DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments involve discussing why the previously cited prior art documents fail to disclose the amended limitations. Examiner finds this argument persuasive and has brought in an additional reference to address the amended claim limitations. The applicability of the reference to the amended elements is discussed in the claim rejections below.
The amendments to the claims and specification are sufficient and previous objections from the non-final of 9/3/2025 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites "a border area located at least one side", which appears to be a typo meant to read “a border area located on at least one side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 12-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0226804 A1, hereafter Kim), in view of Bae et al. (US 2021/0405797 A1, hereafter Bae, and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0064968 A1, hereafter Kim2).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 15 of Kim teaches a display module (DD of Fig. 1, [0041]) having a pol-less display panes (anti-reflective layer RPL is describes as it may include a polarizer, implying it is optional in [0179]), provided with a display area (DA of Fig. 1, [0047]) and a function area (CM of Fig. 1, HA1 of Fig. 15, [0136]) surrounded by the display area (DA), the display module (DD) comprising:
the pol-less display panel (DP, [0053]);
a cover plate layer (HC, [0176]) located on a light-emitting side of the display panel (DP);
a filter layer (anti-reflective layer, RPL, [0176]) located on a side of the display panel (DP) adjacent to the cover plate layer (HC); the anti-reflective layer is said to possibly include floor filters CF [0178].
a flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4, [0176]) located between the filter layer (RPL) and the cover plate layer (HC), wherein the flexible composite layer comprises a first adhesive layer (AL4) and a transparent film layer (WIN) disposed on a side of the first adhesive layer (AL4) away from the display panel (DP); and
wherein the display module (DP) further comprises a function hole (HA1, [0136]), the function hole is defined in the function area (first hole area), the function hole (HA1) goes through the display panel (DP), and the filter layer (RPL), in a first direction (see annotated Fig. 15), the first direction is a thickness direction of the display module (DP).
Kim is silent on the filter layer comprising a plurality of color filters and black matrixes disposed between two adjacent color filters. Bae depicts in Fig. 10, a layer in which the color filters (CF, [0193]) are layered with black matrices, which are incorporated is incorporated to increase the luminous performance of the display device [0204]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the color filter taught by Bae in the anti-reflective layer of Kim because the combination would also reduce reflectance of external light.
Kim in view of Bae fail to show a shielding layer located between the filter layer and the cover plate layer, wherein the shielding layer comprises a first shielding part located in the function area and in contact with a side surface of the transparent film layer.
However, Kim2 shows in Fig. 2B a similar display device with a shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) in contact with a base film 410 [0099]. This base film is equivalent to the transparent film layer (WIN) of Kim. The second light shielding area of Kim2 (430) is disposed at the edges of the hole (OA, [0099]), while the first light shielding pattern (420, [0098]) is located at the edges of the device (calling the first and second light shielding areas as first or second is arbitrary). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim in view of Bae to include the light shielding layer of Kim2 in order to define what is the display area and the non-display area of the device ([0098-0099] of Kim2). Note that as the shielding pattern is at the edges of the hole in Kim2, the function hole of Kim would also be going through the shielding layer in the modified device.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1. The modified invention further discloses wherein the first shielding part (430, [0099] of Kim2) is located between the first adhesive layer (AL4, [0176] of Kim) and the transparent film layer (WIN, [0176] of Kim), or the first shielding part (430) is located on a side of the transparent film layer (WIN) away from the display panel (DP, [0053] of Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1. Kim2 further shows in Fig. 2B a border area (NDA, [0077]) located at least one side of the display area (DA, [0077]), wherein the shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) further comprises a second shielding part (420) located in the border area (NDA).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 4, wherein a boundary of the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) is flush with a boundary of the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim, [0176]). This is shown in Fig. 2B of Kim2 in which element 420 extends to the edges of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 5, wherein the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) is located between the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim, [0176]) and the first adhesive layer (AL4 of Kim, [0176]), or the second shielding part (420 of Kim2) is located on the side of the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim2) away from the display panel (DP of Kim, [0053]). As the second shielding part has been noted to be in the same level as the first shielding part in claims 1 and 4, and that the first shielding part is located on the side of the transparent film layer away from the display panel, the second shielding part also is located in the same level.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1, wherein a distance from an edge of an orthographic projection of the first shielding part (430 of Kim2, [0098]) on the display panel (DP, [0053] of Kim) to an edge of an orthographic projection of the function hole (HA1 of Kim, [0136] on the display panel (DP) is less than 1 mm. This is inherent as in Fig. 2B of Kim2, the first shielding part is flush with the function hole.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1. Kim further teaches a photosensitive element (camera, CM, [0136]) disposed in the function hole (HA1, [0136])
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a pol-less display panel, comprising a display module (DD of Fig. 1, [0047]) having a pol-less display panel (anti-reflective layer RPL is describes as it may include a polarizer, implying it is optional in [0179]), the display module (DD) comprising:
the pol-less display panel (DP, [0053]);
a cover plate layer (HC, [0176]) located on a light-emitting side of the display panel (DP);
a filter layer (anti-reflective layer, RPL, [0176]) located on a side of the display panel (DP) adjacent to the cover plate layer (HC); the anti-reflective layer is said to possibly include floor filters CF [0178].
a flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4, [0176]) located between the filter layer (RPL) and the cover plate layer (HC), wherein the flexible composite layer comprises a first adhesive layer (AL4) and a transparent film layer (WIN) disposed on a side of the first adhesive layer (AL4) away from the display panel (DP); and
wherein the display module (DP) further comprises a function hole (HA1, [0136]), the function hole is defined in the function area (first hole area), the function hole (HA1) goes through the display panel (DP), and the filter layer (RPL), in a first direction (see annotated Fig. 15), where the first direction is a thickness direction of the display module (DP).
Kim is silent on the filter layer comprising a plurality of color filters and black matrixes disposed between two adjacent color filters. Bae depicts in Fig. 10, a layer in which the color filters (CF, [0193]) are layered with black matrices, which are incorporated is incorporated to increase the luminous performance of the display device [0204]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the color filter taught by Bae in the anti-reflective layer of Kim because the combination would also reduce reflectance of external light.
Kim in view of Bae fail to show a shielding layer located between the filter layer and the cover plate layer, wherein the shielding layer comprises a first shielding part located in the function area and in contact with a side surface of the transparent film layer.
However, Kim2 shows in Fig. 2B a similar display device with a shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) in contact with a base film 410 [0099]. This base film is equivalent to the transparent film layer (WIN) of Kim. The second light shielding area of Kim2 (430) is disposed at the edges of the hole (OA, [0099]), while the first light shielding pattern (420, [0098]) is located at the edges of the device (calling the first and second light shielding areas as first or second is arbitrary). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim in view of Bae to include the light shielding layer of Kim2 in order to define what is the display area and the non-display area of the device ([0098-0099] of Kim2). Note that as the shielding pattern is at the edges of the hole in Kim2, the function hole of Kim would also be going through the shielding layer in the modified device.
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the display device according to claim 13. The modified invention further discloses wherein the first shielding part (430, [0099] of Kim2) is located between the first adhesive layer (AL4, [0176] of Kim) and the transparent film layer (WIN, [0176] of Kim), or the first shielding part (430) is located on a side of the transparent film layer (WIN) away from the display panel (DP, [0053] of Kim).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the display device according to claim 13, further comprising a border area (NDA of Kim2 in Fig. 2B, [0098]) located on at least one side of the display area; wherein the shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) further comprises a second shielding (420) part located in the border area (NDA).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the display device according to claim 16. The modified invention further teaches a boundary of the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) is flush with a boundary of the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim, [0176]). This is shown in Fig. 2B of Kim2 in which element 420 extends to the edges of the device.
