Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Bae fails to disclose the encoder block and the decoder block have undergone a common training process being part of the same deep autoencoder in amended Claim 7. However, applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (2016/0173886) in view of Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) further in view of Kurar (2020/0073969).
Regarding Claim 7, Bae et al (2016/0173886) discloses a method for operating an automotive lighting arrangement (automotive head unit, paragraph [0046]), comprising:
operating an encoder (“encoding data based on the encoding data”, “encoding data as a pixel value of the image data”, paragraph [0015]), to reduce the data size of the image data (compression methods may reduce a size by 50%”, paragraphs [0136], [0126]; “compression modes, and encoding the image according to the selected mode”, abstract), producing processed image data (“image data”, paragraphs [0136], [0126));
transmitting the processed image data to a decoder (fig. 4);
operating the decoder to process the processed image data (“a compression mode of image data included in encoding data based on the encoding data, and a decoding module that reconstructs the image data from the encoding data according to the identified mode”, paragraph [0018]) to produce a restored image data (“decoding module restores a pixel value”, paragraph [0015]; “reconstructed image data”, Fig. 4); and
operating the lighting module to project a light pattern (“projector displays an image by projecting light”, paragraph [0077]) based on the restored image data (“reconstructing the image”, paragraphs [0013]; “reconstructs the image data from encoding data…decoding module restores a pixel value…”, [0015]) outside the automotive lighting arrangement (“inside or outside the electronic device 201”, paragraph [0077]).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not graphically show a lighting module comprising a light source.
However, since Bae teaches that his invention can be used in an automotive head unit (paragraph [0046]), and a projector that projects light (paragraph [0077]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have included a light source in the automotive head unit of Bae to project light in order to provide light as disclosed in Bae.
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not literally disclose operating encoder in an automotive control unit and transmitting the processed image to a decoder in a lighting module.
However, Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) discloses operating encoder (32) in a data generation device as an automotive control unit (Fig. 40), transmitting the processed image to a decoder (53) in a data reproduction device as a lighting module (Fig. 41). Katsumata also discloses that his invention is used in an automobile control system (Col. 7, lines 9-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have located the encoder in a control unit and decoder in a lighting module in Bae to input a secure and compressed image from the encoder to project the light output after being decompressed by the decoder to order to reduce the size of the file and protect the file from being corrupted, crashed or stolen as taught by Katsumata.
Further, it has been held that rearranging the position of claimed element merely involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose using encoder and decoder of a trained deep autoencoder to process image data.
However, Kurar (2020/0073969) discloses deep learning such as autoencoder to analyzing and recognize objects within video and images (paragraph [0040]) and further discloses deep convolutional encoder-decoder architectures (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the encoder-decoder architectures of Kurar in Bae in order to accurately identify subject and provide vehicles with a mechanism to detect visually-based content of interest from visual inventory as taught by Kurar (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 8, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising normalizing the image data (411 or 413) before operating the encoder block (415) to reduce its data size (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein normalizing the image data includes converting each value of the image data in a converted value between 0 and 1.
However, it would have been obvious and known to a skilled in the art that all processed data are converted between 0 and 1 in Bae since in digital world, all data are binary including Bae in order to compute the data in a computerized system.
Regarding Claim 10, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising dividing the image data in data subarrays of the same format (“The image data 610 includes a plurality of pixels belonging to different lines in the image”, “the image data 610 in FIG. 6 includes four pixels input, for example, in a 2x2pixel array form or a block form”, paragraph [0122]. Noted pixel as a subarray to form an array. They are same format as image data).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (2016/0173886) in view of Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) further in view of Zadeh et al. (2014/0201126).
Regarding Claim 7, Bae et al (2016/0173886) discloses a method for operating an automotive lighting arrangement (automotive head unit, paragraph [0046]), comprising:
operating an encoder (encoding data based on the encoding data”, “encoding data as a pixel value of the image data”, paragraph [0015]), to reduce the data size of the image data (compression methods may reduce a size by 50%”, paragraphs [0136], [0126]; “compression modes, and encoding the image according to the selected mode”, abstract), producing processed image data (“image data”, paragraphs [0136], [0126));
transmitting the processed image data to a decoder (fig. 4);
operating the decoder to process the processed image data (“a compression mode of image data included in encoding data based on the encoding data, and a decoding module that reconstructs the image data from the encoding data according to the identified mode”, paragraph [0018]) to produce a restored image data (“decoding module restores a pixel value”, paragraph [0015]; “reconstructed image data”, Fig. 4); and
operating the lighting module to project a light pattern (“projector displays an image by projecting light”, paragraph [0077]) based on the restored image data (“reconstructing the image”, paragraphs [0013]; “reconstructs the image data from encoding data…decoding module restores a pixel value…”, [0015]) outside the automotive lighting arrangement (“inside or outside the electronic device 201”, paragraph [0077]).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not graphically show a lighting module comprising a light source.
However, since Bae teaches that his invention can be used in an automotive head unit (paragraph [0046]), and a projector that projects light (paragraph [0077]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have included a light source in the automotive head unit of Bae to project light in order to provide light as disclosed in Bae.
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not literally disclose operating encoder in an automotive control unit and transmitting the processed image to a decoder in a lighting module.
However, Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) discloses operating encoder (32) in a data generation device as an automotive control unit (Fig. 40), transmitting the processed image to a decoder (53) in a data reproduction device as a lighting module (Fig. 41). Katsumata also discloses that his invention is used in an automobile control system (Col. 7, lines 9-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have located the encoder in a control unit and decoder in a lighting module in Bae to input a secure and compressed image from the encoder to project the light output after being decompressed by the decoder to order to reduce the size of the file and protect the file from being corrupted, crashed or stolen as taught by Katsumata.
Further, it has been held that rearranging the position of claimed element merely involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose using encoder and decoder of a trained deep autoencoder to process image data.
However, Zadeh et al. (2014/0201126) discloses a deep autoencoder comprising decoder and encoder to produce data based on the features learned/captured at the coding layer (paragraph [1734]) and the autoencoder is determine by receiving training samples (paragraph [01743]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a deep autoencoder comprising decoder and encoder to process and analyze image data in Bae in order to produce reliable information benefiting from deep learning algorithm and training samples as taught by Zadeh (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding Claim 8, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising normalizing the image data (411 or 413) before operating the encoder block (415) to reduce its data size (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein normalizing the image data includes converting each value of the image data in a converted value between 0 and 1.
However, it would have been obvious and known to a skilled in the art that all processed data are converted between 0 and 1 in Bae since in digital world, all data are binary including Bae in order to compute the data in a computerized system.
Regarding Claim 10, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising dividing the image data in data subarrays of the same format (“The image data 610 includes a plurality of pixels belonging to different lines in the image”, “the image data 610 in FIG. 6 includes four pixels input, for example, in a 2x2pixel array form or a block form”, paragraph [0122]. Noted pixel as a subarray to form an array. They are same format as image data).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al (2016/0173886) in view of Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) further in view of Munawar (2017/0076224).
Regarding Claim 7, Bae et al (2016/0173886) discloses a method for operating an automotive lighting arrangement (automotive head unit, paragraph [0046]), comprising:
operating an encoder (“encoding data based on the encoding data”, “encoding data as a pixel value of the image data”, paragraph [0015]), to reduce the data size of the image data (compression methods may reduce a size by 50%”, paragraphs [0136], [0126]; “compression modes, and encoding the image according to the selected mode”, abstract), producing processed image data (“image data”, paragraphs [0136], [0126));
transmitting the processed image data to a decoder (fig. 4);
operating the decoder to process the processed image data (“a compression mode of image data included in encoding data based on the encoding data, and a decoding module that reconstructs the image data from the encoding data according to the identified mode”, paragraph [0018]) to produce a restored image data (“decoding module restores a pixel value”, paragraph [0015]; “reconstructed image data”, Fig. 4); and
operating the lighting module to project a light pattern (“projector displays an image by projecting light”, paragraph [0077]) based on the restored image data (“reconstructing the image”, paragraphs [0013]; “reconstructs the image data from encoding data…decoding module restores a pixel value…”, [0015]) outside the automotive lighting arrangement (“inside or outside the electronic device 201”, paragraph [0077]).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not graphically show a lighting module comprising a light source.
However, since Bae teaches that his invention can be used in an automotive head unit (paragraph [0046]), and a projector that projects light (paragraph [0077]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have included a light source in the automotive head unit of Bae to project light in order to provide light as disclosed in Bae.
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not literally disclose operating encoder in an automotive control unit and transmitting the processed image to a decoder in a lighting module.
However, Katsumata et al. (11,902,555) discloses operating encoder (32) in a data generation device as an automotive control unit (Fig. 40), transmitting the processed image to a decoder (53) in a data reproduction device as a lighting module (Fig. 41). Katsumata also discloses that his invention is used in an automobile control system (Col. 7, lines 9-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have located the encoder in a control unit and decoder in a lighting module in Bae to input a secure and compressed image from the encoder to project the light output after being decompressed by the decoder to order to reduce the size of the file and protect the file from being corrupted, crashed or stolen as taught by Katsumata.
Further, it has been held that rearranging the position of claimed element merely involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
As discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose using encoder and decoder of a trained deep autoencoder to process image data.
However, Munawar (2017/0076224) teaches autoencoders are artificial neural networks that have been widely used for learning representations of input signals in many applications. If a hidden layer is narrower than an input layer, compression can be achieved by the autoencoder. In deep learning architecture, input signals can be transformed into feature space. Reconstructions or features obtained from the autoencoder can be used for classification tasks (paragraphs [0004], [0007]). The method comprises training the classification model based on the positive class data to adjust one or more parameters of the classification model (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the widely used autoencoder to encode the image via encoder and reconstruct the image via decoder (fig. 1 of Munawar) in Bae in order to improve restored image output benefiting from deep learning and training as taught by Munawar.
Regarding Claim 8, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising normalizing the image data (411 or 413) before operating the encoder block (415) to reduce its data size (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Bae essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein normalizing the image data includes converting each value of the image data in a converted value between 0 and 1.
However, it would have been obvious and known to a skilled in the art that all processed data are converted between 0 and 1 in Bae since in digital world, all data are binary including Bae in order to compute data in a computerized system.
Regarding Claim 10, Bae discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising dividing the image data in data subarrays of the same format (“The image data 610 includes a plurality of pixels belonging to different lines in the image”, “the image data 610 in FIG. 6 includes four pixels input, for example, in a 2x2pixel array form or a block form”, paragraph [0122]. Noted pixel as a subarray to form an array. They are same format as image data).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844