DETAILED ACTION
Amendments made June 24, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, and 5-17 are pending;
Claims 11-15 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made June 24, 2026 which require the package to be a pouch and the composition to comprise 0.05-0.2% dry weight gellan gum.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Staff (Harvard TH Chan, “Cold brew coffee as healthy as the hot kind” July 2017, page 1) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made June 24, 2026 which require the package to be a pouch and the composition to comprise 0.05-0.2% dry weight gellan gum.
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Zieger et al (WO 97/43913) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made June 24, 2026 which require the package to be a pouch and the composition to comprise 0.05-0.2% dry weight gellan gum.
The rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Woodyer et al (US 2016/0302463) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made June 24, 2026 which require the package to be a pouch and the composition to comprise 0.05-0.2% dry weight gellan gum.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and Jones (US 6511693) and Cinogel (“Gellan Gum Manufacturer” pages 1-7 August 19, 2019, https://www.cinogel.com/p/gellan-gum-solutions-and-applications.html), and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee (Paragraphs 21, 23, 24, 32 Figure 1, claims 1, 6, 16, and 33), which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream beverage.
Regarding the beverage as non-alcoholic as recited in claim 1, as Macpherson does not require the addition of alcohol to the beverage, and the disclosed coffee beverage eiskaffee was not defined as including alcohol (see SnapCalorie page 4), the teachings of Macpherson encompass, or at least make obvious the beverage as non-alcoholic. To form the product as disclosed, i.e. without ingredients not disclosed, would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the package as flexible and configured to allow the contents of the package to expand when the liquid is frozen and broken up by hand after freezing as recited in claim 1, the claimed limitation is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed product, and thus only requires the ability of the prior art product to perform. The claims do not require freezing and defrosting, or a frozen beverage, or breaking of said beverage, but rather a flexible package which would be capable of allowing the beverage, if frozen, to expand and subsequently be broken up by hand. As Macpherson teaches that the beverage packaging comprises a flexible wall to accommodate the expansion of the beverage solution as it transitions from its liquid to solid state during the freezing process (paragraph 45), the packaged liquid beverage product of Macpherson is considered to encompass or at least make obvious the product as claimed. It is noted that in the same manner that the package is flexible, and thus allows the beverage to expand, the flexibility of the package would allow for a consumer to break the frozen beverage by hand as it defrosts.
Regarding the beverage as a pouch as recited in claim 1, Macpherson teaches the containers for packaging the coffee beverage are desired to be drunk directly from (paragraph 0040) and that at least some portion of the container comprises a flexible wall (paragraph 45), however, is not specific to the package as a pouch. Jones et al teaches a frozen slushy drink, including coffee flavored drinks, in a flexible pouch, wherein the packaged product is immediately consumable by a consumer (abstract and column 1 lines 50-55). Jones teaches that the squeezable pouch is portable and may be disposed of after consumption and that consumers typically seek foods that require minimal preparation time, are conveniently packaged, and/or are portable (column 1 lines 22-25 and 65-67). It would have been obvious for the flexible walled packaged beverage as taught by Macpherson to be a pouch as Jones teaches that pouches can package frozen beverages and provide a portable and convenient packaging means which consumers typically seek out.
