DETAILED ACTION
The office action is responsive to a preliminary amendment filed on 4/25/23 and is being
examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims cover performance of the limitation in the mind or by pencil and paper and as a mathematical concept.
Claim 1
Regarding step 1, claim 1 is directed towards a method, which has the claim fall within the eligible statutory categories of processes, machines, manufactures and composition of matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1
Regarding step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites “calculating characteristic parameters of searched materials”. This limitation is calculating characteristic parameters of searched materials. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “taking the second active layer material as the active layer material of the thin film transistor device to perform an experiment”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “and selecting another second active layer material to perform the experiment once again when an experiment result does not meet a preset requirement”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding step 2A, prong 2, the limitation of “screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold to obtain first active layer materials”. In paragraph [31] of the specification, it states that the step of screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold as first active layer materials includes storing the first active layer materials in a first database. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Also, the limitation of “simulating the first active layer material as an active layer material in a thin film transistor device model to obtain a device characteristic of the thin film transistor device” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate what the first active layer material is or how the device characteristic is associated with the first active layer material. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Also, the limitation of “screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials”. In paragraph [34] of the specification, it states that the step of screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials includes storing the second active layer materials in a second database. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Also, the limitation of “and selecting another second active layer material to perform the experiment once again when an experiment result does not meet a preset requirement, and a design of the thin film transistor device is completed until the experiment result meets the preset requirement.” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate how the selecting of another second active layer material is occurring. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Regarding Step 2B, the limitation of “screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold to obtain first active layer materials” is also shown to reflect the court decisions of Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, shown in MPEP 2106.05(d) (II).
Also, the limitation of “simulating the first active layer material as an active layer material in a thin film transistor device model to obtain a device characteristic of the thin film transistor device” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate what the first active layer material is or how the device characteristic is associated with the first active layer material. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Also, the limitation of “screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials” is also shown to reflect the court decisions of Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, shown in MPEP 2106.05(d) (II).
Also, the limitation of “and selecting another second active layer material to perform the experiment once again when an experiment result does not meet a preset requirement, and a design of the thin film transistor device is completed until the experiment result meets the preset requirement.” amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate how the selecting of another second active layer material is occurring. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claim 2
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the characteristic parameter comprises at least one of energy band structure, band gap, Schottky barrier, work function, and intermediate phase.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 3
Dependent claim 3 recites “wherein the characteristic parameter threshold comprises at least one of band gap threshold, Schottky barrier threshold, work function threshold or intermediate phase threshold.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein the band gap threshold is 0.5 to 3 eV; wherein the Schottky barrier threshold is 0.1 to 2 eV; wherein the work function threshold is 2.5 to 5.5 eV; and wherein the intermediate phase threshold is 1 to 4.”. These limitations do not distinguish themselves from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 5
Dependent claim 5 recites “wherein the simulating step specifically comprises simulating a transfer curve and an output curve of the thin film transistor device, and determining the device characteristic of the thin film transistor device according to the transfer curve and the output curve.”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate how the simulation is occurring or how the device characteristic is associated with the transfer and output curves. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claim 6
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein the device characteristic comprises at least one of threshold voltage, device mobility, current on-off ratio, or subthreshold swing.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 7
Dependent claim 7 recites “wherein the device characteristic threshold comprises at least one of threshold voltage threshold, device mobility threshold, current on-off ratio threshold, or subthreshold swing threshold.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 8
Dependent claim 8 recites “wherein the threshold voltage threshold is less than 0.5 V; wherein the device mobility threshold is 1 to 1000 cm2/V/s; wherein the current on-off ratio threshold is 103 to 108; and wherein the subthreshold swing threshold is 10 to 300 mV/dec.”. These limitations do not distinguish themselves from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 9
Dependent claim 9 recites “wherein the step of screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold as first active layer materials further comprises: storing the first active layer materials in a first database.”. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 10
Dependent claim 10 recites “wherein data in the first database is automatically input and output through an automatic control system.”. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 11
Dependent claim 11 recites “wherein the first active layer database comprises characteristic parameters of a type and a material of the active layer material.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 12
Dependent claim 12 recites “wherein the step of screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials further comprises: storing the second active layer materials in a second database.”. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 13
Dependent claim 13 recites “wherein the second active layer database comprises characteristic parameters of a type and a material of the active layer material and a device characteristic obtained by simulating the active layer material as the thin film transistor device”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Dependent claim 13 recites “and wherein data in the second database is automatically input and output through an automatic control system.”. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim 14
Dependent claim 14 recites “wherein a method used to calculate the characteristic parameter of the material comprises a first principle calculation method.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human mind or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 15
Dependent claim 15 recites “wherein the step of taking the second active layer material as the active layer material of the thin film transistor device to perform an experiment further comprises: selecting a material of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the thin film transistor device.”. This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception, where it recites an idea of a solution. The limitation doesn’t indicate how the selecting of the material of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the thin film transistor device is occurring. See MPEP 2106.05 (f) (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Claims 1-15 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sun et al. (CN 107330200) (translation) in view of online reference High-Throughput Computational Screening of Two-Dimensional Semiconductors, written by Wang et al.
