Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-20 and 22-31 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “IMAGING DEVICE HAVING A VIA CONNECTING A FIRST AND SECOND SUBSTRATE, METHOD OF MANUFACTURING IMAGING DEVICE, AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gocho et. Al. (WO 2020105713 A1 hereinafter Gocho however, the examiner will use US Pre-Grant Publication/patent application US 20210400224 A1 as a translation of the WO document stated above. Hence, the rejection will use the paragraphs/columns and lines of US 20210400224 A1 for rejection purposes.).
Regarding claim 1, Gocho teaches in Figs. 1 with associated text an imaging device comprising: a first semiconductor substrate 200 provided with a photoelectric conversion element 102 (Fig. 24, [0186]); a second semiconductor substrate 300 stacked on the first semiconductor substrate with an interlayer insulating film 240 interposed therebetween (Fig. 24, [0192]) and provided with a pixel circuit 104 that reads out charges generated in the photoelectric conversion element as a pixel signal (Fig. 24, [0200]); and a via (Csub) that penetrates the interlayer insulating film and electrically connects a first surface of the first semiconductor substrate facing the second semiconductor substrate and at least a part of a second surface of the second semiconductor substrate facing the first surface (Fig. 25, [0202]).
Regarding claim 2, Gocho teaches a first well region 204 provided in the first semiconductor substrate (Fig. 25, [0189]) and a second well region (301 and 302) located on a part of the second surface in the second semiconductor substrate (Fig. 25, [0201]) contain impurities having a same conductivity type ([0189] and ]0201]).
Regarding claim 3, Gocho teaches the second well region includes a first region 302 and a second region 301, and the concentration of the impurity in the first region is higher than that in the second region (Fig. 25, [0201]).
Regarding claim 4, Gocho teaches the via is provided on the first region (Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 7, Gocho teaches the second semiconductor substrate has an insulating film region 340 on the second surface side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gocho as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yamaguchi et. Al. (US 20170018591 A1 hereinafter Yamaguchi).
Regarding claim 21, Gocho teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising a first pad unit provided on the first surface of the first semiconductor substrate and electrically connected to the via.
Gocho does not specify a first pad unit provided on the first surface of the first semiconductor substrate and electrically connected to the via.
Yamaguchi discloses in Fig. 5 with associated text a first pad unit MSF (Fig. 5, [0089]) provided on a first surface of a first semiconductor substrate (SUB and PW) similar to that of Gocho and electrically connected to a via PG similar to that of Gocho (Fig. 5, [0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first pad similar to that of Gocho in the device of Gocho because according to Yamaguchi a metal silicide film NSF is formed over the upper surface of the gate electrodes GET and GET, the surface of the floating diffusion region FD, and the surface of the source/drain region NSD by a SALICIDE (Self Aligned siliCIDE) method ([0106]) such structures are very well known in the art to provide low contact resistance between connected conducting structures.
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897