The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in responsive to the amendment filed on 3/2/26. Claims 1, 13, 14, 15, and 27-28 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 3/2/26 are under consideration. Claims 1, 15, and 28 are amended. Claim 5, 19, and 29 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 14, 15, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (CN110602702A) in view of Link II (US9865110) in further view of Zhang (CN108243212A) and in further view of Peirce (US 9,276,737 B2)
Regarding Claim 1 Wen teaches a system for acquiring vehicle information, (Pg. 4 – [0002] – “… an in particular to a method and system for detecting the function of a T-BOX in a complete vehicle.” ) comprising: a mobile terminal module,( Pg. 4 – [0008] - “According to a first aspect of an embodiment of this specification, a function detection system of a T-BOX in a whole vehicle is provided, comprising: a mobile detection device pre-installed with function detection software,…”) and an in-vehicle infotainment; (Pg. 4 – [0008] – “…(Telematics Service Provider) server connected to the detection device through a network…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…function detection system in a vehicle…”) (equates to in-vehicle infotainment as the TSP in this case is directly connected to the detection device and the entirety of the system’s components exist within the vehicle hence the server connected to a detection device is the in-vehicle infotainment )) a telematics box (TBox) module, (Pg. 11 – [0049] – “Finally, the mobile detection device 101 is connected to the T-BOX 104 for functional detection, and the T-BOX 104 is preset with detection traffic. Since the functional detection software of T-BOX104 is a known technology”) a diagnostic apparatus, (Pg. 8 – [0036] – “…which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to diagnostic apparatus as the t-box104 has the capability of performing diagnosis methods upon the vehicle, the sentence following the semicolon shows this detection software comprising diagnosis abilities can be integrated into a separate function module) and a manufacturing execution system (MES); (Pg. 8 – [0038] – “The MES server 102 collects basic data of the vehicle…”), and the TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus or the MES, (Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…mobile detection device 101 installed with function detection software…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0036] – “The function detection software is a functional detection software for TBOX104, which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus as the mobile detection device in this instance has the functional detection software that contains the vehicle diagnosis capabilities, and the functional detection software is used to detect a TBox hence making the diagnosis apparatus and the Tbox have a line of communication. The end of the second quote shows that the diagnosis capabilities of this system may also be stored in a separate module thus further confirming the communication between the Tbox and a diagnosis apparatus.)); a two-dimensional code generation tool is provided in the in-vehicle infotainment,( Pg. 5 – [0009] – “The TSP server generates a test account… mobile test device receives the test account… mobile test device obtains the unique identification code” & See also Pg. 9 – [0041] – “…mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning” (equates to wherein a two-dimensional code generation tool is provided in the in-vehicle infotainment as the tsp server bound to the detection device is the in-vehicle infotainment in this art and generates a test account containing a unique ID number that can be scanned using QR by the mobile device thus being a 2D code generation tool. )) and generate a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information by using two-dimensional code generation tool; ( Pg. 6 – [0018] – “ The detection account is used to log in to the function detection software, and the function detection software obtains the unique identification code of the vehicle to be tested and sends the unique identification code to the TSP server…” & See Also,( Pg. 5 – [0009] – “The TSP server generates a test account…”) (equates to and generate a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information by using two-dimensional code generation tool as the 2D code can be any bit of information including account information and considering the TSP server generated the code the tsp server itself, the TSP server connected to the detection device contains the 2D code generation tool to generate test accounts in this case) and the mobile terminal module is configured to acquire the vehicle information by scanning the two-dimensional code (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” (equates to mobile terminal module is configured to acquire the vehicle information by scanning the two-dimensional code as the mobile detection device in this art scans a unique identification number that is specifically related to vehicle information as seen by the last quote.)) and bind a vehicle based on the vehicle information (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” & See also Pg. 6 – [0017] – “Generate a test account for binding the vehicle to be tested” & See also Pg. 6 – [0020] – “…TSP server binds the test account to the unique identification code after determining that the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode” (equates to the mobile terminal module binding a vehicle based on vehicle information as the mobile detection device in this art obtains the ‘unique identification code’ based on vehicle information and the binding is done once that is complete.))
Yet fails to teach a central control screen; wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the ICCID and the SN; acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN); take the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, and send the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module and the central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code.
Link II discloses a similar system for gathering vehicle information (abstract). Link II teaches a central control screen (Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “…VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY”) the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen (Pg. 7 – Fig. 10 – 1040 – “EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER INSTALLS SIM CARD IN COMPLETED TCU” & See Also Pg. 17 – Col. 4 – lines 5-8 – “After the new-vehicle owner presses the button, the TCU installed within vehicle powers up and establishes a wireless service connection directly to the TSP over the prearranged wireless carrier using the installed SIM card containing the prearranged credentials…” & See Also Pg. 5 - Fig. 7 - “ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also Pg. 22 – Col. 14 – lines 47- 53 – “At step 715, the new-telematics subscriber initiates an authentication sequence by pushing a service request button while starting the vehicle. Alternatively, the service request button could be activated before starting or after starting the vehicle. The service request button could be a dedicated physical button for service subscription, it could be a soft button on an infotainment system screen,” (equates to the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the information of the TBox module as the button pressed may exist on the central control screen or the vehicle information display in this art and the TBox accesses credentials installed in a sim card installed within the TBox or the TCU in this art thus acquiring information of the TBox module)). the central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code. (Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “UNIQUE ACCOUNT ACTIVATION CODE IS DISPLAYED ON ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also – Pg. 26 – Col 21. – Lines – “…the QR code could also contain the complete unique account activation code” & See Also Pg. 23 – Col 15 lines 56-57 – “…the ECU or other RKS or telematics system component , or similar such component , preferably sends at step 725…” (these three quotes equate to central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code as the ecu in this art is the in-vehicle infotainment system and sends the code to the vehicle information display))
Yet both Wen-Link II fail to disclose wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN), takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; the ICCID and the SN. and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module
Zhang teaches acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES (Pg. 16 – [n0042] - In step S13 , the diagnosis command and the diagnosis data are sent to the server to be stored by the server & See also Pg. 16 – [n0043] –“… diagnostic device can be connected to the vehicle through the On Board Diagnostics (OBD) interface to send diagnostic commands to the vehicle” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0046] – “The diagnostic commands received by the vehicle and the diagnostic data generated by the diagnosis can be forwarded to the Telematics BOX (T-BOX)” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0048] – “In addition, the vehicle identification number (VIN),… can also be included in the diagnostic data…” (equates to obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES as the first quote shows the obtaining of diagnostic data, wherein the second quote shows data being extracted from an ODB or a diagnostic apparatus, and lastly the fourth quote showing the VIN number being included from the extracted data. )).