With respect to claim 1, Sun et al. discloses “calculating characteristic parameters of searched materials” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 8th paragraph, “The above device characteristic parameters can be the internal voltage of the device, the internal field strength of the device or the internal temperature of the device, and the like. Some of the device characteristic parameters may change under different scenarios. For example, when the process parameters change, the parameter threshold can be determined through software simulation. For example, the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor can be simulated by calling the Atlas tool in the Sivalco TCAD. Some of the above device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters of the device, so the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter can be directly obtained, for example, by receiving the threshold value of the manual input parameter or by querying the preset parameter database for the parameter threshold value.”, By changing the device characteristic parameters of the thin film transistor, demonstrates that the characteristic parameters are being calculated, where the device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters.)];
“screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold to obtain first active layer materials” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 6th – 7th paragraph, “Step 102: When the process parameter is a target parameter value, determine a parameter threshold of a device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor.
Optionally, the process parameters mentioned above may include a Gate Insulator (abbreviation: GI ε), a Gate Insulator Thickness (GI THK), an active layer thickness, The thickness of the source / drain pattern, the material of manufacture, the gate thickness, the etching slope angle of the gate insulating layer, the etching slope angle of the active layer, and the etching slope angle of the source drain pattern.”, Sun et al. 12th paragraph, “Step 104: When the parameter value reaches the parameter threshold, the currently loaded electrostatic discharge voltage is determined as the withstand electrostatic voltage of the thin film transistor when the process parameter is the target parameter value.”)];
“simulating the first active layer material as an active layer material in a thin film transistor device model to obtain a device characteristic of the thin film transistor device” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 4th paragraph “In this embodiment of the present invention, a device model of a thin film transistor may be established by using semiconductor simulation tool software. Exemplarily, the semiconductor simulation tool software may be a
semiconductor process simulation and a device simulation tool software, also referred to as a Computer Aided Design (TCAD) software. The TCAD can be Sivalco's TCAD or newly created TCAD software.”, Sun et al. Pg. 4, 7th paragraph “Optionally, the process parameters mentioned above may include a Gate Insulator (abbreviation: GI ε), a Gate Insulator Thickness (GI THK), an active layer thickness, The thickness of the source / drain pattern, the material of manufacture, the gate thickness, the etching slope angle of the gate insulating layer, the etching slope angle of the active layer, and the etching slope angle of the source drain pattern.”, Sun et al. Pg. 4, 8th paragraph, “The above device characteristic parameters can be the internal voltage of the device, the internal field strength of the device or the internal temperature of the device, and the like. Some of the device characteristic parameters may change under different scenarios. For example, when the process parameters change, the parameter threshold can be determined through software simulation. For example, the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor can be simulated by calling the Atlas tool in the Sivalco TCAD. Some of the above device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters of the device, so the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter can be directly obtained, for example, by receiving the threshold value of the manual input parameter or by querying the preset parameter database for the parameter threshold value.”)];
“screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 7, 1st paragraph, “It should be noted that since the thin film transistor in the above process is actually a design structure that is not put into production, it is necessary to further adjust or improve its process parameters in the design stage according to the specific circumstances. Therefore, in practical applications, The target parameter value of the process parameter is updated and the above steps 202 to 205 are repeatedly executed until the target withstand electrostatic voltage that meets manufacturing requirements is obtained and then the target parameter value of the process parameter corresponding to the target withstand electrostatic voltage is used to perform the thin film transistor Generated. Alternatively, the target parameter values of the process parameters may be updated, and the above steps 202 to 205 are repeatedly executed to obtain the corresponding relationship between the target parameter values of the plurality of sets of process parameters and the withstand electrostatic