Regarding the beverage as comprising buttermilk as recited in claim 1, Macpherson is silent to the beverage as comprising buttermilk. However, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream based beverage. Arbuckle teaches ice cream ingredients, wherein buttermilk was taught to supply non-fat milk solids to the mix, contribute a richness of flavor, and was especially desirable in low fat ice creams (page 63, chapter heading and paragraph 1). It would have been obvious for the ice cream in the eiskaffee beverage of Macpherson to comprise a portion of the non-fat milk solids as supplied from buttermilk for its known benefits, including providing a richness in flavor as shown by Arbuckle. To use a known ice cream ingredient, wherein ice cream was disclosed would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the beverage as comprising 0.05-0.2% dry weight gellan gum as recited in claim 1, Macpherson is silent to the beverage as comprising gellan gum. Cinogel teaches that gellan gum was used as a stabilizer and texture agent in dairy products including beverages and ice creams, and is ideal for use in suspensions and pumping or filling applications (page 3, “Gellan Gum solutions- Dairy Products). Cinogel teaches that gellan gum helps keep insoluble particles suspended in beverages; provides quick and stable suspensions; and is used in low dosage forms, wherein 0.012-0.03% and blending with other hydrocolloids is recommended (page 1 paragraphs 1 and 2). It would have been obvious for the packaged eiskaffee beverage, i.e. the dairy beverage containing ice cream, taught by Macpherson to comprise 0.012-0.03% gellan gum for the known benefits taught by Cinogel, including stabilization, texturization, and providing of a quick and stable suspension at low dosage. Further, as evidenced by SnapCalorie, eiskaffee contained 11.3% solids (about 11.33g/100g, pages 2-3), thus the product of the prior art would comprise about 0.1 (0.12/11.3) to 0.3 (0.03/11.3) dry weight gellan gum which encompasses the claimed range. Additionally, it is noted that to modify the amount of gellan gum based on the desired effect would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee. Further, as evidenced by SnapCalorie, eiskaffee contained 11.3% solids (about 11.33g/100g, pages 2-3) which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Macpherson is silent to the beverage as comprising another dairy protein in addition to a buttermilk protein, or a plant protein. However, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream beverage. Arbuckle teaches that whole milk is a very desirable source of fat and milk solids non-fat (MSNF) in ice cream (page 58 Sources of Fat, paragraph 2). As discussed above, it would have been obvious for the ice cream in the eiskaffee beverage of Macpherson to comprise a portion of the non-fat milk solids as supplied from buttermilk for its known benefits. It would have been further obvious for the other milk solids nonfat to come from whole milk as Arbuckle teaches that whole milk is a very desirable source of fat and MSNF in ice creams. To use a known ice cream ingredient, wherein ice cream was disclosed would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. It was known that milk contained protein, and thus the addition of whole milk would add another dairy protein to the beverage composition.
Regarding claim 8, Macpherson is silent to the beverage as comprising hydrocolloids selected from the group consisting of cellulose, alginate, locust bean gum, starch, xanthan gum, and combinations of these as recited in claim 8. However, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream beverage. Arbuckle teaches properly stabilized ice cream will not taste as cold, will melt to a creamer consistency, and will maintain a smooth texture (page 86, paragraphs 4 and 5). Arbuckle teaches that at one time or another most gums have been used as ice cream stabilizers, but for reasons of price or functionality have been generally replaced by alginates, CMC (carboxy methyl cellulose), and guar and locust bean gum (page 86 paragraph 8). It would have been obvious for the ice cream in the eiskaffee beverage of Macpherson to comprise stabilizers for a creamier consistency and to maintain a smooth texture, wherein alginates, cellulose, and/or locust bean gum would be obvious to use for reasons of price or functionality in view of Arbuckle. To use a known ice cream ingredient, wherein ice cream was disclosed would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee. Further, as evidenced by SnapCalorie, eiskaffee contained about 11.3% solids (about 11.33g/100g) of which 7.2 grams are sugars, i.e. saccharides (pages 2-3). Thus, the eiskaffee beverage of Macpherson would comprise about 63.7% (7.2/11.3) saccharides on a solids basis which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 16, Macpherson is silent to the beverage as comprising a saccharide comprising allulose, glucose syrup having a DE of about 25-42, or a combination thereof as recited in claim 16. However, as discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream beverage. Arbuckle teaches corn syrup is used in ice cream to provide an economical source of solids, a firmer and heavier body, and improve the shelf life of the finished products (page 73 Corn Sweeteners). Arbuckle teaches there has been much interest in low conversion corn syrup solid products (DE 28-38) because they help increase solids and maintain product properties and sweetness (page 73 last paragraph, page 74 first two paragraphs, and page 75 third paragraph). It would have been obvious for the ice cream in the beverage product of Macpherson to comprise corn syrup to provide an economical source of solids, a firmer and heavier body, and/or improve the shelf life of the finished products in view of Arbuckle. It would have been further obvious for the DE of the corn syrup to be from 28-38 as Arbuckle teaches that said DE maintains product properties and sweetness. To use a known ice cream ingredient, wherein ice cream was disclosed would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and Jones (US 6511693) and Cinogel (“Gellan Gum Manufacturer” pages 1-7 August 19, 2019), and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Staff (Harvard TH Chan, “Cold brew coffee as healthy as the hot kind” July 2017, page 1).
As discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract and ice cream based beverage
Macpherson does not teach the coffee extract as extracted between 0-90C as recited in claim 7.
Staff teaches that cold brew coffee is made by steeping coffee grounds in cold water, wherein the cold brew is just as healthy as regular coffee, may even be healthier, and is often considered tastier because it’s less acidic (page 1).
