DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-5 remain pending in the application.
The objection to the Specification previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 08, 2025 remains. Specifically, the objection relates to the length of the Abstract, which does not appear to have been changed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second layer of the base material layer of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuie (US 20140091704 A1).
Furuie teaches a display device (Fig 1 organic EL display device 1, [0033]) comprising: a first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]); a second substrate (Fig 2 substrate 20, [0033]) that faces the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]); a plurality of light emitting elements (Fig 2 EL elements 30, [0034]) in a display region (Fig 2 display area D1, [0033]) between the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]) and the second substrate (Fig 2 substrate 20, [0033]); and a sealing part (Fig 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2, [0037]) in a peripheral region (Fig 2 non-display area D2, [0033]) sandwiched the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]) and the second substrate (Fig 2 substrate 20, [0033]), wherein the sealing part surrounds the display region (Fig 2 display area D1, [0033]), the sealing part (Fig 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2, [0037]) seals between (Fig 2) the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]) and the second substrate (Fig 2 substrate 20, [0033]), the sealing part (Fig 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2, [0037]) includes main sealing parts (Figs 1 and 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 surrounding opening 23a, [0039]) and a sub sealing part (Figs 1 and 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 under opening 23a, [0039]) between the main sealing parts (Figs 1 and 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 surrounding opening 23a, [0039]), an alignment mark (Fig 2 alignment mark A1, [0039]) is between the sub sealing part (Figs 1 and 2 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 under opening 23a, [0039]) and the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]), the sub sealing part (Figs 5 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 under opening 23a, [0039]) has a stacked structure of a base material layer (Fig 5 sealing film 18, [0061]) formed of a non-light shielding member (Fig 5 sealing film 18, [0061]) and the sealing member layer (Fig 5 adhesion layer 19, [0037]) from the side of the first substrate side (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]).
Furuie fails to teach each of the main sealing parts has a stacked structure of a light shielding member layer and a sealing member layer from the first substrate side, and an extending part of the sealing member layer constituting the sub sealing part is formed on the light shielding member layer.
Regarding the choice of placing the light shielding member layer (Fig 5 light-impermeable film 23, [0061]) between the sealing member layer (Fig 5 adhesion layer 19, [0037]) and the first substrate (Fig 2 substrate 10, [0033]), this particular location would have been obvious to try. Furuie teaches a light-impermeable layer to control light emitted in a non-display area ([0069]). In pursuing this arrangement in the device of Furuie, there are only three locations for the light-impermeable layer to achieve this result: between 20/19, between 19/18, or between 18/30. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the light control would be achieved equally, regardless of which of these three locations is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
In modifying the structure of Furuie, each of the main sealing parts would have a stacked structure of a light shielding member layer and a sealing member layer from the first substrate side. Further, an extending part (Fig 5 part of adhesion layer 19 that extends under opening 23a) of the sealing member layer (Fig 5 adhesion layer 19, [0037]) constituting the sub sealing part (Figs 5 part of adhesion layer 19 in non-display area D2 under opening 23a, [0039]) is formed on the light shielding member layer (Fig 5 light-impermeable layer 23, [0061]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuie (US 20140091704 A1), in view of Ohta (US 20120217521 A1).
Furuie as modified in claim 1 teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (Fig 2 EL elements 30, [0034]) includes a first electrode (Fig 5 anode 32, [0044]), an organic layer (Fig 5 organic layer 33, [0044]), a second electrode (Fig 5 cathode 34, [0044]).
Furuie fails to teach an optical path control unit from the side of the first substrate side, and the base material layer is made of a material constituting the optical path control unit.
However, Ohta teaches an optical path control unit (Fig 2 lens 22, [0115]) from the side of the first substrate side (Fig 3 substrate 13 corresponds to Furuie: Fig 3 substrate 10, [0033]), and the base material layer (Furuie: Fig 5 sealing film 18, [0050]) includes a first layer (See note below) made of a material constituting (The sealing film 18 of Furuie is formed of a resin, [0050] and the lens 22 of Ohta is formed of an acrylic resin) the optical path control unit (Ohta: Fig 2 lens 22, [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Furuie to incorporate the teachings of Ohta by having an optical path control unit. This would increase the efficiency of extracting light ([0125]).
Examiner notes that since the lens of Ohta is made of a resin and Furuie teaches the base material layer is a resin, the base material layer would include a first layer made of a material constituting the optical path control unit.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuie (US 20140091704 A1), in view of Ohta (US 20120217521 A1), in further view of Totani (JP 2015076298 A).
Regarding claim 4, Furuie as modified in claim 3 teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (Furuie: Fig 2 EL elements 30, [0034]) includes a color filter layer (Furuie: Fig 3 color filter 21, [0038]) between the second electrode (Furuie: Fig 5 cathode 34, [0044]) and the optical path control unit (Ohta: Fig 2 lens 22, [0115]), and
Furuie as modified in claim 3 fails to teach the light shielding member layer is made of a material constituting the color filter layer.
However, Totani teaches color filter layers can be stacked to provide a light blocking effect ([0070] of translation). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to use the teachings of Totani with Furuie to provide a light blocking effect for the light-impermeable film 22. This would reduce the materials needed since a black matrix material is no longer needed (Furuie: [0038]). In doing so, the light shielding member layer would be made of a material constituting the color filter layer.
Regarding claim 5, Furuie as modified in claim 4 teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (Furuie: Fig 2 EL elements 30, [0034]) includes a planarization layer (Ohta: Fig 3 sealing resin 30, [0118]) between the second electrode (Ohta: Fig 3 electrode 18, [0143] corresponds to Furuie: Fig 5 cathode 34, [0044]) and the color filter layer (Ohta: Fig 2 color filter unit 21, [0120] corresponds to Furuie: Fig 3 color filter 21, [0038]), and the base material layer (Furuie: Fig 5 sealing film 18, [0050]) includes a second layer (See note below) made of a material constituting (The sealing film 18 of Furuie is formed of a resin, [0050] and the sealing resin 30 of Ohta from the name implies a resin; further Ohta teaches the sealing resin is injected, [0216]) the planarization layer (Ohta: Fig 3 sealing resin 30, [0118]).
Examiner notes that since the planarization layer of Ohta is made of a resin and Furuie teaches the base material layer is a resin, the base material layer would include a second layer made of a material constituting the planarization layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §112 section on page 5, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to amendments to claim 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC §112 rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section on page 6, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As outlined in the rejection above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the order of the layers. In changing the order of the layers, the limitations of amended claim 1 would be met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813