voltage. During subsequent generation, the plurality of sets of correspondence may be referred to, in order to use the parameters of the appropriate process parameters for thin film transistor production. Wherein, updating the target parameter value of the process parameter refers to changing the target parameter value information or the value of the process parameter. For example, when the process parameter is the gate dielectric constant, updating the target parameter value of the process parameter refers to updating the gate insulation Layer dielectric constant value; process parameters for the manufacture of materials, the process parameters to update the target parameter value refers to change the manufacturing materials.”, The examiner considers the updating of the target parameter value to be obtaining a second active later material, since the target parameter value is going to be a different value and the manufacturing materials are going to be changed)];
“taking the second active layer material as the active layer material of the thin film transistor device to perform an experiment” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 7, 1st paragraph, “It should be noted that since the thin film transistor in the above process is actually a design structure that is not put into production, it is necessary to further adjust or improve its process parameters in the design stage according to the specific circumstances. Therefore, in practical applications, The target parameter value of the process parameter is updated and the above steps 202 to 205 are repeatedly executed until the target withstand electrostatic voltage that meets manufacturing requirements is obtained and then the target parameter value of the process parameter corresponding to the target withstand electrostatic voltage is used to perform the thin film transistor Generated. Alternatively, the target parameter values of the process parameters may be updated, and the above steps 202 to 205 are repeatedly executed to obtain the corresponding relationship between the target parameter values of the plurality of sets of process parameters and the withstand electrostatic voltage. During subsequent generation, the plurality of sets of correspondence may be referred to, in order to use the parameters of the appropriate process parameters for thin film transistor production. Wherein, updating the target parameter value of the process parameter refers to changing the target parameter value information or the value of the process parameter. For example, when the process parameter is the gate dielectric constant, updating the target parameter value of the process parameter refers to updating the gate insulation Layer dielectric constant value; process parameters for the manufacture of materials, the process parameters to update the target parameter value refers to change the manufacturing materials.”)];
“and selecting another second active layer material to perform the experiment once again when an experiment result does not meet a preset requirement, and a design of the thin film transistor device is completed until the experiment result meets the preset requirement.” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 9, 7th paragraph, “It should be noted that since the thin film transistor in the above process is actually a design structure that is not put into production, it is necessary to further adjust or improve its process parameters in the design stage according to the specific circumstances. Therefore, in practical applications, The target value of the process
parameter is updated and the above steps 402 to 405 are repeatedly executed until the target withstand electrostatic voltage that meets manufacturing requirements is obtained and then the target parameter value of the process parameter corresponding to the target withstand electrostatic voltage is used to perform the process generate. Alternatively, the target values of the process parameters may be updated and the above steps 402 to 405 are repeatedly executed to obtain the corresponding relationship between the target parameter values of the plurality of sets of process parameters and the withstand electrostatic voltage.”)];
While the Sun et al. reference teaches establishing a device model of a thin film transistor using a semiconductor simulation software tool, see Sun et al. Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 4th – 5th paragraph, “In this embodiment of the present invention, a device model of a thin film transistor may be established by using semiconductor simulation tool software, etc.”, Sun et al. does not explicitly disclose “A method of designing a thin film transistor device”
Wang et al. discloses “A method of designing a thin film transistor device” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors
database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap.)];
Sun et al. and Wang et al. are analogous art because they are from the same
field endeavor of analyzing a thin film transistor of a semiconductor.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sun et al. of establishing a device model of a thin film transistor using a semiconductor simulation software tool by incorporating a method of designing a thin film transistor device as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of screening direct and indirect gap 2D nonmagnetic semiconductors.
