DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 10/11/2023 having
claims 1-2, 12-23, 29-34 pending and presented for examination. Claims 3-11, 24-28 are cancelled.
Priority
2. Application filed on 05/01/2023 has is a 371 of PCT/IB2021/060132 11/02/2021
PCT/IB2021/060132 has PRO 63/108,711 11/02/202 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 05/01/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 05/01/2023 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20220264686 A1 TSAI et al. (Hereinafter “TSAI").
As per claim 1, TSAI teaches a method performed by a wireless device for configuring a first cell group and a second cell group, configuring a first cell group and a second cell group, wherein the wireless device is operating in dual connectivity with the first cell group and the second cell group, and wherein the first cell group is associated with an operational mode and the second cell group is associated with an operational mode (fig, 7), the method comprising: transmitting a request to resume operation from an inactive or idle state in the first cell group (para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is transmitting a request to the network to resume operation from inactive state, wherein UE is the inactive state or idle state where in the UE is connected in the first group) ; receiving an indication to transition to a connected state in the first cell group (para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is receiving response from the network to transition to a connected state associated with the first group); determining an operational mode associated with the second cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7, UE determines the operational mode such SCG suspended while keeping the SCG configuration); and transitioning to the connected state in the first cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is receiving response from the network and transitioning to the connected state in the UE is connected in the first group associated ) .
As per claim 2, TSAI teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication to transition to the connected state further comprises an operational mode value for the second cell group, and determining the operational mode associated with the second cell group comprises setting the operational mode value of the second cell group to the operational mode value in the indication to transition to the connected state (para 0115, setting the operational mode value of the second cell group to the operational mode value in the indication to transition to the connected state).
3.-11. (canceled)
As per claim 12, TSAI teaches a wireless device configurable with a first cell group and a second cell group, configuring a first cell group and a second cell group, wherein the wireless device is operating in dual connectivity with the first cell group and the second cell group, and wherein the first cell group is associated with a first operational mode and the second cell group is associated with a second operational mode (fig, 7),, the wireless device comprising processing circuitry operable to: transmitting a request to resume operation from an inactive or idle state in the first cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is transmitting a request to the network to resume operation from inactive state, wherein UE is the inactive state or idle state where in the UE is connected in the first group); receiving an indication to transition to a connected state in the first cell group (para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is receiving response from the network to transition to a connected state associated with the first group);determining an operational mode associated with the second cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7, UE determines the operational mode such SCG suspended while keeping the SCG configuration); and transitioning to the connected state in the first cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7 UE is receiving response from the network and transitioning to the connected state in the UE is connected in the first group associated ) .
As per claim 13, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, wherein the indication to transition to the connected state further comprises an operational mode value for the second cell group, and the processing circuitry is operable to determine the operational mode associated with the second cell group by setting the operational mode value of the second cell group to the operational mode value in the indication to transition to the connected state (para 0115, UE is determining the operable mode based on the location of the UE near any particular cell coverage and second network signal strength to the operational mode value in the indication to transition to the connected state) .
As per claim 14, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the operational mode associated with the second cell group by restoring the operational mode of the second cell group from an access stratum context for the wireless device (para 0110-0120], fig. 7, based on the status such as idle, inactive and connected operational mode, UE determines operational mode associated with the second cell group by restoring the operational mode from the access stratum context for the wireless device).
As per claim 15, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the operational mode associated with the second cell group by setting an operational mode value of the second cell group to activated or deactivated(para 0110-0120], fig. 7, when connected resumed message is received from the network UE changes the operational mode the device to activated).
As per claim 16, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, the processing circuitry further operable to: receive an indication to transition to an idle or inactive state in the first cell group (para 0110-0120], fig. 7, receive an indication to transition to an idle or inactive state first cell group associated with cell ); perform one or more of the following operations: store the operational mode associated with the second cell group; release the operational mode associated with the second cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7, release the operational mode associated with the second cell group ); and transition to the idle or inactive state in the first cell group (para 0097], fig. 19, transition to the idle in the first cell group).
As per claim 17, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing the operational mode associated with the second cell group in an access stratum context for the wireless device (para 0110-0120], fig. 7, storing the operational mode associated with the second cell group in an access stratum context for the wireless device) .
As per claim 18, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing an operational mode value of activated or deactivated (para 0110-0120], fig. 7UE stores in the memory the operational status either inactive or connected ).
As per claim 19, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing a current operational mode value of the second cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7, store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing a current operational mode value of the second cell group ).
