DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stahr et al. (Stahr) (EP 3716321 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses a component carrier (item 100), comprising: a stack (item 102) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (item 106); a first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and a second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) arranged in the stack (item 102); a first block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and a second block (lower item 110 on the left or right) arranged in the stack (item 102) below the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right); and a third block (upper item 110 on the left or right) and a fourth block ( upper item 110 on the left or right) arranged in the stack (item 102) above the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right), wherein said blocks (item 110) are thermally conductive (paragraph 101).
In regards to claim 2, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses wherein each of said blocks (item 110) is electrically and/or thermally coupled (paragraph 104) with at least one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right).
In regards to claim 3, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses wherein each of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) is a semiconductor chip (claim 5, paragraphs 9, 11, 21, 29, 34, 50, 51).
In regards to claim 4, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the stack (item 102) comprises only laminated layer structures (items 104 and 106, paragraph 84).
In regards to claim 5, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses wherein at least one of said blocks (item 110) comprises one of the group consisting of a metal block, a ceramic block covered with an electrically conductive layer on at least one of two opposing main surfaces of the ceramic block, and a pure ceramic block (paragraph 16, claim 2).
In regards to claim 6, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: a first core (item 152) on and/or within which the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right)are arranged, a second core (item 179) on and/or within which the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right) are arranged, and a third core (item 178) on and/or within which the third block (upper item 110 on the left or right) and the fourth block (upper item 110 on the left or right) are arranged; wherein the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) operate with a vertical current flow between opposing main surfaces thereof.
In regards to claim 7, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses a continuous electrically conductive path (items 104 plus 110 plus 108 on the left and right or item 190 or 104 plus 110) which includes the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104), said blocks (item 110), the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) or comprising at least one vertical hole (items 190 or 104) extending through at least part of the stack (item 102) and extending entirely through at least one of said blocks (item 110), wherein the at least one vertical hole (items 190 or 104) is at least partially filled with an electrically conductive structure (paragraph 106, copper).
In regards to claim 31, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier (item 100), comprising: providing a stack (item 102) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (item 106); arranging a first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and a second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) in the stack (item 102); arranging a first block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and a second block (lower item 110 on the left or right) in the stack (item 102) below the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right); and arranging a third block (upper item 110 on the left or right) and a fourth block (upper item 110 on the left or right) in the stack (item 102) above the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right); wherein said blocks (item 110) are thermally conductive.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103(a)
Claim(s) 7, 9-13, 15, 16, 19, 23, 24, 28-30, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Stahr et al. (Stahr) (EP 3716321 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses a continuous electrically conductive path (items 104 plus 110 plus 108 on the left and right or item 190 or 104 plus 110) which includes the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104), said blocks (item 110), the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) or comprising at least one vertical hole (items 190 or 104) extending through at least part of the stack (item 102) and extending entirely through at least one of said blocks (item 110), wherein the at least one vertical hole (items 190 or 104) is at least partially filled with an electrically conductive structure (paragraph 106, copper).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of various embodiments of Stahr for the purpose of having multiple variants to produce other fundamentally different embodiments other than the preferred embodiments shown (paragraph 109).
In regards to claim 9, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the continuous electrically conductive path (items 104 plus 110 plus 108 on the left and right or item 190 or 104 plus 110) includes the electrically conductive structure in said at least one vertical hole (item 190 or 104).
In regards to claim 10, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 15-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) is mounted on the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) is mounted on the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right) by a connection medium (item 158); wherein said blocks (item 110) are configured for conducting electricity between the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and are configured for removing heat from an assigned one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) out of the component carrier (item 100).
In regards to claim 11, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein, in a cross-sectional view of the component carrier (item 102), a current path (items/arrows 174, Fig. 12) is established which has a horizontal section (horizontal items/arrows 174), a subsequent vertical section (vertical items/arrows 174) extending through the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right), a subsequent horizontal section (horizontal items/arrows 174), a subsequent vertical section (vertical items/arrows 174) extending between the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right), a subsequent horizontal section (horizontal items/arrows 174), a subsequent vertical section (vertical items/arrows 174) extending through the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right), and a subsequent horizontal section (horizontal items/arrows 174); wherein the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) are configured and are interconnected by the blocks (lower item 110 on the left or right) and the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) to provide a half-bridge function (paragraph 94).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of various embodiments of Stahr for the purpose of having multiple variants to produce other fundamentally different embodiments other than the preferred embodiments shown (paragraph 109).
In regards to claim 12, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the stack (item 102) comprises a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (item 106), and wherein at least one electrically insulating layer structure (item 106) of the stack has a higher thermal conductivity compared to at least one remaining electrically insulating layer structure (item 106) of the stack (item 102); wherein said blocks (item 110) are at least partially electrically conductive; at least one vertical hole (item 190 or 104) extending through at least part of the stack (item 102) and connecting at least two of said blocks (item 110) with each other; wherein a current path for an electric voltage transport of at least 20 kV is established through the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right). The Examiner notes that Stahr discloses the same possible materials for the insulating layer structures (paragraph 45, resin and/or glass fibers, so-called prepreg or FR4 material) and could/would share the same intrinsic characteristics.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of various embodiments of Stahr for the purpose of having multiple variants to produce other fundamentally different embodiments other than the preferred embodiments shown (paragraph 109).