Sun et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches a method of designing a thin film transistor device.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Wang et al. teaches that by performing high-throughput calculations with density-functional theory, the ability to screen direct and indirect gap 2D nonmagnetic semiconductors, can be accomplished. This allows the ability to find the best semiconducting candidates (Wang et al. Pg. 5, sec. 4 Summary, “In conclusion, we identified, etc.”).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein the characteristic parameter comprises at least one of energy band structure, band gap, Schottky barrier, work function, and intermediate phase.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap.”, Wang et al. Pg. 3, Semiconductor Screening, 1st paragraph, “The band gaps Eg of nonmagnetic semiconductors can be obtained as, etc.”)];
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein the characteristic parameter threshold comprises at least one of band gap threshold, Schottky barrier threshold, work function threshold or intermediate phase threshold.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, left col., 1st paragraph, “The peculiar puckered honeycomb structure of few-layer black phosphorus (phosphorene) leads to significant anisotropic electronic and optical properties on zigzag and armchair directions. Remarkably, its band gap is also thickness-dependent, varying from 0.3 eV in the bulk limit to ⁓2.2 eV in a monolayer with a direct band gap character.”, The examiner considers the bulk limit to be the band gap threshold, since it’s the limit for the band gap)];
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the simulating step specifically comprises simulating a transfer curve and an output curve of the thin film transistor device, and determining the device characteristic of the thin film transistor device according to the transfer curve and the output curve.” as [Sun et al. (Pgs. 5-6, last paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2-5, Figure 2-5 shows the internal voltage distribution of a thin film transistor simulated by calling the Atlas tool in Sivalco's TCAD when GI ε is a different parameter. In Fig. 2-5, the curve a shows the internal voltage distribution curve of the thin film transistor when GI ε = 6.5 and the curve b shows the internal voltage distribution curve of the thin film transistor when GI ε = 7. When the curve c is GI ε = 7.5, Transistor internal voltage profile, curve d is the internal voltage profile of the thin film transistor with GI ε = 8. The voltage at the inflection point of each curve is the value of the internal breakdown voltage of the device corresponding to the curve. As can be seen from Figure 2-5, the larger the GI ε, the smaller the internal breakdown voltage of the device, ie, the value of GI ε is inversely proportional to the breakdown voltage inside the device, given the same process parameters.”, Fig. 2-5)];
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the device characteristic comprises at least one of threshold voltage, device mobility, current on-off ratio, or subthreshold swing.” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 5, 2nd paragraph “In the embodiments of the present invention, the device characteristic parameters are different, and the threshold voltage of the internal voltage of the device is also different, and the testing process of the withstand voltage of
the corresponding thin film transistor is also different.”, Sun et al. Pg. 5, 3rd paragraph “In the first implementable manner, the characteristic parameters of the device include: the internal voltage of the device and the threshold voltage of the internal voltage of the device are the breakdown voltage values inside the device. When the internal voltage of the device of the thin film transistor reaches the breakdown voltage of the device, the thin film transistor device The internal breakdown, the thin film transistor will have irreversible damage.”)];
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the device characteristic threshold comprises at least one of threshold voltage threshold, device mobility threshold, current on-off ratio threshold, or subthreshold swing threshold.” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 5, 2nd paragraph “In the embodiments of the present invention, the device characteristic parameters are different, and the threshold voltage of the internal voltage of the device is also different, and the testing process of the withstand voltage of the corresponding thin film transistor is also different.”, Sun et al. Pg. 5, 3rd paragraph “In the first implementable manner, the characteristic parameters of the device include: the internal voltage of the device and the threshold voltage of the internal voltage of the device are the breakdown voltage values inside the device. When the internal voltage of the device of the thin film transistor reaches the breakdown voltage of the device, the thin film transistor device The internal breakdown, the thin film transistor will have irreversible damage.”)];
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein the step of screening the materials according to a characteristic parameter threshold as first active layer materials further comprises: storing the first active layer materials in a first database.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd sentence, “Another important database for 2D materials