Yet both Wen-Link II-Zhang fail to disclose wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; the ICCID and the SN. over a controller area network (CAN); takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module
Peirce teaches wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module (Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” (equates to wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module as the first quote shows the Serial number and an ICCID being within the SIM and the second quote shows the Sim coupling to the telematic unit or the Tbox to include both information types within the TBox.) ) the ICCID and the SN. ( Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID”). over a controller area network (CAN) (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – 46-47 – “Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN)”) takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, (Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines – 61 – 63 – “At step 210, the telematics unit may provide the unique identifier(s) to the mobile device 96.” & See Also Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines 54 – 61 – “telematics unit so that the unique identifier(s) may ultimately be used as the basis of a privately encrypted key or so that the privately encrypted key may be associated with the identifiers [ step 208]. The unique identifier(s) of the telematics unit may include any unique combination of numerals, letters, or other various characters. Examples of the unique identifier include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the IMSI-2, however other identifiers are also possible” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” (equates to takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, as the telematics unit is seen is obtain unique identifier information wherein it can obtain the Vin, iccid , and sn. )); and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 - lines 40-42 – “It will be appreciated that GSM or CDMA standards illustrate merely exemplary implementations and other standards are also possible (e.g., LTE).” (equates to and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line as the quote shows a line of data communication being established between the telematics unit and the infotainment wherein the data transmission may comprise gps data or vehicle information to be used within the data communication between both devices within the vehicle and wherein the LTE type high speed data is used to transmit data.) ) the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” (equates to the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module as the quote shows a line of data communication between the infotainment and the telematics unit.) ) and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” (equates to and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module as the line of communication between the telematics unit and infotainment is shown in the first quote wherein the data that may be sent over the line of communication may include vehicle information such as navigational information.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Wen - Link II – Zhang to include wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module as more information pertaining to the TBox module being stored within the module allows for easier access to sensitive information of the vehicle, and allowing a channel of communication to be established between the Tbox and infotainment system of the vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the TBox module as these limitations allow for data pertaining directly to the binding of the vehicle to be stored within a TBOX module allow for use of it to be distributed to any other component in direct link with the module, as well as, ensuring a link between the infotainment and TBox allows for ready to use access for anyone binding a vehicle.
Regarding claim 13 Wen - Link II – Zhang – Peirce teaches the system for acquiring the vehicle information according to claim 1, (Wen teaches:) further comprising a telematics service provider (TSP) module, (Pg. 4 – [0008] – “According to a first aspect of an embodiment of this specification, a function detection system of a T-BOX in a whole vehicle is provided, comprising: a mobile detection device pre-installed with function detection software, a TSP (Telematics Service Provider)”) the TBox module, (Pg. 11 – [0049] – “Finally, the mobile detection device 101 is connected to the T-BOX 104 for functional detection, and the T-BOX 104 is preset with detection traffic. Since the functional detection software of T-BOX104 is a known technology”) and the mobile terminal module, (Pg. 4 – [0008] – “, comprising: a mobile detection device pre-installed with function detection software, a TSP (Telematics Service Provider) server connected to the detection device through a network,”) and is configured for data transmission interaction between the mobile terminal module (Pg.4 – [0008] – “a TSP (Telematics Service Provider) server connected to the detection device through a network,” (equates to the TSP being configured for data transmission interaction between the mobile terminal module as they are connected over a network in this art )) and the vehicle. (Pg. 5 – [0009] – “TSP server generates a test account, the mobile test device receives the test account and logs in the test account in the functional test software; the mobile test device obtains the unique identification code of the vehicle to be tested, and sends the unique identification code to the MES server and/or the TSP server for verification” (equates to the tsp being configured for data transmission interaction between the vehicle as this quote shows the unique identification code of the vehicle being sent directly from the vehicle to the TSP thus establishing a data transmission interaction )).
Yet fails to disclose wherein the TSP module is in communication with the central control screen, and the in-vehicle infotainment.