In regards to claim 13, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein at least one of the first block (lower item 110 on the left for right), the second block (lower item 110 on the left for right), and at least one power current wiring structure (item 104) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) is electrically coupled with at least one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and is configured as at least part of a power bus (items 104 plus 110 plus side cavity containing item 104) with high current carrying capacity, or wherein the at least one of the first block (lower item 110 on the left for right), the second block (lower item 110 on the left for right), and the at least one power current wiring structure (item 104) has a metallic thickness beneath the at least one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right), but does not specifically disclose the power current wiring structure has a metallic thickness of at least 300 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a power current wiring structure having a metallic thickness of at least 300 mm for the purpose providing power, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
In regards to claim 15, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) does not specifically disclose the power bus (items 104 plus 110 plus side cavity containing item 104) is configured with a high current carrying capacity of at least 10 Ampère. Examiner takes the position that since Stahr discloses the same structure, therefore the structure, as taught by Stahr, is capable of and/or shares the same characteristics. Also, the Applicant needs to claim the structure of the power bus that gives rise to this characteristic, rather than stating what is configured with or to do (e.g. a chair can be configured to be a barricade for a door, however structurally, a chair leaned at angle to where a back support of the chair is just under and in physical contact with a door knob while at least two legs are in physical contact with the floor is the possible structure of the chair’s configuration).
In regards to claim 16, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: a sinter-type connection medium (item 158) in an interior of the stack (item 102); at least one side cavity (side cavity containing item 104 or item 120) formed in at least one lateral end section of the stack (item 102); a plurality of side cavities (side cavity containing item 104) formed in opposing lateral end sections of the stack (item 102).
In regards to claim 19, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein a power current wiring structure (item 104) of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) and/or at least one electrically conductive connection block (item 110) is exposed in the at least one side cavity (side cavity containing item 104) and forms at least part of a power bus (items 104 plus 110 plus side cavity containing item 104) with high current carrying capacity, or wherein at least one power connector being directly electrically connected with the power current wiring structure and/or the at least one electrically conductive connection block exposed in the at least one side cavity establishing a power connection of the component carrier with a power supply.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of various embodiments of Stahr for the purpose of having multiple variants to produce other fundamentally different embodiments other than the preferred embodiments shown (paragraph 109).
In regards to claim 23, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a continuous thermally conductive and electrically insulating structure (items 160, 114, paragraph 76) arranged below the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and below the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right) and extending over the entire width of the stack (item 102).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of various embodiments of Stahr for the purpose of having multiple variants to produce other fundamentally different embodiments other than the preferred embodiments shown (paragraph 109).
In regards to claim 24, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the continuous thermally conductive and electrically insulating structure (items 160, 114, paragraph 76) comprises a homogeneous thermally conductive and electrically insulating layer (paragraph 76).
In regards to claim 28, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) comprises at least one power current wiring structure (item 104) for supplying electric power to at least one power terminal (item 177) of at least one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and comprises at least one control wiring structure (item 104) for supplying a control signal to at least one control terminal (item 177) of at least one of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right); and wherein the at least one power current wiring structure (item 104) is provided along a spatially separate electric path compared with the at least one control wiring structure (item 104).
Examiner notes that “for supplying electric power to at least one power terminal” and “for supplying a control signal to at least one control terminal” is intended use language.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiated the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Mashim, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
In regards to claim 29, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one control wiring structure (item 104) is provided in common for both the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right).
In regards to claim 30, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the common at least one control wiring structure (item 104) is configured for supplying a control signal to the control terminals of the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) and the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right) with substantially identical control signal path lengths.
Examiner notes that “for supplying a control signal to the control terminals” is intended use language.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiated the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Mashim, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
In regards to claim 32, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses component carrier (item 100), comprising: a stack (item 102) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (item 104) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (item 106); a thermally conductive and/or electrically conductive block (item 110) arranged in the stack (item 102); a vertical hole (hole containing item 190) extending through at least part of the stack and through the entire block (item 110), wherein the block has a head structure surrounding at least part of the vertical hole (hole containing item 190) and a contact structure (item 190) in at least part of the vertical hole (hole containing item 190) forming a connection with the block (item 110) along the head section, but does not specifically disclose wherein the block has a nail head structure surrounding at least part of the vertical hole and protruding downwardly beyond a planar portion of a lower main surface of the block and protruding upwardly beyond a planar portion of an upper main surface of the block; and a contact structure in at least part of the vertical hole forming a connection with the block along the nail head section.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a block having a nail head structure for the purpose of heat dissipation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 33, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the contact structure (item 190) is an electrically conductive contact structure (item 190) forming an electrically conductive connection with the block (item 110) along the head section; wherein the contact structure (item 190) comprises one of the group consisting of a plated metal structure (item 190), and a pin pressed into the vertical hole (hole containing item 190); wherein the block (item 110) comprises a metal coated ceramic, or consists of a metal (paragraph 16, claim 2), but does not specifically disclose a nail head section; wherein the nail head structure protrudes upwardly and/or downwardly beyond the respective planar portion by a length in a range from 5 μm to 70 μm.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a block having a nail head structure for the purpose of heat dissipation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a nail head structure that protrudes upwardly and/or downwardly beyond the respective planar portion by a length in a range from 5 μm to 70 μm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahr et al. (Stahr) (EP 3716321 A1) in view of Rostoker et al. (Rostoker) (US 5,773,886 A).