was builded by Mounet et al. They chose the binding energy obtained by DFT calculations together with vdW correction, as the screening criterion (<few tens of meV*Å-1) and identified more than 1800 structures.”, Wang et al. Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap. We listed the lattice constants, formation energy, Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio at GGA level, as well as the hybrid DFT calculated band gap, ionization energy and electron affinity for each candidate.”)];
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 9 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein data in the first database is automatically input and output through an automatic control system.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd sentence, “Another important database for 2D materials
was builded by Mounet et al. They chose the binding energy obtained by DFT calculations together with vdW correction, as the screening criterion (<few tens of meV*Å-1) and identified more than 1800 structures.”, Wang et al. Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap. We listed the lattice constants, formation energy, Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio at GGA level, as well as the hybrid DFT calculated band gap, ionization energy and electron affinity for each candidate.”)];
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 9 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the first active layer database comprises characteristic parameters of a type and a material of the active layer material.” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 8th paragraph, “The above device characteristic parameters can be the internal voltage of the device, the internal field strength
of the device or the internal temperature of the device, and the like. Some of the device characteristic parameters may change under different scenarios. For example, when the process parameters change, the parameter threshold can be determined through software simulation. For example, the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor can be simulated by calling the Atlas tool in the Sivalco TCAD. Some of the above device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters of the device, so the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter can be directly obtained, for example, by receiving the threshold value of the manual input parameter or by querying the preset parameter database for the parameter threshold value.”, Sun et al. Pg. 8, 10th paragraph, “Since the melting point of a material is an intrinsic property parameter of the material, its melting point can be determined based on the specified material. For example, when the specified material is n + silicon, its melting point is 1688K (Chinese: Kelvin). The melting point can be obtained by receiving a manual input parameter threshold or by querying in a preset parameter database.”)];
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the step of screening the first active layer materials according to a device characteristic threshold to obtain second active layer materials further comprises: storing the second active layer materials in a second database.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd sentence, “Another important database for 2D materials was builded by Mounet et al. They chose the binding energy obtained by DFT calculations together with vdW correction, as the screening criterion (<few tens of meV*Å-1) and identified more than 1800 structures.”, Wang et al. Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap. We listed the lattice constants, formation energy, Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio at GGA level, as well as the hybrid DFT calculated band gap, ionization energy and electron affinity for each candidate.”)];
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 12 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the second active layer database comprises characteristic parameters of a type and a material of the active layer material and a device characteristic obtained by simulating the active layer material as the thin film transistor device” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 4, Detailed Description, 8th paragraph, “The above device characteristic parameters can be the internal voltage of the device, the internal field strength of the device or the internal temperature of the device, and the like. Some of the device characteristic parameters may change under different scenarios. For example, when the process parameters change, the parameter threshold can be determined through software simulation. For example, the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor can be simulated by calling the Atlas tool in the Sivalco TCAD. Some of the above device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters of the device, so the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter can be directly obtained, for example, by receiving the threshold value of the manual input parameter or by querying the preset parameter database for the parameter threshold value.”, Sun et al. Pg. 8, 10th paragraph, “Since the melting point of a material is an intrinsic property parameter of the material, its melting point can be determined based on the specified material. For example, when the specified material is n + silicon, its melting point is 1688K (Chinese: Kelvin). The melting point can be obtained by receiving a manual input parameter threshold or by querying in a preset parameter database.”, Sun et al. Pg. 4, 8th paragraph, “The above device