Link II discloses a similar vehicle information acquisition system (abstract). Link II teaches wherein the TSP module is in communication with the central control screen (Pg. 24 – col. 18 - lines 11-36 - additional element contained within the QR code that appears on a display of the vehicle after a determination that the user requesting new telematics service… That additional element is the activation code… The activation code can be a fixed alphanumeric value, unique to the specific vehicle… he TSP, or vehicle manufacturer, typically maintains a database that associates the unique information corresponding to a vehicle's unique first and second security devices with the vehicle's VIN.) (equates to wherein the TSP module is in communication with the central control screen as the screen used to display the unique code is stored in a TSP database therefor they are in direct communication ensuring validity of the one being scanned. )) and the in-vehicle infotainment (Pg. 24 – col. 18 – lines 22- 36 - “…ideally it can be a cryptographic hash value, preferably created as a result of hashing the VIN with the current date, as received from a GPS module in communication with the vehicle processing device…the TSP, or vehicle manufacturer, typically maintains a database that associates the unique information corresponding to a vehicle's unique first and second security devices with the vehicle's VIN” (equates to TSP module is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment as the in-vehicle infotainment in this case equates to the vehicle processing device and the code generated by this device is validated by the TSP as seen from the end of the quote thus establish communication between the TSP and in-vehicle infotainment system.)). It would have been an advantageous addition to the system described by Wen to include TSP module is in communication with the central control screen and the in-vehicle infotainment as having each stage of the validation being done by the TSP allows for another layer of security to the vehicle binding process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the vehicle information acquisition system to TSP module is in communication with the central control screen and the in-vehicle infotainment ensuring an external source (TSP) is verifying the vehicle binding request allowing for another layer of security to be added upon the process ensuring no unscrupulous actors are attempting the vehicular binding.
Regarding claim 14 Wen - Link II – Zhang – Peirce teaches the system for acquiring the vehicle information according to claim 1, (Wen discloses the following limitations) wherein the mobile terminal module is a mobile phone or a tablet, (Pg. 12 – [0052] – “…the mobile detection device 101 includes a tablet computer, a mobile phone, and other electronic devices that can be installed with software and operated”) an application for vehicle management is installed and run on the mobile terminal module,(Pg. 11 – [0050] – “…in some embodiments, the mobile detection device 101 is equivalent to the control APP…”) and the mobile terminal module is configured to scan the two-dimensional code through the application for vehicle management (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “The mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” (equates to the mobile terminal module configured to scan the 2D code) & See Also Pg. 11 – [0050] – “…in some embodiments, the mobile detection device 101 is equivalent to the control APP…”) (equates to the mobile terminal scanning through the application as the terminal itself can be the app in this art)) and input the vehicle information. (Pg.9 – [0041] – “… the mobile detection device 101 is connected to the TSP server 103 through a network, and can automatically receive the detection account sent by the TSP server 103 and automatically log in to the detection account…”).
Regarding Claim 15 Wen teaches a method for acquiring vehicle information, Wen teaches applicable to a system for acquiring the vehicle information (Pg. 4 – [0002] – “… an in particular to a method and system for detecting the function of a T-BOX in a complete vehicle.” ) wherein the system for acquiring the vehicle information comprises: a mobile terminal module, (Pg. 4 – [0008] – “a mobile detection device pre-installed with function detection software,”) an in-vehicle infotainment, Pg. 4 – [0008] – “…(Telematics Service Provider) server connected to the detection device through a network…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…function detection system in a vehicle…”) (equates to in-vehicle infotainment as the TSP in this case is directly connected to the detection device and the entirety of the system’s components exist within the vehicle hence the server connected to a detection device is the in-vehicle infotainment )) a telematics box (TBox) module, (Pg. 11 – [0049] – “Finally, the mobile detection device 101 is connected to the T-BOX 104 for functional detection, and the T-BOX 104 is preset with detection traffic. Since the functional detection software of T-BOX104 is a known technology”) a diagnostic apparatus, (Pg. 8 – [0036] – “…which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to diagnostic apparatus as the t-box104 has the capability of performing diagnosis methods upon the vehicle, the sentence following the semicolon shows this detection software comprising diagnosis abilities can be integrated into a separate function module)) and a manufacturing execution system (MES), (Pg. 8 – [0038] – “The MES server 102 collects basic data of the vehicle…”) wherein the vehicle information comprises an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID), and a vehicle identification number (VIN); (Pg. 5 – [0010] – “Furthermore, the unique identification code includes VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) or ICCID” ) and the TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus or the MES ((Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…mobile detection device 101 installed with function detection software…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0036] – “The function detection software is a functional detection software for TBOX104, which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus as the mobile detection device in this instance has the functional detection software that contains the vehicle diagnosis capabilities, and the functional detection software is used to detect a TBox hence making the diagnosis apparatus and the Tbox have a line of communication. The end of the second quote shows that the diagnosis capabilities of this system may also be stored in a separate module thus further confirming the communication between the Tbox and a diagnosis apparatus.));) and the method comprises: the in-vehicle infotainment acquiring vehicle information of the vehicle and generating a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information by using a two-dimensional code generation tool disposed in the in-vehicle infotainment; (Pg. 6 – [0018] – “ The detection account is used to log in to the function detection software, and the function detection software obtains the unique identification code of the vehicle to be tested and sends the unique identification code to the TSP server…” (equates to the in vehicle infotainment system being configured to acquire vehicle information as the server in this case acquires a unique identification code of the vehicle) & See Also, Pg. 5 – [0009] – “The TSP server generates a test account…” (equates to generates corresponding 2D code using a 2D code tool as the 2D code can be any bit of information including account information and considering the TSP server generated the code the tsp server itself contains the 2D code generation tool to generate test accounts in this case)); and the mobile terminal module inputting the vehicle information by scanning the two- dimensional code (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” (equates to mobile terminal module is configured to acquire the vehicle information by scanning the two-dimensional code as the mobile detection device in this art scans a unique identification number that is specifically related to vehicle information as seen by the last quote.)) and binding the vehicle based on the vehicle information. (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” & See also Pg. 6 – [0017] – “Generate a test account for binding the vehicle to be tested” & See also Pg. 6 – [0020] – “…TSP server binds the test account to the unique identification code after determining that the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode” (equates to the mobile terminal module binding a vehicle based on vehicle information as the mobile detection device in this art obtains the ‘unique identification code’ based on vehicle information and the binding is done once that is complete.))