In regards to claim 21, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses a cooling unit (item 112), but does not specifically disclose further comprising: at least one further thermally conductive block below the first block and below the second block for conducting heat from the first electronic component and/or the second electronic component via the first block and/or the second block and via the at least one further thermally conductive block towards a cooling unit, or wherein the at least one further thermally conductive block comprises a first further thermally conductive block below and thermally connected with the first block and comprises a second further thermally conductive block below and thermally connected with the second block.
Rostoker (Figs. 1a, 4, 5 and associated text) discloses stacked heat sinks/blocks (items 110a-110b, not labeled in Figs. 4 and 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Rostoker for the purpose of heat dissipation (col. 1, lines 60-67), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193
USPQ 8).
Examiner takes the position that Stahr (Figs. 12-20 and associated text) as modified by Rostoker (Figs. 1A, 4, 5 and associated text) discloses at least one further thermally conductive block (one or more items 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) below the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) and below the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) for conducting heat from the first electronic component (item 108 on the left or right, Stahr) and/or the second electronic component (item 108 on the left or right, Stahr) via the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) and/or the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) and via the at least one further thermally conductive block (one or more items 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) towards a cooling unit (item 112, Stahr), or wherein the at least one further thermally conductive block (one or more items 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) comprises a first further thermally conductive block (one or more items 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) below and thermally connected with the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) and comprises a second further thermally conductive block below (one or more items 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) and thermally connected with the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr).
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahr et al. (Stahr) (EP 3716321 A1) in view of Rostoker et al. (Rostoker) (US 5,773,886 A) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Garosshen et al. (Garosshen) (US 2011/0044004 A1).
In regards to claim 25, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) discloses wherein the continuous thermally conductive and electrically insulating structure (items 160, 114, paragraph 76) comprises a homogeneous thermally conductive and electrically insulating layer structure (items 160, 114, paragraph 76),
Stahr as modified by Rostoker does not specifically disclose a homogeneous thermally conductive and electrically insulating layer structure in which at least one further thermally conductive block is embedded.
Garosshen (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses a homogeneous thermally conductive and electrically insulating layer structure (item 26 or 30) heat sink particles (item 28) are embedded. Examiner notes that Garosshen discloses that diamond particles, aluminum nitride particles (AlN), silicon carbide particles (SiC), boron nitride particles (BN), silicon nitride particles (Si.sub.3N.sub.4), or combinations thereof, as well as other type of ceramic particles (paragraph 12) may be used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Garosshen for the purpose of heat transfer/dissipation.
Stahr (Figs. 12-20) discloses wherein at least one of said blocks (item 110) comprises one of the group consisting of a metal block, a ceramic block covered with an electrically conductive layer on at least one of two opposing main surfaces of the ceramic block, and a pure ceramic block (paragraph 16, claim 2).
Stahr as modified by Rostker and Garosshen discloses a homogeneous thermally conductive and electrically insulating layer structure (item 26 or 30, Garosshen) in which at least one further thermally conductive block (metal, coated ceramic, pure ceramic block, item 110, Stahr, further block item 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) is embedded.
In regards to claim 26, Stahr (paragraphs 100-109, Figs 12-20 and associated text) as modified by Rostoker (Figs. 1A, 4, 5 and associated text) and Garosshen (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one further thermally conductive block (metal, coated ceramic, pure ceramic block, item 110, Stahr, further block item 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) comprises a first thermally conductive block (metal, coated ceramic, pure ceramic block, item 110, Stahr, further block item 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) below the first block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) and comprises a second thermally conductive block (metal, coated ceramic, pure ceramic block, item 110, Stahr, further block item 110a, 110b, 110c, 110d, Rostoker) below the second block (lower item 110 on the left or right, Stahr) .
In regards to claim 27, Stahr as modified by Rostoker and Garosshen does not specifically disclose wherein the first thermally conductive block has a smaller lateral extension than the first block and/or the second thermally conductive block has a smaller lateral extension than the second block.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first thermally conductive block being a smaller lateral extension than the first block and/or a second thermally conductive block being a smaller lateral extension than the second block for the purpose of heat dissipation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Calmidi et al. (US 6622786 B1), Schneider et al. (US 5693981 A and US 5654587 A) and Schneider (US 5514327 A) all disclose stacked thermal blocks/sinks.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 December 18, 2025