characteristic parameters can be the internal voltage of the device, the internal field strength of the device or the internal temperature of the device, and the like. Some of the device characteristic parameters may change under different scenarios. For example, when the process parameters change, the parameter threshold can be determined through software simulation. For example, the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter of the thin film transistor can be simulated by calling the Atlas tool in the Sivalco TCAD. Some of the above device characteristic parameters are intrinsic performance parameters of the device, so the parameter threshold of the device characteristic parameter can be directly obtained, for example, by receiving the threshold value of the manual input parameter or by querying the preset parameter database for the parameter threshold value.”)];
Wang et al. discloses “and wherein data in the first second database is automatically input and output through an automatic control system.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd sentence, “Another important database for 2D materials was builded by Mounet et al. They chose the binding energy obtained by DFT calculations together with vdW correction, as the screening criterion (<few tens of meV*Å-1) and identified more than 1800 structures.”, Wang et al. Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap. We listed the lattice constants, formation energy, Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio at GGA level, as well as the hybrid DFT calculated band gap, ionization energy and electron affinity for each candidate.”)];
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein a method used to calculate the characteristic parameter of the material comprises a first principle calculation method.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, right col., 2nd paragraph, “In this work, combined high-throughput first principles calculations with the existing 2D crystal structures databases mentioned above, we chose the thermodynamic-, mechanical-stability and conductivity type as criterions and screen around 478 2D semiconductors from near 1000 2D structures. Our 2D semiconductors database consisting 130 structures with direct band gap and 358 structures with indirect band gap. We listed the lattice constants, formation energy, Young’s modulus, Poisson’s ratio at GGA level, as well as the hybrid DFT calculated band gap, ionization energy and electron affinity for each candidate.”)];
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 1 above, and Sun et al. further discloses “wherein the step of taking the second active layer material as the active layer material of the thin film transistor device to perform an experiment further comprises: selecting a material of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the thin film transistor device.” as [Sun et al. (Pg. 5, 6th paragraph, “As shown in FIG. 2-2, FIG. 2-2 is a top view of a design structure of a thin film transistor. The design structure is designed by staff members at a design stage that is not yet in production. As shown in FIG. 2-3, FIG. 2-3 is a simulation structure diagram of section A-A in FIG. 2-2, and the simulation structure diagram corresponds to the device model of the thin film transistor shown in FIG. 2-2. 2-3, the horizontal axis represents the length in microns (abbreviation: um) and the vertical axis represents the thickness in um. In FIG. 2-3, it is assumed that the gate 002 is sequentially disposed on the base substrate 001, A gate insulating layer 003, a semiconductor
active layer 004, and a source / drain metal layer 005 including a source and a drain. The material of the base substrate 001 is SiO2 (Chinese: silicon dioxide), the material of the gate 002 is AlNd (Chinese: aluminum neodymium) and Molybdenum (Chinese: molybdenum), and the gate insulation layer 003 is made of Si3N4 The material of the semiconductor active layer 004 is silicon (Chinese: amorphous silicon), and the material of the source / drain metal layer 005 is n + silicon (n + amorphous silicon).”, Figs. 2-2 and 2-3)];
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al.
in view of Wang et al. in further view of online reference Control of Threshold Voltage and Saturation Mobility Using Dual-Active-Layer Device Based on Amorphous Mixed Metal–Oxide–Semiconductor on Flexible Plastic Substrates, written by Marrs et al. in further view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2012/0049181).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 7 above.
While the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. teaches a device characteristic comprising at least one of threshold voltage, Sun et al. and Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose “wherein the threshold voltage threshold is less than 0.5 V; wherein the device mobility threshold is 1 to 1000 cm2/V/s; wherein the current on-off ratio threshold is 103 to 108”
Marrs et al. discloses “wherein the threshold voltage threshold is less than 0.5 V” as [Marrs et al. (Pg. 3431, left col., 1st paragraph, “This strategy was used to fabricate a series of dual-layer devices; Fig. 5 shows the (a) threshold voltage and (b) saturation mobility and on–off ratio of the resultant dual-layer stacks versus first active layer thickness h1 with the total thickness held constant at 50 nm. Note that the data points at h1 = 0 represent the values for the respective single-layer ZIO or IGZO devices. The dual-layer devices exhibit substantially higher