Yet Fails to teach a central control screen; the central control screen acquiring a vehicle information request instruction in response to a specific operation on the central control screen of a vehicle by a user; a serial number (SN), the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, wherein the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, acquire the VIN from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN) and send the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line; and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module; the central control screen acquiring and displaying the two-dimensional code
Link II discloses a similar method for gathering vehicle information (abstract). Link II teaches a central control screen (Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “…VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY”) the central control screen acquiring a vehicle information request instruction in response to a specific operation on the central control screen of a vehicle by a user. ((Pg. 28 – col. 25 – lines 32-44- “…that EVIC display 1602A, 1602B, and 1602C, respectively, sequentially show in FIG. 16. EVIC display 1800D, however, shows a QR code that may be displayed at the end of an authentication sequence. The QR code may contain an activation code, as shown in FIG. 13. Or, the QR code shown in infotainment display 1800D may be the QR code shown in FIG. 14 that does not contain an activation code. However, the QR code of FIG. 14 may contain information that the user's smart phone device may scan upon performing the authentication trigger sequence (i.e., pressing and holding the trip reset button while pressing the vehicle start button three times without having the brake pedal depressed”(equates to a central control screen acquiring a vehicle information request instruction in response to a specific operation on the central control screen of a vehicle by a user as the user holds a button down and presses the start button a few times to initiate the “authentication sequence” therefor the user is interreacting with the central control screen requesting vehicle information and eventually the control screen displays the wanted information)) the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen (Pg. 7 – Fig. 10 – 1040 – “EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER INSTALLS SIM CARD IN COMPLETED TCU” & See Also Pg. 17 – Col. 4 – lines 5-8 – “After the new-vehicle owner presses the button, the TCU installed within vehicle powers up and establishes a wireless service connection directly to the TSP over the prearranged wireless carrier using the installed SIM card containing the prearranged credentials…” & See Also Pg. 5 - Fig. 7 - “ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also Pg. 22 – Col. 14 – lines 47- 53 – “At step 715, the new-telematics subscriber initiates an authentication sequence by pushing a service request button while starting the vehicle. Alternatively, the service request button could be activated before starting or after starting the vehicle. The service request button could be a dedicated physical button for service subscription, it could be a soft button on an infotainment system screen,” (equates to the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the information of the TBox module as the button pressed may exist on the central control screen or the vehicle information display in this art and the TBox accesses credentials installed in a sim card installed within the TBox or the TCU in this art thus acquiring information of the TBox module)) the central control screen acquiring and displaying the two-dimensional code ((Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “UNIQUE ACCOUNT ACTIVATION CODE IS DISPLAYED ON ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also – Pg. 26 – Col 21. – Lines – “…the QR code could also contain the complete unique account activation code” & See Also Pg. 23 – Col 15 lines 56-57 – “…the ECU or other RKS or telematics system component , or similar such component , preferably sends at step 725…” (these three quotes equate to central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code as the ecu in this art is the in-vehicle infotainment system and sends the code to the vehicle information display)))
Wen-Link II fail to disclose a serial number (SN), the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, over a controller area network (CAN) acquire the VIN from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES and sends the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line; and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module;
Zhang teaches to read the VIN from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES(Pg. 16 – [n0042] - In step S13 , the diagnosis command and the diagnosis data are sent to the server to be stored by the server & See also Pg. 16 – [n0043] –“… diagnostic device can be connected to the vehicle through the On Board Diagnostics (OBD) interface to send diagnostic commands to the vehicle” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0046] – “The diagnostic commands received by the vehicle and the diagnostic data generated by the diagnosis can be forwarded to the Telematics BOX (T-BOX)” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0048] – “In addition, the vehicle identification number (VIN),… can also be included in the diagnostic data…” (equates to obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES as the first quote shows the obtaining of diagnostic data, wherein the second quote shows data being extracted from an ODB or a diagnostic apparatus, and lastly the fourth quote showing the VIN number being included from the extracted data. )). ;
Wen-LinkII-Zhang fail to teach disclose a serial number (SN), the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, over a controller area network (CAN) and send the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment; via a high speed data (HSD) line and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module;
Pierce teaches a serial number (SN), (Pg. 11 – [col. 4 – lines 25-27] – “the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID).”) the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, ((Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” (equates to wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module as the first quote shows the Serial number and an ICCID being within the SIM and the second quote shows the Sim coupling to the telematic unit or the Tbox to include both information types within the TBox.) )) over a controller area network (CAN) (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – 46-47 – “Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN)”) and send the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line;; ((Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines – 61 – 63 – “At step 210, the telematics unit may provide the unique identifier(s) to the mobile device 96.” & See Also Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines 54 – 61 – “telematics unit so that the unique identifier(s) may ultimately be used as the basis of a privately encrypted key or so that the privately encrypted key may be associated with the identifiers [ step 208]. The unique identifier(s) of the telematics unit may include any unique combination of numerals, letters, or other various characters. Examples of the unique identifier include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the IMSI-2, however other identifiers are also possible” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” & See Also; (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” (equates to and sends the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment as the telematics unit is shown to have access to each the iccid, sn, and vin and a line of communication is established between the telematics unit and the infotainment allowing for each to be sent based on request over the data transmission.)) and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” (equates to and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; as the quote shows a line of data communication being established between the telematics unit and the infotainment wherein the data transmission may comprise gps data or vehicle information to be used within the data communication between both devices within the vehicle.) ) and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines – 61 – 63 – “At step 210, the telematics unit may provide the unique identifier(s) to the mobile device 96.” & See Also Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines 54 – 61 – “telematics unit so that the unique identifier(s) may ultimately be used as the basis of a privately encrypted key or so that the privately encrypted key may be associated with the identifiers [ step 208]. The unique identifier(s) of the telematics unit may include any unique combination of numerals, letters, or other various characters. Examples of the unique identifier include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the IMSI-2, however other identifiers are also possible” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” (equates to and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module as the line of communication between the telematics unit and infotainment is shown in the first quote wherein the data that may be sent over the line of communication may include vehicle information such as navigational information.