DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims listed below of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,591.
Current claims
Patent claims
1 and 3
1
2
15
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of the application claim 1 are to be found in patent claim 1 (as the application claim 1 fully encompasses patent claim 1). The difference between the application claim 1 and the patent claim 1 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holland et al (EP 3103431).
With regards to claim 1, Holland teaches a fragrance composition for a substrate that includes body parts (abstract) that includes human skin (0012) wherein the composition contains a fragrance component at a concentration of 0.04 to 30% (0012) that contains a high volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure of >0.1 Torr in a concentration of 1 to about 30% by weight and a moderate volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure from 0.1 to 0.001 Torr at a concentration from about 40 to about 80% by weight (0012). Holland teaches the addition of a modulator in an amount of about 0.1 to about 20% by weight (0012).
With regards to claim 2, Holland teaches the composition to be used for imparting, intensifying, or modifying an odor on human skin (0013). Holland teaches the composition to contain a fragrance component at a concentration of 0.04 to 30% (0012) that contains a high volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure of >0.1 Torr in a concentration of 1 to about 30% by weight and a moderate volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure from 0.1 to 0.001 Torr at a concentration from about 40 to about 80% by weight (0012). Holland teaches the addition of a modulator in an amount of about 0.1 to about 20% by weight (0012).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Holland teaches the modulator to include neopentyl glycol diethylhexanoate (0038) and isocetyl alcohol (0038).
With regards to claim 5, Holland teaches the composition to contain a high volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure of >0.1 Torr in a concentration of 1 to about 30%.
With regards to claim 6, Holland teaches the composition to contain a moderate volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure from 0.1 to 0.001 Torr at a concentration from about 40 to about 80% by weight (0012).
With regards to claim 7, Holland teaches the addition of more than one fragrance material reading on the claimed high volatility compounds (0109).
With regards to claim 8, Holland teaches the addition of more than one fragrance material reading on the claimed medium volatility compounds (0109).
With regards to claims 9-11, Holland teaches the addition of a low volatile compound having a vapor pressure of <0.001 Torr at a concentration of 10 to 30% (abstract).
With regards to claim 12, Holland teaches the composition to be used in a consumer product (0064).
With regards to claims 13 and 14, Holland teaches the composition to be used for a method of imparting, intensifying, or modifying an odor on human skin (0013).
With regards to claim 15, Holland teaches the modulator to include neopentyl glycol diethylhexanoate (0038).
With regards to claims 16 and 18, Holland teaches the composition to contain a high volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure of >0.1 Torr in a concentration of 1 to about 30%.
With regards to claims 17 and 19, Holland teaches the composition to contain a moderate volatile fragrance material having a vapor pressure from 0.1 to 0.001 Torr at a concentration from about 40 to about 80% by weight (0012).
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fadel et al (US 2022/0096355).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regards to claim 1, Fadel teaches a perfumery composition (abstract) that includes a fragrance component in an amount of 0.04 to 40% (0010) that contains a high volatility component having a vapor pressure of greater than 0.08 Torr at 22°C at a concentration of 0.08 to 55% (0012) and a medium volatility having a vapor pressure from 0.0008 to 0.08 Torr at 22°C and a concentration of 0.08 to 85 wt% (0015-0016). Fadel teaches the following conditions to be met:
(0019-0026).
With regards to claim 2, Fadel teaches the composition to reduce, prevent, or ameliorate the formation of a film on the consumer’s skin (0219) by contacting the composition to the body surface (0055). Fadel teaches the composition to contain a fragrance component in an amount of 0.04 to 40% (0010) that contains a high volatility component having a vapor pressure of greater than 0.08 Torr at 22°C at a concentration of 0.08 to 55% (0012) and a medium volatility having a vapor pressure from 0.0008 to 0.08 Torr at 22°C and a concentration of 0.08 to 85 wt% (0015-0016). Fadel teaches the following conditions to be met:
(0019-0026).
With regards to claims 3, 4, and 15, Fadel teaches the modulator to include compounds such as PPG-20 methyl glucose ether and isocetyl alcohol (0286).
With regards to claims 5 and 16, Fadel teaches the addition of a second highly volatile compound to be optional, reading on only containing the first at a concentration of 0 to 55 wt% (0012-0014).
With regards to claims 6 and 17, Fadel teaches the addition of a second medium volatile compound to be optional, reading on only containing the first at a concentration of 0 to 85 wt% (0015-0017).
With regards to claim 7, Fadel teaches the addition of a second highly volatile compound (0014).
With regards to claim 8, Fadel teaches the addition of a second medium volatile compound (0017).
With regards to claims 9-11, Fadel teaches the addition of a compound having a vapor pressure of less than 0.0008 Torr at 22°C (0026) wherein the total concentration of the low volatile compound to be 32.23% (0316).
With regards to claim 12, Fadel teaches the composition to be used for a consumer product (0050).
With regards to claim 13, Fadel teaches the composition to reduce, prevent, or ameliorate the formation of a film on the consumer’s skin (0219) by contacting the composition to the body surface (0055).
With regards to claim 14, Fadel teaches the composition to reduce, prevent, or ameliorate the formation of a film on the consumer’s skin (0219) by contacting the composition to the body surface (0055).
With regards to claim 18, Fadel teaches the amount of the highly volatile compound (the top note) to be 32.94% (0316)
With regards to claim 19, Fadel teaches the amount of the medium volatile compound to be 34.83% (0316).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references also teach a fragrance composition that is used on a human’s skin and contains highly and middle volatile compounds: Wong et al (WO 2013/060691) and Wong et al (US 2014/0287982).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763