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display device according to claim 17, wherein the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) is located between the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim, [0176]) and the first adhesive layer (AL4 of Kim, [0176]), or the second shielding part (420 of Kim2) is located on the side of the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim2) away from the display panel (DP of Kim, [0053]). As the second shielding part has been noted to be in the same level as the first shielding part in claims 13 and 16, and that the first shielding part is located on the side of the transparent film layer away from the display panel, the second shielding part also is located in the same level.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bae in view of Kim2, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2021/0265593 A1, hereafter Seo).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 2, wherein the flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4, [0176] of Kim) further comprises a second adhesive layer (AL3) located on the side of the transparent film layer (WIN) away from the display panel (DP, [0053] of Kim), and the function hole (HA1, [0136]) goes through the display panel (DP), the first adhesive layer (AL4), and the first shielding part (420 and 430 of Bae, [0099]), in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 6). Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 fail to teach the function hole going through the transparent film layer (WIN), and the second adhesive layer (AL3).
However in Fig. 2B Seo discloses a display device similar to Kim in view of Bae in further view of Kim2 in which a through hole goes through to the top cover window 50 [0086]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the through hole in Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 to go through the transparent film and second adhesive layer in order to improve a transmittance of light progressing to the component ([0053] of Sao).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1. Kim further teaches in Fig. 15 a backplate (compensation plate, CP, [0137]) and a supporting layer (PLT1, [0137]) disposed on a side of the display panel (DP, [0053]) away from the shielding layer (430 and 420 of Kim2, [0099]), wherein the supporting layer (PLT1) is disposed on a side of the backplate (CP) away from the shielding layer (430 and 420); wherein the function hole (HA1, [0136]) goes through the supporting layer (PLT1), the backplate (CP), the display panel (DP), the filter layer (RPL of Kim, [0176]), the first adhesive layer (AL4, [0176]), and the first shielding part (430). The modified device fails to teach the through hole through the transparent film layer (WIN of Kim, [0176]).
However in Fig. 2B Seo discloses a display device similar to Kim in view of Bae in further view of Kim2 in which a through hole goes through to the top cover window 50 [0086]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the through hole in Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 to go through the transparent film in order to improve a transmittance of light progressing to the component ([0053] of Sao).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the device according to claim 14, wherein the flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4, [0176] of Kim) further comprises a second adhesive layer (AL3) located on the side of the transparent film layer (WIN) away from the display panel (DP, [0053] of Kim), and the function hole (HA1, [0136]) goes through the display panel (DP), the first adhesive layer (AL4), and the first shielding part (420 and 430 of Bae, [0099]), in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 6). Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 fail to teach the function hole going through the transparent film layer (WIN), and the second adhesive layer (AL3).
However in Fig. 2B Seo discloses a display device similar to Kim in view of Bae in further view of Kim2 in which a through hole goes through to the top cover window 50 [0086]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the through hole in Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 to go through the transparent film and second adhesive layer in order to improve a transmittance of light progressing to the component ([0053] of Sao).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a manufacturing method of a display module (DD of Fig. 1, [0041]) having a pol-less display panel (anti-reflective layer RPL is describes as it may include a polarizer, implying it is optional in [0179]), comprising:
providing the pol-less display panel (DP, [0053]) comprising a display area (DA of Fig. 1, [0047]) and a function area (HA1, [0136]) surrounded by the display area (DA);
forming a filter layer (anti-reflective layer, RPL, [0176]) on a side of the display panel (DP);
forming a flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4, [0176]) on a side of the filter layer (RPL), wherein the flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4) comprises a first adhesive layer (AL4) and a transparent film layer (WIN) disposed on a side of the first adhesive layer (AL4) away from the display panel (DP);
forming a function hole (HA1, [0136]) going through the display panel (DP), and the filter layer (RPL); and
providing a cover plate layer (HC, [0176]) and attaching the cover plate layer (HC) to a side of the flexible composite layer (WP/AL3/WIN/AL4) and a side of the filter layer (RPL) away from the display panel (DP).
Kim is silent on the filter layer comprising a plurality of color filters and black matrixes disposed between two adjacent color filters. Bae depicts in Fig. 10, a layer in which the color filters (CF, [0193]) are layered with black matrices, which are incorporated is incorporated to increase the luminous performance of the display device [0204]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the color filter taught by Bae in the anti-reflective layer of Kim because the combination would also reduce reflectance of external light.