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Wen - Link II – Zhang to include a serial number (SN), the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, and sends the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment; and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module; as more information pertaining to the TBox module being stored within the module allows for easier access to sensitive information of the vehicle, and allowing a channel of communication to be established between the Tbox and infotainment system of the vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a serial number (SN), the ICCID and the SN are pre-stored in the TBox module, and sends the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN to the in-vehicle infotainment; and the in- vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module and receives the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN from the TBox module; as these limitations allow for data pertaining directly to the binding of the vehicle to be stored within a TBOX module allow for use of it to be distributed to any other component in direct link with the module, as well as, ensuring a link between the infotainment and TBox allows for ready to use access for anyone binding a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 27 Wen in view of Link II teaches the method for acquiring the vehicle information according to claim 15 (Wen discloses the following limitations) wherein the mobile terminal module is a mobile phone or a tablet,( Pg. 12 – [0052] – “…the mobile detection device 101 includes a tablet computer, a mobile phone, and other electronic devices that can be installed with software and operated”) an application for vehicle management is installed and run on the mobile terminal module, (Pg. 11 – [0050] – “…in some embodiments, the mobile detection device 101 is equivalent to the control APP…”) and the mobile terminal module is configured to scan the two- dimensional code through the application for vehicle management and input the vehicle information. (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “The mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” (equates to the mobile terminal module configured to scan the 2D code) & See Also Pg. 11 – [0050] – “…in some embodiments, the mobile detection device 101 is equivalent to the control APP…”) (equates to the mobile terminal scanning through the app as the terminal itself can be the app in this art)).
Regarding Claim 28 Wen teaches A vehicle, comprising: a system for acquiring a vehicle information Pg. 4 – [0002] – “… an in particular to a method and system for detecting the function of a T-BOX in a complete vehicle.” ) comprising: a mobile terminal module,( Pg. 4 – [0008] - “According to a first aspect of an embodiment of this specification, a function detection system of a T-BOX in a whole vehicle is provided, comprising: a mobile detection device pre-installed with function detection software,…”) and an in-vehicle infotainment; (Pg. 4 – [0008] – “…(Telematics Service Provider) server connected to the detection device through a network…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…function detection system in a vehicle…”) (equates to in-vehicle infotainment as the TSP in this case is directly connected to the detection device and the entirety of the system’s components exist within the vehicle hence the server connected to a detection device is the in-vehicle infotainment )) a telematics box (TBox) module, (Pg. 11 – [0049] – “Finally, the mobile detection device 101 is connected to the T-BOX 104 for functional detection, and the T-BOX 104 is preset with detection traffic. Since the functional detection software of T-BOX104 is a known technology”) a diagnostic apparatus, (Pg. 8 – [0036] – “…which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to diagnostic apparatus as the t-box104 has the capability of performing diagnosis methods upon the vehicle, the sentence following the semicolon shows this detection software comprising diagnosis abilities can be integrated into a separate function module) and a manufacturing execution system (MES); (Pg. 8 – [0038] – “The MES server 102 collects basic data of the vehicle…”), and the TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus or the MES, (Pg. 8 – [0035] – “…mobile detection device 101 installed with function detection software…” & See also Pg. 8 – [0036] – “The function detection software is a functional detection software for TBOX104, which can detect vehicle status monitoring, remote control, remote diagnosis and remote configuration functions of T-BOX104; the detection software can also be built into the Internet of Vehicles detection software. That is, the function detection software can be independent software, or can be integrated into certain application software as a function module.” (equates to TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus as the mobile detection device in this instance has the functional detection software that contains the vehicle diagnosis capabilities, and the functional detection software is used to detect a TBox hence making the diagnosis apparatus and the Tbox have a line of communication. The end of the second quote shows that the diagnosis capabilities of this system may also be stored in a separate module thus further confirming the communication between the Tbox and a diagnosis apparatus.)); a two-dimensional code generation tool is provided in the in-vehicle infotainment,( Pg. 5 – [0009] – “The TSP server generates a test account… mobile test device receives the test account… mobile test device obtains the unique identification code” & See also Pg. 9 – [0041] – “…mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning” (equates to wherein a two-dimensional code generation tool is provided in the in-vehicle infotainment as the tsp server bound to the detection device is the in-vehicle infotainment in this art and generates a test account containing a unique ID number that can be scanned using QR by the mobile device thus being a 2D code generation tool. )) and generate a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information by using two-dimensional code generation tool;( Pg. 6 – [0018] – “ The detection account is used to log in to the function detection software, and the function detection software obtains the unique identification code of the vehicle to be tested and sends the unique identification code to the TSP server…” & See Also,( Pg. 5 – [0009] – “The TSP server generates a test account…”) (equates to and generate a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information by using two-dimensional code generation tool as the 2D code can be any bit of information including account information and considering the TSP server generated the code the tsp server itself, the TSP server connected to the detection device contains the 2D code generation tool to generate test accounts in this case) and the mobile terminal module is configured to acquire the vehicle information by scanning the two-dimensional code (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” (equates to mobile terminal module is configured to acquire the vehicle information by scanning the two-dimensional code as the mobile detection device in this art scans a unique identification number that is specifically related to vehicle information as seen by the last quote.)) and bind a vehicle based on the vehicle information (Pg. 9 – [0041] – “mobile detection device 101 may obtain the unique identification code by manual input, voice input, barcode scanning, or QR code scanning.” & See Also – Pg. 10 – [0045] – “…unique identification code is used to verify whether the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode…” & See also Pg. 6 – [0017] – “Generate a test account for binding the vehicle to be tested” & See also Pg. 6 – [0020] – “…TSP server binds the test account to the unique identification code after determining that the vehicle to be tested is in factory mode” (equates to the mobile terminal module binding a vehicle based on vehicle information as the mobile detection device in this art obtains the ‘unique identification code’ based on vehicle information and the binding is done once that is complete.))