As per claim 20, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 16, wherein the indication to transition to an idle or active state further comprises an operational mode value for the second cell group, and the processing circuitry is operable to store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing the operational mode from the indication to transition to the idle or inactive state (para 0110-0120], fig. 7, store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing the operational mode from the indication to transition to the idle or inactive state).
As per claim 21, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, wherein, and the first cell group comprises a master cell group and the second cell group comprises a secondary cell group (para 0110-0120], fig. 7, UE is connected to dual connectivity group wherein the cell groups are master cell group and secondary cell group).
As per claim 22, TSAI teaches the wireless device of claim 12, wherein, and the first cell group comprises a secondary cell group and the second cell group comprises a master cell group ((para 0110-0120], fig. 7, comprises a secondary cell group and the second cell group comprises a master cell group).
Claims 23, 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20200169922 A1 OZTURK et al. (Hereinafter “OZTURK ").
As per claim 23, OZTURK teaches a method performed by a first network node in a first cell group serving a wireless device, wherein the wireless device is also configured with a second cell group configuring a first cell group and a second cell group, wherein the wireless device is operating in dual connectivity with the first cell group and the second cell group, and wherein the first cell group is associated with an operational mode and the second cell group is associated with an operational mode in the first cell group (fig. 12c), the method comprising: determining to transition the wireless device to a connected state(para 0157, fig. 12c, serving node group determines to transition to connected state from inactive state); transmitting an indication to the second network node in the second cell group that the wireless device will transition to a connected state in the first cell group (para 0157, fig. 12c, transmitting an indication to the secondary node in the second group will transition to a connected state in the first cell group); and transmitting an indication to the wireless device to transition to a connected state in the first cell group, the indication comprising an operational mode associated with the second cell group (para 0157, fig. 12c, transmitting by the serving node group an indication to the UE an indication to the wireless device to transition to a connected state in the first cell group making it connected mode and operation status of the other node as the secondary). 20200169922
24.-28. (canceled)
As per claim 29, OZTURK teaches the network node capable of operating in a first cell group serving a wireless device, wherein the wireless device is also configured with a second cell group configuring a first cell group and a second cell group, wherein the wireless device is operating in dual connectivity with the first cell group and the second cell group, and wherein the first cell group is associated with an operational mode and the second cell group is associated with an operational mode, the network node comprising processing circuitry operable to: determine to transition the wireless device to a connected state in the first cell group (para 0157, fig. 12c, serving node group determines to transition to connected state from inactive state); transmit an indication to the second network node in the second cell group that the wireless device will transition to a connected state in the first cell group(para 0157, fig. 12c, transmitting an indication to the secondary node in the second group will transition to a connected state in the first cell group)and transmit an indication to the wireless device to transition to a connected state in the first cell group, the indication comprising an operational mode associated with the second cell group(para 0157, fig. 12c, transmitting by the serving node group an indication to the UE an indication to the wireless device to transition to a connected state in the first cell group making it connected mode and operation status of the other node as the secondary).
As per claim 30, OZTURK teaches the network node of claim 29, wherein the indication comprising an operational mode of the second cell group further comprises an indication of one of an activated state, a deactivated state, or a stored state (para 0157, indication of one of an activated state ).
As per claim 31, OZTURK teaches the network node of claim 29, the processing circuitry further operable to: determine to transition the wireless device to an idle or inactive state; transmit an indication to a second network node in the second cell group that the wireless device will transition to an idle or inactive state; and transmit an indication to the wireless device to transition to an idle or inactive state, the indication comprising an operational mode associated with the second cell group para 0157 store the operational mode associated with the second cell group by storing the operational mode from the indication to transition to the idle or inactive state)..
As per claim 32, OZTURK teaches the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to receive from the second network node an operational mode associated with the second cell group (para 0157, receive from the second network node an operational mode associated with the second cell group ).
As per claim 33, OZTURK teaches the network node of claim 29, wherein the, and the first cell group comprises a master cell group and the second cell group comprises a secondary cell group (para 0157, UE is connected to dual connectivity group wherein the cell groups are master cell group and secondary cell group)..
As per claim 34, OZTURK teaches the network node of claim 29, wherein the first cell group comprises a secondary cell group and the second cell group comprises a mater cell group((para 0157, comprises a secondary cell group and the second cell group comprises a master cell group).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 12-23, 29-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20190342832 A1; US Patent Publication US 20190378561 A1, US Patent Publication US 20190342832 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented inthis Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000./ANEZ C EBRAHIM/
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467