message, or an uplink beam report [0014]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein the receiving further comprises receiving quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD, as taught by Yuan for the purpose of providing techniques for determining beam metrics for maximum permissible exposure reporting [0001].
Regarding claim 24, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the radio interface being configured to receive further comprises the radio interface being configured to receive quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses, wherein the radio interface being configured to receive further comprises the radio interface being configured to receive quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD (wherein the one or more beam metric values correspond to one or more of a beam power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) metric, a beam uplink reference signal receive power (RSRP) metric, or a beam virtual power headroom metric, and transmitting a report based at least in part on the one or more beam metric values [0005]; the UE transmits the report in one or more of a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) message, or an uplink beam report [0014]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein the radio interface being configured to receive further comprises the radio interface being configured to receive quality information of the candidate downlink reference signal from the WD, as taught by Yuan for the purpose of providing techniques for determining beam metrics for maximum permissible exposure reporting [0001].
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 20190190582, hereinafter “Guo”).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses, wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals (the UE can be configured with higher layer parameter ReportQuantity set to be “CRI/RSRP” or “SSBRI/RSRP”. When the UE is configured with “CRI/RSRP”, the UE can be requested to report N different CRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRP based one measuring K configured CSI-RS resources. An example of K value is 16, 32 or 64. When the UE is configured with “SSBRI/RSRP”, the UE can be requested to report N different SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRP values. The example of N can be 1, 2, 3, and 4 [0136]) and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal (In a beam report configured with N>1 reported beams, the UE is requested to report 7-bit L1-RSRP of the CSI-RS resource (CRI) or SSB with the largest L1-RSRP and 4-bit differential RSRP of all other N−1 reported CSI-RS resources (CRI) or SSBs. The differential RSRP is calculated with reference to the largest L1-RSRP reported in the same reporting instance [0222]) of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals (If the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, the UE may use largest L1-RSRP and differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest value of L1-RSRP uses a 7-bit value and the differential L1-RSRP uses a 4-bit value. The differential L1-RSRP values are computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest L1-RSRP value which is part of the same L1-RSRP reporting instance [0222]-[0226]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals, as taught by Guo for the purpose of providing an effective beam reporting scheme in an advanced wireless communication system [0030].
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses, wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals (the UE can be configured with higher layer parameter ReportQuantity set to be “CRI/RSRP” or “SSBRI/RSRP”. When the UE is configured with “CRI/RSRP”, the UE can be requested to report N different CRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRP based one measuring K configured CSI-RS resources. An example of K value is 16, 32 or 64. When the UE is configured with “SSBRI/RSRP”, the UE can be requested to report N different SSBRIs and their corresponding L1-RSRP values. The example of N can be 1, 2, 3, and 4 [0136]) and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal (In a beam report configured with N>1 reported beams, the UE is requested to report 7-bit L1-RSRP of the CSI-RS resource (CRI) or SSB with the largest L1-RSRP and 4-bit differential RSRP of all other N−1 reported CSI-RS resources (CRI) or SSBs. The differential RSRP is calculated with reference to the largest L1-RSRP reported in the same reporting instance [0222]) of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals (If the higher layer parameter nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, the UE may use largest L1-RSRP and differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest value of L1-RSRP uses a 7-bit value and the differential L1-RSRP uses a 4-bit value. The differential L1-RSRP values are computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest L1-RSRP value which is part of the same L1-RSRP reporting instance [0222]-[0226]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein the candidate downlink reference signal comprises a plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and wherein the reporting includes reporting quality information of a first candidate downlink reference signal of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals and reporting a difference between the quality information of the first candidate downlink reference signal and corresponding quality information of at least one of the remaining candidate downlink reference signals of the plurality of candidate downlink reference signals, as taught by Guo for the purpose of providing an effective beam reporting scheme in an advanced wireless communication system [0030].
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210013954, hereinafter “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 21, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses, wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD (The process of downlink beamforming training is a process of finding an optimal beam pair composed of an optimal transmission beam of the base station and an optimal receiving beam of the user equipment. Similarly, in the uplink, the receiving beams of the base station and the transmission beams of the user equipment also form a set of beam pairs., [0069]-[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD, as taught by Zhao for the purpose of providing an improved fast beam management, which utilizes a matching status between a channel path parameter under a first beam and a channel path parameter under a second beam covered by the first beam to select a particular second beam [0118].
Regarding claim 26, Matsumura discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22), however Matsumura does not explicitly disclose, wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao discloses, wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD (The process of downlink beamforming training is a process of finding an optimal beam pair composed of an optimal transmission beam of the base station and an optimal receiving beam of the user equipment. Similarly, in the uplink, the receiving beams of the base station and the transmission beams of the user equipment also form a set of beam pairs., [0069]-[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura by specifically providing wherein selecting the downlink reference signal corresponding to the spatial domain transmission filter to be used by the WD for uplink transmissions includes selecting an uplink-downlink beam pair that provides a highest path gain between the network node and the WD, as taught by Zhao for the purpose of providing an improved fast beam management, which utilizes a matching status between a channel path parameter under a first beam and a channel path parameter under a second beam covered by the first beam to select a particular second beam [0118].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240275672: Disclosed herein is a method performed by a wireless device for optimized reconfiguration of radio link monitoring, RLM, and beam monitoring. The method includes receiving, from a first network node, a first message comprising at least one RLM parameter related to at least one reference signal. The method further includes receiving, from the first network node, a second message comprising a bitmap indicating activation of at least one RLM parameter associated with the first message.
US 12052085: Beam failure recovery (BFR) in a multiple Downlink Control Information (mDCI) mode may include receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a Downlink Reference Signal (DL RS) set from a next generation Node B (gNB). The DL RS set may be associated with a link between the UE and the gNB and indicate beam failure detection (BFD) is to be performed for the link.
US 11832285: Wireless communications may comprise transmissions using a beam. A message may comprise one or more indications of a beam and/or type(s) of signals for downlink and/or uplink transmission using the beam. An acknowledgement may be used to indicate reception of the one or more indications and/or a time offset may be used for applying the beam for the downlink and/or uplink transmission.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641