Yet fails to teach a central control screen; wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; wherein the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to a vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the ICCID and the SN, acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN), take the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, and send the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module and the central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code.
Link II discloses a similar system for gathering vehicle information (abstract). Link II teaches a central control screen (Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “…VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY”) the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen (Pg. 7 – Fig. 10 – 1040 – “EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER INSTALLS SIM CARD IN COMPLETED TCU” & See Also Pg. 17 – Col. 4 – lines 5-8 – “After the new-vehicle owner presses the button, the TCU installed within vehicle powers up and establishes a wireless service connection directly to the TSP over the prearranged wireless carrier using the installed SIM card containing the prearranged credentials…” & See Also Pg. 5 - Fig. 7 - “ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also Pg. 22 – Col. 14 – lines 47- 53 – “At step 715, the new-telematics subscriber initiates an authentication sequence by pushing a service request button while starting the vehicle. Alternatively, the service request button could be activated before starting or after starting the vehicle. The service request button could be a dedicated physical button for service subscription, it could be a soft button on an infotainment system screen,” (equates to the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the information of the TBox module as the button pressed may exist on the central control screen or the vehicle information display in this art and the TBox accesses credentials installed in a sim card installed within the TBox or the TCU in this art thus acquiring information of the TBox module)) the central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code. (Sheet 3 of 13 – Fig. 7 – 725 – “UNIQUE ACCOUNT ACTIVATION CODE IS DISPLAYED ON ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also – Pg. 26 – Col 21. – Lines – “…the QR code could also contain the complete unique account activation code” & See Also Pg. 23 – Col 15 lines 56-57 – “…the ECU or other RKS or telematics system component , or similar such component , preferably sends at step 725…” (these three quotes equate to central control screen is in communication with the in-vehicle infotainment, and is configured to acquire and display the two-dimensional code as the ecu in this art is the in-vehicle infotainment system and sends the code to the vehicle information display))
Yet both Wen-Link II fail to disclose wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN, takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module
Zhang teaches obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES (Pg. 16 – [n0042] - In step S13 , the diagnosis command and the diagnosis data are sent to the server to be stored by the server & See also Pg. 16 – [n0043] –“… diagnostic device can be connected to the vehicle through the On Board Diagnostics (OBD) interface to send diagnostic commands to the vehicle” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0046] – “The diagnostic commands received by the vehicle and the diagnostic data generated by the diagnosis can be forwarded to the Telematics BOX (T-BOX)” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0048] – “In addition, the vehicle identification number (VIN),… can also be included in the diagnostic data…” (equates to obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES as the first quote shows the obtaining of diagnostic data, wherein the second quote shows data being extracted from an ODB or a diagnostic apparatus, and lastly the fourth quote showing the VIN number being included from the extracted data. )).
Yet both Wen-Link II-Zhang fail to disclose wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; over a controller area network; takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module
Peirce teaches wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module (Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” (equates to wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module as the first quote shows the Serial number and an ICCID being within the SIM and the second quote shows the Sim coupling to the telematic unit or the Tbox to include both information types within the TBox.) ) over a controller area network (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – 46-47 – “Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN)”) takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, (Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines – 61 – 63 – “At step 210, the telematics unit may provide the unique identifier(s) to the mobile device 96.” & See Also Pg. 14 – Col. 9 – lines 54 – 61 – “telematics unit so that the unique identifier(s) may ultimately be used as the basis of a privately encrypted key or so that the privately encrypted key may be associated with the identifiers [ step 208]. The unique identifier(s) of the telematics unit may include any unique combination of numerals, letters, or other various characters. Examples of the unique identifier include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the IMSI-2, however other identifiers are also possible” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines – 20-21 – “the SIM may be detachably coupled to the telematics unit (e.g., a SIM card).” (equates to takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, as the telematics unit is seen is obtain unique identifier information wherein it can obtain the Vin, iccid , and sn. )); and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” (equates to and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; as the quote shows a line of data communication being established between the telematics unit and the infotainment wherein the data transmission may comprise gps data or vehicle information to be used within the data communication between both devices within the vehicle.) ) and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 - lines 40-42 – “It will be appreciated that GSM or CDMA standards illustrate merely exemplary implementations and other standards are also possible (e.g., LTE).” (equates to and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line as the quote shows a line of data communication being established between the telematics unit and the infotainment wherein the data transmission may comprise gps data or vehicle information to be used within the data communication between both devices within the vehicle and wherein the LTE type high speed data is used to transmit data.) ) the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” (equates to the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module as the quote shows a line of data communication between the infotainment and the telematics unit.) ) and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” (equates to and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module as the line of communication between the telematics unit and infotainment is shown in the first quote wherein the data that may be sent over the line of communication may include vehicle information such as navigational information.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Wen - Link II – Zhang to include wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the t-box module as more information pertaining to the TBox module being stored within the module allows for easier access to sensitive information of the vehicle, and allowing a channel of communication to be established between the Tbox and infotainment system of the vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre- stored in the TBox module; takes the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, ; and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment; the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, and the in-vehicle infotainment is configured to acquire the vehicle information from the TBox module as these limitations allow for data pertaining directly to the binding of the vehicle to be stored within a TBOX module allow for use of it to be distributed to any other component in direct link with the module, as well as, ensuring a link between the infotainment and TBox allows for ready to use access for anyone binding a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the argument provided for the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1,5, 13, 14, 15, 19, 27, and 28 the applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 1-4 , “Claims 1, 5, 13, 14, 15, 19, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (CN1 10602702A) in view of Link II (US9865110) in further view of Zhang (CN108243212A) and in further view of Peirce (US 9,276,737 B2)
Applicant respectfully disagrees that the claims are obvious in view of the cited references, and therefore traverses this rejection. Nevertheless, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 15, and 28 to clarify further the claimed features over the cited art. Based on these amendments, and the remarks below, Applicant requests that all rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn.