saturation mobility and substantially reduced threshold voltage than the corresponding single-layer devices. Greater performance improvements are observed for ZIO than for IGZO.”, Fig. 5, In Fig. 5it shows that the threshold voltage is less than 0.5V)];
“wherein the device mobility threshold is 1 to 1000 cm2/V/s” as [Marrs et al. (Pg. 3432, sec. C. Mixed Active-Layer Devices, 2nd paragraph, “Fig. 7 shows the dependence of threshold voltage, on/off ratio, and saturation mobility on the device structure as listed in
Table I. The mean saturation mobility (9 cm2/V ・ s) and on/off ratio (6 × 108) of devices d1 and d2, which were fabricated by first depositing IGZO (h1) and, subsequently, ZIO (h2) without
breaking vacuum, are not statistically different from the saturation mobility and on/off ratio of devices that were fabricated with a dual layer of IGZO that were presented in Fig. 5. The
same is true of devices d3 and d4, which were fabricated with ZIO as h1 and IGZO as h2 and feature a saturation mobility of 18 cm2/V ・ s and an on/off ratio of 2 × 109. This mobility and
on/off current ratio are not statistically different from the duallayer ZIO-only devices presented in Fig. 5. The results again show that the initial device performance is strongly dependent
on the h1 thickness and composition.”, Fig. 7)];
“wherein the current on-off ratio threshold is 103 to 108” as [Marrs et al. (Pg. 3432, sec. C. Mixed Active-Layer Devices, 2nd paragraph, “Fig. 7 shows the dependence of threshold voltage, on/off ratio, and saturation mobility on the device structure as listed in
Table I. The mean saturation mobility (9 cm2/V ・ s) and on/off ratio (6 × 108) of devices d1 and d2, which were fabricated by first depositing IGZO (h1) and, subsequently, ZIO (h2) without
breaking vacuum, are not statistically different from the saturation mobility and on/off ratio of devices that were fabricated with a dual layer of IGZO that were presented in Fig. 5. The
same is true of devices d3 and d4, which were fabricated with ZIO as h1 and IGZO as h2 and feature a saturation mobility of 18 cm2/V ・ s and an on/off ratio of 2 × 109. This mobility and
on/off current ratio are not statistically different from the duallayer ZIO-only devices presented in Fig. 5. The results again show that the initial device performance is strongly dependent
on the h1 thickness and composition.”, Fig. 7)];
Sun et al., Wang et al. and Marrs et al. are analogous art because they are from the same
field endeavor of analyzing a thin film transistor of a semiconductor.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sun et al. and Wang et al. of having a device characteristic comprising at least one of threshold voltage by incorporating wherein the threshold voltage threshold is less than 0.5 V; wherein the device mobility threshold is 1 to 1000 cm2/V/s; wherein the current on-off ratio threshold is 103 to 108 as taught by Marrs et al. for the purpose of developing a device structure for high-performance and improved stability thin film transistors.
Sun et al. in view of Wang et al. in further view of Marrs et al. teaches wherein the threshold voltage threshold is less than 0.5 V; wherein the device mobility threshold is 1 to 1000 cm2/V/s; wherein the current on-off ratio threshold is 103 to 108.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Marrs et al. teaches that by developing a device structure for high-performance and improved stability thin film transistors, devices with dual active layers exhibit improved performance and stability under gate bias stress. This allows a way to achieve both high performance and good stability for multiple active layers (Marrs et al. Pg. 3433, sec. 4 Conclusion, “A novel device structure for high-performance and improved-stability TFTs, etc.”).
While the combination of Sun et al., Wang et al. and Marrs et al. teaches a threshold voltage threshold, a device mobility threshold, and an on-off ration threshold, Sun et al., Wang et al. and Marrs et al. do not explicitly disclose “and wherein the subthreshold swing threshold is 10 to 300 mV/dec.”
Kim et al. discloses “and wherein the subthreshold swing threshold is 10 to 300 mV/dec.” as [Kim et al. (paragraph [0101] “Referring to Table 1, it can be confirmed that the on/off characteristics of the thin film transistors and the subthreshold swing values are improved as the zirconium content is increased. Specifically, relatively excellent properties are exhibited when a ratio of the number of moles of tin:zinc:zirconium is in a range of about 7:4:0.3 to about 7:4:0.5. Particularly, when the ratio of the number of moles of tin:zinc:zirconium is about 7:4:0.3, the thin film transistor exhibits very good characteristics, in which the charge mobility, threshold voltage, on/off current ratio, and subthreshold swing are about 2.18 cm.sup.2/Vs, about 5.13 V, etc.”, Table 1, Table 1 has the subthreshold swing in volts per decade. The values converted to millivolts per decade would fall within the range given for the claim limitation)];
Sun et al., Wang et al., Marrs et al. and Kim et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing a thin film transistor of a semiconductor.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sun et al., Wang et al. and Marrs et al. of having a threshold voltage threshold, a device mobility threshold, and an on-off ration threshold by incorporating and wherein the subthreshold swing threshold is 10 to 300 mV/dec. as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of forming an oxide semiconductor thin film.
