DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s submission dated November 14, 2025. Any objections and/or rejections made in the precious action, and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Triantafyllou (US 20150351432 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Triantafyllou teaches an oat milk product [0048] produced comprising the steps of combining wet ground oat kernels with water and stirring, [0045] adding α-amylase and β-amylase, [0045] adding protein deamidase in the form of glutaminase, [0047] then transferring to a formulation tank for finalizing the drink into an oat milk. [0048] The oat milk is produced from plant material and uses deamidase and β-amylase. Additionally, Triantafyllou teaches the protein deamidase may be added between 0.5-20 U/g oat protein. [0014] According to the MPEP 2144.05 I, "In the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists."
Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious the method recited in claim 1.
With respect to Claim 2, Triantafyllou teaches an oat milk. [0048] Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 2.
With respect to Claim 3, Triantafyllou teaches the process of making oat milk as described above, wherein the protein glutaminase is added between 0.5-20 U/g oat protein. [0014] According to the MPEP 2144.05 I, "In the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 3.
With respect to Claim 4, Triantafyllou teaches the process of making oat milk as described above, wherein the β-amylase is added at 180 U/g starch. [0045] The starch is about 45% of the total oats, [0034] resulting in a ratio of about 81 U/g oat. “U” in the instant application relates to 1 mg/min glucose, which is equal to 5.55 umol/min glucose. U in Triantafyllou for β-amylase is equal to 1 umol/min p-nitrophenol, which is equivalent to 1 umol/min glucose. Therefore, 81 U in Triantafyllou is equal to about 14 U/g oat in the instant application, which greater than 0.01U/g plant material. Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 4.
With respect to Claim 5, Triantafyllou teaches the process of making oat milk as described above, wherein the protein glutaminase is added between 0.5-20 U/g oat protein [0014] and the β-amylase is added at about 14 U/g oat, when accounting for conversion factors. [0045] Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 5.
With respect to Claim 6, Triantafyllou teaches the oat milk product as described above, wherein the amount of oats is 675kg and the final amount of mixture is 5600L. [0045] The resulting ratio of water to oats would be about 8 parts water to 1 part oats. Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 6.
With respect to Claim 7, Triantafyllou teaches using protein deamidase, [0052] α-amylase, and β-amylase. [0045] Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 7.
With respect to Claim 8, the instant specification teaches that the aroma of a plant protein food and drink can be enhanced through the use of protein deamidase and β-amylase. [0009] Triantafyllou teaches using protein deamidase [0052] and β-amylase. [0045] Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claim 8.
With respect to Claim 9 and 10, Triantafyllou teaches the invention recited in claim 8. Additionally, Triantafyllou teaches the protein deamidase may be added between 0.5-20 U/g oat protein. [0014] According to the MPEP 2144.05 I, "In the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Therefore, Triantafyllou renders obvious claims 9 and 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on 35 U.S.C. 103.
Additionally, applicant asserts on Page 5, “Triantafyllou et al. is specialized to a technique for solubilizing oat protein, but does not teach or provide any basis for enhancing the aroma of oats”. By applicant’s own admission, “The present specification shows the results of enhancing the oat aroma of the treated oat milk by using protein deamidase at an amount of 5 U/g oat protein”.
Triantafyllou teaches the protein deamidase may be added between 0.5-20 U/g oat protein. [0014] According to the MPEP 2144.05 I, "In the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists." Additionally, Triantafyllou does provide motivation for enhancing the organoleptic qualities of the oat milk through the taught invention. [0009]
Additionally, MPEP 2145 II states, “Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention”. The latent property of enhancing the aroma of an oat milk through the application of protein deamidase would have been present in the invention taught by Triantafyllou, regardless of whether or not the latent property was recognized in the prior art.
For these reasons, applicant’s arguments are found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791