Regarding the extract as extracted between 0-90C as recited in claim 7, the claimed limitation is a product by process limitation, and thus, the process is considered in the manner in which it affects the claimed product. In the instant case, the extraction temperature affects the acidity, and thus taste of the final product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coffee extract of Macpherson to be cold brew as it is tastier and may be healthier as taught by Staff. As Staff teaches that cold brew is with cold water, the use of cold brew would be expected to encompass a product produced by the process as claimed.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and Jones (US 6511693) and Cinogel (“Gellan Gum Manufacturer” pages 1-7 August 19, 2019), and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Zieger et al (WO 97/43913).
As discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee, which as evidenced by SnapCalorie, page 4, is a liquid coffee extract, sugar containing, and ice cream beverage
Macpherson is silent to beverage as aseptically processed and suitable for storage at ambient temperature as recited in claim 10.
Zieger et al (Zieger) teaches a method of forming a slush beverage (title), and that it is preferred that precautions be taken to exclude bacteria, such as with the use of aseptic processing (page 20 paragraph 1). Zieger further teaches that liquids with a high content of sugar are an ideal place for microorganisms to grow, and thus microbiological stability is important (page 3 paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious for the sugar containing beverage of Macpherson to be aseptically processed, and thus suitable for storage at ambient temperatures, in order to prevent bacteria and/or be microbiologically stable in view of Zieger. It is noted that ambient temperature is that of the surrounding environment and thus, although typical, it would not be limited to room temperature. This is consistent with the term as used in the art, as well as with the instant disclosure which gives an example of ambient temperature as 15C (59F). As the product of the prior art would be processed to reduce bacteria, it would be suitable for storage at ambient conditions. The position of the office is further supported as the prior art teaches of the same processing, i.e. aseptic, as claimed and disclosed.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macpherson (WO 2011/146339) in view of Arbuckle (Ice Cream 4th Edition, pages 58, 62-63, 73-75, and 86) and Jones (US 6511693) and Cinogel (“Gellan Gum Manufacturer” pages 1-7 August 19, 2019), and as evidenced by SnapCalorie (“Eiskaffee” pages 1-6), further in view of Woodyer et al (US 2016/0302463).
As discussed above, Macpherson teaches freezing a packaged liquid coffee extract containing beverage including eiskaffee. Further, as evidenced by SnapCalorie, eiskaffee contained about 11.3% solids (about 11.33g/100g) of which 7.2 grams are sugars, i.e. saccharides (pages 2-3). Thus, the eiskaffee beverage of Macpherson would comprise about 63.7% (7.2/11.3) sugars on a solids basis.
Macpherson is silent to the beverage as including about 10-70% allulose as recited in claim 17.
Woodyer teaches although desirable in terms of taste and function excess intake of nutritive sweeteners has been associated with health issues (paragraphs 2 and 3), and that allulose can be used as a full or partial replacement to provide the bulk, sweetening, and the other functions of nutritive sweeteners while avoiding the negative health issues (abstract and paragraphs 7-11). Woodyer teaches foods for replacement include coffee beverages, frozen drinks, and dairy drinks, wherein in certain embodiments the beverage comprises from 2-7% allulose by total weight (paragraphs 17, 139, and 140).
It would have been obvious for the sugar in the beverage compositions taught by Macpherson to be replaced in full or in part by allulose to improve the health effects of the product in view of Woodyer. Thus, the product of the prior art would contain up to about 63.7% allulose on a solids basis, wherein the exact amount would be based on the desired sweetness and health effects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments concerning unexpected results, see page 11 of the remarks filed June 24, 2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Applicant argues that as explained in the present specification at paragraph 25, the use of gellan gum has the unexpected effects of influencing the texture of the partly melted beverage and help maintains fat as an evenly distributed suspension and can reduce the size of the ice crystal. This argument is not convincing. Although the specification states the effects, there is no statement or showing that the effect would be unexpected. The position of the office is further supported as Cinogel teaches that gellan gum provides for stabilizing, texturing, and good suspensions. Additionally, Saha et al (“Hydrocolloids as thickening and gelling agents in food: a critical review” Journal of Food Science Technology Nov 6, 2010 pages 587-597 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3551143/) shows that hydrocolloids were known to have a wide array of functional properties in foods including thickening, emulsifying, stabilizing, and controlling the ice crystal growth (page 587, column 1 paragraph 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saha et al “Hydrocolloids as thickening and gelling agents in food: a critical review” Journal of Food Science Technology Nov 6, 2010 pages 587-597 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3551143/ shows that hydrocolloids were known to have a wide array of functional properties in foods including thickening, emulsifying, stabilizing, and controlling ice crystal growth (page 587, column 1 paragraph 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792