A proper obviousness determination requires the examiner to make "a searching comparison of the claimed invention - including all its limitations - with the teaching of the prior art." In re Ochiai, 71 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Thus, "obviousness requires a suggestion of all limitations in a claim." CFMT, Inc. v. Yieldup Intern. Corp., 349 F.3d 1333, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, "there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) (quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006)(emphasis added). See In re Wada and Murphy, BPAI Appeal No. 2007-3733 (January 14, 2008). In the present case, the cited references, whether taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest all of the limitations of the amended claims.
Claim 1 is amended to recite, in part, the following: [...] an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) and a serial number (SN) are pre-stored in the TBox module, and the TBox module is in communication with the diagnostic apparatus or the MES, wherein the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to a vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the ICCID and the SN, acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES over a controller area network (CAN), take the ICCID, the SN, and the VIN as vehicle information, and send the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a high speed data (HSD) line [...]
According to an example of amended claim 1, after a user triggers a vehicle information request instruction via the central control screen, the TBox module performs two operations: retrieving its own pre stored ICCID and SN and reading the VIN from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES via the CAN. The ICCID, SN, and VIN (i.e., the vehicle information) are then transmitted to the in-vehicle infotainment via the HSD line. The two- dimensional code generation tool inside the in-vehicle infotainment generates a two- dimensional code based on the vehicle information, and the generated two-dimensional code is displayed on the central control screen.
In contrast to, in response to a request, calling the pre-stored ICCID and SN, reading the external VIN, and synchronous transmission and integration of the vehicle information of amended claim 1, Link is directed to a method for securely and automatically obtaining services from a machine equipment server. Link requires holding two smart keys (security devices) at the same time. After the user triggers an authentication sequence in Link, the central control screen displays a QR code containing an activation code, and the user enters the APP to complete service activation.
The Office argues on page 10 of the Office action that Link II teaches the following:
Pg.7 - Fig.10-1040 - "EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER INSTALLS SIM CARD IN COMPLETED TCU" & See Also Pg.17-Col. 4-lines 5-8 - "After
the new-vehicle owner presses the button, the TCU installed within vehicle powers up and establishes a wireless service connection directly to the TSP over the prearranged wireless carrier using the installed SIM card containing the prearranged credentials..." & See Also Pg.5-Fig.7- "ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY"
The Office argues in the excerpt above that cited portions of Link II teach the TBox module configured to acquire its own information in response to a vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen as previously recited in claim 1. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
In contrast to the "vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen" as recited in claim 1, Link II teaches a physical key combination operation. Column 15, lines 30-43 of Link II describes the physical key combination operation:
[...] trigger events may occur upon the pushing of a first door lock or unlock button and a second door lock or unlock button on each of the first one-way or two-way fobs and the second one-way or two-way fobs, respectively. [...]
Column 24, lines 32-39 of Link II describe:
[...] the user may press the trip reset button while pressing the vehicle start button a predetermined number of times. This sequence of holding trip reset button while pressing the vehicle start button three times... as an indication by a user to cause an authentication system to operate.
Furthermore, the purpose of the physical key combination operation of Link II is to activate a service, in contrast to the TBox acquiring the prestored the ICCID and the SN as recited in claim 1. Still further the TCU of Link II transmits a temporary activation code in contrast to the pre-stored ICCID and SN as recited in claim 1.
Still further, the TCU of Link II communicates over a remote LTE network to communicate with the TSP, in contrast to communicating via HSD line communication between the in-vehicle infotainment and the TBox module or via CAN communication between a diagnostic instrument/MES and the TBox module as recited in claim 1.
None of the cited references, whether taken individually or in combination, teach, in response to a request, calling the pre-stored ICCID and SN, reading the external VIN, and synchronous transmission and integration of the vehicle information as recited in claim 1.
In contrast to claim 1, the vehicle diagnostic equipment of Zhang sends a command, the vehicle generates diagnostic data, and uploads the data to the server for storage, so that users can read the corresponding data. Therefore, Zhang teaches using the VIN as ancillary information of diagnostic data to identify the diagnostic object, but Zhang does not teach acquiring vehicle information from a TBox module and generating a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information.
In contrast to claim 1, Peirce is directed to a secure communication system between a vehicle and a mobile device. In Peirce, a private key is generated and stored in a SIM card (including ICCID/IMSI), and the TBox communicates with the mobile device through a private key signature. Commands of Peirce are executed after identity verification. This process of Peirce prevents hackers from intercepting control commands between the vehicle and the mobile device to ensure the security of the communication channel. Therefore, Pierce teaches generating encryption keys, but Pierce does not teach acquiring vehicle information from a TBox module and generating a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information.