Sun et al. in view of Wang et al. in further view of Marrs et al. in further view of Kim et al. teaches and wherein the subthreshold swing threshold is 10 to 300 mV/dec.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Kim et al. teaches that by forming an oxide semiconductor thin film, the ability to have an electronic device include the oxide thin film can be accomplished. This allows there to be a low cost on the composition for an oxide thin film (Kim et al. paragraph [0004] – [0009]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al.
in view of Wang et al. in further view of Chang et al. (WO 2016/057973).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. discloses the method of claim 3 above, and Wang et al. further discloses “wherein the band gap threshold is 0.5 to 3 eV” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, 1st paragraph, “as [Wang et al. (Pg. 1, Introduction, left col., 1st paragraph, “The peculiar puckered honeycomb structure of few-layer black phosphorus (phosphorene) leads to significant anisotropic electronic and optical properties on zigzag and armchair directions. Remarkably, its band gap is also thickness-dependent, varying from 0.3 eV in the bulk limit to ⁓2.2 eV in a monolayer with a direct band gap character.”, The examiner considers the bulk limit to be the band gap threshold, since it’s the limit for the band gap)];
“wherein the work function threshold is 2.5 to 5.5 eV” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 4, right col., 1st sentence, “The HSE06 calculated band gap of 1.61 eV for phosphorene, 5.70 eV for h-BN, 2.13 eV for MoS2 and 1.15 eV for TiS3, well agreement with previous reports.”)];
“and wherein the intermediate phase threshold is 1 to 4.” as [Wang et al. (Pg. 2, right col., 2nd - 3rd sentence, “We also note that the PBE-calculated formation energies of Si Ge and Sn monolayer are higher than 0.6 eV/f.u but they have recently been synthesized or isolated by exfoliation. Thus, We use a threshold of 1 eV/formula-unit as an upper bound on sufficient thermodynamic stability for the synthesis and growth of freestanding monolayers.”)];
While the combination of Sun et al. and Wang et al. teaches a band gap threshold, a work function threshold and an intermediate phase threshold, Sun et al. and Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose “wherein the Schottky barrier threshold is 0.1 to 2 eV”
Chang et al. discloses “wherein the Schottky barrier threshold is 0.1 to 2 eV” as [Chang et al. (paragraph [0023] “In one aspect, a low threshold voltage integrated circuit is disclosed, comprising a single crystalline silicon, poly-crystalline silicon, or oxide-on-insulator (SOI) substrate, one or more low barrier or high barrier Schottky diodes formed within the substrate, and one or more fixed threshold or variable threshold complementary transistors formed within the substrate, where a respective Schottky diode shares a common terminal with a respective complementary transistor.”, The examiner considers the one or more low or high barrier Schottky diodes to be the range for the Schottky barrier threshold, since the Schottky barrier threshold is for a Schottky barrier diode)];
Sun et al., Wang et al. and Chang et al. are analogous art because they are from the same
field endeavor of analyzing a thin film transistor of a semiconductor.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sun et al. and Wang et al. of having a band gap threshold, a work function threshold and an intermediate phase threshold by incorporating wherein the Schottky barrier threshold is 0.1 to 2 eV as taught by Chang et al. for the purpose of analyzing Super CMOS (SCMOS™) technology.
Sun et al. in view of Wang et al. in further view of Chang et al. teaches wherein the Schottky barrier threshold is 0.1 to 2 eV.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Chang et al. teaches that by analyzing Super CMOS (SCMOS™) technology, the ability to improve performance, power, cost reliability and system efficiency over CMOS IC approaches, can be accomplished. This allows for a SCMOS device to retain the high speed of Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), without the penalty of high power (Chang et al. paragraphs [005] – [007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of Bates, JR. (U.S. Pgpub 2011/0180807) is a device and methods of an external photoemissive infrared detector using a silver n-type silicon composite.
/BERNARD E COTHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188