This office action is in response to remarks filed 09/11/2025.
Claims 16, 18, 21 and 28 are pending. Claims 1-15, 17, 19-20, 22-27, 29 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 16, 28, the originally filed specification fails to disclose “transmit, to a network device exclusively via a media access control control element (MAC-CE) message outside of a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window, a first information indicating whether the terminal device has scheduling restriction related to intra frequency measurements” and “wherein the first information indicates: a first information indicating that the terminal device will initiate intra- frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP falls below the s- MeasureConfig threshold; and a first information I-1" indicating that the terminal device will no longer perform intra-frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP exceeds the s-MeasureConfig threshold.” Applicant amended the claim but does not describe where the amended subject matter can find support. Additionally, cursory review of specification was made, but above subject matter could not be located. As such, above subject matter is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 18, 21, 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the recites “wherein the first information indicates: a first information indicating that the terminal device will initiate intra- frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP falls below the s- MeasureConfig threshold; and a first information I-1" indicating that the terminal device will no longer perform intra-frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP exceeds the s-MeasureConfig threshold.” However, the two information are contradictory to each other and cannot be together at the same time. In other words, it cannot indicate to perform and to not perform at the same time. Similar issues exists with claims 21, 28.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (US 2023/0327790 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Da Silva discloses a network device, comprising:
at least one processor (see para. 0466), and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (see para. 0466), cause the network device to:
transmit an indication request to a terminal device, the indication request instructing the terminal device to transmit a first information (see fig. 8, 801, para. 0391, discloses configuring conditional reporting requesting measurement);
receive the first information from the terminal device, wherein the first information indicating whether the terminal device has scheduling restrictions related to intra-frequency measurements (see fig. 8, 804, para. 0391, discloses UE transmitting measurement report including RSRP, see para. 0033, 0210. The RSRP when compared to configured S-measureconfig threshold, i.e. search threshold indicates if the measurement will be performed or not, thereby indicating if the UE is allowed to perform measurement or not. See para. 0328-0334),
wherein the first information comprises:
signaling from the terminal device indicating that the terminal device will initiate the intra-frequency measurements (See para. 0328-0334, the measurement indicates if the threshold is exceeded or not and performing the measurement or not), and
singling from the terminal device indicating that the terminal device will no longer perform the intra-frequency measurements (see Id.); and
based on the first information, perform scheduling for the terminal device (See Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Teng et al. (US 2014/0204791).
Regarding claims 16, 28, Da Silva (US 2023/0327790 A1) discloses a terminal device, comprising:
at least one processor (see para. 0449); and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (see para. 0449), cause the terminal device to:
transmit to a network device a message outside of a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window, a first information indicating whether the terminal device has scheduling restrictions related to intra-frequency measurements (see fig. 8, 804, para. 0391, discloses UE transmitting measurement report including RSRP, see para. 0033, 0210. The RSRP when compared to configured S-measureconfig threshold, i.e. search threshold indicates if the measurement will be performed or not, thereby indicating if the UE is allowed to perform measurement or not. See para. 0328-0334. Additionally, the reporting of measurement is regardless of SMTC window);
wherein the terminal device is configured with 3GPP s-MeasureConfig search threshold that specifies a serving cell reference signal received power (S-RSRP) level controlling when the terminal device performs intra-frequency measurements of non- serving cells on the serving carrier (see para. 0328-0334); and
wherein the first information indicates:
a first information indicating that the terminal device will initiate intra- frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP falls below the s-MeasureConfig threshold (see para. 0328-0334); and
a first information I-1" indicating that the terminal device will no longer perform intra-frequency measurements when the serving cell SS-RSRP exceeds the s-MeasureConfig threshold (see para. 0328-0334).
Da Silva fails to disclose but Teng (US 2014/0204791) discloses transmit to a network device exclusively via a media access control control element (MAC-CE) message (see para. 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include transmitting to a network device exclusively via a MAC CE message as described by Teng.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow signaling to a network device utilizing well known protocol.
Regarding claim 18, Da Silva discloses the terminal device wherein the first information is transmitted using a) layer 3 signaling, for example radio resource control, RRC, signaling, b) layer 2 signaling, for example medium access control, MAC, signaling, and c) layer 1 signaling (see para. 0419, discloses at least RRC message).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (US 2021/0329483 A1) – discloses signalling of capability information which includes S-Measure threshold, indicative of when UE can perform measurement based on RSRP.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NISHANT B. DIVECHA
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419