In contrast to claim 1, Rasal is directed to a vehicle start authentication system. The user in Rasal inputs a preset pattern on the central control screen, and after successful authentication, the power control module enters an activated state. The process of Rasal prevents unauthorized persons from starting the vehicle. Therefore, Rasal teaches communication between the in-vehicle infotainment and TBox for transmitting start authentication signals, but Rasal does not teach acquiring vehicle information from a TBox module and generating a two-dimensional code corresponding to the vehicle information.
Therefore, even if the reference of Link II, Zhang, Peirce, and Rasal are combined, the combination would not teach, in response to a request, calling the pre-stored ICCID and SN, reading the external VIN, and synchronous transmission and integration of the vehicle information as recited in claim 1. Claims 15 and 28 recite subject matter similar to the subject matter discussed with regard to claim 1. Therefore, Applicant submits that the cited references do not disclose or render obvious recited elements of claims 15 and 28. - As to point A the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Link II-Pierce does not teach “wherein the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to a vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the ICCID and the SN,”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is a device pertaining to function of a TBox module being able to get information from an infotainment system within a vehicle wherein the information type may be that of an SN and ICCID. Link II teaches the pushing of the button to acquire SIM information from a Telematics box, wherein the pushing of the button may be done on the vehicle infotainment system. Pierce then teaches the specific gathering of the SN and ICCID number (as mapped above in claim 1, 15, and 28). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Wen teaches “wherein the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to a vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the ICCID and the SN” Link II: the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen (Pg. 7 – Fig. 10 – 1040 – “EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURER INSTALLS SIM CARD IN COMPLETED TCU” & See Also Pg. 17 – Col. 4 – lines 5-8 – “After the new-vehicle owner presses the button, the TCU installed within vehicle powers up and establishes a wireless service connection directly to the TSP over the prearranged wireless carrier using the installed SIM card containing the prearranged credentials…” & See Also Pg. 5 - Fig. 7 - “ELECTRONIC VEHICLE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY” & See Also Pg. 22 – Col. 14 – lines 47- 53 – “At step 715, the new-telematics subscriber initiates an authentication sequence by pushing a service request button while starting the vehicle. Alternatively, the service request button could be activated before starting or after starting the vehicle. The service request button could be a dedicated physical button for service subscription, it could be a soft button on an infotainment system screen,” (equates to the TBox module is configured to acquire, in response to the vehicle information request instruction on the central control screen, the information of the TBox module as the button pressed may exist on the central control screen or the vehicle information display in this art and the TBox accesses credentials installed in a sim card installed within the TBox or the TCU in this art thus acquiring information of the TBox module))
Pierce teaches : the ICCID and the SN. ( Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – lines 25 – 27 – “e.g., the SIM may have an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) and/or a unique serial number (e.g., an integrated circuit card identifier or ICCID”).
Similarly, Applicant asserts that Link II-Pierce does not teach “in contrast to communicating via HSD line communication between the in-vehicle infotainment and the TBox module or via CAN communication between a diagnostic instrument/MES and the TBox module”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is establishing communication between the in vehicle infotainment and Tbox via any high speed data line and similarly facilitate communication between MES and TBox via a CAN. Pierce teaches the establishment of a communication channel between the TBox and in-vehicle infotainment via a LTE network which allows for high speed data to be transmitted between either module. Zhang teaches the communication between the Diagnostic device and the TBox module, and then Pierce teaches the Controller Area Network type of communication (as mapped above in claim 1, 15, and 28). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Link II – Zhang - Pierce teaches “in contrast to communicating via HSD line communication between the in-vehicle infotainment and the TBox module or via CAN communication between a diagnostic instrument/MES and the TBox module”
Zhang teaches acquire a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES (Pg. 16 – [n0042] - In step S13 , the diagnosis command and the diagnosis data are sent to the server to be stored by the server & See also Pg. 16 – [n0043] –“… diagnostic device can be connected to the vehicle through the On Board Diagnostics (OBD) interface to send diagnostic commands to the vehicle” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0046] – “The diagnostic commands received by the vehicle and the diagnostic data generated by the diagnosis can be forwarded to the Telematics BOX (T-BOX)” & See Also Pg. 17 – [n0048] – “In addition, the vehicle identification number (VIN),… can also be included in the diagnostic data…” (equates to obtains a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the diagnostic apparatus or the MES as the first quote shows the obtaining of diagnostic data, wherein the second quote shows data being extracted from an ODB or a diagnostic apparatus, and lastly the fourth quote showing the VIN number being included from the extracted data. )).
Pierce teaches: over a controller area network (CAN) (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – 46-47 – “Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN)”) and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line; (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 – line 4 – “data communication ( e.g., to provide GPS location data” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 4 - lines 40-42 – “It will be appreciated that GSM or CDMA standards illustrate merely exemplary implementations and other standards are also possible (e.g., LTE).” (equates to and sends the vehicle information to the in-vehicle infotainment via a High Speed Data (HSD) line as the quote shows a line of data communication being established between the telematics unit and the infotainment wherein the data transmission may comprise gps data or vehicle information to be used within the data communication between both devices within the vehicle and wherein the LTE type high speed data is used to transmit data.) ) the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module, (Pg. 11 – Col. 3 – lines 58 – 67 – “The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel ( a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel” (equates to the in-vehicle infotainment is in communication with the TBox module as the quote shows a line of data communication between the infotainment and the telematics unit.) )
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210279978 A1
– kiosk additionally includes a diagnostic tool connectable to a vehicle to retrieve vehicle data therefrom. A remote server is in communication with the kiosk and is disposable in communication with the handheld communication device. The server is capable of: receiving a signal from the handheld communication device including the unique electronic identifier; receiving a signal from the kiosk including the vehicle data;
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
5/2/26