Kim in view of Bae fail to teach the formation of a shielding layer located between the filter layer and the cover plate layer, wherein the shielding layer comprises a first shielding part located in the function area and in contact with a side surface of the transparent film layer.
However, Kim2 shows in Fig. 2B a similar display device with a shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) in contact with a base film 410 [0099]. This base film is equivalent to the transparent film layer (WIN) of Kim. The second light shielding area of Kim2 (430) is disposed at the edges of the hole (OA, [0099]), while the first light shielding pattern (420, [0098]) is located at the edges of the device (calling the first and second light shielding areas as first or second is arbitrary). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim in view of Bae to include the light shielding layer of Kim2 in order to define what is the display area and the non-display area of the device ([0098-0099] of Kim2). Note that as the shielding pattern is at the edges of the hole in Kim2, the function hole of Kim would also be going through the shielding layer in the modified device.
Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 fail to teach the function hole going through the transparent film layer (WIN).
However in Fig. 2B Seo discloses a display device similar to Kim in view of Bae in further view of Kim2 in which a through hole goes through to the top cover window 50 [0086]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the through hole in Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 to go through the transparent film layer in order to improve a transmittance of light progressing to the component ([0053] of Sao).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bae in view of Kim2, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0322547 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 9. This modified invention fails to disclose a cover plate protective layer disposed on a side of the cover plate away from the display panel; and a circulating protective film disposed on a side of the cover plate protective layer away from the display panel. However, Wang teaches a display device with a multilayered top structure in Fig. 12. The first cover layer (2071, [0046]) can be equated to Kim’s HC layer [0176]. Atop this first cover layer is a second and third cover layer (2073 and 2075 respectively), which can act as a cover plate protective layer and a circulating protective film. The use of a multi-layered structure aids in impact resistance and resilience, as Wang teaches in [0046]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover plate layer (HC of Kim) of the modified device to me a multi-layered structure of Wang to further protect the display device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bae in view of Kim2, in view of Nakamoto et al. (US 2018/0301491 A1, hereafter Nakamoto), and further in view of Suh et al. (US 2022/0367434 A1, hereafter Suh).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 1. Kim2 further teaches the shielding layer (430 and 420, [0099]) comprises a colored organic layer [0098]. While Kim2 is silent on the exact composition of elements 430 and 420, one of ordinary skill in the art would use an organic light blocking material known in the art. Nakamoto teaches an imaging device with a shielding organic material [0069]. The shielding material of Nakamoto includes carbon black [0069]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shielding region of Kim2 to be made of the carbon black containing organic resin for the expected result of a functioning shielding layer.
The modified device fails to explicitly disclose a material of the transparent film (WIN of Kim, [0176]) comprises polyethylene terephthalate. However Kim discloses glass or a synthetic resin film [0180]. Polyethylene terephthalate (PET) is a known synthetic resin used in display devices as taught by Suh. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WIN layer of Kim to comprise PET to get the expected result of a flexible material as Suh states in [0070].
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2010/0188632 A1, hereafter Takahashi).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 6. Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 are silent on a width of the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) ranges 0.8 mm to 1.2 mm in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. Takahashi teaches a display device in which a shielding region is around the peripheral of the display device, similar to the second shielding region 420 of Kim2. This shielding region is taught to be 1 mm [0074]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second shielding region of the modified device to have the width taught by Takahashi in order to maintain light shielding properties at the edges of the device, as Takahashi teaches in [0094].
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 teach the pol-less display panel according to claim 18. Kim in view of Bae and in further view of Kim2 are silent on a width of the second shielding part (420 of Kim2, [0099]) ranges 0.8 mm to 1.2 mm in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. Takahashi teaches a display device in which a shielding region is around the peripheral of the display device, similar to the second shielding region 420 of Kim2. This shielding region is taught to be 1 mm [0074]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second shielding region of the modified device to have the width taught by Takahashi in order to maintain light shielding properties at the edges of the device, as Takahashi teaches in [0094].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 /ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892